HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Gettysburg Horse Park
(click on name for more information)


Gettysburg, PA

Overall TRAIL RATING with 12 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 12 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great time. Rode the battlefields all day. Nice place to camp and the people were great.
Reviewed by: shazzyear on 10/19/2014 7:14:43 AM
More reviews by shazzyear
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/14/2014 Hometown: strasburg, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My wife and I camped at Artillery Ridge Campground and rode the trails on the battlefield for a long weekend. We had a great time. We arrived on Thursday and stayed until Sunday. The bed in the cabin could have been a little more comfortable and a chair to sit in and read or something inside the cabin would be nice, in my opinion, but overall the campground is real nice. Nice stalls for the horses, friendly staff, and descent restroom/shower facilities compared with other campgrounds I've been at. The trails at the battlefield are excellent. Hats off to the Gettysburg Equestrian Historical Society for their work at the battlefield. You can enjoy this ride whether you're a civil war buff or not. The scenery is great and you can get a general feel for the lay of the land in the second and third days of the battle. We rode the trails in the mornings, then took the auto tour and toured the area in the afternoons. Definitely planning on going back.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/27/2010 5:31:07 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/17/2010 Hometown: Tunkhannock, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

just got home from this camp groung. I would have to agree that the trails dont get close enough to monuments/info. placards,but the trails are easy for everyone to ride and enjoy the historical feeling.{afterall it is a battlefield ride not an endurance trail}.Artillary ridge camp ground was great ,we took ten horses and were very comfotable. the paddocks were great. after riding we put the horses up and diddnt have to worry about them at night.Campfire ,Smores,Kids laughing ...overall great time.
Reviewed by: michael on 9/26/2010 7:10:03 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/26/2010 Hometown: walkersville, MD

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our second year going with our riding club. The park is clean,would like to see restrooms and showers updated, but they were ok. Afterall, it is camping not a hotel. Their prices are very reasonable. Everyone is friendly. A highly respectable park.The stalls are nice and the paddocks are ok. The riding ring is fine as well. Great for a campout with some of the necessities. Cabins are nice, small, but air conditioned.We like it alot.
Reviewed by: Deb Steffek on 8/27/2009 9:52:43 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/30/2009 Hometown: Stewartstown, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was a very nice experience for our family. Was a bit disappointed that there was not opportunity for questions or information from wranglers, recorded tour a bit impersonal. Horse facilities were very good. Would do again with own horse. Trails do need to get riders closer to the monuments and informational locations.
Reviewed by: Carol on 8/4/2008 10:05:35 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Western, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We came to Artillery Ridge in September on a Sunday just as PQHA finished their weekend ride at Gettysburg. Despite having alot of riders there the campground was immaculate. We stayed in one of the cabins and kept our horses in teh corral. The cabin was neat and tidy but the bed was uncomfortable for my 50 y/o back! I would bring and air matress next time. The trails in Gettysburg were very nice. We enjoyed riding there for 2 days and would have stayed longer but we were in route to the Shenandoah Mts. The trails do not get close to many monuments but we spent some of the evengings driving through the park and seeing the monuments up close. We will go back next year again!
Reviewed by: Rachel on 11/15/2007 5:06:04 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/15/2007 Hometown: Chardon,, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first trip overnighting with our horses a good distance away from home (280 miles). The Artillary Ridge campground was nice with good facilities. We used the RV pull thru with full hook up. Friends stayed at one of the cabins (community shower/baths). Campfires are allowed. We opted to use a corral for $20/night. The corrals were huge (approx. 24' x 32'), sturdy, and generally dry, even with rain they dried out quickly. Stalls seemed fine, but we didn't use them. We arrived on a Saturday and the place was packed with a ton of activity. This might be difficult for young or spooky horses as they have to ride about 6-7 minutes out of the campground to the trail head. There were about 100 Boy Scouts in tents that weekend, with all their accompanying noise and activity. There were tents flapping, football, horseshoes, playgrounds, and at least 75 kids on bikes. Everyone was well behaved and quiet at night, but it was a lot of activity. However, by Sunday afternoon, we practically had the entire place to ourselves! Monday too, so if you want quiet, then plan weekday trips if you can. As for the trails... I really liked them, but they were not long nor particularly challenging. I think if you went all this way for just the riding you might be disappointed because the "long" trail was only about 7.5 miles (GPS) and took us about 1 hr 45 min (gaited horses). The area near the Round Tops was a bit more challenging, but fun. All trails were well maintained and improved with very little mud, even though it rained. Definitely recommend front shoes or boots for horses. We usually ride barefoot horses, but were glad we had front shoes. Our friends used Epic Easy Boots with no problem. My husband knows Civil War history inside and out, so riding with him was a "guided tour." However, if you were just riding the trails and didn't know much about the Civil War I think you would miss out on a lot. The scenery is beautiful though, so try to find a friend to ride with you who knows the Civil War battles. That makes it quite interesting. Plan morning or afternoon rides, then spend time in the town of Gettysburg sight-seeing. There probably are not enough trails at the battlefield (which is completely separate from Artillary Ridge Campground) to make this an all day riding trip. There is supposed to be a nearby national forest with very challenging trails for those who want to find it and haul over there (I didn't catch the name). I would definitely go back.
Reviewed by: Kathy on 5/22/2007 11:21:07 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/20/2007 Hometown: Suffolk, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Many improvements on the trails here.Mostly crushed stone. The horse trails generally avoid the monument and pedestrian areas. They are not challenging but provide for much reflection as they are pretty quiet. The trail behind Little and Big Roundtop is a bit of a climb. There had been some rain and the beginning and end of this loop was a bit muddy as they had not been improved yet.There are some low wooden bridges in place to keep you out of the softer areas. The equestrian group that works here is trying hard to keep improvements going. The campground is clean and the facilities, box and stall are more than adequate. Our corral dried out quickly despite the rain.A good experience, the trails can easily be covered in 4 hrs. Some nice scenery, especially the views of the Eisenhower Farm.
Reviewed by: Rich M. on 5/7/2007 5:15:20 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/28/2007 Hometown: Keymar, MD

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is best seen by car not horseback. very disappointing.
Reviewed by: floyd & janna on 11/12/2006 2:00:34 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/12/2006 Hometown: , NV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love this place ! I trailer my own horses here for the day and ride all the trails about twice a year (Spring and Fall). I researched the history of Gettysburg Battles and landmarks a few years back, to know what I am seeing along the paths and the history that comes with it. It is only up to God as to what the weather brings.
Reviewed by: T.A.B. on 9/25/2006 2:50:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: Gettysburg, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

All I can say is "What a disappointment." We signed up for the four hour tour. We expected to be given a feel for the battle by being shown key locations and being told of troop movements, etc. There is a very nice driving tour where you can park you car and go up to monuments, etc. However, there is no place to tie your horse so we only got to see one monument, which was somewhat out of the way. We were told by the guide that the park didn't want horse trails and tie-up rails spoiling the sense of history of the battlefield (like cars, paved roads, and parking lots don't...).
Reviewed by: jtrider on 8/2/2004 5:15:27 PM
More reviews by jtrider
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/8/2004 Hometown: Delaware, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were disappointed with the riding here. The trails are either gravel or mud, literally up to your horses hock (when we were there). The experience as a whole was very nice, as we did the auto tour and very much enjoyed that. We did the auto tour first, so that we knew some of the history of the battlefield before we rode on horseback. We stayed at Artillery Ridge Campground. It was very nice, and our host was most accomadating. Stalls were nice and so were the campsites.
Reviewed by: CarolP on 7/26/2004 3:11:31 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: Ocklawaha, FL