HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Goethe State Forest - Northstar Acres Camp
(click on name for more information)


Dunnellon, FL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 8 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 8 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/15/2010 9:36:32 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/20/2010 Hometown: , FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Goethe Trailhead Ranch at Apex Trail in Goethe State Forest was great place to stay. Folks who ran it really nice and had improved maps of the forest trails. Quiet, well kept camp facilities. Arena, country store, feed and tack on site. We'll go again!
Reviewed by: L. Kenny on 5/27/2009 5:58:58 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/4/2009 Hometown: Winter Springs, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a great place to stay and the weather was perfect. Ms. Roberta was a wonderful host and the barn was fabulous; nice stalls w/bedding; saddle racks outside each stall; and water inside the barn. We camped w/full hook-ups right around the barn and enjoyed being right next to our horses. Trails were very easy, but the Apex trails were a little harder to follow per the map. Rode both Apex and the Tidewater trails and thought Tidewater was the most scenic. Even did a night ride which we all loved. Definately a great winter destination to get away from the cold and rain.
Reviewed by: J. Sizemore on 1/8/2009 7:43:31 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2009 Hometown: Barnesville, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Roberta treats everyone like family. Plus, with her knowledge of horses, we've learned a lot from her. We go there several times a year. She has water/sewer/electric, a beautiful barn, and fire pit. A short ride into the forest makes it a beautiful stay. We highly recommend North Star Acres.
Reviewed by: Gail & Art on 11/10/2008 9:22:11 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/25/2008 Hometown: New Port Richey, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was one of the nicest camping facilities we've ever been to. The owner "Roberta" treated us like family and gave us complete use of everything on the ranch. We had the use of the 12 stall barn, horse paddock,hot walker and arena to ourselves. It was quiet and relaxing and the trails were very easy to ride, especially for my inexperienced young horse. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend a relaxing weekend or week at a beautiful facility.
Reviewed by: B.J. and Leon Kersey on 9/13/2007 12:06:45 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/12/2007 Hometown: Switzerland, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trail ride was great! Camped at Northstar - great host, great barn, but campground not set up for tenting. Had a lovely time nevertheless!
Reviewed by: Seta on 4/11/2005 12:56:18 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/9/2005 Hometown: St. Petersburg, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Goethe is a state forest. Hunting is allowed but the trails remain open. There are 3 trailheads; all on CR 337, plus private farms with E/W. For maps,pictures and local info about the area, click http://www.geocities.com/goetheforest/volunteer.html
Reviewed by: Helen Koehler on 1/16/2005 9:09:20 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/16/2005 Hometown: Morriston, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We like the southern most end of the forest and the campground on Saddle Pen road. It is shady and level with nice picket sites and also good hitch rails. There are nice bathrooms with flush toilets, well kept, and horse water. The trails are a little mundane, but there is plenty of riding there. Dunnellon is a really nice quaint little town also, to go shop or eat.
Reviewed by: CarolP on 7/26/2004 2:35:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: Ocklawaha, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice uncrowded trails. Northstar is a good place to stay.
Reviewed by: Julie S. on 2/24/2003 1:15:34 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2000 Hometown: Englewood, TN