HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Golden Hills
(click on name for more information)


Raymondville, Mo

Overall TRAIL RATING with 8 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 8 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I live right outside of Golden Hills and I have always loved riding there due to the variety of trails that they have. Unfortunately, they are logging the crap out of the place, so trails are being destroyed daily. You will be riding along a nice trail and it ends at a pile of downed trees, ruts and brush. The trail will be wiped out at that point. If you go to ride there, stay on the Equine Community trails as they are not being logged. The campground is becoming very run down and stalls are in bad shape. One good thing is that they have several large pipe pens that will easily accommodate two or more horses each,that are by the front campsites(which are shaded by big trees).
Reviewed by: paintedskyhorses on 10/16/2018 1:21:07 PM
More reviews by paintedskyhorses
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2018 Hometown: raymondville, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Not sure why they only show 20 miles of trails. There are miles and miles of trails. I live right outside of Golden Hills, so I ride there all the time. The trails range from easy to challenging. Trails can be overgrown and very rocky. They do have a new map, which helps a lot, but sometimes the markings can be missing. A Church group comes out yearly and remarks some trails and puts up signs to help you navigate. The campground has both shady and open spots with stalls for the horses. Many of the stalls are in bad shape, so you will want to drive around and look at the stalls to find where you want to camp. The campsite is huge, so you never have a problem finding a great spot with good stalls. The camp is usually empty, so you will have your place to yourself most of the time. Their bath house and restrooms are very dated. They do have a swimming pool, a bunkhouse, and many extras. The owners are old and the place is going downhill, but if you don't mind that, the trails are great. You do need to know that they do logging, so be sure to find out where the logging is going on because the trails in that area will be decimated. If you can ride with some of the people in the equine community, they can show you some great trails. Also, you do not HAVE to ride the road to hit the trails. Take Pasture Lane trail that goes out past the rental barn and takes a left through the gate. This is a great little trail that does not go through the pasture, but in the woods on the edge of the pasture.
Reviewed by: paintedskyhorses on 2/15/2018 11:34:37 PM
More reviews by paintedskyhorses
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 2/10/2018 Hometown: raymondville, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our family has visited Golden Hills annually for 12+ years. While the camp and stalls need upgraded there are so many sites and stalls to choose from you can find a safe, well maintained stall and nice site anytime. GH is VERY affordable compared to the newer horse camps in Missouri. The trails are very well marked thanks to Cowboy Church group and if you get a map from the office you can ride for a week and not ride the same trail twice. The equine community development has changed the landscape but once you ride past the residential area the trails are beautiful. The hills, ride-in cave and creeks are worth the trip. No "hidden costs" and if you cook your meals at your campsite this is the most affordable horse camp (private with electric) in Missouri.
Reviewed by: ta on 7/24/2016 2:06:50 PM
More reviews by ta
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/27/2016 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place is awesome and everyone needs to go there and enjoy the great trails while this place is still offered to us. While there are some stalls that are not in the best of shape, you can find many that are. Trails have new signs and are great to ride. Chuck and Kaye are the nicest people you will find. A must see in my book!!
Reviewed by: Grasshopper on 5/7/2014 5:10:22 AM
More reviews by Grasshopper
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/5/2014 Hometown: Troy, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Kay and Chuck Golden are warm and accommodating hosts. They have a huge campground with many stalls and several paddocks. There is even a hotel on the grounds if you don't have a horse trailer with living quarters. Water hydrants and wheelbarrows are located close to the stalls and paddocks making horse care a breeze. There is even an in ground swimming pool available to relax in after a long ride! The trails were fun and diverse for all levels of riders. Although the trails were marked, there were a few places were markers were missing. Luckily it does not take you long to figure out the lay of the land, so you can find your way around pretty easily. There are several caves to explore and nice water crossings. The area is beautiful and peaceful. You will enjoy your stay and ride here.
Reviewed by: Painted Sky Horses on 5/26/2013 8:38:04 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/22/2013 Hometown: Guthrie, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Golden Hills is a very nice place. We spent Eater weekend there and had the place to ourselves. The weather didn't cooperate but we were able to get a ride in every day. Chuck took time to map us out a ride every day and even came to our site before church to make sure we had a ride planned for the day. The camp ground is clean and well kept with many amenities. Some stalls are better than others, but it seems they are working on that. The paddocks are great! The trails can be ridden even after a good rain. We look forward to going back when things are up and running for the year. Great place!
Reviewed by: Gina Aydelott on 4/19/2013 1:06:03 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/29/2013 Hometown: St Clair , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Not just 20 miles of trail.We have been a few times and never seen all the trails! There are 300 campsites and much more! Hotel with heated pool. Clear river to ride and drink in. Pavilion by the river with picnic tables, hitchin post and outhouses. Best kept secret in Missouri!! Easy for big rigs to get in. We love the place!!
Reviewed by: Donna Carmicle on 7/28/2012 3:24:12 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/3/2012 Hometown: Lucas, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I'm really surprised this place hasn't been reviewed yet. We go here a few times a year and it's our favorite place to stay. Chuck and Kay take such great care of the property and campers. They are always friendly and helpful when needed. It offers a variety of riding on private roads within the campground, open fields, and also an extensive trail system on 4000 acres. They schedule group rides several times a year with events like cattle sorting and other games. The property is so huge it never feels crowded. The campsites are well maintained, campgrounds are immaculately clean and always mowed. Restrooms are clean. Motel on property. They don't put up with rowdy campers which makes for a nice, quiet, pleasant place to stay. Camp sites are easy to negotiate for those with large trailers. Electric and water at each site. Most are shaded. We love the fact that town is only a ten minute drive where you can run to the super Walmart or farm supply store if needed. There's also a drive-in movie theater! The mexican restaurant in town and Miller's Grill (steaks are awesome) offer great food. Our only minor issue is that some of the stalls are in need of repair but we are always able to find ones safe close to our campsite, they also offer good sized runs if you don't want to stall horses. Hay, ice, shavings, and a small general store are on the property. Love this place and Chuck and Kay!
Reviewed by: Rockyrider on 5/5/2012 12:39:50 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/12/2011 Hometown: St. Louis, MO