HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for High Country Horse Camp
(click on name for more information)


Troutdale, VA

Overall TRAIL RATING with 10 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 10 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We rode here over Labor Day weekend. The stalls were nicely bedded and ready when we arrived. Campsites are easily accessible, even with our 4H LQ trailer. Doug was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the trails. The trails were rocky, and it is a climb from the campground to the top (where the wild ponies are!). It took us a little over 3 hours to get near the top (according to my GPS, almost 2000 feet higher than elevation at campground). Getting back takes less time - downhill all the way :). You can also choose to have Doug trailer you to the top and you can ride down. We didn't do this, but will definitely try it out next time. FYI - bring rain gear and jackets in saddle bags! We left camp and it was 82 and sunny. When we got near the top of the mountain, a storm blew in and temp dropped 20 degrees and it was raining - we FROZE the while way back! Lesson learned about the mountain weather and how quickly it can change. Trails were rocky, but our horses did fine with their boots. Nothing too technical that we saw....our kids (6 and 7 years old) did just fine, but they do have great horses who take their time and think their way through obstacles. If they have a dinner offered, BUY IT!! It is well worth the money. They definitely know how to feed you there - I honestly have never had a steak so big in my life! Breakfast was great too and I was thankful to not have to cook :) The other campers were friendly and fun - Definitely a family-friendly campground. The owners little boy came and got my two boys when we got there and took them to the little creek and they spent all weekend catching salamanders! They had so much fun! And Angie, Doug's wife, took the kids in the building while we were saddling up and they made paper airplanes and crafts....incredibly sweet and thoughtful. Even though it rained (big surprise!), we had a great time. Doug and his family were truly accommodating in every way. We will definitely be going back!
Reviewed by: HeatherH on 9/5/2013 5:09:25 AM
More reviews by HeatherH
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/30/2013 Hometown: Asheville, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We rode here over Labor Day weekend. The stalls were nicely bedded and ready when we arrived. Campsites are easily accessible, even with our 4H LQ trailer. Doug was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the trails. The trails were rocky, and it is a climb from the campground to the top (where the wild ponies are!). It took us a little over 3 hours to get near the top (according to my GPS, almost 2000 feet higher than elevation at campground). Getting back takes less time - downhill all the way :). You can also choose to have Doug trailer you to the top and you can ride down. We didn't do this, but will definitely try it out next time. FYI - bring rain gear and jackets in saddle bags! We left camp and it was 82 and sunny. When we got bear the top of the mountain, a storm blew in and temp dropped 20 degrees and it was raining - we FROZE the while way back! Lesson learned about the mountain weather and how quickly it can change. Trails were rocky, but our horses did fine with their boots. Nothing too technical that we saw....our kids (6 and 7 years old) did just fine, but they do have great horses who take their time and think their way through obstacles. If they have a dinner offered, BUY IT!! It is well worth the money. They definitely know how to feed you there - I honestly have never had a steak so big in my life! Breakfast was great too and I was thankful to not have to cook :) The other campers were friendly and fun - Definitely a family-friendly campground. The owners little boy came and got my two boys when we got there and took them to the little creek and they spent all weekend catching salamanders! They had so much fun! And Angie, Doug's wife, took the kids in the building while we were saddling up and they made paper airplanes and crafts....incredibly sweet and thoughtful. Even though it rained (big surprise!), we had a great time. Doug and his family were truly accommodating in every way. We will definitely be going back!
Reviewed by: HeatherH on 9/5/2013 5:06:58 AM
More reviews by HeatherH
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/30/2013 Hometown: Asheville, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent 5 days at High Country this August. The camp was clean and tidy. The stalls were ready and bedded when we arrived. The sites we had were very nice, shaded and level. The whole camp is on an incline but the sites are leveled out nicely. The camp is managed by several people, we met Doug and Kelly. Both were nice and had a wealth of knowledge about the trails. They arranged for trailing us to different trail heads which made the riding nicer. The trails are quite steep and rocky. The Trails Illustrated map was accurate and very helpful in keeping us on track. The Park itself was great the trails were cleared and for the most part passable. We enjoyed the Lewis Wilderness and rising up to the Scales. The Iron Mountain trail is beautiful but rocky in places as were all the trails. There are lots of other things to see and do in the area. A trip to Damascus and dinner on the river there at the old Damascus Mill was great. We biked on the Va Creeper Trail. The town is known as Trail Town USA and the AT goes through there as well.
Reviewed by: RachelV on 9/2/2012 5:54:49 PM
More reviews by RachelV
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/25/2012 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been to this campground twice before and had a GREAT experience, but was somewhat disappointed this time with the new ownership. There was a young lady and a gentleman running the camp now - the gentleman was very hospitable, but I can't say as much for the lady. There were some communication issues between the two of them - be careful when scheduling a time to be trailered out - double booking can occur!! Trails are BEAUTIFUL - the top of Mt Rogers is one of the prettiest places I've been. The trails are VERY rocky - extra shoes and/or easy boots will come in very handy! The campground is very nice, and meals are provided on busy weekends if you like a break from cooking - they were pricey, though, with the new owners. A beautiful place to ride!
Reviewed by: Gail on 1/8/2012 9:54:31 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2011 Hometown: Wat, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have ridden at High Country Horse Camp for approximately 14 years and have always enjoyed the trails. The views from the mountain top are highly comparable to the Rocky Mountains in Colorado. Some of the trails are rocky, so shoes or boots are a must. Please check out the Facebook page for High Country Horse Camp for some beautiful pictures posted by many of the happy trail riders.
Reviewed by: Lidna on 9/14/2010 7:38:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/2/2010 Hometown: Waxhaw, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice campground, clean, food was great, camp host was friendly, met all our needs, cooks great. The trails were extremely rocky, and you need to have properly shod horses for the terrain. I had front shoes on and easyboot gloves on the rear. Horse was fine, but I wouldn't have a barefoot horse here. You couldn't ride very fast, but there was a lot of climbing and the trails/scenic routes were nice.
Reviewed by: Sarah on 8/9/2010 9:21:50 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/6/2010 Hometown: Richfield, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Outstanding hospitality!! Good accomodations for horses, great food. We had a great weekend. We will be going back. Thanks Tom
Reviewed by: Melissa on 8/9/2010 6:52:31 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/6/2010 Hometown: Salisbury, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails at Mt. Rogers were great. The campground was nice and clean with comfortable stalls for our horses. Our campsite was shady. A shuttle to the park was offered on the first day we were there but due to not knowing the terrain and distances and the that this was my first riding trip since not being able to ride for seven months with three herniated discs in my back, I declined the shuttle. The next day owner, Tom left for what he told us was business in NC. Our visit was during the week and not on a weekend and I have heard that on weekends the campground is lively and the restaruant is opened. Due to my previous negative comment I will be sending Tom payment for our stay at his facility, relinquishing our membership in the club that we won the "door prize" of this two night stay. I am sorry for expressing my opinion of this camp. It was just my personal opinion and not that of any other club member and I should have kept it to myself.
Reviewed by: Kate Shaner on 8/5/2010 6:10:57 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/11/2010 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A FREE courtesy shuttle was offered to Ms. Kate by the Owner upon her arrival for the "cross the mountain" riding experience; however, she declined for medical reasons. Campground hosts were available for any service requested. The Staff cannot satisfy the customer needs if the customer does not give us "direct feedback". This was a courtesy "give away" package to help a needy cause. Hopefully this customer will afford other owners the courtesy of direct feedback before publicly down grading a business that strives to offer horse lovers a place to recreate.
Reviewed by: Tom/Owner on 7/27/2010 7:13:40 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/27/2010 Hometown: Charlotte, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground was too far from trail system. Shuttle was offered when owner present but owner wasn't present most of our stay. Camp was deserted except for us.
Reviewed by: Kate on 7/11/2010 10:39:59 PM
More reviews by Kate
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/12/2010 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice campground with stalls. Everything was very clean including the bath house. The only thing was they are very strict about dogs being on a leash which I can't blame them. Wonderful trails with beautiful views but very rocky. I booted my barefoot horse so his feet wouldnt' get sore. I did take my dog on the trails and her feet did get sore so I quit taking her. Up by the Scales are very large rocks. Had to take it slowly. Great trip overall. Just be prepared!
Reviewed by: Jennifer on 6/8/2009 6:08:23 PM
More reviews by Jennifer
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/1/2008 Hometown: Clover, SC