HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Horse Heaven Ranch
(click on name for more information)


Talihina, OK

Overall TRAIL RATING with 21 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 21 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

After a long drive to Horse Heaven, we found the campground well layed out and nice level concrete pads for our trailer. The corals were suitable upon arrival but after a few days of heavy rain our horses were in standing water for the duration of our visit as the pens do not drain. My biggest complaint about camp is there are no manure bunkers and all manure must be bagged. That was a horrible task and with such a nice campground it seems like a no brainer to add a manure bunker someplace. The trails were very scenic however they were incredibly rocky. Shoes here are a must and pads would be recommended for horses that are tender footed. Our horses started avoiding the trail after a few days and were sore even with shoes. We stayed for 8 days which was a bit long. There were about 30 miles of trails and we traveled them all in the first 3 days. I would not drive that far to visit there again but if I were closer I would. Shower house was nice and clean. I only rated the trails at a 3 star due to the consistently rocky trail which made our ride less fun. Staff was very friendly, answered our questions and provided information we needed in a timely fashion. There were numerous cabins which looked absolutely gorgeous, each with covered stalls and runs for your horses. Thanks Elfie!
Reviewed by: spratt on 9/15/2014 8:54:33 AM
More reviews by spratt
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/2/2014 Hometown: Palmyra, NE

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Riding the trails during the fall is breathtaking. Some of the trails were very rocky to include large boulders. Not so much fun. However, there are a lot of other nice, scenic trails with shallow water crossings in which to choose. The cabins and stalls could use repairs. Stalls do not drain rain water well. Horses stood in water for three days. Cabins include outdoor grills, which are a nice perk but have limited cooking utensils. If cooking, bring your own knives and cutting board.
Reviewed by: t.tirone on 3/2/2014 2:47:59 PM
More reviews by t.tirone
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/12/2013 Hometown: Edmond, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground, clean bathhouse, level sites, biggest complaint...bagging manure UGH! but nice having horses at site. Most of the trails we rode were also used by 4 wheelers and they totally mmessed it up for horses.....too bad as it is beautiful country.
Reviewed by: cindy on 3/19/2013 6:31:38 AM
More reviews by cindy
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/18/2013 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rode the Spots are hot ride last year and came back this spring for a wonderful time. cabins are really nice, clean restrooms, friendly town campground and very pretty forest. its a must to return try it best trails in southeast oklahoma.
Reviewed by: Matthew on 10/28/2012 4:16:06 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/10/2012 Hometown: shawnee, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

we had a great tiem for the 3rd year ina row we make a trip there for a week at a time Elfie is so sweet and a great host its the cleanest campground we found ina long time it was worth the 400 mile drive to go there
Reviewed by: Mike on 6/9/2012 5:38:36 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/8/2012 Hometown: Deridder, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Let me start by saying Horse Heaven is a one of the kind Camping/Riding place, Very Clean and well kept, Effie is a wounderful host, takes time to really make you feel welcome. We are from Iowa and do not have the rocks like they have down there so if your horse is not used to the rocks (big chunk rock) I would say to pad your horses, we just had our horses shoed and by the end of the week our horses were sore. The trails are awesome, hill climing, flat, any kind of riding you want thay have it. Some of the trails are shares with ATV and Motercycles so this is a place that anyone could go and stay and ride trails. The campsites are very nice, shaded, concrete pads to sit on, with full hoockups, horses are right on site or you can rent nice big stalls in the barn, there are hitching post on site also. There are cabins you can rent also that are very very nice, full kitchen, full bathroom, fireplace, 1 bedroom sleeps 6 and 2 bedrooms sleeps 10 I think and the cabins have turn out area for your horses that are amazing!!! They are probably 24 X 24 half of that is covered for your horses and the other 1/2 is open all fenced in, right on site and can hold at least 3 to 4 horses if they get along. Go check out this place it is well worth it and the prices are very very reasonable.
Reviewed by: Fredericksen on 6/4/2012 5:59:53 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/26/2012 Hometown: Casey, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The weekend at HHR was great. Elfie checked us in,gave us maps and explained the rules and general layout of the trails. The trails are rocky and would recommend shoes or boots. Water was scarse on trails due to drought. Rode to a couple of beautiful overlooks. Showers and restrooms were very clean and climate controlled. Nearest town is Talihina (7mi west).Everyon in group was well pleased with facilities and trails. Hosts were very helpful with any questions.
Reviewed by: F.Paul on 11/7/2010 11:55:04 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/30/2010 Hometown: Converse, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved the campground facilities, however the loose cables on the corals need to be fixed. Had a horse get injured due to this. Bathrooms were great. Sites were good, lots of shade. Trails were not marked very well.
Reviewed by: Jared on 8/8/2009 7:27:08 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/1/2009 Hometown: Bentonville, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camp and facilities are top notch. The cabins look very nice, although I've never been inside one. The trails were wide and well-maintained, but they do not have as many trails as some other locations in Oklahoma.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/18/2009 11:16:28 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2008 Hometown: Coweta, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I am new at riding horses and Horse Heaven was my first camping over night trip. We had a wonderful time. The campground is first class. You have 2 pens at every site so we could see our horses right there. The bathhouse is first class. Very clean park, friendly hosts, easy to park and they have really nice cabins we will get next time. You are close to town but yet far enough away you can escape into paradise. The forest literally wraps around the grounds with great mountain views. We also enjoyed warming up our horses in the arena before we head out on the trails. I will bring friends on our next adventure. The trails are really nice. Mostly shady with plenty of creek crossings. Good climbs, and lots of all day riding fun if you wanna stay out longer.
Reviewed by: Patty on 4/6/2008 8:32:44 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 3/15/2008 Hometown: Austin, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Best facility in SE Oklahoma
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/15/2008 10:59:43 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Webbers Falls, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Horse Heaven is a wonderful campground. We discovered the place years ago and make it a tradition to go several times a year. If you are a horse person who loves to trail ride and stay in a clean kept campground you gotta try this place. My family comes and they don't ride horses. They love the mountain scenery and the Talimena drive. Plus the fishing in the ponds. We also joined them for some of their organized rides. We always have a good time year round. The forest is really cool in the summer as well as spring, fall and winter riding is good thru Dec.
Reviewed by: Shelly on 11/22/2007 7:54:16 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/31/2007 Hometown: Mckinney, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Mule ride came to Horse Heaven. We had a real good time. The weather was really nice, the facilities is first class. If you haven't tried this place put it on your list to go. Our family had a great time, everyone was very friendly. Bathhouse is really clean too. Trails are mapped and esy to follow. Different types of terrain. Went to Talimena Scenic Drive. Horse Heaven is definelty one of the best camps we ever went to. Full size arena. We set up a trail course and had a judged competition.
Reviewed by: Sue on 10/21/2007 5:48:53 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/4/2007 Hometown: , OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a really nice RV park. The cabins are really a horsemans dream. We enjoyed our stay and will bring many friends back with us. The town is really down to earth friendly folks. You will also enjoy the scenic drive which you can ride your horse up to it in 2 different areas.
Reviewed by: Steve on 8/24/2007 9:09:26 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/15/2007 Hometown: Gatesville, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from a week at Horse Heaven Ranch. The ranch had been busy hosting the Paint Horse Assoc, but while we were there, only 5 campsites out of 35 or so were full. Gorgeous campgrounds, nicely spaced, level sites, two-horse pens at each site. If only some maintenance was done on the grounds, it would be almost perfect! Most of the pens had cables down, and had standing swamp water in them. Some sand in each would help a lot. Most people picketed outside the pens because of the water/mud/manure; this practice is churning up the area. There are no manure bins; you simply "disperse" the manure. For $20/nite you can rent a large, safe, indoor stall, but they don't provide shavings and don't sell them. The nearest place to get them is 8 miles away, and had very limited hours. Didn't see the staff hardly at all. The trails are fairly easy, well marked, no destination riding. No vistas. Some are very rocky, with cantalope-sized rocks to negotiate. We liked the lay-out of the ranch, and the fact that you could ride the trails even when they were very wet, but can't say that we'd return, unless it was to stop in on our way somewhere else.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/13/2007 4:13:32 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/13/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This ranch is well designed and the trails are really nice. We went when they had the Best of America by horseback ride. The place is top notch. Bathhouse is really clean and located by rv sites. Sewer hook ups are there too. Oh the cabins are first class. We will rent them next time.
Reviewed by: Dot on 4/29/2007 6:12:27 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/29/2007 Hometown: commanche, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Have been there several times, in winter, spring and fall. Love the trails and the beauty of the fall colors. Excellent service, great campground, great cabins. Large bathhouse. Very nice and helpful staff. Will definitely come back again as many times as I can. Put this place on your must see list!
Reviewed by: Paula on 2/14/2007 1:40:17 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/25/2006 Hometown: Comanche, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful campground, well maintained and unique in layout. Corrals were good and convenient to each site. Trails offered a good variety of easy to challenging. Trail map could have been a little easier to read. Owners were very personable, friendly and helpful. Looking forward to returning.
Reviewed by: Christina on 10/19/2006 8:56:15 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/19/2006 Hometown: Neosho, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very Nice campgrounds, super nice folks, great bath house lots of shade and plenty of cabins to rent Great place for large groups easy access to get into and close to town too
Reviewed by: Jana Hoffpauir on 6/20/2006 5:21:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/25/2006 Hometown: Lampasas, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We rode at the J-Dtrailriding camp in Octavia,OK the trails are well Marked, the camp is a first rate, they had cover stalls 27, a few outside corrals. The folks are very friendly and I would go back many times
Reviewed by: Margret Pulsiphern on 2/10/2006 2:00:02 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 2/10/2006 Hometown: Glade Water, TX, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Went May 05-beautiful spring flowers, plenty water on trails for the mules. Choose easy/moderate trails OR some pretty difficult, rough, steep climbs, switchbacks-FUN!!! Went back early November 05-trees turning color. Hit the rough trails again, logged about 45 miles in 2-1/2 days. Rocky! Beautiful. Nicest campground. INT (Indian Nation Trail) north to Barney Creek Loop, Trail A to High Pond and Lord's Trail to Southface all pretty tough-meaning fun, challenging, good ride.
Reviewed by: Mary Bloodsworth on 11/11/2005 10:56:04 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/9/2005 Hometown: Bonham, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Really nice camp grounds. Had electric and water and a flat level concrete pad for the living quarters trailer. The horse pens very nice and in the shade. I noticed that a few of the pens had cables that had come loose, but ours were good. Friends stayed in the cabins. They were clean and cute. The barns and pens that went with the cabins were excellent. The bath house for the campers is nice: air conditioned, great water pressure and very clean. The trails are nice and well marked. They aren't difficult. The pine trees do cool off the ride. It was 95 degrees in May when we rode, but the trails were cool. Only a few water crossings in May.
Reviewed by: jen on 9/3/2005 12:51:12 PM
More reviews by jen
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/22/2005 Hometown: Edmond, OK