HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Huckleberry Stables and Cabin Rentals
(click on name for more information)


Pineville, MO

Overall TRAIL RATING with 14 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 13 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very clean facilities. Owners are very knowledgeable of horses and surrounding areas. Very friendly to visitors. Definitely a pleasant vacation!
Reviewed by: Beverly Meng on 11/8/2015 12:47:32 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/4/2015 Hometown: Troy, Ks

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

There is only one bad thing about this campground and that is I do not have enough vacation time to stay all year long. I will be back. Love Rick and Mary. Trails are shady, rocky, steep, flat, water crossing and marked well enough. Do not miss out on this jewel of a campground.
Reviewed by: Machell Biggs on 1/24/2013 2:03:50 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/1/2011 Hometown: Perry, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to stay, cabins were very nice, clean and rates were very reasonable . As for the trails, not a very good place for a green horse, steep, rocky terrain and several water crossing. If you have an experienced horse, its a great place.
Reviewed by: D Davis on 10/3/2012 11:03:20 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/30/2012 Hometown: Carthage, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just spent 4 wonderful relaxing days with the greatest hosts Rick and Mary. As always they made me feel at home with facilities that are clean and well maintained for riders and their horses. Trails are some of the best in Missouri and I enjoy them during every season of the year.
Reviewed by: Cindy on 6/12/2012 12:30:30 PM
More reviews by Cindy
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/7/2012 Hometown: Butler, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The hospitality of Rick and Mary is wonderful. The cabin and horse facilities both very nice. We will come again.
Reviewed by: Mary Jo on 10/29/2010 8:53:46 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/26/2010 Hometown: Versailles, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful place, wonderful hosts, great facility and challenging trails. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and plan on many return trips.
Reviewed by: Viginia Wightman on 10/29/2010 5:39:19 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/28/2010 Hometown: Versailles, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Have been many times. We always try and go at least once a year. Nice place nice people.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/11/2010 12:48:13 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/30/2009 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rich and Mary were great,very friendly made our stay nice,Rich took us out one day to see the suites we would of never found,The stalls are very nice, covered, have feed pans and water buckets, Rich had maps for us everyday to see something new everyday. If your horses are not used to big rock would recommend to pad front.Very nice and clean shower houses and alot of hot water with good water pressure. There is bedding and ice for sale in tack shop and any tack you may need,When it rains you would never know it the next day trails do not get muddy because of all the rock, Will be heading back in the near future.
Reviewed by: Fredericksen on 10/12/2009 2:06:08 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/20/2009 Hometown: Casey, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Mary are wonderful hosts, you could'nt ask for better hosts. Rick was especially helpful on anything you could possibly think to ask of him.. We will be going back.... The campground is so nice and relaxing, very very clean.
Reviewed by: Jeremy&Shelley on 10/9/2009 8:42:04 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/28/2009 Hometown: Holden, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

You can't find better hosts that Rick and Mary! Great little cozy cabin, very clean cabin and stalls, handy and clean bathroom and showers. We had an amazing time, lucked out with some perfect weather for that early in the season! Hosts bend over backwards to make sure you're enjoying yourself - we were even invited to a potluck during our stay! Make sure you follow Rick's advice and shoe your horses! Great trails, but very rocky. We ride hard footed mules, and wish we would have shod them.
Reviewed by: Abbey on 3/26/2009 11:29:47 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/16/2009 Hometown: , IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a wonderful stay at Huckleberry stables. Barn and campground were clean. Bath house was very nice too. This is a small camping facility, not really set-up for large LQ trailers, but we managed to get ours in and leveled it out using a few boards and leveling blocks. There are 2 other sites that are more level for LQs. Cabins are very cute too. Rick and Mary go out of their way to make sure your stay is pleasant. Trails can be challenging and hilly with lots of loose rock. A map is provided. I would also recommend downloading Hucklebery Statepark map on your GPS. The service roads through the forest are marked and nice to ride on too.... and they are helpful for when you get lost on a regular trail and pop out on one of the service roads. One item to note is that the water is from a well and does have the typical Missouri sulfur odor. If you have a picky horse, might want to bring water from home.
Reviewed by: Tammy on 9/20/2008 9:38:01 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: La Cygne, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time there! The trails are good- some very steep. The owners bend over backwards to please! Small,friendly camp. Horses stay in clean barn.
Reviewed by: Rosalie on 8/20/2008 7:16:11 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2006 Hometown: Neosho, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The owners are very friendly and helpful, and also took us on a guided trail ride. We loved the trails. The campground was not large and not really suitable for our large LQ trailer. The sites are all on a hillside, so not very appealing as we had no grass or yard outisde our trailer. Nice firepit with wood provided, and rental cabins are neat and clean.
Reviewed by: Melanie Higdon on 7/12/2008 4:28:11 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/28/2008 Hometown: Marianna, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Can't say enough good things about this campground! A great place to stay for both you and your horse. Trails are great and can be enjoyed by both beginners and expert riders alike. Hosts are excellent and go out of their way to make you feel right at home. We have been there several times and plan on returning as our ride schedule permits.
Reviewed by: Bandit and Zac on 4/4/2007 7:15:44 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/1/2007 Hometown: Springfield, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground & the hosts went out of their way to insure we had a great time. We stayed in one of the cabins. It was clean & comfortable, and our horses were stabled in the barn in the box stalls. The trails were challenging, and even in the winter, the scenery was really nice. We are planning another visit within several months. Would highly recommend!
Reviewed by: Cheryl on 1/23/2006 12:51:48 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 1/21/2006 Hometown: Tonganoxie, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice camground with nice stalls that are covered or a round pen that is uncovered for your horses. Camground has nice showers with electric hookups and/or cabins if you prefer. The owners really work hard to ensure you have a great time, guided rides are given at no charge, the idea is to make sure you enjoy your stay. Trails took us to caves and scenic overlook and to the river. We live in Missouri and were heading down for a second stay.
Reviewed by: Patricia Hoehne on 12/30/2005 10:45:50 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 12/30/2005 Hometown: Bourbon , MO