HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Hueston Woods State Park-Horseman's Campground
(click on name for more information)
College Corner, OH

Overall TRAIL RATING with 7 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 7 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Went to the State Ride hosted by Preble County OHC.They make camping fun there. The trail were clean,but a little muddy{it rained that weekend }.But great people to ride with.The camp grounds are clean,new bathhouse,out houses are changed weekly. Just a great place to camp anytime when its warm.
Reviewed by: Steve on 12/2/2009 3:44:30 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/12/2009 Hometown: Brown County, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love to ride here--enough trails to keep you busy a weekend. Campground is very nice and sites are roomy. My only concern, and therefore suggestion, is perhaps put bridges over some of the very, very mucky places on trail C by the road. They continue to wash out and with some being over big culverts could pose hazard to horses that go too far to one side--worry about horse injury. one place i ride often has place wooden bridges over spots like that which is a safer environment for horse and rider.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/6/2009 10:56:40 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/3/2009 Hometown: versailles, ohio, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

AWESOME! The campgroup and trails have been re-vamp since I was there 6 yrs ago! They have electric sites, and a showerhouse! The trails are cleaned up and wide, nothing like the swampland they were before. The Preble County OHC has worked very hard to get the trails and camp looking great and working again. I had a chance to ride with the President and Vice President on their mules on Trail C and they told us about all the improvements made and how the park and OHC had to work together to get it that way. AWESOME place to go! Recommmend it all the way!!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 3/24/2009 2:42:25 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/24/2009 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to ride and to camp !, and there are more than 13 sites now, plus they are puting in a couple showers stalls for the horsemans camp area.People that run the camp are super nice... We come at least 10-15 times a year even if its just to ride trails for the da!
Reviewed by: Beth on 12/4/2008 1:20:27 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/22/2008 Hometown: Hamilton, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails have improved much over the past year,the trails are now wider and less hazordess. The campground is clean, but needs more watering facilities for watering the horses.
Reviewed by: Misty on 8/25/2007 6:24:41 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/18/2007 Hometown: New Paris, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I enjoy riding the trails here. It is absolutely beautiful scenery. I would have given the trails a 5 star rating except there are too many limbs across the trails. They have improved the trails in the last year. There were only a few muddy areas this year as opposed to last year. I appreciate the work that has been done.
Reviewed by: bunnymare on 5/25/2007 4:30:46 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2007 Hometown: Troy, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We day rode and went out with a family who had ridden there often. Had a great time and would like to go camp ther in the future. I am not sure how I'd rate the markings as we had a great tour guide. There was an OHC ride going on and I didn't think the folks were very friendly or considerate of new comers.
Reviewed by: Lee on 10/24/2005 10:04:35 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: Caledonia, OH