HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Hungerford Lake
(click on name for more information)


Big Rapids, MI

Overall TRAIL RATING with 19 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 18 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is the best horse camp in MidWest Michigan. Trails for flat out riding and switchbacks on hills. Nice picnic tables, lantern post, fire rings, and great highline picket poles. There almost 7,000 acres just in this area of woods and lakes. We have used the day ride area and the camp ground, but there is a group camp area if you and some of you horse friends what to stay together ( Recreation.gov ). Please stay on the trails or stay home!
Reviewed by: Fred Reil on 8/7/2018 6:34:50 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/4/2018 Hometown: Sand Lake , Mi

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved all the trails and the campground was great. Could use more water stations. We took two campsites with 5 horses, 2 trailers and one camper,and three truck, they were very fussy how we parked the trucks on the adjacent lots, don't quite understand their reasoning but be careful.
Reviewed by: Jill on 8/17/2011 11:24:26 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/16/2010 Hometown: Allendale, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Three vault type bathrooms, pumphouse with running water, picket posts, fire pits, picnic tables...trail maps available, over 30 miles of trails, hundreds of acres...ride to Woodville for ice cream!
Reviewed by: Joan on 5/10/2011 2:23:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/15/2010 Hometown: Rockford, Mi, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is one of the best trail/campgrounds in the state
Reviewed by: Lee Hoover on 3/17/2011 5:07:06 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/22/2010 Hometown: Charlotte , MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hungerford continues to get vast improvements every year because of a very active and dedicated volunteer horseman's association - The Hungerfor Trail Riders Association. If you ride there join this organization to support the ongoing hard work these people do even if you don't have time to volunteer. There are new group camps available by contacting Kathy Bietau at Baldwin Forest Service Office. If you are a Senior you can camp for 1/2 price with an Access pass and the day camp is free - just hang your Access Pass in the window. The camp had 2 new difficult trails added last year - warning #5 and #6 are very slippery after or during rain. The rest of the area is very sandy. This year there are 2 new trail on the west end of the Forest - #21 and #23. There is new signage put up by volunteers and it is very well marked. The group is adopting trails so that they stay clean and clear all year. If you love this place as much as I do please write your congressman and your National Forest Service and tell them how much you appreciate this excellent facility. Ask congress to continue to support equine trails everywhere! Horses bring hundreds of thousands of dollars to MI evey year! A much needed influx of dollars. Sincerely, Robin Dilg Big Rapids, MI
Reviewed by: Robin Dilg on 4/5/2010 9:00:53 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/4/2010 Hometown: Big Rapids, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hungerford is the best campground that I have been too in Michigan. The trails are very well marked and the campground is the best! Nice big sites with alot of shade. Although they do need to have another water spout on the other side of the park one is not enough! It seems that all the spots close to the water are alway's taken.I have been there twice this year and I'm going back one more time before the season is over!
Reviewed by: Cathy Mitchell on 9/23/2008 5:37:18 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/20/2008 Hometown: Memphis, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A new trail is opened now for 2007. Been there twice already and so nice! This camp has really improved, with water to fill your barrels up, wheel barrels and spot to dump your manure, new tie post, clean bath rooms, and just great fun to have on the trails. I was there when non-equine campers took a big spot, the DNR did address the issue.:) Make the trip you won't regret it!! MILES AND MILES AND MILES! I am fortunate to only travel 2 hours to this place!
Reviewed by: Laurie on 9/30/2007 4:11:30 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/30/2007 Hometown: THOMPSONVILLE, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice primitive campground, has water-solar operated, concrete outhouses, large pull thru camp locations, Shaded. Maps available but not great. Trails very sandy and great condition even after a night of rain. One of the best campgrounds in Michigan
Reviewed by: Susan on 9/18/2007 1:01:14 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/18/2007 Hometown: Garrett, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

the only problem is people without horses are taking up equine sites. yet we cannot ride down by the lake because the nonequine campground is there. i drove 60 miles up there to find sites taking up by tents and campers without horses. this will be a big problem.
Reviewed by: brenda on 6/13/2007 7:12:19 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/13/2007 Hometown: belding, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are great. Lots of animals to see. Camping is great. Large and small sites. Holidays are busy. It is my favorite place to go on my days off. I go once a week, overnight, take a compass, lots of two-tracks not on map. The Lake Association friends try to take care of the trails and report any big problems to the Rangers. Its a great place for any age any experience.
Reviewed by: Brenda on 11/1/2006 7:44:38 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/15/2006 Hometown: Midland, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camped over Memorial weekend. Campground was packed, but there are a few rustic spots further down the road to make a campsite. The grounds and facilities have greatly improved from previous visits. Rarely saw other riders it is so spacious and serene. Awesome trails with great footing and terrain that is easy for all levels of experience. The only downfall is that the horses are not allowed down at the lake.
Reviewed by: Vicki Larson on 5/30/2006 1:14:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/27/2006 Hometown: Scotts, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful trail system here! You can go forever, if you don't have a GPS just follow the maps they have. All trails are marked on posts with numbers on them at intersections. Campground has running water and bathrooms very nice place...4 *'s
Reviewed by: Tali Sorenson on 8/11/2005 10:33:48 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/5/2005 Hometown: SouthWest, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from here, found they'd made some improvements to the campground. New picket poles, rebedded the picket sites with fresh sand, water now available without having to use a generator, they have solar powered generator to run water pump.
Reviewed by: Molly Kidner on 6/26/2005 8:08:48 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/9/2005 Hometown: Muskegon, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Amazinly few bugs for July/August, and this has been my experience for several years of coming here. Nice for primitive campground, only $3/rig/nite. Picket poles at each site, some mud. Fills up the 40-some sites fast on weekends. 20+ miles of marked horse trails, maps available also at camp or DNR office in White Cloud. Also miles of two-tracks to ride.
Reviewed by: Molly Kidner on 10/23/2004 9:27:25 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/23/2004 Hometown: Muskegon, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I ride this trail at least 2X a year and have found it very well marked. Trails that are not marked are not for horses. The trail is well maintained.The camp ground has good facilities but really needs help with the mess the campers leave behind.A great number of campers do not clean up their horse & hay refuse and so it is pretty soggy and messy around the picket poles.
Reviewed by: mack on 7/6/2004 1:43:36 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/15/2004 Hometown: , MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

well maintained trails and campground. Trails are clearly marked and campground has water for horses only.
Reviewed by: Amy Milan on 6/29/2004 10:39:33 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/5/2004 Hometown: Six Lakes, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

There's plenty of riding here. A fair amount of it is on soft sand. The official trails are generally well marked although we did miss a turn once - there are many small forest service roads to ride that are not part of the marked trail our GPS helped us find our way without needing to backtrack. The camp is nice size and there are plenty of spots for big rigs. There is a pump that is powered a solar panel for horse water. The sign says that it isn't tested for human consumption.
Reviewed by: Jo on 7/24/2003 11:00:34 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/21/2003 Hometown: Sunbury, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Never saw a single marked trail!! Lost for 4 hours! You ride for miles and miles on 2 tracks.
Reviewed by: Kristina Sperry on 7/8/2003 5:57:14 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/26/2001 Hometown: Rockford, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are marked and it has a lot of wild life. Camp is quiet and fun.
Reviewed by: Jeanette on 6/12/2003 4:41:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/7/2003 Hometown: Holton, MI