HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Hungry Horse East, LLC
(click on name for more information)
Ivanhoe, VA

Overall TRAIL RATING with 27 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 27 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Traveled to Virginia in October 2018 to Hungry Horse East. The camp one of the nicest camps we have visited. It is set back from the road, alongside a creek that winds through the center of camp, that does require driving across a shallow section to get to the main area of the camp. Reservations were done ahead of time online, submitted all the equine paperwork, and paid for the stay at the same time. All the camp rules and fees are posted there online. Check in is done at the main office via iPad. There are 14 sites all level and have good amount of gravel with a picnic table at each site. The barn is at the top of a hill alongside the main area of the camp. Trucks can go up, but not trailers. There is a second barn with the first few sites as you come into camp with 6 stalls for campers on that side of the creek. Power and water at east site and a few have sewer connections. There is a dump station easily accessible as well. There are several trails leading right out of camp. We were only there 5 days as a hurricane drove us home early, but the trails we rode were wonderful. A mixture of grass forests roads, narrow winding single tracts, some more challenging than others. Long steep climbs as well to get to higher ground. Many creek crossings in some areas. We will need to go back in order to ride more of these scenic trails. Management of the camp is very efficient. Online registrations are done ahead of time. On site manager is available for campers. The owner was friendly and reasonable and in fact offered us a refund or a credit for next year since we were being driven off by severe weather. We took the raincheck for next year! Trail maps are useful and in conjunction with our Garmin helped keep us on track.
Reviewed by: RachelV on 10/13/2018 11:48:38 AM
More reviews by RachelV
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/7/2018 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Has anyone ever camped at Hungry Horse East, VA campgrounds and had a problem with them??? I have camped several times there and have always spread the word about how amazing their campgrounds & bath house are. TWO yrs ago (5/2014) I complained about their cancelation fees and guess what....I went to make reservations for May 2016, and because I made this "complaint" and he doesnt want to put up with campers with compliants, I am not allowed to make reservations and camp there any longer!!! Really???? Two years ago, I did say something about his $56.00 to cancel a reservation being rather steep, especially when I had a friend that was coming in the same day & would take my spot ............ he would not accept this exchange & I ended up paying the $56.00. I put it behind me, infact had forgotten about it....BUT, NOT Walter of Hungry Horse East, VA who does not need "campers" business!!!! I was so hurt - really, since all my friends are going...and that is what I told him, I have to tell my friends, I cant go??? Yep he said - go to Iron Mountain .... He commented that he has a MILLION $$ "Grading" business and does not need to deal with horse campers complaints for a business that makes him $80K a year!!! THAT is what of he thinks of people that want to come back & pay him to use his facility even though I did have a bout with paying what I thought was high fees for having to cancel my reservations. Since I still had friends coming in that weekend, I must have had to cancel for a pretty legitimate reason!! It wasn't weather related!! No business couth here, just a MEAN MAN!!!!
Reviewed by: Cinda Koonz on 1/28/2016 9:21:44 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/28/2016 Hometown: East Bend, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Enjoyed 4 days at Hungry Horse East in Ivanhoe/Cripple Creek, VA with friends Clara and Sherri. It's been many years since I've been there, and I was so amazed at all the improvements that have been made since a change of ownership. The campsites are beautiful, everything is kept well groomed and clean. The office and bathhouse are like none I've ever seen, so spacious, big and beautiful with western decor. The stalls were really nice size too. It's a must see/do for your bucket list of places to camp with your horses. This was just the R&R I needed!
Reviewed by: Judy Bennett on 9/7/2014 3:24:04 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: Taylorsville, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hungry horse only has 14 sites, but what wonderful sites they are! Graveled and level with a picnic table for each site. A streams runs through camp and there are 3 trailheads directly out of the campground. The riding can be rigorous, but so much fun. The bath house is astounding; spacious and sparkling clean. The common room has comfy recliners and a tv. There isn't any cell phone coverage, but by the bathrooms is a land-line phone for guests' use. Sure came in handy when I needed to call a local farrier. BTW, Brother Moore is the farrier everyone calls, but he was at the beach. We got Harry Moore, Brother's brother to shoe our horses and he did a fantastic job. We will definitely be going back!
Reviewed by: esdiaguila on 7/6/2014 12:28:14 PM
More reviews by esdiaguila
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/9/2014 Hometown: Toledo, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This campground surpasses a 5 star rating!! The campsites are level (and not on top of each other). The barn is very clean with large stalls. The bathrooms are private and super clean. Mike comes by in the am & pm to check on things and is very helpful. The trails are nice but I would recommend that your horse is well trained and you know what you're doing! I would not recommend children. The scenery is beautiful. Please remember that you have no cell service at the campground or the trails. The campground does have a phone for their guest to use anywhere in the cont. US so that helps. They also give you the # to their home so in the event there is an emergency & you need to be reached. I would recommend HHE to anyone as it is exceptional.
Reviewed by: nancy ave on 6/20/2013 4:30:25 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/14/2013 Hometown: Crossville, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Thr trails are challenging and great to walk through. Fire gravel roads are what they are gravel roads. The woods and mountains will give you and your horse a great workout. We usually ride between 5-8 hours each day. Campsites... you couldn't ask for better accomadations. The New bathhouse is an awesome addition to an already great place for horses and riders.
Reviewed by: Sandy S on 12/31/2012 6:44:38 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/27/2011 Hometown: Virginia Beach, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first trip to this campground. The pictures show it as it is. It is very beautiful, park like setting. The people there were very helpful and checked to see if we needed anything everyday. This is a must see place to camp and ride. We will be going back.
Reviewed by: Elizabeth DeBorde on 12/3/2012 5:58:52 AM
More reviews by Elizabeth DeBorde
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/20/2012 Hometown: Arcanum, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We visit HHE several times a season and always have a great time. We've stayed in most of the sites. They are all level and pretty. Some sites back up to a meandering creek. The bath house is spotless. Mike and his family are the caretakers and they are always very helpful. Mike even brought us some homegrown tomoates from his own garden! If you've forgotten something like blocks to chock your trailer, or extra extension cords, etc. they probaby have it there and will loan you whatever you need. You ride right out of the campground onto miles and miles of beautiful, diverse trails. We've seen deer and a couple of bears. Don't let the weather forcast hold you back either. The weatherman was calling for rain on our last two visits, but we didn't get any (just a sprinkle). We are looking forward to our next visit hopefully in September!
Reviewed by: Reids on 8/20/2012 6:29:00 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/17/2012 Hometown: Stokesdale, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great time at HHE. Our host was Jimmy for the weekend. This was our first time going Jimmy invited us to ride with him He was a great trail guide. Thanks Jimmy!! We stayed 3 days and didnt want to leave. The camp site are big and level...The bath house was really nice. Barn was clean plenty of bedding water at each stall also. If I was going to have a riding campground I'd model it after this one. Met the owner super nice we talked for awhile at the barn.Everyone was super friendly. cant wait to return!Trails were nice saw some deer.We had a new horse and my mare had never been on a trail justa 3 year old she did great. So THANKS FOR THE GREAT VACATION!!!We will return soon!!
Reviewed by: Randy& Kim on 9/16/2011 8:35:24 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/5/2011 Hometown: Denver, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another perfect camping trip to HHE! This is the campground that we measure all others by. Well thought out, wonderfully executed layout, big sites, nice barns, safe stalls. The area trails are varied, novice and experienced riders will be satisifed. The maps provided by Walter and Emma are excellent. The new bath house is plush, no cutting corners anywhere at HHE. Well maintained and constantly being improved. As always, we can't wait to go back.
Reviewed by: Bill & Anne Breen on 4/24/2011 5:45:43 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/23/2011 Hometown: Charlotte, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

best campground.best facilities.we go to a lot of places. this is the best one. great trails. saw a bear.
Reviewed by: walkers on 3/25/2011 8:36:03 AM
More reviews by walkers
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/4/2010 Hometown: sunbury, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is by far the nicest campground to which I have been. It is so well run and managed; I did not meet the owners, but they are extremely lucky to have Mike managing Hungry Horse for them. I have never been at a campground where the manager stops by to see how you are doing every day. The campsites are beautiful, well spaced and everything is immaculate. There are ample shavings, forks, much buckets, etc. I also like the fact that this campground only has limited sites because it puts much less pressure on the surrounding trails, thus they are in much better shape as compared to some trails located around larger campgrounds. Of course the size makes it more private and quiet too. The trails are beautiful with good variety. Definitely have your horse shod or have boots. The only thing that I was not crazy about were the stalls in the small barn; I thought they were small and hard to see out of for smaller horses. Other than that, I cannot say enough good about this place and I cannot wait to go back next year.
Reviewed by: April on 11/17/2010 12:02:16 AM
More reviews by April
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/15/2010 Hometown: Mill Spring, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just came back from 3 days at this campground (our first time). We went because of the excellent reviews we read on this site. The campground is beautiful, clean and neat. It's way back off the main road, which made it a little spooky for my husband and I because we were the only two in the entire campground for 3 days! However, after the first night of being a little scared due to the pitch blackness outside at night and total silence, we were okay. We were on site #14 next to the small barn, which was great to be very close to our horses. My Haflinger who is not so tall had to stretch her neck to look over the door and the stalls were dark, but there are good lights inside each stall and down the middle of the barn, which is nice in early morning and as evening is setting. If you have horses who want to see each other like we do, ask for stalls across from each other because there are no slats between stalls so they can't see each other if they are side by side. The manager and his son Steven, were very nice and helpful. There is no cell phone service because you're deep in the forest, but they allow 1-minute phone calls on a phone outside the office for emergency use. No cable TV, but Wi-fi worked well. We rode the Blue trail the first day and it was nice. Steep going up the mountain but then it leveled off. My husband is an intermediate rider, I'm more of a beginner. Neither of us had any problems. The next day we started off on the White trail. It wasn't long before we came to a very steep rocky trail going straight down the mountain. My horse's saddle slipped and I fell off. I hit the rocky ground hard and hurt myself (I still have bruises on my legs, scrapes on my face, a bruised eye, and sore body) but my horse escaped down the mountainside and ended up on the bottom without injury. Later we went partway up the Green trail, which crossed some water and seemed to be not so steep. We didn't go far so I can't really give much detail on that trail. If anyone else can, I would like to hear about it for my next trip to Hungry Horse. I would not recommend a beginner rider to take the White trail. We would also recommend your horse to have shoes or very tough hooves. My Haflinger does not wear shoes, but she had hard feet and did well. We will go back to Hungry Horse.
Reviewed by: Stacey Coverstone on 9/17/2010 1:00:28 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/13/2010 Hometown: Union Bridge, MD

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a wonderful weekend at HHE. We were with a group of 8 people and I believe everyone was very satisfied. The campsites are wonderful, level with plenty of room. They could actually double the number of sites if they wanted too but they want to keep it small and family oriented. Campsites are shaded and we all camped together and met in the middle for campfires. The barn is always immaculate and very nice hitching area for baths. I can't say enough about the new bath facilities. There are 4 separate bathrooms with showers, commode, bench and vanity. The shower is huge and very clean. I have never stayed anywhere else that had separate rooms. Great addition!!!!! The trails are mountain trails. Shoes would be highly recommended in my opinion. I loved them. I don't like to ride on straight terrain-I like to feel like I am back in the woods forging my way. We have already booked again for Oct-can't wait to go back!!!!!
Reviewed by: Kim and Robert Haynes on 8/9/2010 11:58:38 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/6/2010 Hometown: Princeton, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Outstanding hospitality!! Good accomodations for horses, great food. We had a great weekend. We will be going back. Thanks Tom
Reviewed by: Melissa on 8/9/2010 5:43:22 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/6/2010 Hometown: Salisbury, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from another wonderful weekend at Hungry Horse East. The campground is the nicest I have ever visited. The new bath house is awesome. The trails are wonderful. They range from moderate to rigorous, so some judgement in selecting a route is required for novice trail riders or horses that are not in good trail condition. Shoes are recommended. These are mountain trails, and rocky in places. We trail ride all over the Southeast, and have some experience with trails in the Rocky Mountain West. Hungry Horse East is one of my all time favorites. The Campground Hosts, Mike and Ann Beaver, along with their five (5) sons do a wonderful job of maintaining the campground and barns. Owners, Walter and Emma Neal, have made a serious investment in making this "horse camp" one of the nicest in the country.
Reviewed by: Rick on 7/26/2010 10:30:01 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/25/2010 Hometown: Mooresville, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just came back from another perfect weekend at Hungry Horse East! This place just gets better!!!! Thanks to the owners and staff for the new addition of a wonderful bathhouse. We rode some new trails that were really nice and we are going back again soon. My favorite place to camp for sure.
Reviewed by: Cobie, Larry and George on 7/12/2010 4:46:35 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/10/2010 Hometown: Mt Pleasant, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to ride very nice campground and people that runs it. We will go again very soon.Nice barn and sites to camp. Easy marked trails w/great views.
Reviewed by: Amy on 6/12/2010 10:52:57 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/2/2010 Hometown: St. Pauls, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were there on the coldest week-end ever (it seemed like it anyway 26 dergrees with a high in mid 40's!!)The trails were great and the campground is outstanding! Mike and his family took great care of us! We definately want to come back when the weather is a little warmer. We did not get attacked by any bees this time!! Thanks guys we had a great time!
Reviewed by: Teresa on 10/27/2009 8:38:58 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/17/2009 Hometown: Zebulon, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a wonderful place! This is a pretty, small, quiet, very well-kept campground. Clean bathrooms/showers, terrific stalls. The map is wonderful. Can't say enough about how nice Mike is. We had rainy/misty mornings, so we went hiking and sightseeing, then rode in the afternoons. Because of the weather, we didn't get to cover many trails, but they were varied and well-marked. Don't miss the Cripple Creek "Mall," and the ride to Funk's Cabin. If I could give the camp more than 5 stars, I would! We'll be back.
Reviewed by: Cherri on 9/29/2009 3:15:56 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/24/2009 Hometown: southern Indiana, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a wonderful place for both horse and rider! A truly lovely setting, well maintained with friendly staff. We had help planning our first ride and never felt anything but welcome. I have found other campgrounds on the internet and have first hand experience with places that look good on the web, but in reality are horrid - not so HHE! First rate all the way. The trails are well marked and the maps never took us in the wrong direction. Will be back again, we highly recommend HHE.
Reviewed by: Bill & Anne Breen on 8/9/2009 4:00:15 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/7/2009 Hometown: Gastonia, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

FIRST TIME HERE AND IT WAS ABSOLUTELY GREAT!THE OWNERS AND THE STAFF WERE SO FRIENDLY,CARING AND HELPFUL.I HAVE TRAVELED US FULLTIME IN RV FOR 3 YRS AND THIS IS ONE OF THE PRETTIEST CAMPGROUNDS I HAVE BEEN TO. LEVEL/CLEAN/A BROOK BEHIND YOUR SITE,GREAT CLEAN STALLS AND OUTSTANDING TRAILS. THE OWNERS REALLY HAVE A 5 STAR CAMGROUND. PS THE MAPS ARE THE BEST, GPS PRODUCED. THANK YOU FOR A GREAT TIME.
Reviewed by: PATTI MAECHLER on 7/17/2009 8:55:38 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/30/2009 Hometown: WAXHAW,, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned frome our second trip to Hungry Horse and it is our favorite place to camp. The campground is so lovely and the well maintained. Staff is courteous and gracious. Barns are really nice, trails scenic and very rideable. Map and markings on trails really helped us find our way. We highly recommend this campground!!!!
Reviewed by: Larry & Cobie on 7/6/2009 9:55:07 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/27/2009 Hometown: Mt Pleasant, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is our third visit to Hungry Horse in a year. We love the campground! The entire experience makes this our favorite place to ride and camp. Everyone associated with the campground is friendly and courteous. You won't find nicer people anywhere else. I love the level campsites, the well kept barn and the peaceful, shaded quietness of the entire campground. The trails are beautiful and offer something for all different levels of riders. I'm already looking at the calendar to see when I can book my next reservation!
Reviewed by: Julie on 6/2/2009 6:12:30 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/29/2009 Hometown: Angier, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a 4 day/3 night stay at HHE and had a wonderful time. The barn could not be better and the facilities/campground are so clean! The sites are well graveled and level. Camping next to the creek could not be better. I can't recommend this place enough! Everyone is very friendly. The trails are well marked and maps are provided. Make sure your horse is in shape!
Reviewed by: Jennifer on 5/31/2009 6:10:53 PM
More reviews by Jennifer
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/28/2009 Hometown: Clover, SC

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List