HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Ionia State Recreation Area
(click on name for more information)


Ionia , MI

Overall TRAIL RATING with 15 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 9 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I went during the week in July and had a great camp site in the shade with water. Not all the sites are close to water, but plenty of shady spots. The trails are well marked. Lots of rocks, some gravel. Some steep areas, a flowing creek to cross, a wooden bridge that's pretty wide. Nothing difficult, but interesting variety. Two ways out onto the trails and then a number of loops you can take. Very good experience. I'll be going back.
Reviewed by: Mary on 8/6/2012 8:19:23 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/31/2012 Hometown: Lakeville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been riding these trails for at least 10 years. you do not have to have shoes on your horses. There are only a few spots that you cant go around the rocks. It has water to go threw hills to climb and fields to ride. you can choose easy or hard.
Reviewed by: Sherry on 6/17/2011 5:21:19 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/21/2011 Hometown: Eaton Rapids, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are well groomed and staging area is clean and spacious. Easy access off of I-96 freeway.
Reviewed by: April B. on 4/9/2011 6:43:59 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/15/2010 Hometown: Alto, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love Ionia equastrian park! It is definetely one of my favorite places to go. The trails are well marked with a variety of terrain with a good mix of wooded areas and wide open spaces. Each season is a unique experience- I try go spring, summer and fall. Love the fact I can use the state park bathhouse facilities for showering when camping.
Reviewed by: Muriel on 7/5/2010 7:34:16 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/12/2010 Hometown: Zeeland, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

one of my favorite place to go, but when riding here have your horses shod, lots of rocks, wish it was closer would go more often. Very clean camping area,trail are great, the only thing i would change is the noise from the cars and planes
Reviewed by: Pam on 10/3/2009 1:57:59 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/6/2008 Hometown: dowagiac, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I was very impressed with the different terrain and scenary. The fall colors were awesome. The campsite was very clean, although the water spout didn't work and we had to walk to another one. loved it though.
Reviewed by: Jill Tolman on 10/16/2008 2:34:42 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/12/2008 Hometown: Allendale, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My second time here, and the first in fall. I'd planned to go to several places on my week away with my horse. This was my first stop, and I just couldn't leave a place so perfect, so I spent my whole week here. Breathtakingly BEAUTIFUL!!! Good water pump, that you don't have to "PUMP"! Clean restroom. Friendly and attentive Park staff. Trails well parked, great variety. Only disappointment was in PEOPLE who threw discarded plastic bottles all over on the trails. To ride in a place this wonderful, can't we do better?!
Reviewed by: Marjie MacDonald on 11/16/2005 11:58:21 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/30/2005 Hometown: Marine City, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great Camping. Very nice to bring the whole family here. Not only nice trail riding but the kids can swim and ride bikes. Not alot of miles but nice terrain to train on.
Reviewed by: Tali Sorenson on 8/4/2005 7:09:17 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/29/2005 Hometown: SouthWest, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice long trails, a few muddy spots, but very scenic. Fields, woods, hills, valleys and even a stream to cross. We enjoyed it a great deal.
Reviewed by: K Schlee on 7/22/2005 2:59:43 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/3/2003 Hometown: Charlotte, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Ionia has a nice variety of trails with views of fields, woods and lakes. Nice parking area to tie up horses. The Ionia riding association does a lot to keep the trails clean and clear of fallen branches, etc.
Reviewed by: Jen on 7/18/2005 2:56:02 PM
More reviews by Jen
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/18/2005 Hometown: DeWitt, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to go. Very nice trails that are gently rolling. Would be nice if they had more water locations, but can't have everything. Showers are within walking dist. Nice DNR staff. Love the creek crossing!
Reviewed by: Jane on 6/1/2005 11:15:50 PM
More reviews by Jane
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/1/2005 Hometown: Yoder, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We rode most of the available trail system (one loop was closed due to conditions), in between three and four hours. It is very well maintained. The campground looked nice too but we were there just for a day ride.
Reviewed by: jtrider on 9/3/2004 10:47:46 AM
More reviews by jtrider
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/31/2004 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This park has well marked trails with different types of footing. The park and the camp grounds are very well maintained. Everything is always clean and they always check the trails to make sure they are safely passable.
Reviewed by: mack on 7/6/2004 1:50:54 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/12/2004 Hometown: , MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a very nice place to go for one or two day's of riding. The trails are well maintained and marked, but you do need a map. The campground is one of the nicest primitive that you will visit. While there aren't showers at the horseman's camp, the regular campground is within walking distance and the do have facilities there.
Reviewed by: Jo on 7/24/2003 10:53:25 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/24/2003 Hometown: Sunbury, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellant place to ride, good range of terrain. Some hills can be steep and scary to beginner riders. Trails are marked well.
Reviewed by: Kristina Sperry on 7/8/2003 5:51:42 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/27/2003 Hometown: Rockford, MI