HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for JbarS Trail Riding Camp
(click on name for more information)


Osceola, Mo

Overall TRAIL RATING with 20 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 20 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We felt very welcome from the very first moment we arrived to the last moment were there. The horses were never more calm the facilities were clean and well cared for they are truly horse-lovers there ,good people great trails beautiful scenery and well marked trails
Reviewed by: Wendi Noyes on 5/20/2014 7:54:21 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/19/2014 Hometown: oak grove , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails were great, clearly labeled, and filled with beautiful scenery. The map is very detailed and helpful. Probably the best signage and map coordination I've seen. The campground and their facilities are very clean with full hookups available. The price is very reasonable. This was our first visit to J Bar S and we will definitely be going back.
Reviewed by: Amy Stucker on 9/22/2013 8:20:39 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/21/2013 Hometown: Raymore, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time at J-S and we will go back at our first opportunity. Camp has been a wellkept secret! Trails are great many ok for riding bare footed. Owners are all very helpfull and friendly will bend over backwards to accomidate. Price is right, we had good stalls the open sides was no problem for us Thanks Carol Paul and Jan Hope to visit again real soon
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/5/2012 4:25:06 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/1/2012 Hometown: Buckner , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

another great weekend at J-S good trails great host
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/24/2012 5:58:48 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/20/2012 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

clean camp, nice trails, great host
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/10/2012 3:49:54 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/6/2012 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camp was nice and very well kept up. People running the place were really nice and helpful. Prices right. Best of all--the trails!! So awesome. My foxtrotter moves out at a fast speed and it was so great to have clear, often wide, trails in the woods to ride on! It's challenging riding but safe enough and clear enough for gaiting in almost all areas. I also like being on Truman Lake and close to swimming beaches--lots of places to let horses swim or get a drink. Lots of new trail signage since I was there a few years ago. The camp also provides a really good map of all the trails.
Reviewed by: Chas Young on 5/30/2012 8:25:12 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/26/2012 Hometown: East Lynne, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

had a amazing 3 day trip at j-bar-s the trails were well marked clear of all brush wide paths several clear paths to the lake. they have 4 new wood stalls large for the bigger horse or problem horse. the camp is well shaded and clean. our trailers were cleaned when we arrived. our hay was hauled to our stalls. they have a new restraunt 5 miles from camp the cook shack best hand breaded tenderloin around homade cinnamon rolls BBQ and real country breakfast. they are continuing to work on the stall situation but the trails are better then they have been in 12 years really good for us gaited riders. would be a great place to hold endurance rides. keep up the good work it is really nice
Reviewed by: mary powers on 5/30/2012 4:07:26 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/24/2012 Hometown: lee sumitt, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It was good to see the JBarS up and running again and to see Paul recovering well from his Chemo treatments. The place has come a long way since the new owners Jan, Paul and Carol have taken over. While I was there they even got a new load of lumber in for larger stalls that many have complained about. It all takes time and they are making nice progress. I pull a 63 ft. long rig and there are many places to park it there. The trails are now open and 95% are well marked. This is a very well maintained campground when compared to many others I have visited in and around MO and for the wapping sum of $18.00 per night you can have full hookups. Keep up the great work guys! I will be coming back!
Reviewed by: Debra Racheter on 3/21/2012 12:35:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/15/2012 Hometown: Lowry City , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are well marked. Paul explained the trail map and even rode with us for a while. His knowledge of the trails will keep you out of situations or give you and your horse a challenge. Nice clean facility with accommodations for an extended stay. Electric, water and dump site. Two bath houses and party lounge with kitchen to watch the Chiefs win(Optimism)! Only downside is the stalls. Wooden stalls are rather small. Metal stalls need some kind of divider between horses. I mentioned this to Paul and he stated they were going to address the stall issue. I was able to have cell service off and on. Go see Paul, Jan and Carol not to mention Lulu, Bell, Chester, CB and that dog with the name I shouldn't type! I'm going back!
Reviewed by: Debra Schuster on 10/11/2011 5:08:17 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2011 Hometown: Walker, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had another wonderful 3 days of trail riding at J Bar S this week. Trails have become very well marked over the last year and we had no trouble finding or following them. As usual, Paul, Jan and Carol made us feel right at home and appreciated. Some work could still be done on the overnight stalls to better divide them and make them safer, but all in all, everything was great. Nice, clean, well-mowed campground with hot-wired, grassy pens, a roundpen, roomy sites and lots of trails (we rode most of them). We are looking forward to another visit there this fall.
Reviewed by: Loren & Janan Wolken on 6/24/2011 5:08:12 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/20/2011 Hometown: Osawatomie, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

this is a great place to ride, good trail map, trails marked well, clean restrooms, showers, great owners
Reviewed by: David D on 6/10/2011 5:03:23 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/4/2011 Hometown: Lee's Summit, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had an awesome time!!! The owners make you feel right at home! Help anyway they can to make your stay enjoyable. Beautiful weather made for great riding. Trails were in good condition.
Reviewed by: Rick on 10/31/2010 5:58:35 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/31/2010 Hometown: Concordia, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground was very clean, but couldn't relax becuase the new stalls have the potential of being dangerous. Horses can stick their entire head and neck through the widely spaced welded pipe into the next stall. Also, the welded pipe is to far apart and a horse is going to get caught trying to go under the middle pipe. These stalls are an accident waiting to happen. Old stalls are too cramped and only a rope across the front keeps the horse in. Cleared trails were nice, but more work needs to be done to make more miles of trails. I would return if the stalls were made safer.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/24/2010 10:35:10 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/5/2010 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Stalls need to have walls built between them, otherwise you will have a lot of horse fights and people fights. Campground is nice if you don,t mind parking on a 30 degree slope. Trails were not marked or cleared enough to stay on. Really pricey for what you get.
Reviewed by: Joe Carol on 9/6/2010 9:01:34 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/15/2010 Hometown: Nevada, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

only ones there during week loved the trails, even the poorly marked ones, intersections are the worse, electric pens challenging to our horses tho we used the round pen. rates are good for camping the stall rate is pricey for missouri will go back and ride again campgound is clean lots of wood for a fire. shoes on your horses are recommended. some rocks, trails are good for the gaited horses would recommend them to put up a pipe or wooden pen or two for the challenging horses.
Reviewed by: sandy on 8/31/2010 11:29:28 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/24/2010 Hometown: belton, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great time!!! Everyone treated us as old friends! Paul even went ridding with us. Swam the horses in the lake that evening. REFRESHING! The trails we hit were in good shape. The campground and stables suited our needs just fine. Will be going back as soon as we can. Thanks again to Paul, Carol, and Jan. You made our stay very pleasant!
Reviewed by: Rick on 7/22/2010 4:51:27 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/17/2010 Hometown: Concordia, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground was extremely nice. Well taken care of. If you would have seen this place several years ago you would understand why. Camp sites are nice, especially with sewer hookup. For these folks to only be open since April they have done a job well done. The trails can still use some work, however most of them are marked with orange tape and there is signs for the trails. I would recommend updating the map and the trails signs with colors to coordinate the trail routes. People you have to go on the scenic trail. It was the best trail I think. We did lose the trail once or twice however that's is what I think trail-riding is all about. We did find the trail overall. The old stalls are a little cramped and the metal stalls can use some works to put walls up. If you have a mischievous horse next to your horse it could be a little tense. Overall I give these folks a great compliment for the work they have done. As time permits and the owners get the trails whipped into shape, this place will become a great place to ride.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/4/2010 10:42:23 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/2/2010 Hometown: , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

host are very nice people campground is very well kept sites are very accesible our 8 yr old grandaughter and myself rode every trail with exception of the scenic trail found them all to be rideable paul still has some trail cleaning to do.
Reviewed by: d white on 7/2/2010 4:09:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/1/2010 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were at this camp June 13 & 14. The trails within 30 minutes of camp are cleared, but further out you can't find them! We took a trail named "Scenic Trail" looking forward to a ride along the bluff, but lost it 3 times and finally gave up. We cut through brush, trees, etc., still no trail. A trail called "Sunshine Trail" is so overgrown with brush and trees, faded ribbon, you'll struggle to find your way. If you are a serious trail rider, the map is dated 1997 and these trails aren't used. New owners are friendly but they have a long way to go to provide good trails for their guests. The campground is nice, covered stalls, nice shower house. But don't plan on lots of trail riding. We left early, not because of rain, but because we couldn't find the trails.
Reviewed by: Coy & Sara Bartlett on 6/17/2010 4:47:37 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/14/2010 Hometown: Fayetteville, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Under new ownership, reopened for camping on April 19, 2010, trails were very nice, most are very well marked and cleared and are expanding weekly (about 26 miles of trails at present and we covered them all). Seven of us in 4 campers stayed for the week and had a great time. Campground was very nice, lots of green grass, nice showers and bathrooms, good stalls, nice electric corrals, great lounge building with kitchen, TV for weather, place to warm up by the fire and socialize. Jan, Carol and Paul made us feel right at home and bent over backwards to make our stay memorable and enjoyable...frequently asking how our rides were going and if there was anything we needed. Paul even personally accompanied us on a couple of rides and took time reviewing the trail maps with us and giving us pointers on where to go. Many trails have access to the lake and great views. We plan on going back soon. Camp is a few miles out of the way off 71 Hwy, but well worth the trip. Not a problem for large trailers. Please let them know you are coming for a visit and they will be happy to give you directions and assist you, making your stay and rides memorable. Also a good place for day rides.
Reviewed by: Loren & Janan Wolken on 5/9/2010 10:29:40 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/26/2010 Hometown: Osawatomie, KS