HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Lake Carl Blackwell
(click on name for more information)


Stillwater, OK

Overall TRAIL RATING with 6 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 6 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE LCB!! One of our very fav places to come camp/ride! Trails are great, well marked and maintained! Hunts Meadow is great place to camp, easy in/out. Can use picket line or electric fence.
Reviewed by: Alisha on 4/10/2012 11:56:35 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/22/2012 Hometown: Hydro, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

One of our favorite places to ride! Beware of ticks/bug bites. Several of our horses have suffered allergic type reactions (itching, swelling, weeping wounds) over the years. We all come home with tick bites and itch for weeks afterwards but we keep going back because it is just beautiful. Also, be aware that the campsite fee only covers you until 1200 the following day so you will be ticketed if you haven't paid for an additional day. All in all...beautiful, well maintained place.
Reviewed by: tabitha on 9/29/2010 7:43:27 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/24/2010 Hometown: alva, ok, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Lake Carl Blackwell is a really great place to go ride. $5.00 per trailer to ride for the day. There is a spot on the trail, where i've decided you come to no matter which trail you choose to ride, that has a long picnic style seating area and room to tie the horses. Great area to stop for lunch. Last Labor Day weekend, we took a group that included children and stayed over in the camp grounds. Their are picket poles, and on the outer edges of camp there are trees for tieing. Most of the camp sites have a fire ring. There are 9 gravel sites for fully equiped trailers with picnic tables, electric, and water. They have a 4 pen covered horse shed. One of the people in our group put her three horses in one pen, and it was plenty big enough. The trails are well marked and vary in difficulty. We usually trail hop. The only changes I'd make at Lake Carl Blackwell is for there to be a shower house and maybe a pavilion built and trees planted in the open areas in the horse camp. Not much shade unless your on the outer edges of camp. The trails have plenty of shade though. Can't wait for Labor Day Weekend this year!
Reviewed by: Stacie Smith on 2/23/2010 9:46:36 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2010 Hometown: Ponca City, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice place! Relaxing and beautiful!
Reviewed by: Helen Lawrence on 8/17/2009 9:01:08 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Oakland, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice riding, gravel at parking, trails good. Trail markers sometimes confusing. Camping somewhat limited. Don't go in warmer months unless WELL prepared, horse & rider, for all kinds of nasty bug bites with often long lasting irritation.
Reviewed by: Cheryl on 4/5/2009 2:54:27 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/1/2008 Hometown: Enid, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are maintained and marked very well and offer everything from open land, dirt roads, and winding trails through the woods to water crossings. There is even a new trail to a cave. I would rate most of the trails as easy with a few spots here and there as a medium challenge. I have not been on all of them yet though. There are several trails to choose from. A young horse just starting out would do just fine. There are some rocks but I don’t think shoes are required unless the horse is very soft footed. You must pay a $5.00 per day trail use fee ($50 for a year pass) at the store but it is worth it as the money goes back in to the equestrian campground and trails. They will give you a colored map of all the trails which is easy to follow. The equine campground at Hunts Meadow has lots of parking, water, port-a-potties and a handicap mounting ramp. There are only 9 electric hookups at this time. There is a nice bathroom/bath house with showers a short walk from camp. Even though it is an hour and 40 minutes drive for me it is quickly becoming one of my favorite places to ride.
Reviewed by: Candy on 11/20/2008 9:33:57 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/15/2008 Hometown: Tulsa, OK