HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Lakeview Plantation
(click on name for more information)


Allendale, SC

Overall TRAIL RATING with 18 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 18 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have gone to this campground for the past several years and it just keeps getting better! The bath house is clean and well lit. They have a permanent highline or corrals for you to use. This was the first year we spent Thanksgiving. It was GREAT. Heyward cooked a meat each nite and all the campers brought covered dishes. LOTS of trails too. I don't think I have seen the same place twice riding. Both Donna and Heyward are exceptional hosts along with Grumpy. This is a place you can bring the kids and actually enjoy yourself. It has a great family atmosphere.
Reviewed by: Kathy on 2/22/2011 11:56:14 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/23/2010 Hometown: Pelion, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Lakeview Plantation is a great place to ride and relax. Camp sites are wide and you are not jammed up next to the ones beside you. Gate panels can be somewhat challenging but being on sewer made up for it. Bath Houses are nice and clean. Owners are very friendly. Would have rated higher but the trails can be difficult to find at times, but that was part of the adventure. Trails are not challenging in change of elevation but you don't need shoes and is a great place for gaited horses. Will be going back.
Reviewed by: R Clement on 6/1/2010 6:24:40 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/28/2010 Hometown: Carnesville, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice place. Water, electric, and dumpstation at each site. Corral panels at each site. Nice big areas to park trailers with light on each pole at each site. Owners are very nice. Place is a bit expensive with fees for trail usage and by person fees. Overall a good place to ride, mainly flat with small elevation changes nothing to challenging. Recommend this place to everyone
Reviewed by: rick on 11/26/2009 3:08:51 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/26/2009 Hometown: , SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A great place with wonderful people! The trails are well marked if someone is watching rather than talking;which is easy to do as the trails are wide and clear! Of course it isn't hilly....it is central S.C. If you cannot park a trailer of any size here you need to practice. No stalls but my horse does't melt in the rain.
Reviewed by: J. Roberts on 3/26/2009 3:47:07 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2009 Hometown: Aiken, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went to Lakeview for the first time over New Years with some friends and had a wonderful time!! We have a very long trailer as do our friends. We had NO trouble parking, corals were sufficient and right at our site. Trails were easy and well marked. We rode each day for 4 days and took a different route each time. Campground Host Capt Grumpy was gracious and so helpful. We will definately be back many times in the future. It was easy to find and well worth the 3 hour drive.
Reviewed by: Cobie Ellington on 2/15/2009 8:48:37 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2009 Hometown: Mt Pleasant, , NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my first time to Lakeview. Wasn't too crazy about the pannels as we had to put them togeather for our horses after a 4 hour ride getting there but we managed. The bathhouse was great with plenty of hot water. I loved with trails with my gaited horses! Nice, wide and flat--was perfect for them. Well marked. Clean and nice facilities. Will go back.
Reviewed by: Jennifer on 1/25/2009 7:09:29 PM
More reviews by Jennifer
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/8/2009 Hometown: Clover, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Second trip, was very pleased to see they have added new corral panels with gates to the nicer big campsites on the upperside, also have somewhat figured out the trails now, so we really enjoyed our trip and will be trying to go at least once a year.
Reviewed by: LVMYWLKR on 8/17/2008 10:58:39 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/20/2006 Hometown: china grove, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first time, we were a little disappointed, was expecting a little more, sites that had panels were to small for our rig and truck, had hard time parking,we were not told the barn was corral panels at your campsite or highlines,which we do not do, the panels were very hard to open and it came up a TERRIBLE storm in the middle of the night, could not sleep for checking on the horses. Trails were nice but we got lost everyday, markers were not uniform in placement, random- on the right then on the left behind tree branches, back side of the trees etc. We do ride gaited so we may have just blew by them, our kind of trails for gaiting. Will probably go back and give it another shot, enjoyed the weekend.
Reviewed by: LVMYWLKR on 8/17/2008 8:10:11 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/24/2006 Hometown: Rockwell, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great campground. plenty of parking with electric,water & sewer. Corrals split the middle, you camp on both sides. Nice set up. Trails were great with 2 horse wide for a while then goes into woods and rides in woods for a while. Lots of water crossongs.
Reviewed by: Andrea on 4/17/2008 4:49:23 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/9/2008 Hometown: Homestead, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My family camped at Lakeview for three days over Easter weekend. We had a great time. The owners, and their campground manager "Captain Grumpy", were very pleasant and friendly. Camp was clean and well maintained, as were the trails. It was a very pleasant, relaxing weekend. Our girls loved the music and dance on Saturday night.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/22/2007 7:55:01 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/6/2007 Hometown: Georgetown, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My wife and some of our friends go to Lakeview 3 or 4 times a year and we enjoy it so much. The owners Hayward and Donna make you feel like they've known you all your life. You'll not find a nicer horse camp anywhere. The sites have water,power and sewer, some sites also have sattelite TV hookups(take your own sattelite box). The bath house is always clean and nice. Some site have picket lines and some have stall panels. The trails are well marked and are a gaited horse riders dream. If you want to be treated like family and have a great riding experience I urge you to give Lakeview a try, you won't regret it.
Reviewed by: Mike Threatt on 5/16/2007 5:29:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/1/2007 Hometown: Clinton, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I am truly sorry if Mrs X from TN did not understand the logic associated with the fees at Lakeview. The Lakeview Plantation camp ground also caters to RV camping (without horses), day riders (who do not camp) and non-riders who camp with friends or family but do not ride. We therefore charge for what the customer uses: use of the campsites, trails (including day riding), and/or stalls. Camping is per person because more people travel alone ($10.00 per night per campsite with water and electricity for the person traveling alone) and there are seldom three in one trailer. Families of three or more are also afforded a 20% discount (which helps to offset the per person cost when three or more are involved) as are those who stay three or more days. The only reason we would have charged Mrs X for riding three days (if she only rode two days but camped three nights) would be because the discount saved her more than the ride fees cost her and she benefited by paying the ridinng fee for the third day saving her $8.00. Otherwise, it was a mistake and a refund is in order.
Reviewed by: Hayward Simmons on 12/10/2006 1:41:04 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 12/10/2006 Hometown: Fairfax, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

On the plus side, the trails are easy, in good shape and well marked if just a little mundane. On the minus side is the fee schedule. Pens for your horses (no cover) are $5 a day which is reasonable. Campsites are $10 per day PER PERSON so for a family of 3 this is $30 a day. You do have elec and water but no extras like picnic tables. Then there is a trail use fee 0f $10 per day per person, which you are charged whether you choose to ride or not. For instance, we arrived too late in the evening to set up camp and then ride, but were charged a trail use fee anyway! I would prefer they charge a little more for the pens and skip the trail use fee. After all, we wouldn't have brought our horses if we didn't want to use the trails. I cna name several privately owned places that don't tack on this fee.
Reviewed by: Mrs.X on 3/26/2006 4:50:00 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: boondocks, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to go!!! They love horse people and are set up with water, electric, pens, etc. If you have 12 or more in your group they will have their cook come in and cook for you. There were just 2 of us and we felt so welcomed. Easy trails with shade. Definately give this place a try!!!
Reviewed by: Walker Woman on 12/8/2005 5:53:48 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 12/8/2005 Hometown: , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to stay and ride. Beautiful trails with plenty of wildlife. The campground is the nicest we've visited. Dona & Haywood treated us like family. It was extremely hot in mid-day so we rode out at 7 a.m. and returned for lunch. We will be visiting again in the fall/winter/spring!
Reviewed by: TV on 7/5/2005 2:53:06 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2005 Hometown: Winston, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Civilized Camping with great bath houses and facilities. The owners are friendly and super helpful: stay once and you're almost like family!! The trails are laid out to begin and end at camp and it's easy to do one in the morning, be back for lunch, do another in the afternoon! Trails are varied and not difficult. Lots of wildlife to see! Holiday weekends once a month have entertainment on Sat. night. Lots of horse people to socialize with...or not, if you'd rather stay to yourself! Camping here is like going to a party on horseback! I'd go every month if we could!
Reviewed by: Pace on 10/19/2004 12:35:20 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/19/2004 Hometown: Anderson, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

No need to picket line or tie to your trailer, the small corrals that are set up for each site are great. Running water to each site.Trails are well marked.Easy access to camp.
Reviewed by: Ken Bratvogel on 9/6/2004 8:58:10 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/6/2004 Hometown: Bluffon, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I have been twice and wish we had time to go again. The host, Heyward Simmons, has established wonderful trails and the camping area is very well done. We hope to go back this year in the fall. I don't recommend summer months because of bugs and mosquitoes.
Reviewed by: Sylvia Roper on 5/19/2004 1:56:26 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: Simpsonvile, SC, SC

Trail Rating:  nbsp;Not Rated
Camp Rating:  nbsp;Not Rated

We were there at the end of March this year (2002) and we also enjoyed it very much. We were about the only ones there after the weekend but it looks like they have a lot of interesting scheduled rides with cook outs, entertainment, etc.
Reviewed by: Walt on 8/28/2002 10:32:56 PM
Experience: Ride Date: Hometown: Sunbury, OH

Trail Rating:  nbsp;Not Rated
Camp Rating:  nbsp;Not Rated

We rode Lakeview late last spring and really enjoyed the weekend. The trails were interesting and varied. The camp was very clean. We can recommend this place very highly.
Reviewed by: Fred Bradigan on 8/28/2002 3:10:28 PM
Experience: Ride Date: Hometown: Madison, GA