HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Lazy Gait Horse Camp
(click on name for more information)


Carter, Ky

Overall TRAIL RATING with 20 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 20 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice riding with rock formations and some caves and box canyons. Has nice wide trails and some single horse but nothing too difficult. Pretty well marked and enough riding for a long weekend. Had electric at the sites but no water. Had water at stalls for the horses. Should bring your own drinking water. Nice stalls and sold bedding and firewood very reasonable. The downside that I encountered was the last 1-1/2 miles you definitely don't want to meet anyone as the road is strictly one lane but is nicely paved but some of it is very steep and curvy. The campground itself is a little hard to maneuver around unless you have been there before. My trailer was 27' on the floor and couldn't imagine getting in there with anything much longer. Very nice camp host and was most helpful in helping us plan a ride. Plenty of wildlife. Hope to be able to go back again.
Reviewed by: Sue Berchtold on 10/21/2013 1:50:20 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/19/2013 Hometown: Pleasant Plain, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another GREAT 4 day weekend at Lazy Gait! BEAUTIFUL Rock formations, cliffs, caves, and trails, and we just LOVE the Creek riding! Keep finding new places everytime we come!!! Jack & Joyce, you are the BEST!!!
Reviewed by: Tamo Hicks on 10/9/2012 7:40:41 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/4/2012 Hometown: Cannonsburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful well maintained and well marked trails, quiet peaceful campground, clean shower/bathroom, friendly and helpful owner. We will be back!
Reviewed by: Tyler & Kirrily on 5/21/2012 4:30:05 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/19/2012 Hometown: Crestwood, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first visit and we'll be back next year. What a Beautiful area to ride. We felt so welcome by Jack and Joyce. Always very helpful with directions and what ever you need. We love quiet time together in God's Country. Trails are well marked and kept up. They are gracious host. You'll want to ride the Lazy Gaited Ranch! Happy Trails!
Reviewed by: Kathy & Pete Taylor on 9/22/2011 6:57:20 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/10/2011 Hometown: Aliquippa, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are beautiful! Winding in and out the deep hills of KY. This area is known for caves, cliffs and clear rocky streams, can't imagine a prettier area to ride in. Some parts of trails are rough, lot of rocks and some trails are a bit steep, nothing too bad, and would really break a green horse in. Who wants to always ride, perfectly groomed smooth trails? Riding the creeks was wonderful. Clear water, you can see the bottom in, chase the fish, but lots of rocks in some parts. Deer and Wild Turky abound in the meadows and ridge pastures. Even saw a newborn fawn by the trail. Campground was quite, no traffic noise, just the sounds of birds, frogs, and an occasional whinny. This is where you can see the stars and fireflies! Having stalls for horses was great. Don't forget your water buckets and feed buckets. Place to wash off the sweat, after a long day's ride. Hosts were VERY friendly and helpful! Had a GREAT time, and will be back!
Reviewed by: Tami Hicks on 5/31/2011 7:50:40 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/27/2011 Hometown: Cannonsburg, KY, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Second year in a row for our trip to Lazy Gait and, as before, everything was fantastic. Jack and Joyce were the best of hosts. The camp and trails were great.
Reviewed by: Chris, Aleta, Brett, Jordan on 5/30/2011 2:10:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/30/2011 Hometown: Lavalette, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful hosts! They went all out to make our visit memorable. The trails are fantastic. Plenty of beautiful rock formations, old growth forest, and a few caves to explore. Campground is secluded and quiet. Only suggestion for improvement is to add another bath house.
Reviewed by: John on 10/1/2010 6:42:16 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/18/2010 Hometown: Harrodsburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground is very nice. They have added an arena and round pen. It would be a great place for clubs or groups. Campsites are nice. Stalls are safe and in sizes that accomodate all horses. The trails were good but need to be remarked. Some were very well marked and some were not. Secluded and quiet. Great hosts.
Reviewed by: Julie Robinette on 7/7/2009 7:57:27 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/6/2009 Hometown: Catlettsburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful trails! Peaceful campground. Wonderful hosts! Definitely recommend.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/25/2009 6:35:31 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/20/2009 Hometown: Simpsonville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a tremendous weekend. This was our grandaughters first overnight horse camp and it could not have been better. The trails are great and we were treated like we had been best friends forever. Hopefully we will be! Thank you Jack and Joyce and your family for your efforts. May God continue to bless you all.
Reviewed by: Kemp on 6/10/2009 1:09:40 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/5/2009 Hometown: York, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: olive hill on 8/23/2008 9:04:42 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/1/2008 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

loved riding the trails we had a group of 8 and that was perfect. several had been there before. we saw beautiful country and enjoyed the fellowship with jack and joyce. hope to come back there soon.
Reviewed by: tonya on 10/24/2007 10:51:29 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/2/2007 Hometown: cynthiana, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/7/2007 11:58:35 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/7/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a blast......Lots of fun....will be going back for sure.......Campground was great....and the price is more than fair....great experience
Reviewed by: Trail Rider on 7/11/2007 4:30:57 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/11/2007 Hometown: Under the stars, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

JUST OPENED. NEEDS MORE WORK. WONDERFUL PEOPLE!! ENTRANCE IS A VERY NARROW ROAD, ESPECIALLY FOR LARGE OUTFITS. TIGHT CAMPING SPOTS, NEED MORE GRAVEL. SAY 50 MILE OF TRAIL? SAW OVER HALF IN ONE AFTERNOON. TRAILS GOOD,(NARROW AND STEEP). NICE ONE NIGHT TWO DAY TRIP.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/22/2007 6:59:45 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/1/2006 Hometown: EASTERN, KY, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Kevin on 6/8/2007 8:15:59 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/26/2007 Hometown: Dayton, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

VERY NICE CAMP GROUND AND VERY NICE PEOPLE. WE REALLY ENJOYED CAMPING. THEY HAVE VERY NICE STALLS FOR OUR HORSES. ALSO HAD A NICE PLACE TO WASH OFF YOUR HORSES AFTER A HOT DAY OF RIDING. WE HAVE A 27 FOOT TRAILER AND HAD A TIME GETTING OUR TRAILER IN AND HAD TO TAKE ANOTHER SITE. JACK TOLD US HE WOULD FIX THAT PROBLEM SO THE NEXT TIME WE WOULD NOT HAVE A PROBLEM. THE TRAILS ARE VERY NICE. WE LOVED THE NATURE TRAIL AND THE ORANGE AND PINK TRAIL WERE THE BEST. LOTS OF HILLS ON THE YELLOW TRAIL. IF YOU WANT A NICE WEEKEND GO LAZY GAIT HORSECAMP. THANKS JACK AND JOYCE WE HAD ALOT OF FUN.
Reviewed by: MELISSA on 5/29/2007 4:38:05 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/26/2007 Hometown: MARIETTA, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The camp now has 14 electric sites, 8 primitive sites and 25 stalls.They have picnic tables, a swing set, basketball hoops and a remodeled barn loft with tables and an air hockey table. The total miles of trails is 50. The trails are beautiful with overlooks, caves, stone cliffs and are well maintained. I thought it was fun to ride to the local restaurant and eat.
Reviewed by: Tim Scarbrough on 5/2/2007 7:44:03 PM
More reviews by Tim Scarbrough
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/23/2007 Hometown: columbus, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground is new and still needs more work, but looks to be a great place within a year if they keep up the improvements. Road leading up to camp is very narrow, cannot pass anyone coming down. Camp roads & spots still need more gravel, lots of mud.
Reviewed by: Ky. Trailrider on 11/6/2006 2:39:23 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/5/2006 Hometown: Alexandria, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

great camp lots of trails
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/2/2006 8:55:45 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/2/2006 Hometown: , Select State