HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Lincoln National Forest - Gillespie Ranch
(click on name for more information)


Cloudcroft, NM

Overall TRAIL RATING with 8 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 8 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The owner "Kent" is a great host and checked on us regularly. Trails are mostly rocky FS trails which aren't bad but offer limited shade due to past fires and the sun can be intense here. Campground are full hookup which is nice. Only no showers, and we had issues leveling the trailer. Also, dosen't rain often but did on us, campground gets mucky and water drains through campsites . But this is worth a stop if in the area.
Reviewed by: Otto mcnab on 7/26/2015 9:00:06 AM
More reviews by Otto mcnab
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/20/2015 Hometown: Hammond , La

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The host at Gillespie ranch makes the trip even more special. He was immediately at our campsite to help us unload the horses, get them cared for and watered, and the trailer setup. The stalls are all covered and there is a large covered gathering area for cook-outs and such. The trails are not marked but the host takes the time to get with you daily before your ride and tell you about different areas of the ranch and the trails. Our trip was cut short due to major rains coming in, but what time we did spend there we really enjoyed. I would highly recommend a trip to Gillespie ranch...might be a little hard to get into, but very well worth it.
Reviewed by: rhooton on 6/4/2015 5:37:00 PM
More reviews by rhooton
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/15/2014 Hometown: Alma, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My Husband Larry and I spent a week at Gillepie Ranch in September 2012. The facilities were fantastic. Full hook ups and large pens for the horses. With Kent's help we were able to ride a different trail all 6 days. The trails range from easy to extreme, you have your choice, all with beautiful views. Plenty of watering stops along the way. Riding 3 mile canyon and picking apples in the orchard was my favorite. Lots of elk, deer and wild turkey. We can't wait to go back next year!
Reviewed by: Penny Moore on 11/15/2012 6:59:50 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/15/2012 Hometown: Milford, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a great place to ride and see the beautiful scenery of NM. Road to ranch is a bit curvy and waffleboardy but easy to navigate even with a big rig (just have to go slow for a couple of miles). We had a great time and the owners are very friendly and helpful! Will definitely go again.
Reviewed by: L. Mabry on 7/7/2012 1:18:34 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/30/2012 Hometown: Las Cruces, NM

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to ride, you can bushwhack or ride trails/forest roads. There are some rocky areas, I carried boots, only used them one day. The stalls are large and water is handy. You have to carry your hay to you horse, keep it contained or else feed the wandering cattle! Trailer sites have power, water and septic. Covered area to gather if it rains, has a charcoal bbq and tables, as well as firepit-wood available to gather; there is a large map of the area posted there and Kent will give you a map. Spent 4 nights, we hated to leave and will go back again. Did not stay in cabin, but it is nice. We highly recommend Gillespie's Ranch.
Reviewed by: Jan and Dave on 5/30/2009 2:18:11 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/3/2009 Hometown: Benson, AZ

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I REALLY ENJOYED MY VISIT,THE GILLESPIES WERE GREAT HOSTS,THE ONLY THING LACKING IS A BATHHOUSE.THE TRAILS WRE GREAT,WE SAW ALOT OF WILDLIFE WHICH IS ALWAYS EXCITING.I RECOMMAND it HIGHLY.I HOPE TO GO BACK.JT-TRAILBLAZER
Reviewed by: JT on 7/7/2008 10:14:48 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/10/2008 Hometown: CARENCRO, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Kent & Susan were great hosts and have done a great job with the accomodations. The pipe corrals were under a covered roof and very large. It was nice to have a common covered area to gather in the evenings for great conversation. The trails were wonderful and lots of variety. RV hook ups were great, water sewer & electric. A definite return trip for us.
Reviewed by: Skip on 7/19/2007 5:21:47 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/1/2007 Hometown: Magnolia, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails were clear or one could follow moutain roads. The horse facility was set up nice with covered stall and a covered pavillion. The owner is working on getting bathrooms and showers, unsure of time frame. Also has cabin available for rent, round pen that can be used by guests. This is a place to return to. Owners are very friendly.
Reviewed by: Robin on 7/9/2007 8:38:27 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/9/2007 Hometown: Lovington, NM