HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Little Lusk Trail Lodge
(click on name for more information)
Stonefort, IL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 13 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 13 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My friends and I choose Little lusk for our "all girls ride" that we go on every May. We loved it so much the first time that we are making it our permanent campground. The place is clean! The owners are very easy going and right there if you need anything. My husband and I also went on our honeymoon there. It's also easy to find.
Reviewed by: JoAnn T on 5/14/2012 1:02:38 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/17/2011 Hometown: Mt Vernon, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Does anyone know the phone number for this place?
Reviewed by: George on 8/4/2011 3:06:53 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2009 Hometown: , WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

FINALLY! I found a fantastic horse campground in the Shawnee National Forest in Southern IL. Little Lusk Trail Lodge is a clean and friendly paradise for trail riders in this area. The owners go out of their way to help and accomodate any request or need you have. The campground is well designed. It is easy to pull really large rigs in without fear of tearing anything up on your trailers! The Lodge is large and clean with full kitchen and laundry facilities and it is available to all campers. They actually have a bathhouse that you are not afraid to use. There is a great swimming hole, two fishing ponds, good cable pickett lines or stalls depending on what you prefer. I love Peggy, the owner, and this campground. Try it the next time you go to Southern Il. I know you will love it.
Reviewed by: Linda O. on 6/25/2011 9:08:53 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/22/2011 Hometown: Versailles, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a wonderful campground and it is huge. Plenty of room for the largest of rigs and very clean. The people who run it are as nice as can be and each site has water, electric and sewer. They have covered stalls and permanent high lines. We very much enjoyed our stay with Lonnie and Peggy and would stay with them again. When we got there we could not ride in the wilderness the first day as it was closed until April 1 but we got in a nice 14 mile ride on the trails around there and could easily do more. Our ride into the Lusk Creek Wilderness was fantastic. It's a beautiful area with very well constructed trails. This was the only place we rode in the Shawnee that we did not get lost. I would definitely recommend a GPS as the map can be tricky to read. It looks straight forward, but it's not. It takes a little time to get to the points of interest but it's not a bad ride at all. Circle B is closer to the points of interest but we needed covered stalls as the weather was questionable and cold. We were not disappointed with our decision to stay at Little Lusk and would definitely stay there again.
Reviewed by: Tammy on 4/7/2011 6:06:18 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/30/2011 Hometown: Brooksville, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place is top notch. the owners could not do enough for you. we ran into some people that recommended it to us and we see why. It is a very nice place for horse and rider. So down home and friendly. We already have plans to return in a few weeks! :)
Reviewed by: Ranee A, on 10/31/2010 6:09:53 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/30/2010 Hometown: Terre Haute, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This campground is all about meeting their campers every need. Clean, clean, clean!!! Whatever you need you get whether it be ice, a paddock for the horses so they can rest comfortalbly too, a GREAT GUIDE (yes Harold I'm talking about you) this man knows his area, and he is a beautiful person. Trails are a little ways to get to the good stuff but if you're a horseman or woman than that's what you're there for anyway isn't it? Ride baby ride. These guys are easy access for any rig and if they don't have it they'll get it. Lost a shoe off my mare the first day out in the creek, owners had a farrier there before I got her unsaddled. Almost beat me back to the campsite. That my dear friend is hard to beat...give'em a try they are well worth it.
Reviewed by: Pam on 6/1/2009 4:11:16 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/26/2006 Hometown: Depauw, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hey Folks, it seems that someone has decided to use this website to promote their own agenda. On a few dates in July 2007 there were suddenly several new reviews of Shawnee area campgrounds, many posted within minutes of each other, but with different 'names' and states. Negative reviews were posted on Circle B, Little Lusk, and Hayes Canyon. Positive reviews were posted on Bear Branch and on this page. Figure it out. ANYONE can post a review and list a fake name and state. Negative reviews could be from competing campgrounds, crazy neighbors, ex-girlfriends, etc. Positive reviews could be from the campground owner, family members, etc. Even outright lies can be entered anonymously. It's unfortunate because this site could be a good way to share information, but be advised to not believe everything you read.
Reviewed by: Ben & Patti -owners of Hayes Canyon Campground on 11/30/2007 8:44:19 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/30/2007 Hometown: Eddyville, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have camped at all of the campgrounds in the Lusk Creek Area, and Little Lusk is by far the cleanest facility my family and I have ever camped in. The lodge is beautiful and spotless! The folks who run the place went out of their way for us and made a special stall for us. We love the riding in the Shawnee too. Thumbs up for this campground and for Hayes.....these are our two favorites.
Reviewed by: William on 10/6/2007 5:04:00 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/6/2007 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We thought it was Ok but the riding there is not as scenic as around the Bear Branch area. It is way too far north to get to most of the more scenic riding. Not much shade for the campers. The block showewr house was definately a big minus. Too many bugs! I will stick with Bear Branch. Much better riding and shower house.
Reviewed by: Billy on 7/12/2007 7:15:56 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/12/2007 Hometown: Paris, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my husband's and my first horse ride vacation. We had a wonderful time. The trails were wonderful and the location is breath taking. The lodge was a great place to stay. We met a few new friends,too that were very kind to us and showed us some good riding. One even helped me overcome some things while riding. We can't wait to come back!!The people down there, wives included were very nice and friendly. Hope to see them soon!!!!!!!!!!!!Sally and Denny
Reviewed by: Sally on 7/6/2007 5:23:02 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 6/4/2007 Hometown: , IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground. Lots of campsites if you are taking a group. Nice lodge with a big room for get togethers. It is a little farther to main trails but worth the extra ride. Owners are home grown country folks that will do anything they can to help customers.
Reviewed by: mary on 2/7/2007 12:38:32 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 2/7/2007 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: chris on 8/18/2005 3:49:36 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/18/2005 Hometown: oakley, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great campground, owners very nice and helpful,open to children of all ages. We have had great times here in all seasons.Nice lake for swimming and fishing gives kids a break from riding in the hot afternoons.They have a quide there who will take anyone along to see the great rock formations, his name is Harold Caine, he rides a mule and is a hit with with all the kids.
Reviewed by: kathy on 7/17/2005 10:00:57 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/17/2005 Hometown: Olney, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Clean, quiet, well cared-for campground. Several sites with full hook-ups including sewer. Stalls reasonably priced and include bedding. Prefer this place over larger camps. Trails were still not marked as of our visit in late May 2005.
Reviewed by: JulieS on 5/30/2005 1:43:49 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/19/2005 Hometown: Englewood, TN