HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Lonesome D Horse Camp
(click on name for more information)


New Blaine , AR

Overall TRAIL RATING with 20 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 18 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The Lonesome D is the most beautiful camp we have been to in a while. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The campground was clean and the layout is great. The horses were very comfortable in their clean corrals. The bathhouse was very clean and the hot shower was great. The trails were very scenic beautiful creek crossings, beautiful look-offs and very well marked. The best camp in Arkansas in my opinion.
Reviewed by: Megan on 5/6/2012 9:29:11 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/9/2012 Hometown: , OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been to this camp for many years. The last couple years the campground is getting more dirty and run down. There is a very nice couple who maintain the trail system and are certainly eager to give out maps and trail directions. The owners' daughter in law is very friendly and helpful. It is to bad they have given up on the campgrounds. It has so much potential, just a little elbow grease could certainly make the campground shine! Junk appliances were piled high and just junk was everywhere, trash was overflowing, broken down wooden pallets with nails were next to our campsite, empty cans and old food were on the ground. We still enjoyed the trails, tons of water crossings however the trails could be much better marked. It get's more disappointing each year:-( That's to bad.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 3/30/2012 7:13:09 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/30/2012 Hometown: , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

arrived at what once was an extremely nice campground, alittle run down now, no one available for check in , found a very nice couple who maintain the trail system and they took our money and gave us maps, owners out of town, bath houses had not been cleaned in quite some time, camp sites level and panel corrals available , water is horrible loaded with iron undrinkable by human or horse, unfortunately logging operations were in full swing rode through alot cut over areas, I am sure that at one time this was beautiful area before timber was cut, there were some scenic trails left and some extremely rocky and steep areas, one of the most pleasureable things was the couple met there they were very nice and helpful
Reviewed by: pansy on 9/15/2011 6:52:58 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/20/2011 Hometown: Pilot Mountain , NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails were well marked but very rocky in places. The campground owners were wonderfully helpful and attentive. The corrals were safe and positioned under shade trees.
Reviewed by: Le Ann on 6/2/2011 11:30:55 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/28/2011 Hometown: Fayetteville, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a 3 hour ride today after the rain from earlier this week and it has never been as beautiful and wonderful as it was today! This was the 3rd trail ride for my little mare and she loved the ride. Had some hesitation with the water to start with but was more than happy to follow my husbands horse who is still new to trails and wasn't ready to load and head home! Only a few horses there today but we enjoy the small crowds. We plan to go back in the morning.
Reviewed by: Joni on 3/17/2011 1:07:19 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 3/17/2011 Hometown: Charleston, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first ride for the year and we had a good time. Only rode 4'hours since it was the year start ride for us. My husband rides a half draft and I ride either a mustang poa cross or a mustand Arab cross both are small horses but didn't come across anything they couldn't cross. We live an hour away and go at least twice a month, still don't know the trails very well. Instead of the ribbons in the trees paint on trees would be easier to follow and maybe some mile markers or back to camp signs for those of us that tend to get lost. Our horses love playing in the water and there are some really nice swim spots. We will keep going back. It's a $5 fee but worth it to us. We take our green horses here for the first trail ride.
Reviewed by: Joni on 3/14/2011 7:11:30 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 2/18/2011 Hometown: Charleston, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

One of my two favorite places to ride. We have a 35' rig so getting in and out can be an issue. (Some people are hard to convince til after the fact :)) Came into camp in the dark, in the pouring rain. No problem with the road or getting into camp. I love the fact that we don't have to set up pens or high lines to take care of the horses. The one issue I have is that the pens do not drain. When it rains a lot, most of camp stands in water. But otherwise, it is a really nice setup. Bath houses with showers, etc. have been clean and large enough to accomodate the groups. The Layrock's always have the trails well marked unless someone goes around taking off the ties, and although logging is active right now, there are still enough trails to get your fill of great scenery. They will even be your guides if you are looking for one. The trails have a great varity of terrain to choose from, creek crossings galore, steep hillsides, long wide paths that are great for gaiting, you name it, you can probably find it there. We've always found good people, good riding and good times when we visit. We'll for sure be back.
Reviewed by: Carol on 9/24/2009 6:28:30 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/18/2009 Hometown: Foyil, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Have been going there for six years-never a bad experience. The staff is GREAT and the showers clean. Beautiful trails and lots of them. Beautiful camp sites that are NOT crowded together. Great for all ages.
Reviewed by: Rosalie on 8/20/2008 6:55:25 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2007 Hometown: Neosho, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

very scenic trails and surroundings. Trails marked good, but intersections were tricky in trying to figure where to go. Bathrooms/showers were nice and people all very friendly. On site farrier was great! We lost a shoe and Wayne was very accomodating to work with our schedule. If you print out a mapquest map, it is very easy to find if you watch your directions. We would return in the future. We stayed a week and still didn't see all the scenery or trails. Trails were challenging and fun to ride. Met some really nice people while we were there. It's worth the extra money to get an extra corral, especially if you have horses that don't get along so well with each other.
Reviewed by: Kim on 10/10/2007 6:03:53 AM
More reviews by Kim
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/3/2007 Hometown: Chariton, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails were well marked with colored ribbons. Trail map had colors to correspond with trails, but the map had been copied many times and difficult to read. Beautiful bluffs and overlooks. Campground had easy access and pipe corrals for horses. Bathhouse was clean and comfortable. The camp is located 1 mile off a state highway on a dirt road and can understand that this would not be pleasant travel in rainy weather. Would like to return in fall or spring when rock bluffs are more visible from the trail.
Reviewed by: Christina on 9/18/2007 11:30:28 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/15/2007 Hometown: Neosho, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We loved the scenery but the trails are not marked good at all. We got lost and went from a 12 mile ride to a 28 mile ride and didn't get back until after dark. We had to call for help, (we didn't have a gps or compass), but all in all we had a good time and we are coming back this fall. The corrals are good if there is no rain, otherwise they are terrible. Our horses were standing in water and we had to go and buy shavings and clean them out. The bathrooms were clean and so was the camp. Friendly people to be around.
Reviewed by: debbie on 8/17/2007 8:28:12 PM
More reviews by debbie
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/18/2006 Hometown: claremore, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We loved that the campground wasn't crowded. The trails were rocky but not bad. The trails could have been better marked, but the scenery was beautiful. Would love to return in the near future.
Reviewed by: K Reed on 4/4/2007 11:22:17 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/1/2006 Hometown: Millington, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I will start from the beginning. The turn off road was somewhat difficult to see. No sign of any good size to look for.(Hard to stop suddenly with a 40ft trailer and traffic. That could definately be improved with a bigger sign. The road in was fair but gets difficult in wet weather. Once in, the camping area is nice and the facilities are set up real well. This again depends on the weather. A pleasure in good weather but can become a muddy nightmare on wet days. We had difficulty on the trail with the "frequency" of the appropriate color ribbons tied in the trees. Some had faded to look like another color. (example: red can look like pink or orange) A 14 mile trip turned into 26 miles trying to find the way back. (Did not have a GPS at that time)Trees on the trail needed trimed back some as I took a larger mule and it was quite common to be put in a position where my knees were knocked on trees trying too fit between them to stay on the trail. The smaller your ride here the better. The map we were provided was small and in black and white, hard to read and more or less useless on a colored trail. The land itself was fun to ride but I probably won't go back unless I hear that they have color maps and the trails marked better and more frequently. Locating staff was difficult when we went. If improved, this would be a place worth stopping for.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 1/17/2007 3:06:32 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/6/2006 Hometown: Rose Bud, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went down there for the first time in OCT/05, we loved it! we have just gotten back into riding and these horse camps are great. We pull in, plug in, attach water to trailer then saddle up. LIFE IS GOOD!
Reviewed by: Mary on 6/4/2006 5:58:31 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/15/2005 Hometown: Roland, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent nearly a week riding from the camp and we enjoyed every minute. The campground was great and the trails were well-marked and scenic. We especially appreciated the corrals for horses and the friendly folks at the camp. We hope to go back soon.
Reviewed by: Len & Debbie Springer on 11/14/2005 9:31:31 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/11/2005 Hometown: St. Martinville, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have visited Lonesone D many times over he last 5 1/2 years. Trails just get better and there are plenty of trails unmarked if you want to go exploring. Doug,Dub,and Delissa are three of the greatest you will ever meet.
Reviewed by: Jerry on 10/23/2005 8:38:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/23/2005 Hometown: Hot Springs, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a Great Camp Ground laid out good for Big Trailers and Motorhomes.The Set up for the Horses is Great... Very Good riding and the trails are Marked Great. BUT THE BEST THING IS ...The People that own and run the Camp... they are the nicest and Friendy people.Also all the Campers were friendly and every one has a good time.it was a very pleasant time..can't wait to get back...Also they have a Supper Farrier at camp.
Reviewed by: McAllister Mules on 9/22/2005 9:25:49 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/6/2005 Hometown: Rinard Illinois, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a Great Camp Ground laid out good for Big Trailers and Motorhomes.The Set up for the Horses is Great... Very Good riding and the trails are Marked Great. BUT THE BEST THING IS ...The People that own and run the Camp... they are the nicest and Friendy people.Also all the Campers were friendly and every one has a good time.it was a very pleasant time..can't wait to get back...Also they have a Supper Farrier at camp.
Reviewed by: McAllister Mules on 9/22/2005 9:24:09 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/22/2005 Hometown: Rinard Illinois, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Terrific well-marked trails and georgeous scenery. Restroom/showers are kept very clean. Corrals are located by your trailer, so easy to tend horses and saddle. Hosts are very friendly and there is a farrier on premises for problems.
Reviewed by: Piney Hills Club on 5/25/2005 9:38:36 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/25/2005 Hometown: Arcadia, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Lots of different trails to ride and usually well marked. Clean campsites with water, electricity, & horse pen. Cafe nearby. Nice folks too!
Reviewed by: Cindy Fonken on 2/19/2005 7:37:17 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/17/2004 Hometown: Romance, AR