HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Malabar Farm State Park
(click on name for more information)


Mansfield, OH

Overall TRAIL RATING with 13 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 9 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Overall very nice place to visit! Though there are only several hours of trails they are scenic & mostly well maintained & marked. Minimal mud despite the recent rains, there is a single creek crossing on the white trail. Only downside would be navigating near the farm - map wasn't much help & there are only a few signs, had to do some exploring to get back on track. One of the inner loops does go through a valley with lots of moss covered smooth rocks on the trail, just have to be careful when wet or with a anxious horse who might try to scramble over them instead of picking through. Campgrounds where nice, most have cable highlines (some just post where highline can be put up) in a long row behind the campsites. Bathroom didn't smell a bit. Horse water available (taste like city water). Campsites each have a gravel/asphalt pad for trailers & a loop to turn around. There is non-equestrian camping allowed at the horse campgrounds. Highlines are also available across the road from the restaurant & near the farm in case someone wanted to stop for a meal or tour. Great place to get your feet wet or first ride of the year! Trails connect to Pleasant Hill & Mohican.
Reviewed by: Decker on 7/21/2015 3:10:18 PM
More reviews by Decker
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/11/2015 Hometown: Fremont, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice trails. We took our 9 year old grandson and his horse and everyone had a wonderful ride. This is a good trail for novice and experienced riders alike. The trails are maintained and the area is clean.
Reviewed by: Lisa on 9/9/2013 10:08:54 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/8/2013 Hometown: Danville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Water,dumpster,nice vehicle pads.Had to put up our own picket ties, they were all removed.Beautiful trails,nice scenery.Trails were great.Out house was clean and spacious.
Reviewed by: Rita on 8/28/2009 11:10:11 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/22/2009 Hometown: middlefield, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are great but can get a bit muddy close to the creek. Its even better to get off the trails and ride on some of the open farm field in the area. It almost seems like riding on your very own farm. The campground is nice with a clean restroom. Comfortable sleeping environment.
Reviewed by: Cody Beshire on 4/22/2009 3:58:34 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Medina, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It was a beautiful fall day for a trail ride. We were a bit surprised at how "rutted up" the trails were and the trails could have been better marked. We had a difficult time trying to figure out where we were. I don't think we will ride here in the Spring, it may be too slippery with all the slopes and ruts.
Reviewed by: Bev on 10/12/2008 3:48:08 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 10/12/2008 Hometown: Massillon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love the trails!!!! Our family goes about 3-4 times a year. Great place to relax and have fun with the horses and family. The only thing that needs to change is it should be for Horses riders only. People camp thier and they take up the camping spots for people who have horses and want to stay and ride. It's not fair to the other horse riders. Will be going real soon. Also it's not to far to go and ride at Mochican State park for the day, which is beautiful also!!!
Reviewed by: Jamie on 9/2/2008 1:36:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/30/2008 Hometown: Oak Harbor, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

there were no ties for the horses only posts, and the areas for the horses were muddy. and someone was in my reserved spot, and refused to move. there was no one to contact over the weekend for problems like this. the trails for the most part were well marked untill you get by the main park drive, there were no markers telling you where to go. trails were very easy. not for us we like a more challenging trail, but this is good for beginers, or for someone who wants a more easy ride...
Reviewed by: jill bowles on 8/21/2008 7:11:18 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/19/2008 Hometown: medina, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

campground is nice. one nice bathroom that was clean.no water or electric but, they do have a spigot to get water for horses. ive been here a few times. always had a good time. not many trails but, they are okay. lots of things to do here. take a tour of the mansion and a wagon ride. lots of history. i would go back.ive heard that you can trailer to mohican. i have not had the pleasure of riding mohican but, have been told it is nice.
Reviewed by: patty on 5/12/2008 4:07:00 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails can be wet in spots after a hard rain, but over all, very simple and picturesque! This is a nice trail to expose begginer horses to lots of different things, when we went there were goats, cattle, traffic on the roads, mud, water crossings and screaming kids. All in all it is a very nice place.
Reviewed by: Tara on 6/30/2007 1:19:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/29/2007 Hometown: Bladensburg, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We enjoyed the ride at Malabar this August but found the markings for the trail confusing at best. We ended up at the farmhouse unable to find the trail leading back into the woods. The footing was good and the trails cleared of the debris from the large storms this summer that had temporarily closed the bridle trals there. The horse campground looked nice. Overall the trials were pretty easy.
Reviewed by: Rachel on 8/23/2006 9:52:18 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 8/23/2006 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Ove it there but aren't enough trails to keep a person busy. The folks there are great and it is a great place to go and take a young horse and let them be in the woods and be exposed to traffic too. Wish there were more trails. It is a great family place!!!!
Reviewed by: Lee on 10/24/2005 10:18:11 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: Caledonia, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Went for a day ride only, but it was a beautiful fall day. The trails were, for the most part, easy with only one water crossing, but the scenery was pretty. If you want test your horse a bit, try riding straight up "Mt. Jeez(s?)" That got the horses breathing heavy and they are both in good shape from constantly hitting the trails. It's a great trail to ride fast or even run on. We made sure we took full advantage of running them through the path between the corn feilds! Looking forward to camping there next year witht he OHC.
Reviewed by: Amanda Kacludis on 11/10/2004 12:52:12 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/6/2004 Hometown: Cleveland, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a good place for beginner riders.Also for horses that are not in shape for mor strenuous rides.Alot of times you have the camp ground to your self.Good place for kids. You will see alot of deer!
Reviewed by: Vivian on 5/25/2004 9:46:04 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/7/2004 Hometown: Johnsville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great time! We had some "inexperienced" riders with us who found the trails great.
Reviewed by: Patti on 6/17/2003 5:48:26 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/30/2003 Hometown: Plymouth, OH

Trail Rating:  nbsp;Not Rated
Camp Rating:  nbsp;Not Rated

In addition to the 12 miles of riding at Malabar, there's about 30 miles at Mohican State Park, which is only about 10 miles away.
Reviewed by: jwaltert on 4/25/2002 12:38:43 PM
Experience: Ride Date: Hometown: Sunbury, OH