HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Mammoth Cave Horse Camp
(click on name for more information)
Mammoth Cave, KY

Overall TRAIL RATING with 352 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 361 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camp and stalls are first rate. The owner, Kevin Davis is so helpful. He provides wonderful camping experiences. This is the best horse camp in Kentucky.
Reviewed by: pthorne on 4/16/2019 4:59:00 PM
More reviews by pthorne
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/8/2019 Hometown: Bowling Green, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Recently made some improvements to our horse trailer and wanted to try it out. The wife and I took off to Mammoth Cave Horse Camp a little late in the evening. The campsites are easy to get into and clean...even with all the rain we had recently, the grounds were relatively dry. Stalls were the same way...clean and dry! Electric and water available at campsite and stalls. The trails were in good shape also...again I was surprised with the amount of rain we had lately. It was a good trip. I look forward to staying there again!
Reviewed by: Derek Williams on 12/30/2018 7:50:20 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 12/30/2018 Hometown: LEITCHFIELD, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

As always Mammoth Cave Horse camp is great. Kevin and his staff never disappoint. When you arrive at Mammoth Cave horse camp you will always get great service, clean stalls and clean campground. The trails were in great shape. The Mammoth Cave Back Country Horsemen and the National parks service has done great work fixing trouble spots on the trails.
Reviewed by: Gregg on 10/24/2018 12:03:36 PM
More reviews by Gregg
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/14/2018 Hometown: Harrodsburg, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time camping here and we are already plannng on coming back. Check-in was fast and smooth even though they were busy and it was late. Stall are great, clean and ready at your arrival. Campsites were shaded and easy to find. Shower house was clean and no issues. Everyone was friendly and the trails were great. The longer McCoy trail was a harder level of trail. Make sure your horse is comfortable with a bit of rock navigation. We thoroufhly enjoyed it! I’d recommend MCHC to anyone wanting a great trail experience, even if it’s more than just your easy hack. There were easier trails also. Overall, no matter what type of trails you wanted they had it!
Reviewed by: Erin Waters on 9/2/2018 9:51:44 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2018 Hometown: Eddyville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Free camping in August
Reviewed by: Lori Zackrie on 6/25/2018 1:27:45 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/20/2018 Hometown: Belleville , Il

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First visit to Mammoth Cave Horse Camp. What a place! Mostly level sites, water and electric, plus a dumpsite! We chose the spring group ride, this was our first ever group ride, not only for us but our horses. About mid week Kevin encouraged us to take one of the group rides, he assured us that we would be fine with the group he recommended. Thanks Kevin, we had a great time! Lunch on the trail was great!. We had entertainment every night, the food was home cooked and really good! The staff was so friendly and the cooks did a great job! We had a wine tasting and steak dinner one night! The stalls where good and ready for us and we had a free bag of sawdust midweek! Kevin made it a point to visit each table at sometime through the week during one of the meal times. That was nice! Great place, can't wait to go back!
Reviewed by: djar on 4/24/2018 7:18:52 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 4/14/2018 Hometown: Bethel, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Mammoth Cave Horse Camp is first class in every aspect. Wonderful home cooked food with 'above and beyond' customer service in all aspects. Camp is spotless with large, safe stalls. Definitely a 5 star experience! Go! You will love it!
Reviewed by: Dora1116 on 4/23/2018 5:17:38 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/15/2018 Hometown: Shell Knob, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The camp is very nice with large sites. The horse stalls are well maintained and safe. Kevin and his staff are more than accommodating and willing to do anything they can to make your stay pleasant and fun. All levels of riders and horses can have a good vacation here.
Reviewed by: Paula Thorne on 4/23/2018 12:30:30 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/15/2018 Hometown: Bowling Green, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is the most amazing horse camp ever. The owners truly go above and beyond on a daily basis. The home made meals were absolutely fantastic. The campground is just picture perfect. The bath house and grounds are absolutely immaculate. You will never want to go to another campground ever again. The trails are so lovely with such scenic views. My horse friends and I had the best experience ever.
Reviewed by: Rebecca Glaser on 4/23/2018 11:00:48 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/18/2018 Hometown: Taylorsville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Went to Mammoth Cave Horse Camp in April 2017, it was a great time as always. Kevin and Janet are great camp owners and host. Trails were in good shape. National Park service and the Mammoth Cave Back Country Horsemen have been doing a great job keeping up the trails.
Reviewed by: Gregg on 10/26/2017 1:53:46 PM
More reviews by Gregg
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/29/2017 Hometown: Harrodsburg, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great time at Mammoth Cave Horse Camp! We went for the Spring Ride, food was excellent, stalls were great! Wonderful place to camp, level sites, and great facilities. Kevin very helpful to answer any questions you may have. Highly Recommend!
Reviewed by: horstrails on 5/6/2017 8:29:00 PM
More reviews by horstrails
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/19/2017 Hometown: Davison, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Kevin does a great job making everyone welcome. The only reason the camp is a 4 is because of the distance between camping and stalls. I gave the trails a 4 because of the need to clear some trees that were difficult to ge around.
Reviewed by: William Brewster on 5/4/2017 11:52:58 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/18/2017 Hometown: Williamsburg, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to stay, did a weekend event this time. Food was awesome, loved the trails, Kevin very accommodating. All the staff was great, highly recommend!!
Reviewed by: horstrails on 5/4/2017 10:15:05 AM
More reviews by horstrails
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/19/2017 Hometown: Davison, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

One of our favorite camps in Kentucky. The hosts and staff are exemplary as are the facilities and the trails!!!!
Reviewed by: Leslie on 5/1/2017 4:27:12 PM
More reviews by Leslie
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/18/2017 Hometown: Irvington, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is my "go to" location. The campsites/stalls are clean and well cared for. The trails have something for every level of experience of horse and rider. Kevin, Bubba and the staff ensure every visit is enjoyable.
Reviewed by: RoysterA on 5/1/2017 4:16:20 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/13/2017 Hometown: Hawesville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Attended the Bubba Thanksgiving trail ride at Mammoth Cave Horse Camp. We had a great time. The trails and camp was in great shape. There was a camp pot luck dinner on Saturday that was awesome, more food then you could imagine. We will be back to this ride next year. As always the Kevin and his staff are great host.
Reviewed by: Gregg on 12/19/2016 10:37:56 AM
More reviews by Gregg
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/25/2016 Hometown: Harrodsburg, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We attended the Halloween ride at Mammoth Cave. Once again the campground was in perfect condition and the trails were in great shape. The park service was out during the week working on the Raymer Hollow to make it better. The Halloween party at Mammoth Cave was the best ever. If you have never been to Mammoth Cave Horse Camp for the Halloween weekend ride you should put it on your list to do.
Reviewed by: masong on 11/14/2016 9:51:09 AM
More reviews by masong
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/29/2016 Hometown: Harrodsburg, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My first visit to Mammoth Cave Horse Camp was last week. Very nice campground with very helpful staff. Kevin is great and makes sure everyone is having a good time. They provided meals for this weekend. All you could eat buffet for breakfast and supper. Great menu. I definitely want to go back.
Reviewed by: carmilettasteele on 10/26/2016 11:40:26 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/20/2016 Hometown: Sandgap, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Highly recommend Mammoth Cave Horse Camp. The facility is first class and the staff is professional, friendly and willingly to help in any way. This was my first time here, but will not be my last. The trails are for all levels of riding - the scenery is exquisite. Spent 4+ days and had the best time!!! Thanks Kevin, Bubba and Brandon!!!!
Reviewed by: Vianne Gossett on 10/2/2016 6:23:50 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/25/2016 Hometown: Pataskala, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: dwstratton on 9/22/2016 1:24:34 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/17/2016 Hometown: Shelbyville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Howdy Trail riders! You've probably never heard of me, but I am Brett Donner, founder of the Kentucky Trail Riders Association. I probably should not be posting a review. It may be showing that I am bias. Which very well may be true. However, I have been going to Mammoth Cave Horse Camp since it opened. To say it has come a long way is accurate. The campground has always been fantastic and the folks that run the place are second to none. How it operates and how people are treated there is rarely found in the United States. From the moment you arrive, you are called by your first name and treated like you are the only person they are serving. I have attended every KYAQHA ride since Sarah Hayes started holding them at Mammoth Cave Horse Camp. How to show thank you and praise to Sarah and her group for putting on such an incredible ride is beyond me. First night dinner, RIBEYE STEAK off of the grill!, baked potato! Green beans and all the fixins and salad and desserts. AMAZING! I know I started out talking about the campground and the trails. In the early years, the trails were a little rough, poorly marked, narrow, footing was rough for a billy goat, but the forest was beautiful and it made it well worth the difficult trails to ride in such a beautiful area. Well no more! The trails are wide! The footing is incredible! Rained most of the day Saturday and Sunday morning the trails were perfect! Not a single puddle or mud hole. The base drains like nothing I have every seen. The grade is PERFECT to keep the trails from getting mud holes. The trail master needs more than an AT-A-BOY! for this project. All I can say is "SPOILED!" The hosts at Mammoth Cave Horse Camp spoil the trail riders, the trails, spoil the trail riders, and the forest remains as beautiful as ever. This place has it all, gentle easy riding for us old folks, more challenging areas for those looking for an exciting ride and miles and miles of trails for the endurance rider. If there ever was a perfect place to camp and ride, Mammoth Cave Horse Camp has provided all of us that place. We travel a little over 2 hours to get to Mammoth Cave Horse Camp. There where folks from as far away as Connecticut, lots of folks from Northern Indiana and Southern Tennessee. Mammoth Cave Horse Camp remains the number 1 five star rated horse camp in the world for all the reasons I listed above and more. Hope to see you all on the trail! Mammoth Cave Horse Camp isn't the only place to ride and camp, it's the BEST! place to ride and camp!
Reviewed by: Brett Donner on 9/19/2016 8:13:38 AM
More reviews by Brett Donner
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/18/2016 Hometown: LaGrange, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

In spite of the heat, we had a great time at MCHC!!! Bubba couldn't have been more charming and accommodating!! Brandon was a great help with anything we needed!!! I cant wait to go back when its not 90 plus degrees!! Thank goodness for Lake Nolin!!!
Reviewed by: RebeccaofSunnyBlessedFarm on 8/1/2016 4:42:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/16/2016 Hometown: Homer, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The owners are so nice and accommodating! The campground is VERY well marked. The stalls are really nice! I was very pleased!
Reviewed by: countrygirl158 on 6/23/2016 8:55:35 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/1/2016 Hometown: Clinton County, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

They have had quite abit of rain Trails were muddy but the campground and Kevin were great stall are big plenty of bedding food and bands were great we will go back
Reviewed by: Sooner on 6/2/2016 6:34:21 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/30/2016 Hometown: Butler, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camping experience awesome, as always. Kevin and staff go over and above to make patrons feel welcomed and appreciated. Food and entertainment were stellar as always too. Trails were muddy, but after all the rain we've had, that's to be expected.
Reviewed by: kimberaitken on 6/1/2016 10:02:00 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/27/2016 Hometown: Shelbyville, ky

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List