HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Mammoth Cave Horse Camp
(click on name for more information)
Mammoth Cave, KY

Overall TRAIL RATING with 440 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 458 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love Mammoth Cave Horse Camp!!! Highly recommend! Great hosts, campground, and trails! Can’t wait to go back!!
Reviewed by: Kadleta on 5/28/2024 3:00:28 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/24/2024 Hometown: Strunk, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Karen Robbins on 5/7/2024 10:51:13 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/5/2024 Hometown: Milton, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Kevin and the camp host ( I cannot remember his name) are fantastic. It's a laid back place and we like it that way. We go at least twice a year. The upper campground (Section B) needs a little TLC. The road is washing out and the ruts are deep, the stalls have drainage issues. Nothing some drain tiles and some gravel won't fix. We will definitely continue to go back.
Reviewed by: Rob Henry on 5/6/2024 11:27:55 AM
More reviews by Rob Henry
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/4/2024 Hometown: LA GRANGE, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I cannot speak highly enough of our experience! Kevin and Janet make each and everyone of their guest feel like family! The facility were extremely well cared for ! Campsites were great! Food exceptional! Entertainment was great! We have already booked for next year and bring more people!! Can’t wait!!
Reviewed by: Wendy Scattaregia on 4/22/2024 11:51:23 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/14/2024 Hometown: Scenery Hill, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great campground! Large sites and nice shower house facility. Good place for kids. The arena and obstacle trail are a really nice feature. It kept our 10 and 11 year old girls occupied when we were not out on the big trails. Stalls, bunk house and lodge were really nice as well. You must stall your horses and the main area is a long walk but they have a new area that stalls are right next to you sites which I prefer in lieu of keeping horse at your site. We rode the 10 mile loop and it had really good footing, a few rocky areas and climbs as well as a short stretch on a gravel road. We did encounter two groups of hikers and they were very respectful and helpful when I had a mule having a slight meltdown over their packs. All in all, good experience. Owners are first rate and will make your stay enjoyable.
Reviewed by: Heidiho247 on 4/8/2024 3:21:15 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/5/2024 Hometown: Utica, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Jim S on 11/28/2023 6:39:29 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/25/2023 Hometown: Warsaw, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It was my 2nd trip to Mammoth Cave Horse Camp. They were good the 1st time and this time was the best. Trails are in very good shape and the stalls and campsite were in great shape.
Reviewed by: Shae Copeland on 11/6/2023 5:22:22 PM
More reviews by Shae Copeland
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/2/2023 Hometown: Wingo, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

There are many wonderful horse camps across the country. A few of them are special. Mammoth Cave Horse Camp is that special camp that you can call home. Kevin and Janet Davis have built a camp that features excellent camp sites, roomy and secure stalls. A pavilion with fireplace serves as a cozy dining hall and entertainment center. The camp staff is attentive to your every need. Need help finding a farrier, veterinarian or mechanic? Kevin and crew have you covered. Check out the weekend and week long rides at Mammoth Cave Horse Camp. Because the camp attracts great people you’ll make new and life long friends. Plus the trail system offers something for every level of rider. These days I spend a lor of time riding out West. But I make a pilgrimage back to Mammoth Cave Horse Camp. Its worth the trip.
Reviewed by: J Kiel on 10/31/2023 6:08:28 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/27/2023 Hometown: Cave Creek, AZ

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautifully maintained and clean facilities, large well thought campsites, and very user friendly stalls. We all enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to everyone!
Reviewed by: Tamera Alexander on 10/30/2023 12:52:54 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/27/2023 Hometown: Richmond, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground is great and the owners are fantastic. Little things like wheel barrows with flat tires or parts falling off are aggravating. Also, the trail map provided does not correspond with the markers on the trail. Very easy to get lost.
Reviewed by: Rob Henry on 10/23/2023 10:57:15 AM
More reviews by Rob Henry
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/21/2023 Hometown: LA GRANGE, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The camp was clean and the campground manager was exceptionally helpful. He checked on us several times to see if we needed anything and was always pleasant.
Reviewed by: Martie Chittum on 10/20/2023 11:09:52 AM
More reviews by Martie Chittum
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/16/2023 Hometown: Lawrenceburg, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails very well maintained, well marked, some to long for green honeys. Would do it again!
Reviewed by: Spottedwalker1 on 10/16/2023 2:17:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/14/2023 Hometown: CLARKSON, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground was terrific, the food and staff absolutely outstanding. The trails were a bit more challenging than expected, but all in all a great week of riding.
Reviewed by: A Mongeau on 10/14/2023 7:22:46 AM
More reviews by A Mongeau
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/6/2023 Hometown: New Hartford, CT

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fantastic campground, hosts and staff. We love camping here. Everyone treats you like family and is so very friendly and helpful. We visit each year for the week long fall ride and look forward to it each year.
Reviewed by: Mary Ann Steiner on 10/13/2023 12:46:00 PM
More reviews by Mary Ann Steiner
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/2/2023 Hometown: East Palestine, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Mammoth Cave Campground is a great place to stay. The hosts are especially friendly and really care about making sure you have a good time and everything is up to your expectations. They checked on us each day and even when we saw them at a local restaurant, he made sure and acknowledged us and asked how we were doing. The campground itself was also top notch, it was clean, all the buildings have been kept up and looked very good. All in all, it was a great place to come relax and enjoy time with friends, riding your horse and making new friends along the way.
Reviewed by: mbecker64 on 10/12/2023 8:15:28 PM
More reviews by mbecker64
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/9/2023 Hometown: Springerton, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful camp ground host. Very friendly and accommodating.
Reviewed by: Judy Fessant on 9/26/2023 1:37:51 PM
More reviews by Judy Fessant
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/25/2023 Hometown: Paris, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Mammoth Cave Horse Camp is an amazing horse camp. Kevin and Janet are awesome hosts, they leave nothing to be desired. We look forward to each trip!
Reviewed by: Rebecca Smith on 9/7/2023 5:05:58 PM
More reviews by Rebecca Smith
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/4/2023 Hometown: Munfordville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground. Very clean and the owners make you feel very welcomed. You won't find a better campground.
Reviewed by: Martha Joyce Rogers on 9/4/2023 11:19:56 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/29/2023 Hometown: Springfield, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been going to Mammoth Cave Horse Camp for 3 years now. We have been to large events and been when there's less then 20 other campers. Not matter what the occasion is the customer service is superb and the grounds are always clean and friendly. KEVIN and his wife have always been extremely friendly and welcoming very professional and customer service oriented. It is a family friendly environment. My kids will remember growing up there I can't wait to hear the stories they will tell to their kids when they bring them there as well! If you're looking for a fun environment, no matter what age you are and you want to make everlasting memories, this is where it's at people! Stables are clean and secure. All the horse amenities that you could ask for or also on the grounds. We love this little Honey hole!
Reviewed by: Kristenjones on 8/21/2023 3:40:45 PM
More reviews by Kristenjones
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/19/2023 Hometown: Philpot, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been to MCHC several times and love it everytime. The trail markers do need to be updated but other then that it's awesome. We have stayed up on the hill in the past. Up there needs a shower house and bathrooms. Kevin is really nice, the stalls are always clean and so are the bathrooms. Would like to see some shelves put in the shower rooms for putting your dry clothes on.
Reviewed by: Carla Lawson on 6/26/2023 7:22:01 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/22/2023 Hometown: Ekron, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I loved my stay at Mammoth Caves Horse Camp and I loved my rides in the park. Kevin is great at the campground. Water and electric at the site. Nice stall for my horse. Easy access to the trails. Trails are a great variety. Large loops. Some easy and some difficult. It was dry leading up to our time there and then rained every day. Lots of hills so was getting slick but happy that there were not a lot of muddy/boggy areas. Variety of single file primitive and then wide, small graveled/kitty liter style trails. Really enjoyed my time here.
Reviewed by: Jennifer Salo on 6/23/2023 7:27:42 PM
More reviews by Jennifer Salo
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/21/2023 Hometown: Russell, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground was clean and easy to set up. Bath house was clean, Stalls were well maintained and served their purpose well. Trails are marked with BLUE tags that were easy to locate however the trail name abbreviations and distance traveled were NONE Existent. It was hard to identify what trail you were riding and then the trail changed names. Our group was able to navigate using a phone app and it worked out well to keep the group on track. The BLUE markers need updated information applied to them. The trails were easy to moderate in traversing with only a very few rough to hard places due to mother nature for the most part. Our group was overall pleased and will plan another trip. Nice place overall.
Reviewed by: John Stivers on 6/19/2023 11:05:50 AM
More reviews by John Stivers
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/17/2023 Hometown: Russell Springs, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Some trails couldn't be ridden due to down trees from month prior. The campground owners cleared trails close to their facility so that their visitors would have a a plus experience and that is appreciated. The trails are scenic and wonderful.
Reviewed by: Diane Stratton on 5/6/2023 1:57:52 PM
More reviews by Diane Stratton
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/5/2023 Hometown: Caneyville , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Always enjoy Mammoth Cave Horsecamp. Visited the weekend after the camps big spring fling ride so had the place pretty much to ourselves. Camp is always in great shape, barns also. Shavings were a bit difficult to get but learned where they are accessible when no one is at the office. Trails were in great shape and I know from talking with the camp worker that the crew from this camp worked their butts off clearing the trails the past few weeks and it showed!!! Raymer Hollar looked like a war zone and I can’t imagine the work it took clearing all the trees that were across the trail. We carry a saw and my husband cleared a couple on the other trails which he does everywhere we go. So thank you for your camp and all your efforts and hard work for everyone to enjoy it!!!
Reviewed by: Kentucky QH Rider on 5/1/2023 11:46:01 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/27/2023 Hometown: Foster, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

As always Mammoth Cave horse camp is clean and a great place to camp. Kevin, Janet, Chris and Denise are great. They treat you like family. We always enjoy our time at Mammoth cave horse camp. We did not ride horses this time down so I didn't rate the trails.
Reviewed by: Gregg Mason on 4/17/2023 11:01:22 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/15/2023 Hometown: Harrodsburg, KY

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List