HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for McCulley Farms.
(click on name for more information)
Jennings, FL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 23 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 23 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I've been going here for 8 years. Best in state of Florida. Even Martin Black had a clinic here. There is a herd of cattle to work with (build a rodear, gently move, work on your horsemanship) or ride all day on the many trails. The camping is great. Very hospitable. Affordable. Very nice for snowbirds. Events are fun.
Reviewed by: Miss Denise on 1/7/2016 8:34:50 PM
More reviews by Miss Denise
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 12/30/2015 Hometown: Jasper, Fl

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The hosts were very pleasant and accommodating. Everyone can pretty much camp according to their own preferences (picket/electric corral/stall). It is a very nice set-up.Very clean. But very big. We were so far away from the main barns (chicken houses redone nicely) that we chose to picket to keep the horses close to us - which wasn't a problem. The trails are very flat but the trails along the river are interesting and pretty. I was worried about deep sand on our horses that aren't used to it, but the footing was really nice - not too deep. Definitely no shoes needed. One of the trails went around a big pine tree forest - that was my least favorite because the scenery never changed, but I really enjoyed the river trails. We went for the New Year Event week-end. They fed a supper and lunch which everything was very good. I love the entertainment barn (fire places, pool table, television, dance floor). My biggest complaint about the event was that the DJ at the dance completely blew the stroke of midnight moment. He didn't have a playlist and kept figuring out what to play after the last song ended. Then at 3 minutes to midnight, he quit playing music all together while he was trying to figure out what to play next. So we all sat there in silence until people started looking at their phones saying "well its midnight". We were waiting for the big count-down, hurrah, traditional New Year kiss, breaking open a bottle of wine we bought for a toast - and instead it was a totally anti-climatic big nothing. For a place that says they do weddings and corporate events, etc., I really expected something a little better for ringing in the New Year. Plus they had advertised a Friday night auction online which they didn't have. So if you just want to go enjoy some pleasant, easy, non-treacherous trails, this is a good place. But I wouldn't go for a special event. It was too pricey for the event for the entertainment part to be so bad. They do have cabins that can be rented and there is a boat launch and a sky-diving right there near the farm so could be neat place for a family vacation.
Reviewed by: JenniferBlaine on 1/3/2016 4:50:16 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2016 Hometown: Gray, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Such a friendly and accommodating place! Richard makes you feel right at home. Lovely historic trails to enjoy. Plenty of room for everything. A wonderful place to relax. Can't wait to return.
Reviewed by: Jennifer Eardley on 10/28/2013 5:46:31 PM
More reviews by Jennifer Eardley
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/26/2013 Hometown: Sarasota, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The McCulley Family are a cut above. I have camped there with my mom for five years. Im the honorary cook on the Fall and Spring Ride. Beautiful trails along the Withalacoochee River with three springs along the way. Miles and Miles of trails. Several nice barns of course you can pickett also. The nice thing about is they have 50 electric sites and its peaceful. I have always enjoyed our stay and everyone that visits there is pleasant! If you like to ride and camp with your family furries this is the place!
Reviewed by: Paula Grant on 5/25/2013 12:30:13 PM
More reviews by Paula Grant
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/25/2013 Hometown: Tallahassee, Florida,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The McCulley Family are a cut above. I have camped there with my mom for five years. Im the honorary cook on the Fall and Spring Ride. Beautiful trails along the Withalacoochee River with three springs along the way. Miles and Miles of trails. Several nice barns of course you can pickett also. The nice thing about is they have 50 electric sites and its peaceful. I have always enjoyed our stay and everyone that visits there is pleasant! If you like to ride and camp with your family furries this is the place!
Reviewed by: Paula Grant on 5/25/2013 12:22:23 PM
More reviews by Paula Grant
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/25/2013 Hometown: Tallahassee, Florida,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had the whole place to ourselves. Richard was a great host and makes you feel like one of the family. The trails were wet during our stay, but nice anyway. The trails system across from them were closed for a vetern's hunt, but neighbor, Rick maded up for it by taking us on a 2 hour ride through areas only known by the locals. The farm's history was interesting and added to the experience. We'll be back.
Reviewed by: Trailrider on 4/15/2013 11:18:38 AM
More reviews by Trailrider
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/25/2013 Hometown: Jupiter, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The owners are wonderful and we had a great weekend. Very reasonable rates. The trails go for miles along the river, beautiful scenery. Can't wait to go back!
Reviewed by: Julie on 2/6/2013 7:41:51 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/21/2013 Hometown: Coolidge, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The nicest people and the best organized rides....Love this place for a nice easy ride along the river
Reviewed by: Pat on 12/25/2012 5:01:20 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/20/2012 Hometown: , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

McCulley's is a very nice relaxing place to have a wonderful vacation with your horses. The campsite, stalls, and trails are beautiful. The McCulley family is so warm and friendly, you feel like you've know them for years. We went up for Thanksgiving Weekend 2011 and then back for New Years Eve 2012 Weekend. We had a Great Time on both trips. We are looking forward to returning soon!!!!
Reviewed by: Lori on 1/31/2012 12:23:00 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2012 Hometown: Dunnellon, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Everything at McCulley is great - the facilities, trails, stalls, campsites and especially the hosts, The McCulley family. They are so friendly, gracious and accommodating. I only wish I lived closer so I could go more often!
Reviewed by: Holly Blankenship on 4/20/2010 1:05:53 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/20/2009 Hometown: Ocoeeq, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time visitor. Attended the Spring Ride. Easy access from I-75. Love the trail along the Withlacoochee. Owners are friendly and helpful. Barns and campground are clean. To host big rides, more showers are needed. Food was not special. I would go on future rides here.
Reviewed by: Faith on 3/22/2010 10:23:27 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/19/2010 Hometown: Tryon, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is the best horsecamping with hook-ups and stalls. Well groomed trails and well marked trails. The McCulleys are the nicest and friendliest people and they have nice hay for sale. They sell shavings and ice so you don't have to bring them, love that.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/27/2009 6:40:29 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/22/2009 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

IF YOU HAVEN'T BEEN HERE PUT IT ON YOUR LIST... GREAT PLACE ALL AROUND... GREAT FOOD,HOSTS,TRAILS,BARNS,MUSIC,NATURE,HORSEPEOPLE FROM EVERYWHERE, FROM ALL INTERESTS, FROM ALL AGES. YOU WILL WANT TO COME BACK AGAIN AND AGAIN.
Reviewed by: SUZANNE CRUM on 7/29/2008 10:02:50 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/17/2007 Hometown: CHIPLEY, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Have been here for 4 rides and have a GREAT time every time, they treat you like family and people that have been there before treat you like family also, overall is a great time with an "extended family", We made campfires and just sat around talking or just listening to it crackle or the horses close by, it is definately a place to go and relax.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/25/2008 7:30:18 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/15/2008 Hometown: Ocala, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Easy, wide trails; no shoes or boots required. The hosts were super! The bathhouse and toilets are not in the same building and are a little way from the campground. Would have been nice if they were just a bit closer. Trails are easy to follow and go past some nice historic areas. Enjoyed the riding very much.
Reviewed by: Esther on 4/11/2008 6:36:33 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/19/2008 Hometown: Havana, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The best of the best. Fabulous hosts, great stalls and camping. Trails are very well marked but ya might get real lucky and get to ride w/cowboy Rick. Dont miss their March ride.
Reviewed by: karenandmary on 12/13/2007 6:34:26 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/24/2007 Hometown: otter creek, NY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

McCully's is the best! This was our second in many future Thanksgiving weekends to come. We had 19 people in our group this year. Richard and his Dad are gracious hosts and make everyone feel like family. The grounds and stalls are very clean and well maintained. The trails are very relaxing. They are shady, wide and sandy. No need for shoes or boots here.
Reviewed by: Patti Hynds on 11/28/2007 9:36:04 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/27/2007 Hometown: Summerfield (Ocala), FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent our Thanksgiving weekend with a group of 8 trailers. The trails are all double wide, well marked, and beautiful. Even though it was hunting season, we saw some deer, the trail along the river's edge is beautiful, there are several places to stop and rest or have a lunch break, especially at the springs. But the very best part of camping at McCulley Farm would be how well our hosts treat us. I can't say enough nice things about Richard and Mr. McCulley. They are very accommodating, always available for questions or just to chat, and make you feel like just part of the family, visiting for the weekend.
Reviewed by: Mollie Zell on 11/27/2007 6:38:58 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/23/2007 Hometown: Ocala, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

well ive never been befor but it sounds great!And I can wait to go.
Reviewed by: Jhon on 10/22/2007 6:31:03 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/22/2007 Hometown: yazoo, MS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first time to McCulley's and we found the trails to be shady, well maintained and well marked. The camp sites, bath houses and barns were clean and in good condition. The McCulley family couldn't have been nicer or more accomadating. We will definately be back.
Reviewed by: Catherine on 10/11/2007 5:58:56 PM
More reviews by Catherine
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/11/2007 Hometown: Ocala, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The McCulley family is 100% southern hospitality. The grounds were safe and horse friendly and the trails were peaceful and shady. I have been numerous times and each time it is better.
Reviewed by: Traci on 9/11/2007 8:22:59 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/11/2007 Hometown: Middleburg, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Some friends and I went to the Fall ride and we had a great time. The trails are nice and the McCully's are wonderful. They made sure eveyone was comfortable with roomy areas for primitive camping and even an area for folks who wished to run their generators throughout the night. The food was good and so was the entertainment. The stalls are roomy and there are plenty of them in renovated poultry barns. I would definitely recommend this ride especially if you don't like to cook as all of your meals are included.
Reviewed by: Bradley on 3/11/2007 6:28:01 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/11/2007 Hometown: Brooksville, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

great place to ride in the shade. winding trails and open lanes.close to two springs for a swim. owners are friendly, helpful and cont. to improve facilities.
Reviewed by: Denise on 3/4/2007 6:34:13 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/28/2007 Hometown: JACKSONVILLE, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We found the trails a very scenic ride along the Withlacoochee River. Labor Day weekend was hot but once you started riding, it was very shaded trails and cool. Grounds and facilities are very clean. Stalls are big. Owners are very friendly and accommodating. Not a lot of shade in some of the camping areas which are scattered throughout. We had a great time.
Reviewed by: Patti on 9/9/2006 7:56:03 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/2/2006 Hometown: Summerfield, FL