HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Midwest Trail Ride
(click on name for more information)


Norman , IN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 122 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 120 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I can't say enough about Midwest!!! We camp with our horses several times a year and this is absolutely our go to. Kim, Jeff and the staff are wonderful. They are always willing to help. So easy to make a reservation on their website. Trails are very well maintained with varying degrees of difficulty. If you enjoy a break from cooking they have great food at the mess hall. Nice stalls for the horses. Cozy, clean cabins if you don't have a trailer with LQ. We have been coming to Midwest for 9 years now and LOVE it!!!
Reviewed by: Erin Durham on 11/24/2016 8:39:07 PM
More reviews by Erin Durham
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/6/2016 Hometown: Plainfield, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are well marked and we have a good trail map. Campground and hosts are super - stalls near sites and airy and clean. Dining hall is a plus for our big group and breakfasts are a very nice touch!
Reviewed by: Marti Caldwell on 11/23/2016 11:06:25 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/27/2016 Hometown: Milton, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

one of my favorite places to stay. I travel all over the US and I always find myself pulling in someplace and saying - it's nice but it isn't Midwest.
Reviewed by: eunice51 on 11/23/2016 10:58:15 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2016 Hometown: bunker hill , in

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great accommodations for horses and riders. Clean bathroom and really nice Tack shop.
Reviewed by: K&KWalkers on 11/23/2016 10:38:10 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/4/2016 Hometown: VINCENNES, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I LOVE Midwest Trail Rides! Their facility is the best anywhere near me & I love to go here when staying more than 1 day. Their overnight facility is the best with stalls for horses, water & electric hookup, bathhouse with showers & food available. I only wish they had internet available, even if just in the mess hall. Everything is 5 star!
Reviewed by: Lori Cucuz on 11/23/2016 9:07:22 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/24/2016 Hometown: Greenwood, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Midwest Trail Ride has the best accomdations for a large group to go for a weekend campout even if you don't have a LQ Trailer there are cabins to rent. Stalls are great and well maintained. Couldn't ask for better Staff to welcome you. Jeff and Kim, the owners are great hosts, and Lisa is great on helping with the reservations and she is another great host, if you have any questions they are right there to help. They have a wonderful Tack shop anything you would need for your horse or camping equipment. Trails on Midwest Property are well maintained by Jeff and his Crew. You know it is very upsetting to me to see Trail Riders leave the Campground in pouring down rain and hit the trails, not only destroying the trails, but what damage they could do to their horse. It is one thing to be riding and get caught out in the rain, but to leave on a ride in a pouring down rain, come on people THINK what you are going to do to the Trails and to your horse. It comes down to "NO RESPECT FOR THE TRAIL SYSTEM OR THEIR HORSE". Hoosier Forest trail system is great, it is worth the Bridle Tag Fee to purchase a tag to Support the Trails we get to ride, such a small fee to pay to ride these wonderful trails. Well folks this will be the first place I go in the spring, coming off a ankle replacement this past year I will be ready to ride for sure and there is no better to start enjoying my Horse better than Midwest Trail Ride to see Jeff, Kim and Lisa for a wonderful weekend of camping with my horse. Happy Thanksgiving and Merry Christmas Jeff, Kim, and Lisa, also Happy New Year... See you in the Spring!!!!!!!!
Reviewed by: Jim Mayer on 11/23/2016 8:50:00 AM
More reviews by Jim Mayer
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/29/2016 Hometown: Butler, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love the whole experience of equestrian trail riding at Midwest, from the super friendly owners and staff, the large, easy to park camping sites, convenience of the barns, very clean showers, well stocked camp store with all the needs for you and your horse, we just love it all. Trails are not difficult, they are usually nice and wide, riding through the national forest, you are always in the shade, and they well marked so no need to worry about getting lost. We really love how you just back your trailer right up by the barn, and your horses are right behind you, so close to keep an eye on when you are not riding. Great place, we go often.
Reviewed by: Arminh on 11/23/2016 8:05:40 AM
More reviews by Arminh
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/23/2016 Hometown: Gifford, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been going to this camp at least once for the last 9 years. This year I made it 3 times. We love it up there!!!! You do have to be careful once you cross into the Hoosier National Forest, as it isn't very well marked, but other than that it's an absolutely great place for everyone in the family!!!!!
Reviewed by: Jen Moore on 11/23/2016 8:00:20 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/21/2016 Hometown: Bethlehem, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

From the reservations with Elaine to my checkout time was excellent. Sites are large for parking, showers clean,meals wonderful, trails well maintained and marked, staff out of this world. Very helpful when i needed help. Stalls could use some additional leveling and lime, but that's all. I love the hand held gps the added to my phone so I can't get lost. I will be back several times a year to MTR an I live 5 hrs away in Shawnee National Forrest. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Reviewed by: Jeanie on 11/23/2016 7:46:00 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2016 Hometown: Elizabethtown, Il

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Everything was great & we've been there about 6 or 8 times. Never a problem. Good Church service on Sunday also.
Reviewed by: John Little on 11/23/2016 7:38:53 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/10/2016 Hometown: Greentown, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Halloween weekend at Midwest is full of fun and activities. There is a Halloween costume contest with and without your horse, a haunted trail, music and more. Looking forward to next year.
Reviewed by: Suzie Davidson on 11/23/2016 6:52:27 AM
More reviews by Suzie Davidson
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/26/2016 Hometown: Lebanon, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: mcombs534 on 11/23/2016 6:32:39 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/23/2016 Hometown: Salem, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had an amazing time staying at Midwest Trail Ride. The facility is well-maintained. Having the stalls right next to the campsite is a huge plus. Clean, hot showers. Well-stocked tack shop and very friendly staff. We will definitely be back!
Reviewed by: atrousda on 10/10/2016 2:36:57 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/8/2016 Hometown: Mokena, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Well maintained equestrian campground. Whether you are on an organized ride or open camping on your own, there is no shortage of trails. The Outpost store offers most anything you might need for yourself or your horse. A mecca for trail riders.
Reviewed by: Vaquera Ranchwear on 7/20/2016 5:02:56 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/21/2016 Hometown: Indpls, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jeff and Kim and staff do an awsome job making sure your stay is a great one. Nice to have a stall right behind your campsite. Campground restroom and showers are alway very clean.
Reviewed by: Doug VanVliet on 7/18/2016 9:27:31 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/3/2016 Hometown: Brookville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love going to this campground. I have been there so many times, it's like going home. Very clean, well-kept campground and buildings. Jeff and Kim do a great job making everyone feel welcome. Love shopping at the MTR Outpost. Great trails to ride. Looking forward to Labor Day weekend.
Reviewed by: Suzie Davidson on 7/18/2016 3:54:26 PM
More reviews by Suzie Davidson
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/28/2016 Hometown: Lebanon, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I can only give a review of their reservation system as we never made it to the facility and may never will go at this point. We tried to use their website reservation system and it was not acting right. I quickly followed up with a phone call in which no one answered the phone. I left a very detailed message on having trouble with the website and what site I wanted and what dates. I got a voicemail later that night stating they were very busy and they apologized and will try to get my reservation. I called back and no one answered. I called two mornings later finding out they rented the site I chose to someone else and they knew nothing of my voicemail and the person that took it wont be back for another two days. Just basically got a shrug off. So my advise. If you see a site you want, don't stop calling, don't let them "wait" to get back with you. Bug the heck out of them or your chosen site will be given up even though you are playing phone tag. It doesn't matter to them.
Reviewed by: veda962 on 6/26/2016 9:46:10 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/24/2016 Hometown: ,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Truly one of the best places I have ever camped and ridden at, with highly maintained facilities and well marked and groomed trails. There is something for everyone, from beginners like me to the more advance riders✽ plus you can really tell that the owners care ❤️ I will most definitely be back P.S the showers here are wonderful
Reviewed by: LoriHughes on 5/18/2016 10:01:15 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 5/13/2016 Hometown: Oak Harbor , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I am rather new to camping with my horse but with that being said. MTR provided such an awesome property and customer experience, it was stress-free and so enjoyable for me and my horse. To start off I accidentally made my reservation on the incorrect weekend and as soon as I realized my error called them and it was changed without any trouble. I found my campsite easy to access, clean, as well as the horse stall. The restrooms, shower stalls and mess hall were very well maintained. Of course, shopping is always fun and the Outpost has some nice items for the human and the horse. I had a great weekend staying here and have already made reservations for a few more weekends this year.
Reviewed by: Laurie Johnston on 5/7/2016 7:35:16 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/23/2016 Hometown: Plainfield, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Midwest Trail Ride, home away from home. This is my favorite place to camp and ride. The campground is clean and well maintained. The covered stalls are right at your campsite so you have easy access to your horse. My horse is safe and comfortable and that means a lot to me. The staff is friendly and very helpful, if there is a problem Jeff or Kim take care of it asap. The trails are clean and well maintained and there is easy access to the Hoosier National Forest.
Reviewed by: Regina Keegan on 5/5/2016 12:01:47 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: Terre Haute, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A very well organized facility, clean, good stalls, helpful employees, safe.
Reviewed by: Sally De Long on 5/3/2016 8:47:45 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: paris, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is one of our favorite places to camp with our horses. The facilities are top notch!
Reviewed by: Nina Hylton on 5/3/2016 8:16:35 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/23/2016 Hometown: Cory, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Midwest is one of my favorite places to go and ride, and camp. The facility is well kept, the trails are great, and getting there is so easy, and the people are wonderful. I will be going back.
Reviewed by: Rhonda Helming on 5/3/2016 10:13:33 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: Celestine, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful place to ride and camp. Owners are caring and helpful. The campground is very well maintained.
Reviewed by: Marilynkahl on 5/2/2016 9:05:52 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: Lucerne, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Midwest Trail has excellent facilities that include water, electricity and stalls located close by, to be able to keep a close eye on your horse. Just in case you forget to pack any necessary items, they have a great store to go shopping. Since I ride alone quite frequently, Kim and Jeff have always made me feel safe to do so.
Reviewed by: Linda Riley on 5/2/2016 7:51:13 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: Westfield, IN

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List