HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Mountwood Park Horsemans Camp
(click on name for more information)


Parkersburg, WV

Overall TRAIL RATING with 13 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 11 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We used Moutwood as an overnight stop. Did not ride the trails, however, people that we met while there gave them good marks. Campsites are on asphalt, only one water hydrant, so no water at sites. Community electric hookup. We have an RV, towing the horse trailer, the sites were not deep enough to accomodate our rig - but since there were some empty sites, we parked across them instead of backing in.If you have a large LQ trailer, you will need to unhook your truck. There are new stalls being constructed in another part of the campground, these sites look like each one will have an electrical hook up - not sure about water. Bathhouse is up a hill, did not use it, so cannot comment. Covered stalls are airy/open, "gates" are not on hinges, can prove a little challenging if you are putting your horse in alone.Stalls are safe, you may want to bring something to tie them in place just to be sure no one gets curious and wanders off in the night. New stalls look like a bit of an upgrade. Entrance road to the campground is uphill and a bit on the narrow side, and there is one uphill hairpin turn on the way into the park.Overall, a nice place, not plush but very adequate. Owners are very nice, gave good directions, pricing is a little high for not having water/elect at each site.
Reviewed by: Anne Glaser Breen on 6/17/2013 10:26:20 AM
More reviews by Anne Glaser Breen
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/15/2013 Hometown: Macon, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My favorite place to ride every year. Wildlife along the trail along with stall, shower, water and electric. We have camped many weekends and plan a trip again next weekend. I can't get enough of all the short trails in the middle of the big hard dig loop. Love it!!! We are always meeting new friends and change phone numbers.
Reviewed by: Kathy Selby on 9/30/2012 2:44:52 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/28/2012 Hometown: Bruceton Mills, WV, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails were very well maintained and plenty of variety
Reviewed by: Tad Wilson on 9/19/2011 1:09:06 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/2/2011 Hometown: Vienna, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just spent Labor Day weekend here. It was GREAT! Trails are very nice, facilities are AWESOME! More people need to know about this place so we can keep it open to the horses!! mountwoodpark.org for more information. Don't miss out on this GEM!!
Reviewed by: Tammy S on 9/5/2011 9:31:58 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/5/2011 Hometown: Pittsburgh, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first ride here and over all it went pretty well. My boys and fiance live close by and thought it would be a lot of fun to ride. The boys did very well and didnt have any trouble riding the trails. There were markings - but could use more or ones that are easier to notice. We enjoyed our day and plan to revist in 2011
Reviewed by: MaryAnn on 1/11/2011 9:50:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/15/2010 Hometown: Waverly,WV, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My favorite place to ride and camp, close to town in case of emergencies, trails offer tons of variation, extremely short and easy to long and challenging and everything in between, trails are laid out like a network across varied terrain (hilly of course this is west virginia)so I can choose a custom trail ride to suit the needs of soft or inexperienced horses/riders or seasoned horses/riders that enjoy a challenge. 99% of the trails are in deeply shaded woods, high vistas offer gorgeous views, natural areas well suited for tying horses for lunchbreaks, creek crossings offer plenty of watering opportunities, stalls and other amenities are fantastic!
Reviewed by: Dorla Yeager on 1/7/2011 11:16:05 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/1/2010 Hometown: Parkersburg, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice relaxing place to come ride and camp, Nice accommodations, Elctric, showers, and stalls.
Reviewed by: Brian Reynolds on 1/6/2011 10:34:00 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/1/2010 Hometown: Belpre, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My first ride at Mountwood was great. I was riding Dusty a trail horse that I had just purchased in Ky. Both Dusty and I had a marvious time.
Reviewed by: Juanita Gaver on 1/6/2011 5:06:17 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/5/2011 Hometown: Elizabeth, W.V., WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are great!! They are marked, just could be marked a little better, but are marked with maps available. The campground is great, it has both electric or for those that wanna use there own stuff. Plenty of parking and decent places for the horses. Water and showers available too. It's a work in progress, but it is a very nice place to come and enjoy West Virginia!! Also not real far from town if something is needed!!
Reviewed by: Rhonda Curfman on 1/6/2011 4:27:48 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/1/2010 Hometown: Elizabeth, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Mountwood is a great place to ride/camp. Trails are marked well, and there are many different ones to pick from. This is one of my favorite places to ride!
Reviewed by: Lisa Dwire on 1/5/2011 4:29:24 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/4/2010 Hometown: Ellenboro, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice trails of varying skill level. Stalls,potable water,showers and restrooms all available. Several electric sites on a paved level lot. Many, well made plastic covered cable,tie lines. And did mention very nice trails.
Reviewed by: Dave Williams on 1/5/2011 1:44:23 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/18/2010 Hometown: Ellenboro, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is an excellent place for you and your horse to go. Lots of really nice trails, stalls for the horses, running water and most important while camping, very clean showers and bathrooms.
Reviewed by: Penni Dorsey on 12/9/2010 7:22:13 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/12/2010 Hometown: Vienna, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Mountwood is great place to ride. The stalls are awesome ! They have some of the best trails I've ever ridin. The scenery is pretty. Great place to camp.
Reviewed by: Leighann Patterson on 12/7/2010 5:42:18 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 10/8/2010 Hometown: marietta, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love riding the trails and all the amentities make this one of my favorite destinations. The trails are great and marked really well; the trail map you can purchase at the parks administation building is easier to read than the free black & white map & it was very professionally created. My horse LOVES the covered stalls :+)
Reviewed by: Tara on 12/5/2010 8:32:35 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/24/2010 Hometown: Davisville, WV