HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Mt. Rogers Natl Recreation Area - Hungry Horse Farm
(click on name for more information)


Ivanhoe, VA

Overall TRAIL RATING with 6 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 7 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fantastic campground in a beautiful location. We could not have had a nicer experience. We've stayed in a lot of campgrounds all over and this is one of the best. The trail map was accurate and easy to follow. Walter, the owner outlined trails to ride each day, based on what we wanted to do. We will definitely go back in the future.
Reviewed by: JM on 7/1/2008 2:23:38 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/27/2008 Hometown: Angier, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My sister and I stayed at your facility June 26-29 and had such a wonderful time. We have never stayed at such a well run, organized, clean, quiet place as yours. It was also very nice that all the campers were horse people. Thanks for a great location that we hope to return to this fall.
Reviewed by: Dawn Simpson on 6/30/2008 8:46:57 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/27/2008 Hometown: Waxhaw, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The nicest maintained horse campground we've ever seen with the friendliest campground hosts you could ever meet. Can't wait to go back. They should set the standard for all other horse camps.
Reviewed by: Dick and Robin Bickel on 5/28/2008 8:05:16 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/9/2008 Hometown: Rixeyville, VA, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We recently visited the campground and were very pleased. It was such a relaxing environment and really well kept. We were excited to be able to tour the newly remodeled cabin that is also pictured on the website. The campsites were graveled and leveled, there was water to the stalls inside the large barn for convenience, and the trails from camp led directly into the Jefferson National Forest. Definitely a great time!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/28/2008 5:52:53 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/29/2007 Hometown: Rock Hill, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

New owners have reopened campground as Hungry Horse East Equestrian Campground and Cabin Rental offering trail access, 12 campsites, 30 stalls, and a rustic cabin for rent.
Reviewed by: Liz Beaver on 6/21/2007 12:25:52 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/21/2007 Hometown: Cripple Creek, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place is what camping is all about! Clean, well maintained and functional campground with a beautiful creek running along side the campsites. Stalls are great! These owners are very particuliar and because of that their facility and atmosphere is oustanding. The trails are unbelievable! Beware, we saw a bear on the trail, thankfully it quickly ran away!
Reviewed by: leslie coyle on 10/21/2005 2:38:47 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/14/2005 Hometown: gaffney , SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place is what camping is all about! Clean, well maintained and functional campground with a beautiful creek running along side the campsites. Stalls are great! These owners are very particuliar and because of that their facility and atmosphere is oustanding. The trails are unbelievable! Beware, we saw a bear on the trail, thankfully it quickly ran away!
Reviewed by: leslie coyle on 10/21/2005 2:37:44 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/21/2005 Hometown: gaffney , SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent place to stay! Quiet and peacful. Perfect place for a quiet getaway for families or friends. Cabins are fully stocked and comfortably decorated. The kitchens are stocked with everything you can think of to cook with. Better than my own kitchen! Cabins are clean and comfy with plenty of towels for showers. The stalls are meticulously cleaned and you have plenty of room for all your gear and your horse will be nice and comfy, too. The owners couldn't be nicer people. Willing to help out when needed and they are great company! Hungry Horse will not be the same without them.
Reviewed by: kinscore on 10/18/2004 3:17:01 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/31/2004 Hometown: Boyce, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This has become the standard by which we rate other horsecampgrounds. If you want a party place, go elsewhere, but if you want a clean, wholesome environment you can bring your family to, this is the place.
Reviewed by: kdenaro on 10/7/2004 8:08:11 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/7/2004 Hometown: New Bloomfield, PA