HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Otter Creek horse trails
(click on name for more information)


Glenfield, NY

Overall TRAIL RATING with 8 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 8 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Easy to become addicted to this place!! Trails are great and varied, easy to choose those suited to your ability. Nice to have horses under cover, tie stalls wide enough for even inexperienced mounts to be at ease. Been many times, can't believe it's so wonderful AND FREE!! Try to go more times each year than the last.
Reviewed by: Elizabeth Jackson Page on 6/16/2013 6:51:06 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/15/2013 Hometown: Oswego, New York, NY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have come to Otter Creek twice a year for the last 10yrs. or so and love it every time. Campground is easy in and out, tie stalls are good,99% of the people we meet are great and remain friends over the years. Trails are excellent and varied in terrain especialy the the farther out from camp you go. There are overlooks, streams, rivers,swimming holes, wildlife. There are 3/4 Pubs you can ride to for lunch. Can get a little dusty on trails near camp, but so can anywhere if no rain. You can also get hay delivery to camp. There is water at stalls and a trailer fill hydrant,bathrooms,but no showers, and there is a dump station. This year they started a self regisration policy and there is parks person there a couple days a week and a Ranger coming through a couple times a day making sure rules are being followed and checking papers (which we like). Overall we look forward to our trips here every year. And its free, Thank you to N.Y. for allowing us to enjoy your Recreation areas.
Reviewed by: Terry & Cindy on 8/8/2012 5:34:52 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/5/2012 Hometown: Belchertown, MA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Simply beautiful, very relaxing, best camping trip with my horses ever!!! Rode trails for over 9 hrs. and never met another rider!!It is a horse riders heaven!!!
Reviewed by: Karen on 9/16/2011 3:01:44 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/10/2011 Hometown: , VT

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Favourite trails "Streamside" and "Crooked Creek". Love the camping, love the trails, love the great people your sure to meet. My horse is completely comfortable in the tie stalls and loves to watch camp activity (when he's not out enjoying the trails). Why can't the whole world be like Otter Creek Horse Trails - it would be a happy place. This place is total relaxation.
Reviewed by: Heather on 5/7/2011 5:03:47 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/23/2010 Hometown: Fergus, OT

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is my familys 15 year of going and every year gets better. You can ride for 2,4,6, hr of most all sand riding. You can safly lope for miles with out a problem. Sundays you can almost pick any site at the campground.
Reviewed by: Mark on 2/28/2011 1:33:34 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 8/10/2010 Hometown: averill Park , NY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place is NY's best kept secret," Please don't tell". The Trails are wonderful. The terrain is diverse. This is a DEC run park they do a good job. The campers are responsible to keep things nice. There is no fee to stay. It can get crowded so I recommend to coming in early in the week. There are no public showers. I try to get there at least 5 times each season.
Reviewed by: Dawn on 3/17/2010 9:17:56 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/1/2009 Hometown: Potsdam, NY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Otter Creek is the best trail and camping destination in NY. Well maintained, with covered tie stalls, well marked trails. Three large parking lot style areas with trees and fire pits. Water,flush toilets, no showers. I stay in the overflow for a private site, have to haul water down, but love the piece and quiet. Dog friendly, leashed @ camp, loose on trail. Trails are mostly sand, barefoot friendly. Never had any bug trouble. Store within 5 miles.It takes a minimum of 5 days to ride all trails. Diverse scenery, terrain, lots of wooden bridges, good water holes. I tell everyone to camp here!
Reviewed by: Becky Weibel on 1/15/2010 8:57:04 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2009 Hometown: Wyoming, NY, NY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I went in early September for a week and was pleasantly surprised by how good the trails were. Most trails had easy sections (relatively flat)and then some harder sections (up some steep rocky hills). We only went out for a few hours at a time but we had a great time and are looking forward to going again next year. The trails were easy to read, well maintained, and fun to ride.
Reviewed by: shelly edson on 9/13/2008 3:26:28 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/10/2008 Hometown: middlebury, vt, VT