HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for PINE GROVE TRAILS
(click on name for more information)


LESLIE, AR

Overall TRAIL RATING with 18 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 17 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Interesting little rustic town. Freddy is very nice and helpful. Excellent map and trails are marked well. Lots of sites which were pretty level, electric and lots of room. Pens and barns for horses with handy water. Rode to Kissing Tree, scenic ridge, lookouts, Reagan's cabin, old homestead, moonshine canyon, falls to rock bluff which was my favorite. Lots of really pretty trails. Might not have a lot of trails but all the trails there are great and glad we rode there. Close to other horse camps that are harder to get reservations so this would be a good spot for a couple of days.
Reviewed by: Linda & Morris Dolph on 1/24/2018 9:00:37 PM
More reviews by Linda %26 Morris Dolph
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/15/2017 Hometown: Waterloo, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

You will not find a friendlier more laid back camping spot. The owner was more than welcoming and we felt right at home. Lots of room between camping areas, stalls available, area you can use, and lots of great one of a kind stops along the trail. The town has a great little watering hole that serves good food and has an happy hour:) I would recommend shoes for your horses as there is a lot of rocks a few tricky spots but nothing too crazy. Be sure to stay on the trails or have a good sense of direction his spread is over 4200 acres it would take a while to find your way back!:) We will all be going back yearly!
Reviewed by: kaitlynlu on 10/23/2015 1:52:59 PM
More reviews by kaitlynlu
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/8/2015 Hometown: Oskaloosa, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love this place. Camp ground is nice with water and electric. Rustic showers and neat lil western town. Owner Freddy Saterfield is a wonderful and help man. We just love it there. We will go there again and again.
Reviewed by: Kimisue Hipp on 8/31/2014 1:07:07 PM
More reviews by Kimisue Hipp
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/1/2014 Hometown: Cave City, Ar

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time to stay at Freddies place and it was a great experience!! Freddie was very nice and accomodating to us. The trails were well marked and some were pretty challenging. I will definitely be using this camp again!!!
Reviewed by: Jason McClain on 6/5/2012 11:57:08 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/1/2012 Hometown: Texarkana, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a great place to ride and Freddy is just the nicest, most accomodating person you'll ever meet. We are repeat customers and will continue to go back...each season offers something different. Beautiful trails with awesome rock formations, bluffs and many creek crossings. Trails can be a little challenging, especially when you are riding on the Rough Bluff trail, but it's worth a bumpy ride to see the scenery. The current bathhouse is pretty scarey, but Freddy has promised that he will be working on the new bathhouse soon. Once that is accomplished I would bump up the campground rating considerably! I definately recommending giving Pine Grove Trails a try!
Reviewed by: Holly on 1/10/2012 2:15:13 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/11/2011 Hometown: Little Rock, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My friend and I rode at Pine Grove on Satuday, 8-6-11. It was not and there was no one there - which made the riding even better. We rode about 3 hours in the morning. The trails are mostly wooded and there was a nice breeze. It was nice for us and the horses. Freddie met us after the ride and offered to let us water and hose down the horses but we didn't have far to trailer back to Mtn View so we let them cool down on the trip home. It was a great ride, even in the heat. This was ride #5 for us at Pine Grove and will just be one of many. We are going back in October. The riding is great in any weather. Freddie is a gem and it's always a pleasure to see him. Can't wait for October!!
Reviewed by: Lee Ann on 8/10/2011 11:08:41 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/6/2011 Hometown: Jonesboro, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

this campground started nice but they have done very little to the trails since the ice storm.they have not maintained them.a new bathhouse was susposed to have built 3 or so years ago.still not built.the ladies shower is is nothing i want to take a shower in.and my husband said the same about the mens.one ladies shower/toilet for the whole camp.same for the mens.Freddy has made enough money on trailriders to do upgrades and he hasnt.
Reviewed by: ann on 1/4/2011 9:16:37 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/15/2010 Hometown: , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Absolutely love this place!!! Freddy is great! Have been a couple of times. A good family oriented place I can take my kids for a great trail ride! I will continue to go at least once or twice a year!!!
Reviewed by: Amber Harding on 11/2/2010 2:14:39 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/1/2010 Hometown: Harrison, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just wanted to say Mr. Freddie was one of the nicest down home country guys I ever met.. He made sure he checked on everyone everyday to see if they needed anything and made sure we were comfortable. He made me really feel at home. The trails were well marked also. We definitely look forward to coming back..
Reviewed by: Jeannie Williams on 6/3/2010 6:11:20 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/28/2010 Hometown: Portland, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a wonderful time while camping at Pine Grove. The owner was very friendly and helped us with anything we needed. The trails where beautiful, as well as the weather was very cool for Sept,Grassy campsites was really nice.Lots of room for the kids to play as well. Ice on hand which was nice too.
Reviewed by: James & Renee Miller on 10/1/2009 7:20:49 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/17/2009 Hometown: Hector , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

trails are great .the people are the bestest in the world.you can pay me latter freddy for sayigg that ha ha love u guys and gals see ya soon.
Reviewed by: t, engles on 6/17/2009 10:42:42 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: mt.pleasant ark., AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

5 of us went to Pine grove last winter an got to go on a guided ride with Freddy. There was 10 inches of snow on the ground that morning. It was truly an unforgettable experience. We were the only campers on the ranch at the time. We really enjoyed the time we spent there
Reviewed by: J.E.Rhodes on 1/16/2009 5:09:58 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Hot Springs, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned from our first trip to Pine Grove. It was absolutely wonderful. The trails are spectacular with beauty you cannot imagine. The owners are fantastic and even though the grounds are full of others, you feel you are the only one that matters. Great place and I would recommend to everyone.
Reviewed by: Lori Harris on 7/22/2008 9:05:15 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/18/2008 Hometown: Chilhowee, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

i love this place the people are great trails are great.
Reviewed by: theresa on 6/20/2008 11:44:57 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: mt.pleasant , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

THIS IS A GREAT PLACE TO CAMP AND RIDE.THE TRAILS ARE SOME OF THE MOST SCEINIC I HAVE BEEN ON.THE CAMPGROUND IS CLEAN.THE OWNERS ARE SOME OF THE NICEST PEOPLE YOU WILL EVER MEET.THEY MAKE YOU FEEL RIGHT AT HOME.CAN NOT WAIT TO GO BACK.JEANETTE
Reviewed by: JEANETTE TRAHAN on 4/24/2008 12:16:33 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/23/2008 Hometown: CARENCRO, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was the best place I have ever ridden a mule. The owner (Freddy) was so nice and made us feel right at home, even though we were the only ones there the 2 days during the week. I can't wait to go back.
Reviewed by: J on 11/15/2007 1:04:45 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/10/2007 Hometown: Perryville, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We've ridden many trails around Arkansas and Pine Grove is definately one of the most scenic horse trails in the state! The trails are well marked and easy to navigate, even for someone as directionally challenged as myself. Freddy was extremely nice and went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and at home. Great experience...in fact, we are headed back!!
Reviewed by: Holly on 10/30/2007 2:26:28 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/12/2007 Hometown: Little Rock, CT

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I had the great experience of riding at Pine Grove Trails in Leslie,Ark. The trails are challenging, but marked so well that a guide is not needed. There are beautiful rock formations and caves around each turn and plenty of springs to give your horse a drink while on the trail. There are plenty of camper hookups and a bunkhouse that is in big demand.On weekends you can get a great home-cooked breakfast before hitting the trails served up with some real Southern hospitality.
Reviewed by: Jeanne on 9/8/2007 8:59:51 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/1/2007 Hometown: Youngsville, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I was told about Pine groove Trails while camping at the bar 50 in june,I was on my way to the Shawnee Nat. forest.I am glad I went to the shawnee,but after riding at Pine Grove ,I will not go back,this is the most beautiful place to ride,the campground is on top of a mountain and everywhere you look,you have a nice view.the owners are the nicest people and make you feel at home.I am planning on going back in oct.to see the fall colors.
Reviewed by: jt-trailblazer on 9/5/2007 10:55:15 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/25/2007 Hometown: carencro, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/5/2007 10:46:39 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/25/2007 Hometown: , Select State