HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Pennyrile State Park Horse Campground
(click on name for more information)
Dawson Springs, KY

Overall TRAIL RATING with 11 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 11 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my 5th trip to Pennyrile this year! and I'll have to say it has become one of my favorite places to ride and camp. The trails are well marked and the new map is great, I've had the chance to meet many of the locals riders who also volunteer to work on these trails and their enthusiasm is obvious. They are willing to lead you on guided rides which really makes for a great expirence. The campground is small but is the nicest one I've ever stayed at. I'll be back for sure!
Reviewed by: Beth on 9/28/2012 7:02:23 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/22/2012 Hometown: Glasgow, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I had a wonderful weekend at The Pennyrile State Park and forest. The campground is fantastic and so are the trails. Great place for a nice quiet weekend with your horse.
Reviewed by: Jeanne on 9/24/2012 4:13:25 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/21/2012 Hometown: Horse Cave, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just got back from Pennyrile and I have to brag about it. Facility for horses is brandnew and beautifu. No stalls but the tie rails are study and have nice fine gravel in them. Pull thru for the trailers and the riding is easy to moderate and very scenic. Had a great time.
Reviewed by: Sandy on 6/28/2012 8:20:53 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/27/2012 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wow what a find!! This is one of the nicest campgrounds we've ever stayed at, the trails are beautiful and marked well enough. It was wet during our stay but we never had any trouble on the trails
Reviewed by: Connie on 3/17/2012 1:44:16 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/17/2012 Hometown: Evansville, , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I like Pennyrile because it is close to home, the trails are great, the new campground is nice.
Reviewed by: RBuchanan on 1/26/2012 7:35:01 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/18/2011 Hometown: Manitou, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails have been well marked and there are beautiful sights!! The camping area is very nice also!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 1/21/2012 10:29:42 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/6/2012 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Chrissy on 1/20/2012 10:40:14 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/5/2011 Hometown: Crofton, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Pennyrile is a beautiful place to ride. It has great trails in the woods. There are great parking areas. The campgrounds are so nice! The bathhouse is very nice and clean. The camp sites are big and shaded. My boy Romeo and I love it!
Reviewed by: Laura Duncan on 1/18/2012 5:35:04 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/8/2012 Hometown: Dawson Springs, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Pennyrile park horse trails are lots of fun--beautiful rock formations around, creeks here and there to water horses and dogs while on the trail, lots of trees and shade everywhere. There is a trail head right out of camp or can use the day use area and head out on a trail. Trails can be ridden shod or unshod since the trails are not very rocky--just one gravel road that the trails criss cross now and then. Campsites were awesome--built in tie lines, wide pull throughs, gravel on sites, picnic tables, and a beautiful wash house. Spots are shady. Book ahead and they'll have your name card clipped to your site. The Park lodge has a restaurant that is a couple of minutes away by truck. It was open when we were there.
Reviewed by: Lisa Smith on 1/18/2012 3:13:03 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/12/2011 Hometown: Hopkinsville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Pennyrile State Park as been around for years. I trail rode there 4-5 years ago & thought it was OK. BUT over the past couples of years, it has become one of my MOST favorite places to ride. It's close for me, unlike Wranglers or Shawnee, where I wud have to travel an hour or hour & 1/2 to get there..... Pennyrile is about a 30 minute drive. The trails are beautiful, absolutely beautiful. The variety of the trails is what I also love. For example the Orange trail, right now, is probably my favorite. It has such a variety of terrain.......... sometimes ur riding along a wide trail, the next few feet, your weaving in between trees, going up & down steep hills. You can ride for an hour or you can stay out all day. What I also love about Pennyrile is the fact that I don't have to boot my horses. My horses stay barefoot. Pennyrile's trails are not over-run w/ rock. There is the occassional gravel road your going to encounter along w/ the rock in the creeks & streams, but for the most part, the trails are nice & I dn have to boot my horse. The "horse campground" is beautiful; everything new & well kept. Bathrooms are nice. Although 1 or 2 street lamps would be nice at night to keep the campground lite up a bit, other than that.............. I will def be spending more time @ Pennyrile State Park.
Reviewed by: Missi Tomes on 1/18/2012 6:49:17 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/8/2012 Hometown: Madisonville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Pennyrile is my all time favorite place to ride! But I'm there all the time because it's close to my home and I also helped to develope and maintane the trails. We are constantly working on them and the newest trail map should be availible by Feb 2012, it's well worth the trip, I camp and ride in several states and it's hard to beat these trails. Late summer would be the only time to avoid Pennyrile with horses because of horse flies, but other than that any time is great! the horse campground is open year round.
Reviewed by: Cheryl Boren on 1/14/2012 7:52:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 12/31/2011 Hometown: Crofton, KY