HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Robber's Cave Equestrian Camp
(click on name for more information)
Wilburton, OK

Overall TRAIL RATING with 12 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 12 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love this place!!! The only problem I have is the pens get really muddy. They need to put more shell or something on the bottom to get a good foundation. The campgrounds are great. I stay in 8 and 9 and they are away from the other camps and feels more like being away from everyone. Over-all can't wait to go back again!
Reviewed by: staci on 1/18/2016 3:38:43 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/5/2015 Hometown: porum, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The cabins were very nice and were able to sit around a camp fire every night. Wonderful! The trails were not well marked. Trail maps provided at check-in, in addition to scarves purchased for $8 with trails identified did not match the actual trails. Very disappointing. Felt "robbed" at "Robbers Cave"! The trails provided by the office were labeled and numbered. Although some of the trails matched, most were color-coded adding to the confusion. It was very easy to find yourself on a hiking trail instead of an equestrian trail. Not so much fun...big boulders. The actual equestrian trails are pretty nice once we found them.
Reviewed by: t.tirone on 4/2/2014 2:14:29 PM
More reviews by t.tirone
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/29/2014 Hometown: Edmond, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

You have to make reservations by noon the Sunday prior to your stay. Office is backlogged so expect to call multiple times. Camp sites are one of the best I have seen. Each site has electric & water hookups, picnic table, grill, fire pit, hitching post and 2 10'x10' corrals. You must bag your manure, so bring trash bags, corrals do get a little soggy after a few days. 45 sites, but only 1 pull through, sites 1-16 are the best with ample shade trees, however the turn in is very tight & not a lot of room for backing in so large rigs may have issues getting in to these. Other sites no issues with pulling in. Bathroom and showers are available and very well maintained. Trails are rocky so shoes or boots are a must, when I say rocky I mean dry river beds with 2' diameter rocks that you have to walk on to get through. Grades of trails are extreme, this is not for the horse you turn out all year and ride in the spring. My roping and cutting horses were both blowing hard after 1 hour of riding. These trails are not for the leisure rider, if you are wanting to test your horse and your skills these are for you. The views are great from the hills and cliffs. The park itself is great, two lakes to fish and swim, swimming pool is also available, putt putt golf course and small snack bar are close by. Canoes and paddle boats are available to rent. The camp office has limited supplies of the essentials at reasonable rates. Staff strictly enforces the rules, so if you bring a dog you must keep it leashed or get a fine. Racoons are a big issue, dump your trash every night, don't leave feed buckets or ice chest out, they have figured out how to open most containers. There is very very little cell coverage at the camp, nearest town is ten miles and then you will only get an e and 1 bar, if you are wanting to get away this is the spot, if you need to stay connected try some place else. Also pack extra tack, like I said trails are rough & things will get broke, nearest tack store is 45 minutes away. I camp 45 days a year and this is one of the best I have found, but again well broke, shoed, in shape horses with experienced riders is a must.
Reviewed by: Joe Young on 8/6/2013 11:51:16 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/1/2013 Hometown: Decatur, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice campground, clean bathhouse, level sites...one BIG complaint having to bag manure in trash bags. Trails are nice and in beautiful country! two thumbs up to the worker bees who maintain them.
Reviewed by: cindy on 3/19/2013 6:39:16 AM
More reviews by cindy
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/22/2013 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Most of the trails are pretty well marked, however, they are VERY rocky and navigating the rocks becomes tiring. My horses are experienced but ended up with scrapes and cuts on their pasterns and bulbs of heels from all the sharp rocks. Great views, and lots of trees to keep you cool while riding. The campground is really very nice, but unfortunate that even if you make reservations, and your site has a couple of stalls, if someone else gets to the campground first and takes your stalls, you've paid for a campsite and don't have the stalls to use with it. Very bad practice on the part of the park. First come first serve is not good business. One person came to the park with 7 horses, paid for one campsite and took SEVEN stalls. If you want to be sure you have your stalls, better get there before the weekend.
Reviewed by: TA on 7/7/2012 8:20:35 AM
More reviews by TA
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/3/2012 Hometown: Shawnee, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

If you don't ride Robber's Cave once in your life, you are missing out. The place is gorgeous. Lots of trail options (short v. long, easy v. challenging). Campground is very nice and level, water & elec at almost every site. Lots of horse pens are available. The staff in the camp office are wonderful.
Reviewed by: Cathy Truelove on 11/17/2010 3:05:13 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/13/2010 Hometown: Red Oak, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We camped here in June of 2008, and while most of the trails were clear, we did get stuck at one point due to downed trees, and we had to backtrack. Other than that, it was fantastic. The camp is great and there are tons of trails. Beautiful views and fun riding. The trails are well-marked, and the maps are very useful and accurate.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/18/2009 9:19:45 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/1/2008 Hometown: Coweta, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What used to be some of the best trais around are now some of the worst trails due to the ice storm that southeastern Oklahoma had in January. What trails are cleaned have been done by volunteer help only. this spring volunteers were asked not to clean trails on the side that the campgrounds are on, and as a result they are still not cleaned. I doubt that we see clean trails before next spring. What a shame that so much revenue is generated by the use of the park and trails but none of the money has gone back into cleaning trails after the ice storm. Trails are trecherous because of the bog you encounter when having to get off the trail due to downed debris. Once the wet season is over it won't be as hard to traverse these trails and I'm sure new ones will be made from just general use. But now they are dangerous and annoying to ride.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/13/2007 1:09:00 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/9/2007 Hometown: , OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Robber's Cave is our new favorite place to camp. The campground is very nice well managed, water & electric hook ups, ties for the horses and the showers are HOT. The trails are very well marked but rocky. Good shoes are a must. Breath taking views over the Lake and the kids really enjoyed riding up to the Cave to do a little exploring. We plan to go back again soon.
Reviewed by: Pete on 3/18/2006 8:41:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/18/2006 Hometown: Lucas, TX