HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Rocknhorse Stables
(click on name for more information)


Townsend, TN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 5 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 5 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Does anyone know if this place is still open? We are looking for a place to camp in June along the Smokey Mountains.
Reviewed by: Kim Stowe on 12/5/2012 9:26:00 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 12/5/2012 Hometown: Meriden , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My trail ride with Mr. Harvey Bowling(expert trail guide)was the best in my whole life. Harvey had done his homework, he knew the trails going up 5000 feet Appalachian Mountain. The awesome view of the landscape, hills, mountains and green valleys was breath taking to say the least. Harvey has a wealth of information regarding horses and trail riding. He has a teaching backgroud so he is use to lots questions. But more than that he is real down to earth person who enjoys sharing his vast knowledge and experience from horses, trails, to just showing you God's beauty of this country. My confidence in Harvey is such that he is now looking for a good trail horse to purchase for me. My sleeping cabin at Rock and Ride was comfortable and clean. Mrs. Brenda showed me great kindness and was helpful at all times. Her sorral horse, Big Red, became my best friend. I wish I had one just like him. I did not know you can pre-order a goumet home cook meal just let her know ahead of time. I have plans to go back because I have many more trail rides to explore and enjoy. My thanks to Brenda and Harvey for making my stay and trail ride the best I have ever had. Gus Bazin
Reviewed by: gus bazin on 9/24/2007 11:43:27 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/30/2007 Hometown: metairie, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We live on the other side of the Smokies (Cataloochee, Big Creek, Max Patch) but my cousins and friends (they ride for a living) met us at the Rockin Horse Stables. We rented cabins and camping spaces. The facilities were first rate! The owners were great hosts. We met an Alabama gentleman named Harvey Bowling and his lovely wife Tracy, who for a very reasonable consideration trailered our group to the various trail heads and led us on the trails. Harvey chose appropriate rides according to the abilities of the participating members of our group each day. Some days we went 17 miles. Some days we broke up the rides so some rode half the day and others rode on. The excellent facilities and the good natured guidance provided by Harvey and Tracy made for a hassle free vacation. I didn't have to hunt the trail heads or get aggravated about parking where there wasn't much parking. I just got to ride a great variety of trails and enjoy my family, friends and horses. We will stay there again, and I will make sure Harvey and Tracy are in town.
Reviewed by: Denny Corn on 8/20/2007 6:42:11 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/20/2007 Hometown: Hendersonville, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

You ride the Great Smoky Mountain Natl Park from here. The Park is one of my favorite places to ride. RocknHorse is a nice place to stay. The parking areas for RV/Trailers is a little tight but they have a choice of stalls or paddocks for the horses, as well as a wash rack. You have to trailer to the trail heads. I think they have a trailer they will loan/rent.
Reviewed by: jtrider on 2/23/2007 1:10:56 PM
More reviews by jtrider
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/15/2006 Hometown: Okeechobee, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is the best camp/stables in the Great Smokey Mountains area. They have trailer hook-ups, cabins, stalls and turn-outs. They also have trailers to rent if you come in living quarter trailer. Brenda is a certified chef to top it all. Guide service is also avaliable. For a great time in the mountains, this is the place!
Reviewed by: hsb on 10/13/2006 9:27:02 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/13/2006 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

One of the most awesome trips I have taken. The stables were great, the owners were very helpful and knowledgable about the trails, and the cabins were top notch. I highly reommend this facility!!!!
Reviewed by: Milessa Pendleton on 5/17/2006 9:03:07 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/13/2006 Hometown: Murfreesboro, TN