HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Salt Fork State Park
(click on name for more information)


Cambridge, OH

Overall TRAIL RATING with 13 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 12 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails were well marked and well kept. It had been fairly dry before we rode and we still hit some places that had some deep mud. Be careful during wet seasons. We rode the blue and the purple trails. The trail times posted at the marquis are fairly accurate but allow for a little more time. My horse has shoes on all four but I think a barefoot horse would be fine. The campground was well kept and the wash rack was great. The water was not a little off and our horses did not like it. On the trails we rode, we were able to get to either the lake or some water holes in small creeks. The tie lines were well placed and there was plenty of parking and turning area in the camp. Lock up your food, the raccoons are friendly. We put in 8+ hours on the two trails and we had several other trails we wanted to ride just not enough time. We will for sure be back.
Reviewed by: Doug Wade on 8/26/2015 9:23:56 AM
More reviews by Doug Wade
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/20/2015 Hometown: Newell, wv

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Salt Fork State Park is awesome! I love the white trail, it is clean nice and easy to follow. I go with my group and we usually camp around there in early May, and several times throughout the year. I will say the hills are a challenge and I am not a fan of riding down hill, but my horse takes his time and we do really well. Going to salt fork has taught me a lot about riding. The camp sites are very nice. I like the set up. There are plenty of places to park and I love the fact that they have the mounting block in camp for us people who have trouble getting on our horses. I plan to return soon and will always look forward to coming to Salt Fork for a vacation.
Reviewed by: razor8289 on 4/17/2015 9:24:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/19/2014 Hometown: Washington , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband & I arrived on a Monday. Two other trailers were there and they were packing up to leave. We were the only ones in the park that night. We set up and rode the white trail. It had a few detours on it from all the trees brought down by the severe storms that hit the park earlier in the summer. The volunteers have done a great job opening up this trail and what isn't open have detours posted. Nice lake access in a couple of places. Rode the Blue trail the next day. This trail didn't seem to have as much attention given to it as we had to make our way around downed trees in a few places. Both trails were nice though, but I question the people who say they ride here without shoes. My horses have shoes on the front and barefoot on the back and they did well but I would not have wanted to ride those trails barefoot all the way around. Lots of rocks. Campground was nice with picket lines all the way around the camp area. Not a lot of level spots so bring blocks for leveling. We will go back and explore some more.
Reviewed by: Annie on 9/21/2012 12:19:05 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/10/2012 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Some people love it some hate it. I personally love it here. The campgrounds are nice with wash racks, out houses, showers just down at the main camp, nice tie lines and enough room to spread out. We ride here a couple times a year every year and have a good time. The rangers are nice and helpful when and if you get turned around but overall the trails are marked well. Some people just dont like riding around a lake without the mountain type trails but we like it and enjoy it everytime..
Reviewed by: Lacey on 9/13/2012 12:31:31 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/20/2012 Hometown: hookstown, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love this place. This park has White, Blue, Orange, purple trails. Each trail consists of about a 12 mile loop. The white trail has two loops, you can do one or both to go about 24 miles or so. Half way up the loop A on the white trail there is a nice picnic area with tie offs and picnic tables next to the marina. The purple trail has a smaller loop that makes that trail about 6 miles if you want a shorter loop. I think I heard the blue trail is the only one that doesn't have much water access. The camp ground (all primitive) with sites in the shade are not level so bring blocks to level your trailer if you want to be in the shade. Existing tie lines located everywhere. There is also a larger flat grassy area to park bigger rigs but those spots are out in the sun and no tie lines right there. Pit toliets and water access for the horses. Also there is one spot to hose the horses off. If you drive to the main campground area there are nice shower houses for use. Also a small store for ice and forgotten camp items. Dump stations towards the main campground also. We ride barefoot and our horses did great on these trails. Nice rolling hills.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/10/2011 6:42:58 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/9/2011 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very interesting weekend! The Horsemans Camp was great! Loved the area, availability of water and vehicle space and most of the friendly neighbors we met! Some of the trails at this time were not in very good shape - unmarked trail and unmarked danger BEES!!! Learned about traveling with a begginer very quickly - the marked trails were wonderful. Plan to return next summer with more experienced riders.
Reviewed by: MaryAnn on 4/10/2011 5:46:34 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/1/2010 Hometown: Waverly, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Lots of trails,was somewhat muddy but not in all places and with water at the campsite to hose off with you can't complain.Could use some gravel at the horse tie lines.Not a lot of picnic tables so bring your own just in case it is busy. Some fire rings. But all in all we've been there twice this year & will definetly go back next year. Lots of riding here.
Reviewed by: Rita & Paul on 8/4/2009 1:29:32 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/31/2009 Hometown: Middlefield, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful trails and nice camping. Very easy to find the campground also. Well maintained; have a horse wash area; would be nice to have showers in the horse camp.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/28/2007 10:10:25 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/15/2007 Hometown: Galion, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Salt Fork is easy on the eye. The trails are very well maintained and marked. The lake is most visible in the fall or early spring. The campground is easily accessible to any size rig. Nice!!! The trails vary with easy to areas of difficulty. Great place.
Reviewed by: Anna Fowler on 11/6/2006 11:25:22 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/6/2006 Hometown: Coolville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A fun place to ride. Haven't camped there because it always is pretty busy and those who work have a hard time getting a spot of the weekends. It is nice when it's dry and is a beautiful ride.
Reviewed by: Lee on 10/24/2005 10:39:38 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: Caledonia, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camped and rode Sat. 10/15 and Sun. 10/16. Fabulous park--well marked trails, very helpful people in the horsemen's campground. The white trail could not be more perfect. Trails are not very difficult-but hilly. Over all a great experience. Will be sure to go back next year.
Reviewed by: Tammy on 10/17/2005 2:45:25 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/16/2005 Hometown: Pittsburgh, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is my favorite place to ride. It has lots of hills, woodland, water, and views of reservoir. Currently, they are fixing the dam and the water levels are down. Your horse should be in decent shape since there are some long hills. There are lots of rocks to step over and around. If you are riding in the fall, be sure to have a map or know where you are going! It's easy to loose the trail in the deep carpet of leaves. The white trail is my favorite.
Reviewed by: B Miller on 8/20/2005 3:33:00 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/20/2005 Hometown: Sugarcreek, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: salt fork on 1/28/2005 6:19:22 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/28/2005 Hometown: cambrige ohio, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love this place! Beautiful scenery.Rugged.Horse should be in shape.Alot of rock under foot.
Reviewed by: Vivian on 5/25/2004 9:56:29 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: Johnsville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a wonderful State Park and ranks as one of my favorites. While it is considered rigorous, there are plenty of "watering holes" for your horse! The "White" trail is the most scenic. Non-4x4 vehicles should be careful where parking during spring or after recent rain, soil is a slick clay mixture and Ranger's suggested not going far off the road when parking.
Reviewed by: Boni Sutton on 6/11/2003 8:00:17 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/6/2003 Hometown: Lucas County OHC, OH