HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Sawtooth Trailhead
(click on name for more information)
Crystal River, FL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 9 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 8 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This campground was great at one time we got there and was no camping sites paid for water hook up and electric were the put us there was none had to run 80 ft electric cord just to have electric thank we didnt need 30 amp had to bucket water in when we needed it the bath room was a mess all the camp sites are taken up by people that live there trailers dump raw sauge in holes the dug these place is a degrace it was nice at one time
Reviewed by: Jace Totton on 11/25/2018 5:43:24 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/22/2018 Hometown: Morriston, fl

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

As of July 29, 2014 Please contact Pam for reservations at 813-527-4187. We look forward to hearing from you.
Reviewed by: sawtooth2014 on 7/29/2014 6:24:45 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/29/2014 Hometown: Crystal River, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just wanted to update the phone number for SawTooth Trailhead. It is 352-503-9430. Ask for Marilyn.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/28/2013 6:52:32 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/25/2013 Hometown: ,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The horse trails were the best we have been on. A lot of nice shaded trails winding through the forest. There was water, a lake, for horses to drink and swim. The campground was great, also shaded and had hook ups. There is a barn a pasture. The best part were the owners, the nicest people you will ever meet. The cabin is very nice if you do not have an RV or if you don't want to tent camp. Honestly go, we will be back for sure!
Reviewed by: Sarah& Trevor on 8/2/2012 4:32:15 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 7/31/2012 Hometown: West palm beach, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our group visited there 2 times in 2010 and it is a great little place. Dallas and his wife were great host . It is one of our favorites spots to go to. Looking forward to go again this fall. Not sure date is exact throwed out last years schedule it was in that time frame
Reviewed by: reggie on 8/5/2010 6:22:47 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/16/2010 Hometown: Kathleen, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

One of our favorite places to camp. The island is beautiful to ride with lots of wildlife...bobcats to deer. If you get tired of the island you can go west and ride to the Gulf of Mexico or trails in between. You couldn't ask for better host than Dallas and his wife. Close to Crystal River for dining or diving with the manatee. A well kept secret.
Reviewed by: Kathleen on 7/23/2009 8:36:04 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/16/2009 Hometown: Tampa, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails immediately off property. Excellent rides. The longest is more than 10 miles, over to Inglis Island through the back trails, and through the dam's parking area, then up over the dam. WOW! We brought lunch and trail rode in and out throughout the island. There are picnic tables and Lake Ruosa for your horse's access for water. The cabin was perfect, nothing you need to bring. A little cold in Jan. but there were 2 space heaters. Great fire pit and stalls and 3 acre turnout. There are two more places to ride you would trailer to very near. Way more than 10 miles of riding! Excellent people too...have fun.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/10/2009 7:45:26 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/16/2009 Hometown: Tampa, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We enjoyed Sawtooth, the campground is shady and very quiet. We could turn our horses out in a fenced area or keep them in stalls. The trails are out the back of the campground, and we could also get the combination to the gate to ride on Inglis Island. You can ride the trails in one day, but they are pretty. The Montgomerys are super nice and did everything to help us have a good time.
Reviewed by: Judy & Elaine on 11/19/2007 5:53:05 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/13/2007 Hometown: Harrison, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a pretty, secluded campground, but the price is a little high for what you get which is just hook-ups, no picnic table, grill or fire ring at your site. Stalls with no bedding provided, clean yourself. Very nice trails, very pretty, but only enough to ride for one day. Ther are other trails nearby, but you must either tailer to them or ride 2 1/2 miles though a subdivision, then 1/4 mi along a very busy highway, and down a long dirt road to get to them. This ride will take you to the bay.
Reviewed by: JulieS on 12/20/2005 7:28:38 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 12/1/2005 Hometown: Englewood, TN