HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Shawnee Natl Forest - Double M camp ground
(click on name for more information)


Junction, Il

Overall TRAIL RATING with 14 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 14 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time at this camp last September LOVED IT,LOVED IT,LOVED IT!!!! Will be returning many times.
Reviewed by: Jessica Randover on 12/22/2012 9:16:44 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/14/2012 Hometown: , MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time.One of the best trailriding experiences I have ever had, will return.
Reviewed by: David Hatcher on 11/4/2012 11:22:02 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/14/2012 Hometown: , MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a nightmare. High Knob's staff and owner were unprofessional, rude, and nasty. The place was a mud hole and dirty. The campground is laid out terribly for large rigs. I would not recommend this campground to anyone. If I could, I would give High Knob a negative 5 star rating. I will never go back. Beware of High Knob.
Reviewed by: Linda O on 6/25/2011 9:45:16 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/18/2011 Hometown: Versailles, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The camp and riding was exceptional!!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/7/2010 2:25:46 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/24/2010 Hometown: St Louis, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just got back yesterday, The camp & trails were great.
Reviewed by: Danial Moore on 6/14/2010 11:41:26 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/11/2010 Hometown: , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been to Shawnee National forest two times previously and the trips were fine.Great riding,fair camping.Last year I decided to go to Double M Campground. Exceded all my expectations.One of the best horsecamps I have ever been to,best riding in this forest.
Reviewed by: Janet Donlitter on 2/5/2010 1:25:53 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/12/2009 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awesome camp, awesome riding, can't wait to go back.
Reviewed by: Mandy Dawson on 10/30/2009 8:10:05 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/4/2009 Hometown: Springfield, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Isn't it funny the complete disparity between the posts on Bear Branch. Everyone, don't be deceived, as pointed out by Ben and Patti, owners of Hayes Canyon on their directory in this site, the positive reviews for Bear Branch on July 12th and July 13th of 2007 were all within minutes of each other. The positive review by Curley on 3/29/08 sounds exactly like the e-mail I received from Mr. Manders, owner of Bear Branch, about his excuse for the filth; "this isn't the Hilton, it is camping". Mr. Manders, could this possibly be you posting these positive reviews? Because, we certainly did not even remotely experience anything positive, except for the riding at Shawnee, and you have no control over that, thank goodness. I can't even imagine anyone wanting to eat in this restaurant, let alone oohing and aahing over how good it is and smells! YUCK!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/22/2009 1:02:41 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

All I can say is WOW!! I have been coming to the Shawnee since 1990. We take a weeks vacation in the Shawnee every year, usually later in the year due to the heat. This year we tried Double M Campground the camp is great but the riding was exceptional. At first it was a little intimidating because there was so much trail, however after we got a map we were good to go. Huge blufflines,lakes,rock formations we were about 20 minuets to our first bluff at Pounds Hollow from camp. Thacker Hollow around Initial Tree was my favorite it was a long valley with a 60 to 80 foot bluff down one side and a creek down the middle. Hurricane Bluff was just as nice, we rode on top of a huge bluff and there was buzzards flying below us! We seen many deer & 2 bobcat on the trail. The restaurant is only open on weekends but when we did get to eat there the food was delicious. Next year we are going to rent a cabin. Heath, the owner told us about another riding area south of camp that we did not even hit. Best vacation ever in the Shawnee.
Reviewed by: Terry on 9/20/2008 10:44:19 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/4/2008 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground and hosts are great. All advertisements said laundry available, but there is none and we were going to get it done before going home. no big deal. After having ridden the middle/west side of Shawnee for 16 years, we were VERY disappointed with the scenery on the east side. Not many rock formations, bluffs, or water. Lots of trees and nice trails. There were hills, but not rocky. The trails were not well marked and lots of times we rode around in circles trying to figure out where we were. Some of the permanent folks told us about the diamond 104/106 trails and that they would get us back.Thank goodness we know about them as the regular forest signs were very confusing as to which way to go and did not say where you were. We sure would like it if MM was in a different location and closer to some of the Shawnee landmarks as we would stay again with them, but since we like more challenging riding and lots of bluffs, and water crossings, unfortunately we won't stay there again.
Reviewed by: Sam on 6/12/2008 12:06:12 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/1/2008 Hometown: , IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I was born and raised in Southern Illinois. Rode all over it as a child. Moved when I got out of nursing school, and rediscovered Southern Illinois in my 40's. One of my greatest delights is to show where I was raised to my horse friend. And I can't find a better place to show it off than Double M. I have ridden Double M for about 8 years. You will not find any camp owners any more hospitable than Heath, Amy, and IvaNell. The camp ground is roomy and easily accessible. The trails are second to none. The trails are well marked and clear of brush and branches. The Lusk Creek area in Johnson and Pope counties is beautiful, but it can't compare to what you see in the Gallatin, Hardin, and Saline county area. The scenery is outstanding! And must be seen to appreciate. You can only get a sample if you go to Garden of the Gods. Some of the very best scenery is assessible by foot, mountain bike, or horseback. You definitely need to give the eastern half of Southern Illinois a try. You will find less trail traffic and less closed areas. And you'll find that you have had one of the best rides of your life!
Reviewed by: Susan on 5/18/2008 8:37:12 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/1/2008 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WE have found Paadise!! We recently decided to get away from the Lusk Creek Area and so we came over here to Double M....WOW! Trails, camapsites, and food are super!!!! We used to stay at Bear Branch because we did not know these other areas very well.....but that has all changed. No more hassle, no more greasy meals, and no more filthy bathrooms. Also, there are fewer people riding out of here than at Bear Branch. Heath is a fabulous host and my husband and I are certainly glad we got up the nerve to try another area.....Needless to say, Double M is our new home!
Reviewed by: Susan on 10/7/2007 5:45:36 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/7/2007 Hometown: , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is absolutely the best camp in the shawnee,bar none & I have been to all of them.You can not get better service any ware in the Shawnee. The friendly staff was a pleasant change from many other camps.Wonderfully marked trail system, & the restaurant has some of the best home cooked meals I have had anyplace Shawnee or other.I put in for a permanent site after the first weekend.
Reviewed by: John on 7/13/2007 2:44:04 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/13/2007 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

thank you heath for such a wonderful time at Double M..Double M offers plenty of roomy campsites..well placed corrals..and wonderful trail access..but mostly, Heath's hospitable personality is so appreciated..
Reviewed by: pam on 10/4/2006 8:06:47 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/4/2006 Hometown: , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been to all the private owned camps & double M has the best trails & most friendly people in the Shawnee.
Reviewed by: Dave Ringer on 1/20/2005 12:14:03 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/20/2004 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We've been there many times. Keep saying we're going to go to another camp ground for a change and end up at Double M. We keep finding trails we've never riden. a couple weeks ago we rode 4 trails we've never been on. This last trip we were on 3 new ones. Happy Safe Trails
Reviewed by: Shari on 9/20/2004 2:49:25 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/17/2004 Hometown: Brownstown, IL