HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Silver Creek Community Park
(click on name for more information)


Allegan, MI

Overall TRAIL RATING with 7 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 7 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I think that this is a beautiful place to ride. I do the Allegan County Benefit Ride every year and I'm 17. I love bein' out in the quite on a horse and this place is great for it. I will admit that even tho the trails are not marked, I have never had a hard time finding my way back
Reviewed by: Tiffany on 2/21/2008 7:57:01 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Allegan, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I camp at Silver Creek quite a bit. It is primitive camping with vault toilets. The campsites are shady. There are 75 sites, the first 10 sites not for horses. Inside the park there is 6.6 miles of well-marked trails. The trails that are not well-marked are in the Allegan Forest surrounding the park. If you get on the State land, you're on your own. I've never had a problem finding my way back without a GPS. The terrain is soft in the park and on State land. No shoes required. There IS hunting on the State land so be familiar when hunting season is and either stay in the park (what I do) or wear your orange during deer and turkey season. The camp is usually full on the holidays and weekends in the summer so you have to make reservations early, especially for the Allegan County Pleasure Riders Annual Benefit Ride, which for 2008 is April 19th.
Reviewed by: Sunshine Acres on 1/24/2008 11:31:29 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Gobles, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My Husband and I come here on a regular base it is close to home and with gas prices being so high we haven't ventured out to far.I love all the sites ,If you look around there are plenty for the big rigs and many set up for two or more rigs,There are maps of the trails with in the camp at both entrances and a news letter that is all ways fun to read,I feel that this camp is well taken care of and the manager is all ways very helpful and checks to make sure every thing is going good for you and very knowledgeable of the trails if you have questions .They also have camp host there every weekend to help out and keep an eye on things.I ride gaited horses and the trails here are just right to get out there and get a good gait going,We have never had a problem here the people that come here are some of the friendless and helpful people you could ever meet.With the state forest connected there are many miles of riding that can be done here.I recommend the creek view trail.It is a beautiful winding trail that follows the creek.It's just a fun comfortable place to go.Plenty of shade.
Reviewed by: LHill on 8/2/2007 3:06:37 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/17/2007 Hometown: Martin, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great riding. Bring your GPS to get many many miles without getting lost... Campground is very nice. You can reserve your campsite at http://www.allegancounty.org/parks/
Reviewed by: Tali Sorenson on 8/4/2005 7:04:27 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/22/2005 Hometown: SouthWest, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are nice, but not marked and no maps available that I can find. Definately enough exploring for several all-day rides!
Reviewed by: Molly on 10/23/2004 9:31:12 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/23/2004 Hometown: Muskegon, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Its nice to go on long trails from the Allegan Forest and enjoy the scenery. And the peacefullness!!!!!!Love the land with no vechiles making you get off the path!!!! The sad thing is their trying to take our trails away from us.!!!!!!
Reviewed by: Natilee Johnson on 1/10/2004 6:11:56 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/4/2003 Hometown: Bloomingdale, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I went for a short 3 or 4 hour trail ride with a 4-H club at Silver Creek, it was a lot of fun. Popular local camp, 70 camp sites, during the summer there are usually 50 trailers. Wooded and shady, camp has roomy enough sites, a bathroom and water pump. There's even a jumping trail!
Reviewed by: Anne on 1/7/2004 5:45:20 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/7/2004 Hometown: Hamilton, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very well maintained camgroud with indredible abundance of trails.
Reviewed by: Tami on 3/4/2003 7:46:57 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/21/2002 Hometown: Allendale, MI