HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Slabtown Trail Rides
(click on name for more information)
Roby, MO

Overall TRAIL RATING with 92 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 92 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are very good, the campground is nice and the host is very friendly and helpful.
Reviewed by: Jeri hedges on 6/18/2018 4:18:46 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/15/2018 Hometown: THORNFIELD, mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great campground plenty of shade. An fine host Gregg was a lot of fun. We found the trails to be fine and long enough to satisfy us.
Reviewed by: Russ Howard Jr on 6/17/2018 1:11:21 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/16/2018 Hometown: Thornfield, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time, trails were awesome and campground was nice, clean, and shady.
Reviewed by: CEads on 6/27/2017 9:42:25 PM
More reviews by CEads
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/3/2017 Hometown: Cairo, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great Riding in the Paddy Creek Wilderness. Saturday night fish fry is great and you get to meet everybody in camp.
Reviewed by: Joe and Carol on 6/13/2017 4:38:34 PM
More reviews by Joe and Carol
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/10/2017 Hometown: Hume, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Third time at Slabtown and it never disappoints. The riding is fantastic, the camp contains all the extras that make horse camping easier, and the fish fry was awesome as usual. Thank you Greg for a wonderful place to stay while enjoying the beautiful Mark Twain Forest.
Reviewed by: Morning Mist Acres on 9/30/2016 9:15:06 AM
More reviews by Morning Mist Acres
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/25/2016 Hometown: Central City, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Second time to Slabtown this year. Clean restrooms, clean community room and great fish fry. Many miles of riding. We will be back again.
Reviewed by: Joe and Carol on 9/19/2016 1:11:52 PM
More reviews by Joe and Carol
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/17/2016 Hometown: Hume, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our first time at Slabtown and definitely won't be our last! Stayed in one of the cabins, it was clean and close to the shower house. The highlight of the trip was Greg's hospitality and we'll never forget the AWESOME fish fry. We're already planning to go back in September. If you tell Greg what kind of trail you're looking for, he gives great directions!
Reviewed by: Lilshetland on 7/2/2016 2:56:21 PM
More reviews by Lilshetland
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/24/2016 Hometown: O'Fallon, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent camping sites with gravel bases, clean shower and bathroom house, great hospitality of owner, plenty of trails to explore for days, will definitely be back and plan to try out new cabins.
Reviewed by: Diana Fenley on 6/5/2016 9:55:51 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/2/2016 Hometown: Cedar Hill, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jerry and I have been camping and riding at Slabtown since 2009 and we NEVER tire of it! The campground has all the amenities one could ask for and to top it off, Greg fries up the best, I mean BEST catfish we've ever had! The trails are beautiful; just perfect for holiday weekend rides with the Paddy Creek just across the road and the Mark Twain at our back. You could ride for days and access the trails around the Piney River at 4-J too. And Greg, I couldn't say enough about him. He's one the nicest people we've met. He's like family to us. You won't go wrong in camping/riding at Slabtown!
Reviewed by: Jerry and Rhonda on 5/30/2016 8:20:12 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/27/2016 Hometown: Jefferson City, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This horse camp is truly a hidden gem!! Clean showers, shady campsites, nice stalls, and best of all there are NOT hundreds of riders!!! The trails are beautiful with creek crossings, rides thru the pines, numerous overlooks where you can see the river below, water fall, and caves. The camp owner Greg is a wonderful host and checked with us daily to see if you needed anything and often spent time sitting around the campfire with us. I will definitely go back to this horse camp.
Reviewed by: Thelma Louise on 5/28/2016 9:05:28 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/15/2016 Hometown: New Virginia, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

we were at Slabtown for over a week we had some outstanding rides on the trails Little Colorado, Water Fall, Scenic Overlook, Sinkhole, Balanced Rock and Rock in the Water just to name a few. Trails are for everybody easy to moderate with really really senic view. The Slabtown area is home to quite a few caves and we had the fun of showing them off. One is reached by driving and would remind you of a southwestern Pueblo cave. The other two are reached by horseback, one you climb up into and the other involves using a 50 year old rope to steady you on the decent. The climb up cave has several rooms and one has a rock formation that in a camera flash resembles a Madonna. The climb down cave has a room with a waterfall. The room is very hard to access but the waterfall can be viewed by peering through cracks in the wall. This cave is very very large and not at all easy to get in and out. Greg Cook the gentleman who owns Slabtown is a wonderful host. He goes out of the way to make you feel at home and have a good visit. One of the highlights of camping here is every Saturday night is potluck night when Greg fry’s up catfish, hushpuppies and taters for the whole camp. He has nice covered stalls, restrooms with nice showers, water hoses and free sawdust for your stalls. He has a great room with a pool table, big screen TV and card tables.. Many of our members thought the trails were more senic than many of the trail rides they have been on and I believe many will be returning.
Reviewed by: Sue on 5/24/2016 11:04:52 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/20/2016 Hometown: Indianola, ia

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I returned for my second trip to Slabtown this year. The owner Greg is wonderful - makes you feel very welcome and will do anything he can to make your stay enjoyable. He has THE BEST fish fry on Saturday nights! The riding at Slabtown is fabulous. It ranges from easy to challenging. Greg will give you good directions and a map of the area. I was there for a week riding gaited horses and did not ride all of the trails. The campground is nice - great 30amp electric and excellent water pressure at each site. The bathhouse / restrooms are very clean. Shavings for the stalls are provided. I highly recommend making Slabtown a riding / camping destination!
Reviewed by: toni on 5/4/2016 3:27:43 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/22/2016 Hometown: Cedar Rapids, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My first trail ride and I'm so glad it was at Slabtown! The facilities were clean and the owner Greg was so nice, immediately makes you feel at home and welcomed! Saturday night he hosted his famous fish fry with the best fried catfish and hush puppies around! I hadn't camped out before and wasn't sure what to expect but it was a wonderful experience and I can't wait to go back!
Reviewed by: Jessica Coleman on 10/13/2015 8:24:17 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 10/10/2015 Hometown: St. Louis, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love Slabtown Greg is a great campground owner host. Love his fish fry with fixings and you bring a dish to share on Saturday night. There are plenty shade trees picnic tables fire pits etc at camp. Has very nice rec room with large tv pool table etc. roomy bathroom with showers always clean and neat. The trail heads go out from camp in many directions and riding great. It's a hidden gem in Missouri, is a Bucket List must.
Reviewed by: Amy Clark on 4/29/2015 6:12:06 AM
More reviews by Amy Clark
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/2/2015 Hometown: Princeville, Illinois, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time. Greg is super friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. The campsites are nice and level with nice trees. Shower house was clean and convenient. Stalls were in good shape, safe and very close to campsite. Good water pressure. Nice picnic tables and fire rings at each campsite. Trails are right out of camp and easy to follow with beautiful scenery. The Saturday night fish fry was fantastic. Can't wait to go back!
Reviewed by: C Heintzelman on 4/14/2015 6:05:17 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/10/2015 Hometown: Elsberry, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Been coming to Slabtown Trail Rides for 8 years now. It's a wonderful place to camp and ride. I went on two new trails this visit. We even talked Greg into joining our Group on a ride....had a blast!!
Reviewed by: LB on 4/14/2015 5:32:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/8/2015 Hometown: Troy, MO, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Electric and water at camp sites. Stalls with bedding provided. Very reasonable rates. Clean, clean bath rooms and community room. Need help, Greg will help you. Great fish fry on Saturday nights. The riding is as good as it gets.
Reviewed by: Joe and Carol on 4/5/2015 6:10:47 PM
More reviews by Joe and Carol
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/28/2015 Hometown: Hume, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time at Slabtown and had a wonderful stay. Trails were varied with beautiful terrain; immediate access to trails from camp. Campsites were shaded and close to stalls. Fish fry on Saturday night was delicious and nice way to meet other campers. Greg (owner)was very accomodating and a genuine nice individual. He personally reviews the trail maps and recommends rides. Definitely will be returning.
Reviewed by: Morning Mist Acres on 10/23/2014 6:55:02 PM
More reviews by Morning Mist Acres
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: Hometown: Central City, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had such a great time at this campground...very friendly people (both other guests and the management...Greg has a fish fry on Saturday night that is worth the trip alone...trails were beautiful and he helps you with the map to figure out where to go...rocky, so would suggest shoes and/or front pads...one of the best places we have been to and will be back again...
Reviewed by: Lost in the Woods on 9/30/2014 8:27:38 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/20/2014 Hometown: Hamilton, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great shaded trails. Campground and facilities excellent. Fish fry was wonderful. Greg is very hospitable. Our group obviously had a great time and do plan to return. We've been to Colorado & S.Dakota and this is just as good and a lot closer.
Reviewed by: John T on 9/4/2014 11:35:23 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/29/2014 Hometown: Sedalia, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another great weekend. The combined fish fry, pot luck dinner at the recreation room gives an opportunity to make new friends.
Reviewed by: Joe and Carol on 7/23/2014 7:51:38 PM
More reviews by Joe and Carol
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/19/2014 Hometown: Hume, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice clean campground with shaded level sites. Good stalls with bedding provided. Wonderful host, friendly and helpful, but no nitpicky rules. Don't miss the Saturday night fish fry! Trails are scenic and shaded. Challenging but not dangerous. North Loop has some of the best scenery in the state. Overall great place! We're already making plans to return.
Reviewed by: MacDaddy on 7/7/2014 6:33:58 PM
More reviews by MacDaddy
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/3/2014 Hometown: Central, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails were great, the scenery was beautiful. Greg, the camp owner went out of his way to make us feel welcome and to make sure our riding experience was the best. No complaints at all with stalls, water or electric hook ups. Greg provided excellent maps with detailed instructions which was hugely appreciated. The traditional Saturday night fish fry lived up to every review I've read on here. It was a very pleasant way to end our stay at Slabtown. We can't wait to go back.
Reviewed by: bonnie13 on 7/6/2014 12:49:03 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/3/2014 Hometown: Jerseyville, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Greg and his staff are great! Trails are well marked and scenic. Stalls are well built and centrally located. Bathroom/shower house is clean and well lit. There is even an entertainment house with tv(not that we watched any), music, and a pool table. We stayed in a cabin this visit, very clean. Air conditioned, refrigerator, comfortable beds. Would definitely highly recommend Slabtown trail rides!
Reviewed by: pat u on 6/30/2014 5:57:54 AM
More reviews by pat u
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/28/2014 Hometown: st louis, mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WOW...we had a blast here! The trails were amazing, views 2nd to none. Scenic bluffs, rivers to play in, caves, pine trees, endless trails in the National Forest. Greg was unbelievably helpful, what a wonderful host. Poured down rain the day we got there and we had no problem riding the next day - trails drain well. Rates are very reasonable. We were planning our return trip before we left!
Reviewed by: Hubs on 6/26/2014 1:59:31 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/23/2014 Hometown: O'Fallon , IL

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List