HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore-Pouncey Pon
(click on name for more information)


Empire, MI

Overall TRAIL RATING with 6 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 6 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awesome campground...Linda and Tom run a beautiful camp for horsefolks...the pens are right there..I love being close to my horse. Water for each site and electric. They pick up the manure and dump for you (where else does that?) The pines are beautiful and the fire pit area with "free wood"is inviting at night. So nice not having each site with a fire going to smoke up the campground. Some of the nights perfect strangers were cooking by the fire and we ended up with a potluck...I travel a lot with my horse and this truly is the nicest camp I have ever stayed at. I ended up going back twice this year...I will be back in 2015 with friends in tow.
Reviewed by: Debbie Belling on 10/30/2014 5:44:28 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/15/2014 Hometown: Jeddo, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Overpriced. Campsites just big enough to fit in rig, no wiggle room. Pens right on top of trailer. Individual campfires not allowed. No dumpster, no dump station, no showers, only one over-ripe outhouse. Better off staying at Garey Lake.
Reviewed by: lulubelle on 7/15/2013 4:42:23 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/1/2013 Hometown: Central Michigan, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love going to Pouncey Ponderous. Linda is a beautiful host. The trails are easy to mod. with a lake for swimming the horses. There is so much else to do if the weather is not good for riding or if you just want to take a break from riding. The outdoor stalls are big and safe. We have left our horses for a few hours knowing that they are safe and Linda will check in on them. We've enjoyed sight seeing in one of Michigan's most beautiful areas, wine tours and shopping. The big camp fire area is always a welcomed sight. Water and electric at all sites. Round pen and paddocks to throw your horse in for a good roll after riding. We go back a few times a year, great place.
Reviewed by: Annie on 6/4/2012 12:09:46 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/1/2012 Hometown: Petoskey, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Pouncey Ponderosa is a wonderful place for both you and your horse. Trails are easy with lots of circle trails, as well as the Shore to Shore Trail right across the street. Linda is a wonderful host and very helpful with maps... She's also fun to ride with! Great place to stay and ride to Lake Michigan. Also, easy trailering to Alligator Trail at Sleeping Bear Dunes (beautiful lookouts!)
Reviewed by: Nicki Chandler on 10/4/2011 8:17:00 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/28/2011 Hometown: Davisburg, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

To say I was impressed with the Pouncey Crew would be a gross understatement. They were the friendliest folk I have met in a long time. The facilities were exactly what we were told they were and when we got there we were welcomed and aided in our unloading and settling process. We were welcomed like family and also treated as such. I can't say enough about these great people. My friends and I will be coming back routinely for the many wonderful trails and the friendly hospitality. If you are looking for endless trails to ride, great tour guides to help you at a moments notice and family like atmosphere having a great campfire waiting for you when you get in from your ride so you can just sit back and relax. This is the place to come. I hated leaving but will love going back. Thank you to Linda and Tom and the four legged gang for a wonderful weekend with my best friends.....(four legged and two) May you be blessed always....
Reviewed by: Kimberly on 9/20/2010 7:47:38 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/18/2010 Hometown: Memphis, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This area of Michigan is a fantastic outdoor playground. Tom and Linda Pouncey have put together a fabulous little gem that allow you across the street access to the Pere Marquette State Forest,the Western leg of Michigan's fabulous shore to shore trail all while offering a facility that allows you peace of mind to leave your horses after a day of riding to enjoy the sites of the area. The scenery is fabulous, the riding is easy to moderate on the trails we toured and we did not even scratch the surface. I am sure their are some challenging one tracks if you do more exploring. Tom and Linda were fabulous hosts and if you are lucky Linda may have time to give you some guided trail rides. Will surely be going back this fall.
Reviewed by: Nick on 8/25/2009 8:10:49 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/18/2009 Hometown: Goodrich, MI