HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for St Croix State Park
(click on name for more information)


Hinckley, MN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 8 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 8 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice campground! Our camping site was large, shaded, and secluded. Other sites are in the open and closer together. The electric sites are all in the open. Trails are flat and easy for beginner riders, new horses, or those looking for an easy ride. We came up in June hoping the bugs were not as bad as they are in July, but alas, woodticks, horseflies, gnats, and mosquitoes were everywhere! Will try again in September or October. Anyone interested in fishing can try Hay Creek which is a 2 1/2 mile drive further in the park or down by the St. Croix River.
Reviewed by: Lynn on 6/9/2011 11:24:30 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/3/2011 Hometown: Scandia, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are open and wide - wide enough to ride four abreast on most. Flat and easy - pleasant riding and particularly good to open up a gaited horse. The only real downside and is not much variety in scenery or challenges in trails. Campground is open with graveled pad, and large high line. Pens were available, but for some unknown reason had no gates on the front of the pens - so to use the pens you had to fashion some type of barrier with electric fence tape, lead ropes, etc. Pens were large enough for 2 horses. Clean shower house, wheel barrows for cleaning manure and hay, water spigots were available.
Reviewed by: Allison on 9/9/2010 1:45:23 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/6/2010 Hometown: Leavenworth, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very extremely easy trails flat and wide. We went after a storm and had to go in the woods to get by fallen trees in the path. New BATHROOMS w/ SHOWERS!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/3/2009 6:12:43 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/5/2008 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are old logging paths, so open and flat. I would recommend this park for all, but more for beginners. We probably would have enjoyed it more, but many of the trails were blocked with down trees from the wind storm. We tried "off-roading" but the brush was too thick and trees were down for as far as we could see. I would recommend calling and checking trail conditions for obstacles such as down trees. We planned 3 days and only spent 1 night, we were very disappointed. The campground was nice though.
Reviewed by: Katie B. on 3/23/2009 2:27:07 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/1/2008 Hometown: Delavan, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/14/2008 1:04:32 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I took my 2 young sons on this ride. One on a pony and one on an old horse. The trails are nice for beginners. The camping is great I wish all horse camps could be this nice. Showers and indoor toilets. Water is available every few sites. They have a camp store and a swimming area thats real nice. Very family friendly.
Reviewed by: M. Paumen on 2/19/2008 2:09:00 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/1/2005 Hometown: Maple Lake, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a group of 10 riders ages ranging from 5 to 65. It is a family friendly camping area with great trails to enjoy. Safe for the young ones and enjoyable for all. Bugs were not bad and trails very nice to ride on. The only issue was another campers stallion kicked the wall of his trailer in during the night. My mare was in heat.. We will return
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/23/2007 8:28:57 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/20/2006 Hometown: north metro, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hinkley state park trails are very flat,wide, well groomed. excellent place to take beginners, or those that need an easy ride NO CHALLENGE HERE. camp sites are very nice the flush toilets and showers are wonderful, could use electric for the horse campers since they have it already at the parking lot ONLY FOR SNOWMOBILERS I believe that could change very easy for us horse people.nice tie rails ,nice corrals for use,really a pretty nice park. I'm sure I'll be back with my beginner friends.
Reviewed by: windy acres stable on 10/7/2006 8:15:23 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/16/2006 Hometown: Shafer, MN