HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Taylorsville Lake
(click on name for more information)


Taylorsville, KY

Overall TRAIL RATING with 11 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 7 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had revervations for 9/8/10-9/10/12, showed up (after calling the trail hotline and the trail were said to be open after rain)....so we had to spend the day trying to find something to do when our day was planned to ride. We later found out the the hotline is only updated Monday-Friday and they are unable to reach the equipment to change the hotline when IT RAINS ON THE WEEKENDS! I really think there should be someone able to update the hotline anytime the trails are considered closed. The day was beautiful and would have been great for trail riding. Hopefully we will be able to ride tomorrow because we have already paid for the day. Campground was nice but no shade, thank goodness it wasn't hot.
Reviewed by: Renee on 9/8/2012 5:37:19 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/8/2012 Hometown: Georgetown, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We live in KY and this was our first visit. We found the trails to be in very good condition with only a few semi challenging places. An intermediate horse and rider could handle easily. And a mixed pair (experienced horse/novice rider or vise versa) could also handle. The day parking was beautiful with picnic tables, hitching posts, trail maps, a porta potty and plenty of shade. We rode for about 3.5 hours and it was a perfect day. It is important to call ahead and make sure trails are open as they close them after rains, this only helps keep them in good condition. We will be going back again.
Reviewed by: Rena on 6/1/2012 6:13:00 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/31/2012 Hometown: Rineyville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My first ride at Taylorsville elicits many more to come. We rode for about 4 hours and found the trails that we covered to be good. There were some steep and rocky places that I would consider challenging, but nothing that an experience horse and rider couldn't handle. The primitive camp ground was very nice and we will return to camp there. They've got a good start on the morotized camping area with electric, pull throughs and a nice bath house, the trees need to grow a bit more as they aren't yet large enough to provide much shade. After navigating those steep places I understand why they close the trails when it rains, some of those places could become trecherous. Personally I think it's good trail management to close off the area after heavy rains...it is a state park and the trails are multi-purpose. I look forward to riding TV again.
Reviewed by: Vanessa on 7/18/2011 2:01:30 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/17/2011 Hometown: Lawrenceburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I've ridden at Taylorsville at least once a week over the last 15yrs, and the trails have been so greatly improved I can safely invite others to come enjoy. I was a little troubled when calling the contact number and finding the trail closed because of rain, however the results have been wonderful. The primitive horse camp area is the most beautiful I've ever visited.
Reviewed by: Donna on 7/12/2010 5:55:28 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/10/2010 Hometown: Shelbyville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Are you kidding me? I live right on Taylorsville lake. If it rains they close the trails for days after the rain. They speak highly about improved trails, but what good is that if you can never get on them. I would think horse trails would be expected to get rutted up and repaired regularly. Taylorsville Lake hurts for visitors and wonder why everyone passes them by. I live here and travel elsewhere to ride.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/15/2010 6:51:40 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/15/2010 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Keep in mind, Taylorsville Lake officials close trails when it is or has been raining (not an uncommon occurence in ky). You can call the hotline for updates every morning at 9:00 a.m. Something to consider when planning to camp with your horses.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/12/2009 9:43:08 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/4/2009 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Taylorsville Park has come a long way and a number of volunteers have really worked hard to improve existing trails and open new ones. The campground is clean and well maintained. It is well worth a weekend drive.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/19/2009 1:45:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2009 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

TRAILS HAVE BEEN IMPROVED !! GREAT PLACE FOR A WEEKEND. NEW,CLEAN BATHHOUSE WITH LEVEL CAMPSITES WITH WATER AND ELECTRIC.
Reviewed by: MISSY on 10/8/2008 6:55:43 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: PENDLETON, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great campground. The trails were rough and every trail we were on had at least one real steep place, however they are working on them.
Reviewed by: Maple on 9/26/2008 7:11:43 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Horse Cave, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are much better now that they've been renovated a bit. Trails are easy to find and suitable for any level rider. Great place to spend an afternoon. Not sure if the trail system is large enough to ride for several days though.
Reviewed by: CRJ on 10/17/2007 11:24:39 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/13/2007 Hometown: Coxs Creek, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are very pleasant with little difficulty on main Opossum Ridge trail. From what we understood in talking with local riders is they had a volunteer trail improvement "workday" a few weeks before our visit to improve the trails. Maybe because it's one of the two KY state parks that offer horse camping, the facilities are simply outstanding. The rules of where you can ride your horse are strict because this park offers "non-horse" camping as well. There are other ancillary rules that are as strict but understandable of why they are in place. Campground staff, especially Rick and Cody, are exceptional. They offer that good, old Kentucky friendliness and hospitality.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/4/2007 2:55:32 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/30/2007 Hometown: , KY