HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Tillis Hill Rec. Area/Withlacoochee State Forest
(click on name for more information)


Inverness & Brooksville, FL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 8 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 8 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place for a long weekend. Great Campsites, clean facilities and miles and miles of trails. LOVE this place!!!
Reviewed by: JJC on 11/19/2012 10:46:35 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/19/2012 Hometown: Dade City, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our fourth time to this area in four years and still love it. It is the best riding in Florida. The local riding club has added several new trails in areas not used before, but the maps have not been printed yet so we didn't see most of them. The camp sites are great and the Rangers are very helpfull. The stalls were full but there was plenty of room for everyone. We plan on being back in the winter to see the all the new trails.
Reviewed by: Trailrider on 10/23/2012 10:09:26 AM
More reviews by Trailrider
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/20/2012 Hometown: Jupiter, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Everything was clean. Ranger Holly and the campground hosts were very nice folks. The stalls were very well maintained. Had a wonderful ride up and down the hills. Nice to see so many deer at camp and on the trails. Great place to ride. Only downside were the deerflies, but it is July and they were out in full attack mode! So be prepared.
Reviewed by: Tatiana R. on 7/21/2011 6:26:42 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/16/2011 Hometown: Palm Beach , FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I liked it so much we bought property on the forest!
Reviewed by: Leah on 2/27/2009 5:51:13 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2009 Hometown: Lithia, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just stayed at Tillis for the first time and was very pleased with everything... nice campsites, clean bathhouse, & well marked trails. The Rangers make you feel weclome and make sure you have everthing you and your horse needs. This is the only place I have stayed where they provide free shavings and lime to freshen your stall as needed. Only drawback is there are not any stores close by, so make sure you pack everything you need. This is a very popular place for local riders so make your plans early.
Reviewed by: Trail Rider on 4/15/2008 9:06:26 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/10/2008 Hometown: Jupiter, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Tillis Hill is one of the best equestrian camping sites in central Florida. The camping area as well as the trails are maintained and well kept. Over the past two years there have been many improvements at the Tillis Hill site including extra stalls. An earlier post suggests riding your horse on the hiking trail. I do both ride and hike. Not only is it against the rules that are posted, but also when horses have been on the hiking trails it makes it difficult for the hiker. Please don't abuse this great facility, follow the rules. If you have suggestions for changes and upgrades join the local Friends of the Forest Chapter.
Reviewed by: Karen M on 3/17/2008 12:17:42 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/17/2008 Hometown: Spring Hill, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Tillis is one of my favorite places to ride and camp. It is one of the few areas in Florida where you can get gently rolling hills. Some of the trails are nicer than others but we are talking Florida here. The campsite is wonderful and the new bath house is fantastic. There are many short loops you can do or you can take the 1 or 2 day trail. The bugs can be bad after April there so be ready for them.
Reviewed by: Tammy B. on 6/16/2007 4:58:04 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/16/2007 Hometown: Brooksville, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I would give the campground 10 stars if I could. It has everything you could possibly need: level PAVED campsites with hook-ups, fire ring and a picknick table, a beautiful CLEAN barn and 2 sparkling clean bath houses. The trails are very well marked. The only down sides are that you have to travel about 2 1/2 miles up a rough limerock road to get to the campground and the trails are kind of boring.
Reviewed by: JulieS on 12/19/2005 7:15:51 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 12/19/2005 Hometown: Englewood, TN, Select State