HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Tri-County Horse Center
(click on name for more information)


Canton, OH

Overall TRAIL RATING with 12 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 10 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been coming to the camp for years and love this OQHA trail ride! It gets better every year! Cant wait for this year!! I camp throughout the year as well, camp is always clean and tidy. Super friendly people that are always there to help if you need, there is always one person that might not be but most are wonderful! And the trails...finally a place that has real trails! I hate the man made trails. All are real trails that I can enjoy the real scenery. There are not many places to ride beside a person, but I like it like that. The scenery is always changing from area to area. they also offer horse safe bridges, water crossing and some road crossings. Yes the one road is busy but only during the week and its the long trail. Goodness, no other place has 50 different miles of trails, of course your going to cross roads. It is not a highway, but there are random trucks so be careful. The blue trail is listed as shared with 4 wheelers, they can't change this but do warn you. All the other trails do not have them on them, so no worries. My horses get board when going to a 10ft wide trail. they love the hills and the challenge. We walk all trails but you can move faster, we just like to enjoy ourselves and this is the perfect place to do it! I don't feel there is any danger areas. If you come out after a lot of bad weather you have to keep in mind that they may not have had time to fix an issue but they always get to it.
Reviewed by: Greg on 3/19/2015 10:46:36 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/21/2014 Hometown: East Sparta, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Really enjoyed the TriCo Fall Ride. Even with the significant rains and mud, the trails were well marked and cleared. The campground was immaculate. The meals provided on Fri, Sat, and Sun were delicious and plentiful. Sat night's entertainment was a DJ. And the weather was perfect. Greatest group of people!!
Reviewed by: Becky Burnell on 9/19/2011 3:20:56 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/16/2011 Hometown: North Lawrence, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This message is to Ann (Rachel) or anyone that took her remarks to heart: These trails and campgrounds are completely maintained by volunteers. You cannot expect the same kind of ride on these trails as if you ride the Metro parks. They are trails - NOT manicured bridal paths. If you have ridden the trails at many of the state parks that are not bridal paths you have ridden more difficult trails. We do not treat our horses like 4-wheelers - we take good care of our horses. If you come for the first time and have never ridden these types of trails, we always urge you to contact a member (we have a website) and see if you cannot get an escort for your first few rides. If you rode these trails and were constantly running into 4-wheelers, chances are that you accidently left our trails. I would say that since most of these posters had positive comments, that the ones that did not were simply in over their heads on real trails. As I stated - they are NOT metro park manicured paths - they are trails with hills, creeks, bridges, and an occasional road crossing. If you found yourself riding along a road where there was 55 mph traffic, you were again - most likely off the trails.
Reviewed by: Cindy on 8/16/2010 11:34:00 AM
More reviews by Cindy
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/6/2010 Hometown: Canton, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

In contrast to the previous poster, we found the trails to be well marked with both flags and paint. The trails in most places are wide enough for several horses to pass with a few narrow spots which don't require much skill to get through. Also, we found the trails for the most part completely free of twigs, branches and dangerous items. The campground was neat and well maintained with nice primitive facilities and numerous tie ropes. I will say that if you are an inexperienced rider or used to half mile wide groomed bridle paths, than this may not be for you. but the average trail rider would have no problems with these trails or the campground. OF course considering the amount of rain we had this spring there was a little mud early on, but by mid July the trail were in fantastic shape.
Reviewed by: Gary on 8/16/2010 10:28:33 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/1/2010 Hometown: Canton, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

As someone else stated these trails are very dangerous for the horses. They are narrow at times and with it being narrow the rut you are walking in is very deep. There is no way you can possibly pass another horse and rider on these trails in many spots. If you were to come across another rider, I have no idea what you would do. The brush is over grown over the trails and in places you cant even see the trails. Someone stated that the trails are well marked but there are many spots that you can loose the trail because there isnt a sign or flag hanging anywhere. We rode the Orange trail and part of a yellow trail. There were places that the mud was so bad that I didnt know how the horses came out unhurt. Then add in some branches in the mud as well and it makes for a good trap for your horse. I understand these are not maintained by the state and is all voluntary help but sometimes no trail is better than an unsafe trail. o me it is hard to believe that people ride these trails alot. Im thinking most of these people feel their horse is like a motor bike or just dont care. We however will never be back. I wish more sites would give you pictures of the trails so you knew what you were getting into. And not just the nice spots:( Happy trails!
Reviewed by: Ann on 7/5/2010 12:16:40 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/3/2010 Hometown: Randolph, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Quaint, family oriented campground; Very well kept and clean. Wonderful, helpful members. Plenty of nice, well-marked trails. Great place to take the whole family to trailride or just enjoy the day. I plan to return!
Reviewed by: T D P on 9/4/2009 8:10:42 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/21/2009 Hometown: Rogers, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground looked like it was part of the Sanford & Son tv show. Very junkie. We went on the blue trail which I would not recommend to anybody. We passed 6 dirt bikes & 2 atv's on 3 different occasions--which although the horses didn't spoke, they weren't too impressed either. That trail had 2 different widths, either it was 3 feet wide with deep ruts from the atv's or they were 1 foot wide with briers drapping over the paths scratching up the horses's legs. Our horses are very experienced trail horses but I was worried from the condition of the trail from the deep ruts left from the atv's & dirt bikes and could have very easily tripped & broke a leg/ankle. Also, it is not safe for horses and dirt bikes to be on the same trail. The dirt bikes/atv's could be coming around a turn or up a hill and not even see you or your horses coming from the other direction. I have no idea of the condition of the other 3 trails.
Reviewed by: Teresa on 7/20/2009 8:53:14 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/19/2009 Hometown: Freedom, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been here NUMEROUS times and have always had fun! There is a playground, organized events, big, long trails, and a nice campground! This is my second year actually having my own camper and campsite here and my 4th year coming to Tri Co! The trails do have places where you must ride on the road but thats if you ride to amish country! I LOVE TRI CO TRAILS!!!
Reviewed by: Audra on 6/14/2008 11:31:10 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/1/2008 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is the best horse camp I've ever been too!!!! Very clean, great people, losts of fun on their orginized trials, or ride anytime.
Reviewed by: Cynthia on 5/18/2008 6:47:42 PM
More reviews by Cynthia
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/16/2008 Hometown: East Spata, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I live in the area and ride here alot. The trails have been cleaned up in the last year and new markers put up with some detours made. There are several differnt trails you can take. I like the orange trail as it is the longest. Round trip with stops is about 8hrs. Mostly clay and shale(sp), so when it rains for long periods, trails get muddy and difficult for some horses to handle. Last yr. it was dry for the most part and the trails were beautiful. the Camp grounds are nice. Always maintained well. If you are a member you are free to use the kitchen and pavillon ($25 a year mem.fee) There is a wash area for your horse, running water, out-houses, pickit lines and tie areas. No elec. except in kithen and pav. Unless you rent a spot on yearly baisis, there is a waiting line and is for members only. On these spots there are corrals and room for a camper or trailer. the rustic campsites are free to camp.
Reviewed by: ~Theresa on 5/21/2006 11:07:22 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/21/2006 Hometown: Canal Fulton, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

camp was clean, spacious and nice. trails have some ok spots but are no where near the beauty or distance of other highly rated areas ie big south fork. major safety concern is trails that run parallel to (you must ride on the HIway)busy 55mph heavy truck traffic.
Reviewed by: Jo on 12/28/2003 11:34:12 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/21/2002 Hometown: Sunbury, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: tehjn on 7/11/2003 4:36:24 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 7/11/2003 Hometown: thyjhtueujet, CT