HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF
(click on name for more information)
Jamestown, TN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 738 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 748 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great clean campground, Donna and Shawn were very nice and accommodating! Great experience!
Reviewed by: MTSterling on 12/16/2019 7:31:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/5/2019 Hometown: Shelbyville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Donna and Shawn are the best hosts ever and this campground is amazing. Anything we or our horses could have possibly needed they made sure we had. They're great sources of information about the area and have trail directions that make it impossible to get lost. We will definitely be back and look forward to seeing the many additions that you have in store for campers.
Reviewed by: Lori_P_T on 12/14/2019 1:52:54 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/10/2019 Hometown: Kent, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great camping, riding and the owners are very accomodating! Showers were ALWAYS clean and hot water available! Trails were marked well and exciting to ride. Trails were easily accessible from TRUE WEST. We truly enjoyed our stay. Guernsey County, Ohio Horsemans Council.
Reviewed by: RitaT on 12/14/2019 1:42:19 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/19/2019 Hometown: Navarre, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great stay, everyone was so helpful. The place was so nice, had a great time riding the trails. My husband doesnt ride so he stayed at camp and fished. A win win
Reviewed by: JCarter on 11/15/2019 12:12:00 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/26/2019 Hometown: Allens, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I absolutely love <3 True West & the owners Shawn & Donna they go above & beyond to make u feel at home
Reviewed by: KJoseph on 11/14/2019 11:56:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/5/2019 Hometown: Brandenburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful and fun filled atmosphere. Shawn and Donna are great! The barns and campsites are maintained and they have everything you need. We left a couple of weeks ago from our second visit there. I highly recommend this place. We always enjoy our time there. We will be back
Reviewed by: ACREECH on 11/14/2019 11:45:20 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/20/2019 Hometown: Miamisburg, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great campground with wonderful customer service!!! Access to the trails is great. Amenities in camp were wonderful. The staff was outstanding in customer service to make sure they could help in any way. Hope to return! The were there to greet us and unload our horse and supplies. They even cleaned out the trailer!
Reviewed by: Diane J on 11/12/2019 11:41:47 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/16/2019 Hometown: Fremont, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful camping Donna,Shawn and Brittany are all so very nice! Campground is very clean! They would give directions everyday for the trails and take the time to answer are questions. Also for those looking for something different their covered wagons and tipi's would be fun to stay in!!!
Reviewed by: Shelly B on 11/12/2019 11:25:44 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/19/2019 Hometown: Navarre, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wish we could have stayed longer! Donna and Shawn work hard to keep you and your animals comfortable! From helping tote your hay, feed, and tack into the barn, as well as hosting activities on weekends, like potlucks and live entertainment, to enjoy after your day of riding in Big South Fork.
Reviewed by: Dun-Lucky76 on 10/26/2019 1:43:11 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/16/2019 Hometown: Georgetown, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to camp and ride! Shawn and Donna are so accommodating. From the help with getting everything unloaded and put in the barn, cleaning out the trailer for us, helping with ride/trail info and maps to having a DJ on Sat. and cowboy church on Sunday....the whole long weekend was perfect! You won't be disappointed if you stay at True West Campground and Stables!
Reviewed by: Mpusbach on 10/16/2019 2:03:10 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/3/2019 Hometown: Hormer, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My first time to True West Campground and I will be back! This was my first time camping and riding here. We had an amazing time. We appreciated the hospitality and friendships made during our stay. Donna and Shawn were super friendly and helpful in every way. They roll out the red carpet so to speak with unloading our gear, feed, and even cleaning our trailer out. The facilities were clean and well kept. I can't wait to come back!
Reviewed by: Angie_W on 10/12/2019 4:58:01 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/2/2019 Hometown: Bradley, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a great place to ride and camp, Shawn and Donna are so sweet and very accommodating, this was our 2nd year our group's 3rd year and we already made reservations for next year!! If you haven't been go at least once!
Reviewed by: MelissaH on 10/12/2019 4:51:09 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/2/2019 Hometown: Anderson, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Donna and Shawn are the sweetest, friendliest, caring and respectful hosts I've ever meet I think. Probably one of the cleanest campgrounds we've ever been in. 100% awesome hospitality and we will be back hopefully sooner than later!
Reviewed by: ckriner on 10/6/2019 12:27:38 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 8/31/2019 Hometown: Linnville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice Campground. campground was clean, the barn was very nice. even though your horses are away from your site you can see them and hear them. Shawn and Donna were very helpful in all ways. only thing is i would like to see a new sprayer on the wash hoses! lol i got just as wet as my horse. lucky it was hot and it felt good...:)
Reviewed by: David S on 10/1/2019 5:39:00 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/14/2019 Hometown: Rockwood, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We really enjoyed our stay at True West. The campground, barn and stalls were immaculate. Shawn helped us unload our horses, tack and hay. He even cleaned out the back of our trailers and assisted our husbands in backing up our rigs. They were very helpful in discussing the trails and provided a map. We did get a guide to take us around to some of the further out trails and that was awesome! We had a blast. Highly recommend True West.
Reviewed by: Patty Quirin on 10/1/2019 4:58:13 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/14/2019 Hometown: Waterloo, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fantastic service. We got to the camp after dark but were welcomed with a smile by Donna. Her husband Shawn helped us unload the trailer and even mucked it out while we moved tack into the barn. The next day shawn provided us with turn by turn directions for out trail ride. When she learned my wife got hurt on the ride, Donna brought over some first aid supplies and made us feel very much at home. The campground is well equipped and the barns are clean and well maintained. The bathhouses were immaculate. This camp is located very close to the Cumberland trail head and has access to numerous trails in the Spruce Creek area as well. There are many camps in this area to choose from but I cant imagine service anywhere else being as good as one gets at True West.
Reviewed by: tw19 on 9/9/2019 7:19:05 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 6/10/2019 Hometown: Kent, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is the best horse RV campground we have stayed at!! Great facilities, clean, well organized, great riding, beautiful country AND wonderful folks running it. Thank you Donna, Shawn, Brittany and Weston. You are all the best!
Reviewed by: tdougherty on 9/9/2019 7:13:15 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/3/2019 Hometown: Fort Collins, CO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent!! Sean and Donna are great owners and their hospitality ❤️ is non surpassed. Their daughter Brittany holds down the front desk and is always friendly and accommodating. Ride right off the property to great trails or Sean will trailer you to other trail heads and pick you up. The Best!
Reviewed by: dharris on 9/9/2019 6:59:35 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/26/2019 Hometown: Signal Mtn, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

traveled 4 hours to get to this campground and heard about it through a friend. Everything was Great. We were very satisfied with everything and had no problems but it was a little work taking the tack to the barn. Stay friendly and helpful! We give you 5 stars!
Reviewed by: Bill&Brenda on 8/3/2019 1:51:14 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/24/2019 Hometown: Lynchburg, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The best hospitality. This was my second visit to True West (the first being 5 years ago). Shawn and Donna are the most gracious, helpful people. As far as I'm concerned, there's nowhere else to camp in the Big South Fork Recreation Area.
Reviewed by: Marilyn P on 7/4/2019 1:45:47 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/9/2019 Hometown: Crete, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Best trip ever! Best people with the the best hospitality. Clean ,well cared for couldnt ask for a better place to stay with our horses with great riding and great hospitality. Love ❤❤ Show house was clean. Trail are wonderful, maped out great, stalls are awsome, barn is clean wash area is nice campsite are great. Store is awsome The owners are wonderful.
Reviewed by: Marge T on 6/16/2019 3:54:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/18/2019 Hometown: Pilot Grove, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Phenomenal service, great hosts, nice facility, super location. This horse campground offers the best service we've ever had anywhere. We arrived after dark, but were greeted by Donna who made us feel at home. After checking in with her, Shawn helped us unload horses and tack at the barn and mucked out our trailer right after that. He then helped us back the trailed and motor home into our site and get everything settled. The next day, he happily gave us recommendations for trail destinations and provided turn by turn directions so we wouldn't get lost on the trail (we've been known to do that). When Donna learned my wife fell off her horse and injured her hand, she came over to our site with a finger splint and tape to help fix her up. When we couldn't ride, Donna provided recommendations for local sites to visit and activities to do while we were out. The barn was set up centrally and well-maintained. They provide a nice outdoor grill for cooking and have very clean bathroom facilities. The camp is located just outside the BSF park about a 1 mile horse ride along a private trail. We had a great time at this camp largely due to the hosts being so helpful and engaging. If you're traveling to the Big South Fork area, I would highly recommend True West. I don't think you'll find better service anywhere.
Reviewed by: adjuster-jd on 6/16/2019 3:36:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/10/2019 Hometown: Kent, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

this was our first time staying here at True West it was fantastic. They helped us unload our horses and feed. Which was great after a 6hr drive. We will be going back again in the future. Owners are very nice and helpful.
Reviewed by: Carla hall on 5/28/2019 3:23:56 PM
More reviews by Carla hall
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/24/2019 Hometown: Covington, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Amazing place - very close to trails - as in across the street. Wonderful hosts that take care of everything for you. A great service to drop you in park so you can cover more trails that way. Clean facility. Great open barns. a MUST DO!
Reviewed by: Kevin MacRitchie on 4/18/2019 4:28:42 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/13/2019 Hometown: Holly, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Amazing Hospitality! Donna and Sean were more than accommodating. Their grounds are stunning and we were greeted with a warm welcome. Our camp ground was right on a small pond with beautiful views of the property. My sister and I traveled with two 9 year old girls and we felt very safe having them roam around the property. Donna taught the girls how to make fairy houses uses natural materials and let them pick giant acorns on the property. They have two cats that are the sweetest and make the place feel extra homie. Sean was extremely helpful with our camper. We arrived late in the night and he helped set up our water and sewage hoses and connect our hot water system. He gave great tips for our camper and even got behind the wheel and backed us out of our camping spot. I would highly recommend True West! The bathrooms are very clean and around the corner from all camp sites. It safe for kids, fun for adults and a great Western experience. Thank you Donna and Sean, we will be back! -Lulu and Larissa
Reviewed by: LuluLarissa on 3/23/2019 3:35:53 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 1/1/2019 Hometown: East Hampton, NY

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List