HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF
(click on name for more information)


Jamestown, TN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 720 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 729 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The best hospitality. This was my second visit to True West (the first being 5 years ago). Shawn and Donna are the most gracious, helpful people. As far as I'm concerned, there's nowhere else to camp in the Big South Fork Recreation Area.
Reviewed by: Marilyn P on 7/4/2019 1:45:47 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/9/2019 Hometown: Crete, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Best trip ever! Best people with the the best hospitality. Clean ,well cared for couldnt ask for a better place to stay with our horses with great riding and great hospitality. Love ❤❤ Show house was clean. Trail are wonderful, maped out great, stalls are awsome, barn is clean wash area is nice campsite are great. Store is awsome The owners are wonderful.
Reviewed by: Marge T on 6/16/2019 3:54:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/18/2019 Hometown: Pilot Grove, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Phenomenal service, great hosts, nice facility, super location. This horse campground offers the best service we've ever had anywhere. We arrived after dark, but were greeted by Donna who made us feel at home. After checking in with her, Shawn helped us unload horses and tack at the barn and mucked out our trailer right after that. He then helped us back the trailed and motor home into our site and get everything settled. The next day, he happily gave us recommendations for trail destinations and provided turn by turn directions so we wouldn't get lost on the trail (we've been known to do that). When Donna learned my wife fell off her horse and injured her hand, she came over to our site with a finger splint and tape to help fix her up. When we couldn't ride, Donna provided recommendations for local sites to visit and activities to do while we were out. The barn was set up centrally and well-maintained. They provide a nice outdoor grill for cooking and have very clean bathroom facilities. The camp is located just outside the BSF park about a 1 mile horse ride along a private trail. We had a great time at this camp largely due to the hosts being so helpful and engaging. If you're traveling to the Big South Fork area, I would highly recommend True West. I don't think you'll find better service anywhere.
Reviewed by: adjuster-jd on 6/16/2019 3:36:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/10/2019 Hometown: Kent, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

this was our first time staying here at True West it was fantastic. They helped us unload our horses and feed. Which was great after a 6hr drive. We will be going back again in the future. Owners are very nice and helpful.
Reviewed by: Carla hall on 5/28/2019 3:23:56 PM
More reviews by Carla hall
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/24/2019 Hometown: Covington, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Amazing place - very close to trails - as in across the street. Wonderful hosts that take care of everything for you. A great service to drop you in park so you can cover more trails that way. Clean facility. Great open barns. a MUST DO!
Reviewed by: Kevin MacRitchie on 4/18/2019 4:28:42 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/13/2019 Hometown: Holly, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Amazing Hospitality! Donna and Sean were more than accommodating. Their grounds are stunning and we were greeted with a warm welcome. Our camp ground was right on a small pond with beautiful views of the property. My sister and I traveled with two 9 year old girls and we felt very safe having them roam around the property. Donna taught the girls how to make fairy houses uses natural materials and let them pick giant acorns on the property. They have two cats that are the sweetest and make the place feel extra homie. Sean was extremely helpful with our camper. We arrived late in the night and he helped set up our water and sewage hoses and connect our hot water system. He gave great tips for our camper and even got behind the wheel and backed us out of our camping spot. I would highly recommend True West! The bathrooms are very clean and around the corner from all camp sites. It safe for kids, fun for adults and a great Western experience. Thank you Donna and Sean, we will be back! -Lulu and Larissa
Reviewed by: LuluLarissa on 3/23/2019 3:35:53 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 1/1/2019 Hometown: East Hampton, NY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Horse camping Heaven! We had the best time from the time we checked in and had all the help we needed to unload horses get them stalled and the horse trailer to the camping spot in no time at all !! True West made us all feel welcomed and very attentive not only our needs but our horses too! We will return in the spring and hopefully we will make this a must do trip every year!
Reviewed by: KellyR on 12/31/2018 7:06:11 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/24/2018 Hometown: Oxford, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

October 2018 was our “first vacation “ with hauling long distance with our horses and we couldn’t have had a better experience than at TRUE WEST CAMPGROUND! Such a friendly family operated business that makes you feel so at home and welcome! The food from the STAGE COACH CAFE was excellent! We were allowed to bring our dog and that was a plus! The trails are gorgeous! It was almost surreal in the Big South Fork being so deep in a forest and the fall colors were magnificent! Picture perfect place and we are going back not once but twice in 2019! We have found a little Horse Heaven on earth at True West! Thank you so much Shawn, Donna and Brittany for all of your hard work! Your efforts to make our vacation wonderful did not go unnoticed! Looking forward to our stay in May!
Reviewed by: 1faithfulandtrue1611 on 12/25/2018 3:24:02 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/25/2018 Hometown: Cropwell, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time there, lovely place and wonderful trails.
Reviewed by: lbernert on 12/6/2018 10:29:59 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/8/2018 Hometown: Cincinnati, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Donna Martin and Shawn Martin and Brittany with True West Campground. We had such a wonderful Thanksgiving week for the 7th year in a row with you all. TW is the best campground with the best campground hostesses and the most accommodating campground we have stayed at. Thank you all three for being who you are. We are definitely lifers. This is our goto place.
Reviewed by: Pepsigirl12 on 11/27/2018 8:41:36 PM
More reviews by Pepsigirl12
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/22/2018 Hometown: Corinth, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Absolutely wonderful campground & owners!! I would recommend True West to anyone looking to visit the Big South Fork! Amazing hospitality right from the moment I arrived and throughout my entire stay!! I arrived late on a Sunday evening, and yet the owners Donna & Shawn we waiting for my arrival. They checked me in quickly, helped me unload my trailer (Shawn even mucked it out for me - SO NICE after a long drive!), then helped me back it in to my campsite in the dark, etc. The owners were always around the campground, always greeting you with a smile and hello and do you need anything my entire stay. I really like the central set up of the campground too with the office/store, patio/rec room, washrooms/showers & barns in the middle and close from any site. And I loved that the barns were clean, open & airy (my horse gets allergies), with lots of wheelbarrows/forks at hand, several horse wash areas, etc. I stayed there over Thanksgiving, and on Thanksgiving the owners made a wonderful dinner for the entire campground in their lovely covered patio room! November 18th-23rd 2018
Reviewed by: jessica_P on 11/25/2018 12:30:51 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/18/2018 Hometown: King, ON

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Horse Trip of the Year! Spent 8 days at True West Campground’s. With the first four days being rainy we entertained ourselves by going to different Westrrn Stores within driving distance. We also watched a movie at night in the community room. The owners joined us when they weren’t busy and were very helpful in making sure we enjoyed our stay. Even though it had rained nonstop the trails are so well taken care of that they were very safe to ride. When riding from True West there we never ran out of new trails to ride. I loved it and would definitely go back many times.
Reviewed by: Renee A on 11/2/2018 11:09:58 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/22/2018 Hometown: Scottown, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awesome Horse Camp!!! Beautiful horse camp with an amazing barn! Everything was clean and ready for our stay and the owners were very helpful with directions to other area attractions as well. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and hope to go back again next year.
Reviewed by: arabianlady65 on 10/28/2018 10:30:57 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/10/2018 Hometown: Chandlersville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

such friendly, welcoming hosts! I have stayed at a lot of campgrounds, but the owners of True West have gone to a lot of trouble to make this horse camp truly a great experience. The barn is clean and well stocked with equipment, the stalls are well maintained , the campsite is cozy, clean has anything you could need for a stay. travelling alone with a rig, Shawn was helpful with hookups and dumping as well as checking on all the horses before bed. I felt totally comfortable leaving my horse there and of course the riding was spectacular. Would definitely go back.
Reviewed by: otis5047 on 10/25/2018 1:26:38 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/31/2018 Hometown: Stroudsburg, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved our stay!! We had a wonderful time with True West! They were very accommodating and always so helpful! We also saw a bear while out riding the trails! Beautiful riding! Definitely will be going back! Thank you True West for everything!
Reviewed by: jackie_g on 10/21/2018 9:31:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/20/2018 Hometown: Scotts Hill, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fantastic Horse Camp, extraordinary service! I've been to True West a few times and keep returning. Top notch service, from check in to check out. The stalls were clean and ready for us upon arrival with Donna and Shaun helping with move in and even cleaning out our horse trailer. Service beyond expectation! We'll be back.
Reviewed by: tpompei on 10/16/2018 10:15:18 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/4/2018 Hometown: Centerville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful stay and wonderful people! Stayed at True West Campgrounds for a week in June 2018. Had a wonderful stay. The owners are very helpful and they do anything they can to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. They are very horse friendly and the trail are awesome.
Reviewed by: L4694QFmarys on 10/12/2018 10:13:52 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/16/2018 Hometown: Butler, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our Spring Trip to ride in Big South Fork. Highly highly recommend Love True West, the Martins & their HORSEPOTALITY for both horse & rider! Large clean, level stalls for your horses, saddle racks, bridle hooks, water close by, wash bays, nice level sites for trailers & they are dog friendly too! There is no better place in my opinion to stay! As a matter of fact this was our 6th time GLAMPING (Glamour Camping) at TW. We’ll be back soon! Suzanne, Jim, Kahmir, Trigger, Cowboy & Roper
Reviewed by: Suzanne S on 10/10/2018 7:54:15 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/2/2018 Hometown: Leoma, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Horsepitality like no other! Our group has traveled and horse camped together for several years. We are from Wisconsin, Illinois, and Missouri. My wife and I arrived late due to a flat tire on the way. I couldn't believe the concern and welcoming attitude of Shaun and Donna. We have never been anywhere that helps you settle in like they do. OMG! While we were getting our horses settled Shaun cleaned out our trailer. It was a real mess after two days and 855 miles of travel with three horses. I love their barn set up with plenty of wheel barrows and forks, roomy stalls, water accessibility, sawdust, and easy wheel barrow dumping. Wash stations for the horses were close to barns. The whole place was clean and well maintained. We are self contained so didn't use the shower houses, but when I looked at them they were neat and clean. Their camp rules are easy to comply with and I feel are in place to enhance your stay. Shaun will take you to other trail heads with prior arrangements..Rates are average, but cheap when you factor in amenities Only negatives I can give are very minor and really being picky. We'd like a sandy spot for horses to roll. Ours did use the round pen, but it was a bit hard from recent rains while we were there. As far as the Big South Fork Trails are concerned, we were disappointed. They are great for beginner riders and gated horses. Not challenging for us and we prefer single track trails. The trails are the only reason we probably will not return.
Reviewed by: Dan S on 10/9/2018 8:24:46 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/1/2018 Hometown: Mondovi, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great hosts, great trails, great accommodations! Shawn and Donna are wonderful hosts. From meeting your trailer with a fork and a cart to clean out the back and haul your tack and hay to your stalls, to providing detailed maps and directions to the trails, they are there to help make your stay enjoyable. Shawn was able to help us out with a rider who got overheated and met us out on the trails with a trailer to take her and her horse back to the barn. Our sites were close to the barn and the restroom/shower house and the stalls were airy and comfortable for our horses. They do have some large stalls for big horses (which I used to have and would have appreciated for them). The regular stalls are plenty big for our (now) more normal sized steeds! We just scratched the surface of trails available from the campground and will be back to explore some more. Nice deck and covered room where we got to watch the Belmont stakes!
Reviewed by: Marti C on 9/2/2018 12:19:11 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/4/2018 Hometown: Milton, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went for a Trail Riding weekend had a wonderful weekend at True West Campground. Hospitality was beyond excellent, clean stalls, campsite was level and well drained, nice trails leading out of camp, well descriptive maps of all the trails. We will most definitely return, hopefully for a longer stay.
Reviewed by: SherryG on 8/18/2018 3:00:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/1/2018 Hometown: Candler, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice and well run campground. Clean and friendly. Owners do more the necessary to help campers get in and set up. Barn was very safe and roomy. Camp and store very clean. Owners strive to make sure every guest is cared for and needs are taken care of. Camp is just off the trail heads so no need to ride long distance to vet to trails. Cowboy Wayne from Broken J Farms
Reviewed by: cowboywayne on 8/15/2018 7:59:40 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/25/2018 Hometown: Boonville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great riding and great people! We love going to True West From the minute you get there until you leave they take care of you! I like pulling in and they help you unload everything at the barn and clean out your trailer. The views are beautiful with lots of trails. We will definitely be back again, hopefully soon!
Reviewed by: Deborah_H on 7/30/2018 4:22:02 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2018 Hometown: Princeton, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We arrived late and Donna and Shawn was waiting on us. Shawn went straight to the barn and help us get all settled in and helped us get our trailer set up for the night. Could not have asked for a better place to stay. They are always willing to help. We love the big barn they have for our horses.
Reviewed by: kathytrotter2 on 7/27/2018 7:53:25 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/7/2018 Hometown: Rogers, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I came for a Family graduation visit. We had a wonderful time. We had to make day trips to Knoxville to visit family and felt safe leaving our horses behind. Stalls and barn are very nice. We got a chance to ride a couple of days. Trails were beautiful and Shawn and Donna were very helpful with descriptions of the trails . We are planning a return trip in September with additional family coming with us to ride. Nice campground. Looking forward to our return trip.
Reviewed by: Theresa G on 7/23/2018 7:44:28 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/8/2018 Hometown: Wickenburg, AZ

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List