HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for True West Campground, Stables and Mercantile in BSF
(click on name for more information)
Jamestown, TN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 728 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 738 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My first time to True West Campground and I will be back! This was my first time camping and riding here. We had an amazing time. We appreciated the hospitality and friendships made during our stay. Donna and Shawn were super friendly and helpful in every way. They roll out the red carpet so to speak with unloading our gear, feed, and even cleaning our trailer out. The facilities were clean and well kept. I can't wait to come back!
Reviewed by: Angie_W on 10/12/2019 4:58:01 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/2/2019 Hometown: Bradley, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a great place to ride and camp, Shawn and Donna are so sweet and very accommodating, this was our 2nd year our group's 3rd year and we already made reservations for next year!! If you haven't been go at least once!
Reviewed by: MelissaH on 10/12/2019 4:51:09 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/2/2019 Hometown: Anderson, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Donna and Shawn are the sweetest, friendliest, caring and respectful hosts I've ever meet I think. Probably one of the cleanest campgrounds we've ever been in. 100% awesome hospitality and we will be back hopefully sooner than later!
Reviewed by: ckriner on 10/6/2019 12:27:38 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 8/31/2019 Hometown: Linnville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice Campground. campground was clean, the barn was very nice. even though your horses are away from your site you can see them and hear them. Shawn and Donna were very helpful in all ways. only thing is i would like to see a new sprayer on the wash hoses! lol i got just as wet as my horse. lucky it was hot and it felt good...:)
Reviewed by: David S on 10/1/2019 5:39:00 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/14/2019 Hometown: Rockwood, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We really enjoyed our stay at True West. The campground, barn and stalls were immaculate. Shawn helped us unload our horses, tack and hay. He even cleaned out the back of our trailers and assisted our husbands in backing up our rigs. They were very helpful in discussing the trails and provided a map. We did get a guide to take us around to some of the further out trails and that was awesome! We had a blast. Highly recommend True West.
Reviewed by: Patty Quirin on 10/1/2019 4:58:13 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/14/2019 Hometown: Waterloo, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fantastic service. We got to the camp after dark but were welcomed with a smile by Donna. Her husband Shawn helped us unload the trailer and even mucked it out while we moved tack into the barn. The next day shawn provided us with turn by turn directions for out trail ride. When she learned my wife got hurt on the ride, Donna brought over some first aid supplies and made us feel very much at home. The campground is well equipped and the barns are clean and well maintained. The bathhouses were immaculate. This camp is located very close to the Cumberland trail head and has access to numerous trails in the Spruce Creek area as well. There are many camps in this area to choose from but I cant imagine service anywhere else being as good as one gets at True West.
Reviewed by: tw19 on 9/9/2019 7:19:05 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 6/10/2019 Hometown: Kent, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is the best horse RV campground we have stayed at!! Great facilities, clean, well organized, great riding, beautiful country AND wonderful folks running it. Thank you Donna, Shawn, Brittany and Weston. You are all the best!
Reviewed by: tdougherty on 9/9/2019 7:13:15 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/3/2019 Hometown: Fort Collins, CO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent!! Sean and Donna are great owners and their hospitality ❤️ is non surpassed. Their daughter Brittany holds down the front desk and is always friendly and accommodating. Ride right off the property to great trails or Sean will trailer you to other trail heads and pick you up. The Best!
Reviewed by: dharris on 9/9/2019 6:59:35 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/26/2019 Hometown: Signal Mtn, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

traveled 4 hours to get to this campground and heard about it through a friend. Everything was Great. We were very satisfied with everything and had no problems but it was a little work taking the tack to the barn. Stay friendly and helpful! We give you 5 stars!
Reviewed by: Bill&Brenda on 8/3/2019 1:51:14 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/24/2019 Hometown: Lynchburg, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The best hospitality. This was my second visit to True West (the first being 5 years ago). Shawn and Donna are the most gracious, helpful people. As far as I'm concerned, there's nowhere else to camp in the Big South Fork Recreation Area.
Reviewed by: Marilyn P on 7/4/2019 1:45:47 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/9/2019 Hometown: Crete, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Best trip ever! Best people with the the best hospitality. Clean ,well cared for couldnt ask for a better place to stay with our horses with great riding and great hospitality. Love ❤❤ Show house was clean. Trail are wonderful, maped out great, stalls are awsome, barn is clean wash area is nice campsite are great. Store is awsome The owners are wonderful.
Reviewed by: Marge T on 6/16/2019 3:54:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/18/2019 Hometown: Pilot Grove, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Phenomenal service, great hosts, nice facility, super location. This horse campground offers the best service we've ever had anywhere. We arrived after dark, but were greeted by Donna who made us feel at home. After checking in with her, Shawn helped us unload horses and tack at the barn and mucked out our trailer right after that. He then helped us back the trailed and motor home into our site and get everything settled. The next day, he happily gave us recommendations for trail destinations and provided turn by turn directions so we wouldn't get lost on the trail (we've been known to do that). When Donna learned my wife fell off her horse and injured her hand, she came over to our site with a finger splint and tape to help fix her up. When we couldn't ride, Donna provided recommendations for local sites to visit and activities to do while we were out. The barn was set up centrally and well-maintained. They provide a nice outdoor grill for cooking and have very clean bathroom facilities. The camp is located just outside the BSF park about a 1 mile horse ride along a private trail. We had a great time at this camp largely due to the hosts being so helpful and engaging. If you're traveling to the Big South Fork area, I would highly recommend True West. I don't think you'll find better service anywhere.
Reviewed by: adjuster-jd on 6/16/2019 3:36:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/10/2019 Hometown: Kent, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

this was our first time staying here at True West it was fantastic. They helped us unload our horses and feed. Which was great after a 6hr drive. We will be going back again in the future. Owners are very nice and helpful.
Reviewed by: Carla hall on 5/28/2019 3:23:56 PM
More reviews by Carla hall
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/24/2019 Hometown: Covington, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Amazing place - very close to trails - as in across the street. Wonderful hosts that take care of everything for you. A great service to drop you in park so you can cover more trails that way. Clean facility. Great open barns. a MUST DO!
Reviewed by: Kevin MacRitchie on 4/18/2019 4:28:42 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/13/2019 Hometown: Holly, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Amazing Hospitality! Donna and Sean were more than accommodating. Their grounds are stunning and we were greeted with a warm welcome. Our camp ground was right on a small pond with beautiful views of the property. My sister and I traveled with two 9 year old girls and we felt very safe having them roam around the property. Donna taught the girls how to make fairy houses uses natural materials and let them pick giant acorns on the property. They have two cats that are the sweetest and make the place feel extra homie. Sean was extremely helpful with our camper. We arrived late in the night and he helped set up our water and sewage hoses and connect our hot water system. He gave great tips for our camper and even got behind the wheel and backed us out of our camping spot. I would highly recommend True West! The bathrooms are very clean and around the corner from all camp sites. It safe for kids, fun for adults and a great Western experience. Thank you Donna and Sean, we will be back! -Lulu and Larissa
Reviewed by: LuluLarissa on 3/23/2019 3:35:53 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 1/1/2019 Hometown: East Hampton, NY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Horse camping Heaven! We had the best time from the time we checked in and had all the help we needed to unload horses get them stalled and the horse trailer to the camping spot in no time at all !! True West made us all feel welcomed and very attentive not only our needs but our horses too! We will return in the spring and hopefully we will make this a must do trip every year!
Reviewed by: KellyR on 12/31/2018 7:06:11 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/24/2018 Hometown: Oxford, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

October 2018 was our “first vacation “ with hauling long distance with our horses and we couldn’t have had a better experience than at TRUE WEST CAMPGROUND! Such a friendly family operated business that makes you feel so at home and welcome! The food from the STAGE COACH CAFE was excellent! We were allowed to bring our dog and that was a plus! The trails are gorgeous! It was almost surreal in the Big South Fork being so deep in a forest and the fall colors were magnificent! Picture perfect place and we are going back not once but twice in 2019! We have found a little Horse Heaven on earth at True West! Thank you so much Shawn, Donna and Brittany for all of your hard work! Your efforts to make our vacation wonderful did not go unnoticed! Looking forward to our stay in May!
Reviewed by: 1faithfulandtrue1611 on 12/25/2018 3:24:02 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/25/2018 Hometown: Cropwell, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time there, lovely place and wonderful trails.
Reviewed by: lbernert on 12/6/2018 10:29:59 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/8/2018 Hometown: Cincinnati, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Donna Martin and Shawn Martin and Brittany with True West Campground. We had such a wonderful Thanksgiving week for the 7th year in a row with you all. TW is the best campground with the best campground hostesses and the most accommodating campground we have stayed at. Thank you all three for being who you are. We are definitely lifers. This is our goto place.
Reviewed by: Pepsigirl12 on 11/27/2018 8:41:36 PM
More reviews by Pepsigirl12
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/22/2018 Hometown: Corinth, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Absolutely wonderful campground & owners!! I would recommend True West to anyone looking to visit the Big South Fork! Amazing hospitality right from the moment I arrived and throughout my entire stay!! I arrived late on a Sunday evening, and yet the owners Donna & Shawn we waiting for my arrival. They checked me in quickly, helped me unload my trailer (Shawn even mucked it out for me - SO NICE after a long drive!), then helped me back it in to my campsite in the dark, etc. The owners were always around the campground, always greeting you with a smile and hello and do you need anything my entire stay. I really like the central set up of the campground too with the office/store, patio/rec room, washrooms/showers & barns in the middle and close from any site. And I loved that the barns were clean, open & airy (my horse gets allergies), with lots of wheelbarrows/forks at hand, several horse wash areas, etc. I stayed there over Thanksgiving, and on Thanksgiving the owners made a wonderful dinner for the entire campground in their lovely covered patio room! November 18th-23rd 2018
Reviewed by: jessica_P on 11/25/2018 12:30:51 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/18/2018 Hometown: King, ON

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Horse Trip of the Year! Spent 8 days at True West Campground’s. With the first four days being rainy we entertained ourselves by going to different Westrrn Stores within driving distance. We also watched a movie at night in the community room. The owners joined us when they weren’t busy and were very helpful in making sure we enjoyed our stay. Even though it had rained nonstop the trails are so well taken care of that they were very safe to ride. When riding from True West there we never ran out of new trails to ride. I loved it and would definitely go back many times.
Reviewed by: Renee A on 11/2/2018 11:09:58 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/22/2018 Hometown: Scottown, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awesome Horse Camp!!! Beautiful horse camp with an amazing barn! Everything was clean and ready for our stay and the owners were very helpful with directions to other area attractions as well. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and hope to go back again next year.
Reviewed by: arabianlady65 on 10/28/2018 10:30:57 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/10/2018 Hometown: Chandlersville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

such friendly, welcoming hosts! I have stayed at a lot of campgrounds, but the owners of True West have gone to a lot of trouble to make this horse camp truly a great experience. The barn is clean and well stocked with equipment, the stalls are well maintained , the campsite is cozy, clean has anything you could need for a stay. travelling alone with a rig, Shawn was helpful with hookups and dumping as well as checking on all the horses before bed. I felt totally comfortable leaving my horse there and of course the riding was spectacular. Would definitely go back.
Reviewed by: otis5047 on 10/25/2018 1:26:38 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/31/2018 Hometown: Stroudsburg, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved our stay!! We had a wonderful time with True West! They were very accommodating and always so helpful! We also saw a bear while out riding the trails! Beautiful riding! Definitely will be going back! Thank you True West for everything!
Reviewed by: jackie_g on 10/21/2018 9:31:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/20/2018 Hometown: Scotts Hill, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fantastic Horse Camp, extraordinary service! I've been to True West a few times and keep returning. Top notch service, from check in to check out. The stalls were clean and ready for us upon arrival with Donna and Shaun helping with move in and even cleaning out our horse trailer. Service beyond expectation! We'll be back.
Reviewed by: tpompei on 10/16/2018 10:15:18 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/4/2018 Hometown: Centerville, OH

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List