HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Waterloo State Recreation Area
(click on name for more information)


Jackson, MI

Overall TRAIL RATING with 8 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 6 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The scenery and trails are beautiful. The trails are NOT marked very well AT ALL. Maps are totally useless. Would love to go back sometime but ONLY after new maps that correctly cover the trails are designed.
Reviewed by: Diego455 on 8/7/2016 8:25:37 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/7/2016 Hometown: Sanford, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I've been riding in Waterloo all my life. I love the trails, there are steep hills and gorges yes, but you can take trails that bypass all of that. I also love camping at Farmlane Campground off of Clear Lake Rd.
Reviewed by: Angela on 9/12/2012 12:35:29 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/2/2012 Hometown: Clinton, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Check us out at www.waterloohorsemen.org
Reviewed by: Chad Simpson on 5/13/2008 6:09:02 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/10/2008 Hometown: Manchester, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I LOVE waterloo and I have been coming here for year, I feel that this year the trails are WAY better marked but I feel that they need to do a better job with grooming the trails, there are alot of areas with not just rocks but boulders! I ride barefoot horses and they seem to do just fine here.......
Reviewed by: Kristi on 5/4/2008 8:11:30 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Concord, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are Very confusing, rocky, not for a barefoot horse. Steep hills, narrow trails, not very well maintained. Would never go back.
Reviewed by: Emma on 1/21/2008 3:02:17 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/25/2007 Hometown: Chelsea, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love this place and go often. Only complaint is the one water pump, but now I just haul in water. The Waterloo Trail Riders Assoc. has been very busy maintaining and upgrading trails. Can be as easy or as difficult as you choose. Always a great ride and a great time to be had here...ppl are friendly, trails lovely..can take shower at camper campground if there more than a day or two...is't only a short walk.
Reviewed by: letsride on 8/28/2007 8:55:36 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/28/2007 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

this is a wonderful area especially the back section it is not for the beginner but it is wonderful to ride. lots of hills mostly shaded at the back can park off glen rd. the campground is well maintained and you can walk to the lake to swim if you have kids. I know the whole area if you have any questions just give a shout.
Reviewed by: crowfoot on 7/12/2007 5:48:15 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/12/2007 Hometown: jackson, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We thought the trails were quite challenging. If you want a relaxing ride, I would go somewhere else. LOTS of hills, some quite steep. LOTS of rocks on the trail; didn't have a problem with chipping on our barefoot horses, but did have occasional problems with footing. Trails are mostly narrow (one-horse wide) and not very well marked; can be confusing to the first-time visitor. Campground/staging area was very nice.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 1/24/2004 11:51:42 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 12/7/2003 Hometown: , MI

Trail Rating:  nbsp;Not Rated
Camp Rating:  nbsp;Not Rated

Waterloo is very easy to get into although there is about two miles or so of gravel road that, when we were there last year, had quite a bit of washboard surface. It's not a problem, you just need to drive slow or you get vibrated a lot. The camp is quite large with plenty of room. We had a 34' motor home pulling a two horse slant an had no problems.
Reviewed by: Jo on 10/25/2002 5:13:46 PM
Experience: Ride Date: Hometown: Sunbury, OH

Trail Rating:  nbsp;Not Rated
Camp Rating:  nbsp;Not Rated

Would like a message from someone that has ridden the trails, and let me know how easy or difficult it is to get into the park with truck and trailer
Reviewed by: Suzy on 10/24/2002 10:59:46 PM
Experience: Ride Date: Hometown: cassopolis, MI