HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Withlacoochee State Forest -Our Father's Haven B+B
(click on name for more information)


Bushnell, FL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 9 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 10 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first visit to OFH. Spacious describes the suites, the bathroom, the pastures, and screened-in porch. Everything is immaculate including the harrowed pastures and well-scrubbed water troughs with spring water. The trails are well-marked and right out the driveway. The trails meander through granddaddy oaks, palmetto stands with long-leaf pines, and scrub. "The Real Florida." Sunsets on the porch are beautiful. Breakfast is delicious. We're planning to return same time next year.
Reviewed by: Faith on 1/20/2013 6:25:23 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/5/2013 Hometown: Tryon, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our fourth stay and it just keeps getting better. The Host, Gary had printed some new color maps of the new trails in the area for us to ride during our three day stay. We rode two days and did not see them all. So we now have an excuse to come back. The breakfast was excellant and a great way to start off the day when going for a long day of riding. The rooms are like staying in a hotel suite and the secure 3 acre paddocks are safe for your horses. It is nice just to sit on the porch area in rocking chairs watching your horse. Believe me you will not be disappointed staying there.
Reviewed by: Trail Rider on 1/14/2013 9:27:56 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 12/27/2012 Hometown: Jupiter, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our second stay at this very special place. Great host,very comfortable rooms with homemade breakfast and beautiful trails. My only complaint is I wished I had more time to spend here.
Reviewed by: Trail Rider on 3/22/2011 12:04:01 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/16/2011 Hometown: Jupiter, CO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Gary & Joanne are wonderful. They make the best breakfast and coffee. The suites are very spacious for the humans. The stalls and turnouts are just as nice for the horses. The trails start right across from the B&B. The trails are nice, clearly marked and very enjoyable. The local towns of Bushnell, Inverness and Brooksville are very charming.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/5/2010 8:02:57 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/16/2010 Hometown: Thonotosassa, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place was wonderful. Beautiful trail rides across the street from B & B. Lots of shade on the trails. The B& B was great. It is not your usual B&B you have your own suite for privacy beautiful grounds with stalls and pasture for your horses. Breakfast was very very good. WE are planning a return trip real soon. Gary & Joanne are great. Check out their website. Our fathers Haven.
Reviewed by: Donna Messier on 5/8/2009 9:53:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/1/2009 Hometown: Fort Myers, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A beautiful place to stay. The suites are roomy, clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was delicious! Gary and JoAnne are wonderful people. We have already booked our next trip!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/8/2008 3:46:51 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2008 Hometown: Sarasota, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a rating for Our Father's Haven Bed and Breakfast, Bushnell, Florida. This is a "must stay" if you like peace and quiet, excellent food, and Southern hospitality in a Christian atmosphere. OFH is situated on 20 beautiful acres near the Withlacoochee State Forest. The spacious suites include a sitting area, a full bath, tv, and a mini-kitchen. Breakfast is always plentiful. Husband and wife team, Gary and Joanne, welcome you with Christian love. There's a beautiful multi-stall barn and spacious pasture if you're bringing your horse along. I've visited often and now feel like family.
Reviewed by: Karen on 7/22/2008 6:28:24 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/1/2008 Hometown: Orlando, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love Gary and Joanne, who thought of everything, and who love their guests. Be ready to make quick long lasting friends!! This was my second trip, the first trip was with girlfriends, and I loved it so much I came back a month later with my husband. We went trail riding both trips, and love the trails. There are a lot of deer and racoons, and the trees cover the trails so thick that it stays cool. I trail ride everywhere and these trail were up there. Also, The barn, it is very clean, lighted and has fans in each stall and a really nice bathroom and washdown area. The suites were nice, and huge. Hardwood Floors and a partial kitchen make you feel right at home. There is even a back door that leads to the barn. There is a covered, screened in porch that has rocking chairs next to each suite. I'm not going to even tell you about all the thoughtful extras, so you can experience it for yourself. Also the breakfast was the best one that I have ever had at any B&B.
Reviewed by: Amy Short on 3/20/2008 6:51:11 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/16/2008 Hometown: Port Richey, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our Father's Haven is truly a blessing for both horse and rider! Gary and Joanne were warm, welcoming, wonderful hosts, the suites were beautiful and inviting, and the equine facilities (both stalls and pasture) were clean and safe! The food was also divine! We explored the adjacent trails on horseback for hours each day, and were treated to peaceful and breathtaking scenery in the forest and along the river. We will definately be back soon!
Reviewed by: Karen Rizzo on 3/2/2008 9:03:17 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 2/29/2008 Hometown: St. Peter sburg, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My wife and I stayed at Our Father's Haven this past weekend and was very impressed with the accommodations and hospitality the owners, Gary and Joanne. The whole place is brand new with plenty of space for horses and trailers...our paddock was a 3 acre pasture!! The stalls are very clean, safe, and next to the rooms. The trail riding entrances are located at the end of the driveway with miles of area to explore. We rode a total of 22 miles in two days and did not see it all. The rooms are two room suites with your own bathroom/shower. The food was all handmade and served hot. If you are looking for a place to enjoy the outdoors (with or without your horse) or to just relax, while having all the comforts of home this is the place. We will be back.....
Reviewed by: Trailrider on 2/20/2008 6:46:07 AM
More reviews by Trailrider
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/16/2008 Hometown: Jupiter, FL