HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Wranglers campground (Land Between the Lakes)
(click on name for more information)


cadiz, ky

Overall TRAIL RATING with 69 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 70 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time to Wrangler CG. Trails are beautiful! Campsites are large with picnic benches and fire pits/grills. Bath house was terrible. Standing water through out. Had exhaust fan but not working. Overflowing manure pits. People who had our site before us did not clean up after their horses. Between manure pit and dirty tie up area on our site, our campsite was infested with flies. We finally cleaned the site ourselves. Stalls in barn need to be leveled as urine puddles in spots. Need to bring your own shavings as it is not provided. Horses should be shoes. Weekend management left much to be desired. Arrived with reserved stalls for horses. One stall was "occupied." Went to office to see if we could use different stalls. No phone or Internet connection so had to.drive there.. We're told some one was moving that horse but given no options about moving our horses. Waited 30 min. and horse still there and darkness was coming. Went back to office where one guy was standing doing nothing and lady was looking at computer. Finally, manager (Gary?) showed up complaining about all the work he had to do that day helping people with water and electric hookups and now had to deal with this .... Said he would find horse's owner or move it himself. Never showed up at barn but owner did and said she had been told to put her horse there. Week day staff are much more helpful and organized. Place could really use some better management.
Reviewed by: Jkroenke on 11/14/2016 11:57:29 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/15/2016 Hometown: Greenwood, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my husband's and my first horse camping experience together. We finally got him a horse and I picked the place because it was somewhere I had never been. He is a novice rider, and I'm experienced. It was only his 2nd time on his horse, and my gelding's 3rd overnight trip. They were great! The facilities were nice, although the bath houses could use some work! The showers were pretty sub par. Everything on the bench outside gets wet, they're cold (at least the women's), there's nowhere to put anything off the floor inside the shower, and they shut off often. Drainage was an issue, and the one handicap accessible shower in the bath house closest to my campsite didn't work. There also was no hand soap, or any method to dry your hands. I ended up purchasing a cheap bar of soap from the Outpost and leaving it in there. The trails were great for our first time out, but even with front shoes on our horses had issues on some of them. The rocks were large and hurt their feet even with them on. I didn't have that issue with only front shoes at Brown County, IN. When we were on dirt parts of the trail they were fine. The loops closest to camp were great for beginners. The lakes are beautiful and there are other things to do very close by! As a note (since I couldn't find photos and called ahead)- they do not have hitching posts, but tether poles that you can also run a line between. It's either that, or get stalls.
Reviewed by: TerinM on 9/15/2016 3:17:31 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/2/2016 Hometown: Dry Ridge, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fantastic if cold weekend bit great way to ring in the new year. Highly recommended for any level rider. The team at the gate is helpful and facilities top notch. Camp spots are roomy and they just added more. You can reserve online and they hold some for drive in visitors which is great. They have cabins and you will find non horse riders there as well. I've met people from England there and all over the USA. Beautiful trails and we love it. Tether lines are free and stall pricing has been reduced after consideration. Well worth a visit and well marked trails.
Reviewed by: Marion miller on 1/6/2016 12:05:27 AM
More reviews by Marion miller
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2016 Hometown: slaughters, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wrangler is the place i visit most as it is one that is closest to me. I like the roundpens they have now, do not like increase in price, but still affordable. I really hated that the restaurant on the grounds closed as that was very nice to have. The bathroom/showers need improving. Shower shuts off ever couple of seconds and you have to turn them back on and water is not warm, so you generally freeze when taking one, even in summer months. Trails are very nice and their are a variety, most times it is kept pretty clean.
Reviewed by: LaVonne Marshall on 1/21/2014 4:08:39 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/10/2013 Hometown: Guthrie, Kentucky,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

nice place but they have raised the prices on everything.... Stalls now $15 per night and no shavings.
Reviewed by: mike lisa on 3/18/2013 2:59:21 PM
More reviews by mike lisa
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/9/2013 Hometown: Hartford, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First….. I have enjoyed riding and camping at Wranglers for over 20 years and the people that are working there now are TOP notch. However, in the process of making some reservations for this spring and summer I discovered that the prices for camping and stall rental have increased considerably, especially the stall prices… from $10 to $15 per night/per stall. I realize that the camping in Wranglers is difficult to beat and is mostly likely costly to maintain, so I understand the need to increase the cost per site. However, the increase in stall rental just seems extreme. I understand that stalls are a choice and I am merely expressing an opinion and passing along information.
Reviewed by: Mike on 2/1/2013 12:39:13 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/31/2013 Hometown: Clay, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had an awesome time at LBL! Two wagons, we met plenty of great people. Pretty good campground, could use better water access closer to the camps.Restrooms and showers could be better, ladies showers didn't drain well and put in some fans. Really incredible trails, we thought it would be flat and kind of boring, NOT AT ALL! Great hills and grades. All around A+ Wagon Trails!
Reviewed by: Greg on 6/28/2012 12:14:46 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/30/2012 Hometown: Georgetown, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Well maintained trails. Not difficult at all. The campground is clean, lots are level and staff is very nice and helpful. There is a farrier set up there also. We had a really great time!
Reviewed by: Alex&Tammy on 12/7/2011 8:06:20 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/3/2011 Hometown: Springfield, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice campground, well thought out. Very friendly, helpful staff - a real plus for them! Sites are large, well spaced. Bathhouses are clean and nice. The stalls are a on the small side and the barn we stayed in could uses some maintenance,some loose boards and low spots under the side boards between stalls. On the plus side, stalls have mats, there is water at the barn and lights. Barns are well placed. High line poles available at campsites - some gravel would be nice and help with the mud there. I would like to see campers clean up better after themselves and thier horses - campgrounds like this are great to have and should be treated with respect! People just raked hay, manure and shavings out in front of the stalls and left it for somoene else to clean up, high line area at our site was a MESS. If everyone would clean up after themselves this place would really shine. We will be back.
Reviewed by: Bill & Anne Breen on 10/30/2011 8:30:35 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/24/2011 Hometown: Gastonia, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a blast as always! I love the trails...we ride quarter horses so we don't need to walk on out but we do run on the rocks..doesn't seem to hurt our horses at all. I think you can make the best out of any place as long as you are with great people and you're on your horse! wranglers is close to home so that's a plus.... different strokes for different folks....."COWBOY UP"...
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/26/2011 9:00:51 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/14/2011 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Best campground I've ever been too. Clean showerhouse,Picket or stall, wash rack for horse, great prices for the amenities. Trails were not impressive. Riding at home(MI) is more scenic, the rocks were such that you couldn't move out even with shoes, and the trash was NOT just near the lake. I've never seen so much litter on a trail. Will be many years before we bother returning.
Reviewed by: Theresa on 10/12/2011 6:40:51 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/26/2011 Hometown: Ludington, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

probably the best place we've been in a while..lake was gorgeous (you're always gonna have some sort of trash along a lakeside somewhere); tons of wildlife; staff was very nice; campsites were spacious and clean; bathhouses were nice (compared to several different places) water pressure isn't great, but it's a shower!; stalls were good (better than what we've seen);and the trails were great! lbl is an awesome place to be..my family will be back very soon! it is rocky, but as long as your horses have shoes you should be fine!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/13/2011 12:19:17 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/2/2011 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground was nice, the bathhouses were relatively clean. I didn't care for the showers - a button you press with a pre-set temperature water coming out. I literally wanted a cold/cool shower, but the water was a nice, warm temperature. Not what I wanted in August, lol! Picketing is allowed, but we prefer stalls for our horses - the stalls are airy, but quite small. They were something like 12' long, but maybe only 7' wide? My horses could barely turn around and they are not big. We arrived on Thursday and left on Friday - drove to another campground. The reason? The rocks! Long areas of beds of rocks from golf-ball sized to ostrich-egg sized, particularly on uphills or downhills. I would only be comfortable riding on that stuff if I had shoes all the way around with pads on. No areas for anything (IMO) faster than a walk, and we do like to trot a little here and there. Scenery was beautiful and we did see quite a lot of wildlife. The amount of trash (drink bottles, primarily) along the trails was astounding.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/8/2011 5:40:16 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/5/2011 Hometown: Collierville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

the trashy lakeside is due to flooding....:o(...it was really bad this year! worse than in the past...
Reviewed by: martha on 7/26/2011 2:17:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/4/2011 Hometown: cadiz, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campgrounds clean and nicely paved for trailers. Bugs bugs bugs despite the man spraying off his pickup every am. Checkin took forever. Trails are nice but lakeside looks like a dump with trash washed up everywhere.
Reviewed by: Tammy on 7/6/2011 6:02:54 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/13/2011 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wranglers is an awesome place to ride; the variety of trails will accomodate any level of rider....there are wide open trails...there are wagon trails...there are the "pig path" trails for the more experienced riders. Whatever you experience, whatever you may enjoy, Wranglers has it all! You can stay out an hour or you can stay gone all day. The trails are marked Ok..as long as you stay on the trail...if you venture off onto an unmarked trail, you can easily get lost. I wish the trail markers could get "revamped"...there are several markers that need to be replaced. .....But all in all....WRANGLERS IS MY CHOICE TO RIDE!!! Love staying down there!
Reviewed by: Luv4Chance on 4/13/2011 12:42:43 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/22/2010 Hometown: Madisonville, ky, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

GOING THIS WEEKEND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! VERY EXCITED!!!!!!!! AWESOME CAMPGROUND!!! AWESOME TRAILS!!!!!! AWESOME PEOPLE!!!!! DID I SAY HOW EXCITED I WAS?? GONNA BE A GOOD TIME, ALWAYS IS!!!!
Reviewed by: JESSIE on 4/6/2011 6:06:57 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/6/2011 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I really enjoy this place.....I think it has something for all types of riders...very excited that this weather is getting better so I can go more often...if you haven't been, you should try it at least once!
Reviewed by: Lauren on 3/29/2011 9:06:14 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/25/2011 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a wonderful time at Wranglers. The weather was perfect. Because it was so early in the year, the place was not packed so we had plenty of room. The trails were very clean and marked well. This is a good place for the whole family to go and enjoy yourselves. We had young children with us and they really enjoyed themselves. Wished it was a little closer to home so we could go more often. The workers were pleasant and very helpful. I do suggest that you bring your own firewood if you want a fire to sit by when it is cool. The bundles you buy from the gatehouse do not last very long and it could get real expensive buying enough. The shower house was nice and clean and so were the bathrooms. The whole place was very clean and well taken care of. They also have places to shower your horse, we didn't use them though because it was too cool. After April 1, the Outpost Opens which gives you access to a store, resteraunt, ferrier, and so on. For the low price of staying there it is one nice place!!! We hope to go back soon!!!
Reviewed by: Michaela Woodcock on 3/16/2011 7:26:58 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/11/2011 Hometown: Jetson, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It's strange how ppl have so many different opinions about places they ride! But ones opinion is just that..."their opinion". and we are all intitled to that. Wranglers is one of my favorite places to go..just for the fact that it is close to home and I just love to ride. Try riding over to KY lake and it's just gorgeous! The trails over there are rocky and some rough, but the view is breath taking. I guess as far as the bathhouses and campground goes...some just may not be adjusted to outdoors stuff. the water pressure does suck and sometimes you may not get hot water, but its a shower and its there for you. No place is perfect... It is dusty sometimes, but can't really help that if there is no rain for months. Guess I'm just partial to this place because its given me some great memories and more to come. I hope ppl can look past some small stuff and just enjoy what you can. Don't sweat the small stuff...it's good therapy for me! the rules are enforced..but if you don't say anything to the rangers about disturbance or things going on, how do you expect it to be handled? Tell someone if you are having trouble with neighbors or bad behavior! They will do something about it! Have a great day! Hope everyone goes for the New Years ride to the cabin...tons of fun.....:)
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/29/2010 8:17:18 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/17/2010 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camp sites were nice from what we could see, we had to go into the overflow, which suprised me as we arrived on a Thurs. Very dusty, hated the bath houses, guess they figure no one knows how to shut off water, had a preset button you had to push to get 2 minutes of luke warm water. Really didn't like the trails, very flat, dusty (I know it hadn't rained in a while) and extreamly rocky, fastest you could ride if you cared for your horse was a walk. Also nothing to look at, the lake ride was boring. I know folks love this place, I'm just glad we all like different things. Will not be back.
Reviewed by: Wayne and Cindy on 11/10/2010 5:28:32 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/6/2010 Hometown: Monroe , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground was nice. Trails were great. We were told and read how strict they were on people, which is what we were expecting and wanting. But we did not experience this. We did encouter a problem or two. When we arrived, our coggins was not checked or ask for the stalls were nasty from whomever was there before us. Then we had neighbors that drank, were loud, language was extreme,rude, parked their trucks behind ours in our drive, shone their lights in our sleeping area at night, ran their generators all night. They had people going and coming till three in the morning. After saying something the first night the second night got worse. I had my five year old grandson and we ended up leaving a day early because of the behavior. If they are going to have rules, I really feel they should be enforced for the sake of those who chose this place because I thought it would be family geared. That was very very disappointing. I have been camping with horses all over for many many years and this luckily is the first experience I have had like this one.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/1/2010 10:57:50 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/8/2010 Hometown: Fayetteville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wrangler's is always fun, from the trails, to just relaxing and watching camp riders and wagon teams!
Reviewed by: Bob on 6/9/2010 1:07:01 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/28/2010 Hometown: Utica, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is our favorite place to go. They have rules to follow which makes for a pleasant experience. No loud partying, rowdy campers. Nicest place we've been. Staff friendly and helpful. Laundromat, showers, close to other things to see on a rainy day. Trails well-maintained. Excellent clean-up after ice storm. Scenery beautiful. Nice ride to lake, etc. Only complaint is they don't enforce cleaning stalls when you leave; it's in the rules, but we've only been once that we didn't have a mess to clean up. Been to other campgrounds with stalls and that has never been a problem with arriving with a clean stall. Would be nice to have more stalls built for people who stall their horses. This is the only complaint and/or suggestion.
Reviewed by: Deb on 10/1/2009 11:55:58 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2009 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I just wanted to say that they did a great job of cleaning up the campground and trails!!! I just wanted to say "thanks" to all the hard-workers that contributed to the clean up.....I know it took them a while, but they had us in their best interest! The staff is wonderful and really helpful.......Keep up the good work, guys and gals!!! I'll see ya soon!!!!!
Reviewed by: Tracey on 6/4/2009 7:36:34 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , TN

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List