HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Zumbrota Bottoms
(click on name for more information)


Theilman, MN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 12 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 12 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First of all, the actual name of the trail and camp is Zumbro Bottoms, not Zumbrota Bottoms. The campgrounds are very pleasant. We stayed at the west campground, which is the biggest one. There are plenty of places to park, get water for your horses, and put manure. There is no electricity, so if you have a living quarters, you'll need a generator. There are fire rings at each site and a few outhouses. We visited the central and north campgrounds as well. The north campground is very small, for maybe no more than six trailers, if that. It is more secluded and is the perfect place if you have a small group. The central campground has a moderate amount of sites, maybe 15-20. Unfortunately, the road leading to it is very bouncy, and if you were to meet anyone on the road, it would not be good. The trails were excellent. The one thing that they do need to do is update their maps and signs. We got lost and turned around several times. The gnats were bad at this time. There are plenty of hills to climb for more experienced horses and riders, and likewise, there are easy trails for those who want an easy ride. A soft-footed horse might need shoes. There are some rocky areas and then some sandy trails. There doesn't seem to be any water crossings. Don't cross the Zumbro River because the bottom is unstable. There is a bridge instead that you can use. Overall, it's a great place to ride. You can go onto Youtube and type in Zumbro Bottoms to see a collection of pictures and videos I put together from the ride.
Reviewed by: CorazonLock on 8/24/2015 7:36:55 PM
More reviews by CorazonLock
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/12/2015 Hometown: Garner , IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails were great.Lots of different trails to ride. They were having an endurance race the same weekend.Still plenty of room to camp at the Main campground.Well worth the trip and will come back.
Reviewed by: Barb on 11/2/2012 6:42:23 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/18/2012 Hometown: Cloquet, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent trail map and marked trails. Shady trails some rolling hills and challenging. Very well maintained and clean trails. Motor cycle club had clean up volunteers before and after their event. Beautiful bridge crossing to ride both sides. Lots of scenic overlooks. Electric pump for water at entrance. Clean pit toilets, nice large overhead tie ups, Grill and picnic table at each site. Milo and Karen were excellent camp hosts. Some sites had longer grass for horses to eat but not overly long. Flat and level for parking. Sufficient manure pits for disposal with wheelbarrows. Great riding and great trails. Linda and Pat Iowa and Indiana Cowgirls!
Reviewed by: Linda and Pat on 6/12/2012 4:18:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/15/2012 Hometown: Waterloo, IA & Ft. Wayne, IN, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camp grounds are poorly kept - often grass / weeks not mowed. You can smell the out houses 5 miles out. Trails are great.
Reviewed by: Jake on 1/2/2012 5:37:03 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/8/2011 Hometown: Rochester, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Be sure your horse is in great physical shape if you're going to climb these hills! These trails can be very challenging (there are nice flat trails, too, if you don't want too much of a challenge). We prefer the campsites in the woods for a little more privacy. Can't wait to go back!
Reviewed by: KH on 8/17/2011 11:16:35 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/18/2011 Hometown: Burnsville, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Zumbro is one of my favorite places to ride - can find some very challenging trails and easier ones as well, but challenging, especially after the last batch of storms. many trails are basically missing- Texas Trail and Dakota draw were impassable when we were there. Still had tons of great riding and the down trees and washouts just made it more of a fun challenge for us, but letting others know that it may take some time to put the park back together as many trails are not as they were in years past.We chatted with the game warden and they will fix what they can as fast as they can. Much appreciated!! Shoes for sure are a must and the fall is the best as far as scenery, but we enjoy visiting year round! Love the new bridge!!!
Reviewed by: Heather on 8/17/2010 8:19:08 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/15/2010 Hometown: Montgomery, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been riding the Zumbro Bottoms since before it became the Zumbro Bottoms. In the 1960's my Grandfather farmed the land. To me it is the best place to ride in Minnesota. Period. I am posting this to let people know about the Frost Bite Ride. It is the annual fundraiser to support the Bottoms. 100% of the money raised goes to the Bottoms for support of the trails and improvements of the campgrounds. Your camping fees and trail pass money does not stay at the Bottoms, only your donations do. Over the years we have raised funds for major improvements including new picket lines, well repair and new outhouses. We have also been able to pair up your donations with Federal grant monies, thereby doubling the contributions. Please come and help support the Bottoms. The Frostbite Ride is always the last full weekend in October. The dates for this year are 10/23 - 10/25 2009.
Reviewed by: Dawn Dick on 10/15/2009 6:54:45 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/15/2009 Hometown: Kellogg, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Zumbro Bottoms is one of our favorite places to ride in Minnesota. There are trails for just about everyone. There is a brand new bridge so you can now access the trails on both sides of the river. There are three campgrounds for you to choose from. If you have a large group you will want to go to the main campground. The smallest campground has just enough room for 3 or 4 trailers but is the closest campground to the bridge making it the best one to access the trails on both sides of the river. The trails have been remarked and it is very easy to find your way around. We have never been to Zumbro where we had a problem with bugs and have been there at many times of the season. There are gorgeous overlooks and lots of trees to ride in. We also enjoy the trail along the river. We highly recommend you either shoe your horse or use boots as Zumbro is very rocky. There are two motorcross rides at Zumbro, one in the spring and one in the fall. You will need to find out when they are so you can steer clear of there on those weekends. You will not be sorry if you go to Zumbro!! Happy Trails!!
Reviewed by: Terri on 10/12/2009 11:56:09 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/4/2009 Hometown: Pine City, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Zumbro Bottoms is a great place to take your horses and family. The trails along the old railroad beds are sandy and smooth. The trail on top are nice with some beautiful look outs. You could ride for days non-stop and never see the same trail. Trails could be marked better but if you have a sence of direction, you'll figure it out. Certain times of the year the bugs are really bad so bring your bug spray!
Reviewed by: Krissy on 5/1/2009 11:19:00 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Rochester, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I've been riding at zumbro bottoms for about 6 years. The campground is nice. The last weekend in october is the 'frost bite' ride and the big campground is completely full but its a lot of fun. In 2007 the bridge was closed to horses but fall 2008 they tore it out and they're suppose to have the new bridge ready by spring 2009. I'd recommend shoes on your horses because some of the trails are really rocky. Be careful when you let your horse drink in the river because the river bottom is very muddy and easy for horses to get stuck and panick in. Deer flies can be really bad around the river/swampy areas in July. Its a beautiful place to ride in the fall with all the scenic overlooks.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/2/2009 12:52:11 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/1/2008 Hometown: Preston, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have rode zumbro in late fall last 4 years. I love it. Beauitful out looks. You can take easy trails along the old rail road bed and river bottoms or make some good climbs with narrow paths. Can ride for days. Maps are Ok...Better have sence of direction...The camp grounds are clean with vaulted bathrooms, pump water no elect. Will keep returning. Can have loud of on some weekends. I dont mind but some may.
Reviewed by: Mary on 12/25/2008 1:33:20 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/20/2008 Hometown: Wadena, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great time the bugs were not to bad.They had a storm 2 weeks before but the trails were not to bad, except some down trees we had to get around. My 10 year old granddaughter did fine. You should have shoes on your horse, and we did see wildlife every day.
Reviewed by: Dale Bontreger on 8/4/2008 4:19:02 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/18/2008 Hometown: Beetown Wi, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground is quite large. The bugs can get annoying on hot humid days. We didnt have a huge problem though. Some trails are nice and wide for the beginner. If you would like a challenge, there are a lot of other trails. We come back every year. Very nice place for camping and riding!
Reviewed by: Breanne on 4/2/2007 5:22:16 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/26/2006 Hometown: , MN