HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for red hill horse camp
(click on name for more information)


Mt. Vernon, Ky

Overall TRAIL RATING with 32 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 32 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a wonderful weekend at Red Hill. This is the 4th time I have camped there this year. Best camp anywhere.! Trails are great, some hills are rocky but plenty of creeks and rock formations. The rock arches are a very popular destination. Close to interstate 75 for easy access. Hope to return before cold weather.
Reviewed by: carmiletta steele on 10/22/2017 10:44:40 PM
More reviews by carmiletta steele
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/20/2017 Hometown: Sandgap, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent the weekend at my home away from home. This is the best set up camp I have ever visited. The barn is located in the middle of the camp with the campsites surrounding the barn. Any where you are camped, you are close to your horse, Most campsites are close enough you can watch your horse from your campfire. Very shady, I don't even roll out my awning. Clean showers electric, water at every site,and sewer dump. The trails are hilly but Gene is improving many of them daily. I will definitely return every chance I get.
Reviewed by: carmiletta steele on 10/31/2016 10:57:40 AM
More reviews by carmiletta steele
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/28/2016 Hometown: Sandgap, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from Labor Day weekend at Red Hill horse camp. Gene and Roseland are great camp host. They always make you feel welcome and make sure you have everything you need. The stalls were clean and the campsite was in great shape when we arrived. Gene made sure all the trailers in our party were parked and taken care of. We always enjoy going to Red Hill. The trails were in pretty good shape. We did experience a few bees in spots but other then that it was a great weekend. If haven't checked out Red Hill Horse Camp, you should put it on your list. You will not be disappointed.
Reviewed by: masong on 9/7/2016 11:18:25 AM
More reviews by masong
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/3/2016 Hometown: Harrodsburg, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First trip Red Hill and had a great time. Excellent camp and horse stalls and greatly enjoyed the trails. Only issue was the lack of consistent trail markings, but outside control of the camp. Will definitely return.
Reviewed by: Aubrey R. Henley on 9/6/2016 10:40:58 PM
More reviews by Aubrey R. Henley
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/2/2016 Hometown: Rineyville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Red Hill is an excellent choice for camping! Gene is a gracious & friendly host who's priority is the comfort of his guests. Spacious campground with plenty of access to water and shaded sites. Immaculate bath houses. Stalls are level & roomy with access to plentiful sawdust for bedding. The trails provided challenges & beautiful views, & we were fortunate to get guided rides while we were there. You will enjoy your stay I assure you....we will def be going back!
Reviewed by: Sherri on 10/28/2015 2:47:38 PM
More reviews by Sherri
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/15/2015 Hometown: Winfield, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My family visits Red Hill several times a year. We have never been disappointed. Great Shady campground with all the amenities and hospitality is always there with Roz and Gene, the owners. It is becoming like going home. love it
Reviewed by: Darlene West on 10/20/2015 2:57:36 PM
More reviews by Darlene West
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/15/2015 Hometown: Williamstown, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Carmiletta Steele on 7/30/2015 4:50:42 PM
More reviews by Carmiletta Steele
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/24/2015 Hometown: Sandgap, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Large shady camp sites. Clean and warm bath houses. Great trails with fabulous scenery. Owner, Gene a good man takes the time to visit every campsite and knows what his campers are doing. No complaints but a suggestion, I would like to see a cabin with private facilities for rent for those that don't have trailer with living quarters. Love. Red Hill Horse Camp not to mention it's close to home.
Reviewed by: Linda tipton on 11/24/2014 7:07:12 PM
More reviews by Linda tipton
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/26/2014 Hometown: Lancaster, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Traveled to Red Hill for 2 days in October on our way to TN. The camp was easy to find out of Livingston on a pretty, winding road. Fairly close to the interstate. The camp itself was very tidy and shady. The stalls were clean and bedded when we arrived there. Most of the camp sites are in amongst the trees. Gene was so friendly and helpful. He greeted us right away and took my husband through the camp on his cart to find a site. He rode around the camp often to check on everyone. He went over the trail map with me. The bathrooms were clean and tidy. The shower water was hot!! The trails were cleared well and gorgeous through these foothills. The markings were a bit hard to find, mostly on trees and were hidden by leaves etc. We rode out with a group of folks from Michigan and spent 6 hours on the trails and only covered a small portion of the trails. Will have to go back to see the rest and get onto the Sheltowee Trace.
Reviewed by: RachelV on 10/13/2013 1:48:00 PM
More reviews by RachelV
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/5/2013 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Returned to Red Hill for the first time this year. Gene has improved the trail going out of camp. Rerouting one part and cleaned the rocks off another part. As usual the campground is great with so much shade we don't even put our awning out
Reviewed by: C. Steele on 6/29/2013 1:32:16 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/20/2013 Hometown: Sandgap, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camped at Red Hill again this week. This is the third time this year, I am so lucky to live close. We were the only campers there as it was Mon. - Wed. but Gene checked on us twice and made sure everything was ok.Great Camp!
Reviewed by: C Steele on 8/22/2012 7:04:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/21/2012 Hometown: SandGap , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: carmie on 8/3/2012 9:54:53 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/28/2012 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from a couple of days at Red Hill. The camp ground couldnt be any better and Gene is building another barn. The trails are beautiful and Gene is making new ones all the time. Gene is a great host and tries to make everyone comfortable and happy. Keep up the great work Gene!
Reviewed by: Carmiletta Steele on 5/12/2012 6:29:37 PM
More reviews by Carmiletta Steele
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/10/2012 Hometown: SandGap , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned on Sunday from our first trip to Red Hill Horse camp. We had never ridden in the eastern part of KY before so we were unsure of what to expect but overall had a very nice trip. We arrived on a Wed afternoon and were the only ones at the camp grounds but the owner had laid out maps, and had our stalls and camp site ready. The stalls are clean and safe (10x10) with saw dust already in them and a free pile to add to if needed. The sites are level and shaded with water and electric available at each one. The only thing is to make sure you have plenty of hose and cord because the hook ups can be as far as 50’ at some sites. The bathhouse is very nice with two complete bath rooms for each men and women, and each one includes a toilet, sink, shower, and changing bench. The main office is complete with a lounge area and kitchen for serving meals during the organized rides and holiday weekends….. This however was not open during our visit but the owner was nice enough to give us a tour. The trials are marked well enough to not get lost, and the owner came by our camp site and highlighted a couple of routes for us to take. There are plenty of creek and water crossings and once you reach the forest area it is some very pretty ridding. However, I would not recommend this area for a beginner or for a young out of shape colt. Some of the inclines are long and require a little work to get around but nothing extreme. Overall… The campground is very nicely laid out and put together by a horse rider for horses, and the owner is in the process of building another stall barn now. The trails are nice but with only one trial head out of camp you do have to ride about 30 to 40 minutes (depending on your gait) to the forest and you will encounter a few steep inclines but all are passable with a little common sense. I would recommend a visit to Red Hill Horse camp as it was worth our 3.5 hour drive.
Reviewed by: Mike on 4/9/2012 2:07:02 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/4/2012 Hometown: Hartford, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Red Hill is one of the nicest horse camps around and you could not ask for a better host than Gene. We had 38 of our Washington County OHC Club attend this ride and everyone was delighted with the camp sites, horse stalls, washing facilities and the food was great. The trails are quite challenging, but the views are breathtaking from atop some of the peaks. The trails might be rocky at times, but you have many opportunities to wade your horse in the creeks, meander through the woods, and even ride to a little pub along one of the trails. We could not have asked for a more accomodating or hospitable host than Gene, what a great guy. I cannot say enough good things about the host or his wonderful camp! This was actually our 2nd year in a row here and we plan to go back again soon!
Reviewed by: Steve & Debbie Johnson on 3/1/2012 10:34:29 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/27/2010 Hometown: Fleming, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camped at Red Hill 3 times this year. Twice when it was too hot to camp anywhere else. With the shaded campsites and shady trails along the creeks, it was enjoyable. The next time the camp was full, but Gene shifted things around and made room for us. Great hospitality, trails and campsites. I hope the weather lets me go again.
Reviewed by: Carmiletta steele on 11/19/2011 4:55:27 PM
More reviews by Carmiletta steele
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/15/2011 Hometown: Sandgap, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent Campground and staff! Our group uses riding horses and team drawn wagons with draft horses. Some of the trails are not accessible to wagons, many are. It is a very good place to ride and visit. People there have been exceptionable including the other camper/riders. Again, the campground and facilities, staff and trails are very nice for our group!
Reviewed by: Greg on 10/10/2011 9:46:26 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/18/2011 Hometown: SADIEVILLE, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Best place to camp,ride, or visit. Gene is very nice and helpful. Great campground better trails. Can't wait to get back:)
Reviewed by: Alicia on 9/6/2011 6:05:22 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/28/2011 Hometown: Mannsville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We are here now and won't be leaving for seven days! So far it's been a bit rainy but the campground, showerhouse and barn are top notch. Nice level shady sites. Even with all the rain over the last couple days the campsites are not sloppy. Having a great time. Come join us. Plenty of room.
Reviewed by: Chris, Aleta, Brett, Val, and the kids on 4/24/2011 2:32:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/24/2011 Hometown: Lavalette, Wv. , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Gene's Thanksgiving ride was great! The weather wasn't perfect but everthing else was. Gene and Roz are great hosts. The food was great(all you can eat home cooking} They have a large dining hall to "hang out "in when the weather delays the ride, but as soon as the sun popped out, we grabbed our saddles and took off. Can't say enough about this camp except be sure you try it out in 2011
Reviewed by: C.S on 1/8/2011 7:03:32 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/26/2010 Hometown: Sandgap, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A great place to ride. The campground was roomy, secluded, shaded and convenient to water/elec. A great place to camp. The campground was one of the best. Large, secluded sites in the trees, convenient to elec.& water. Large, safe stalls. Nice owner who was very hospitable. Good trail maps. The trails were a bit rocky but to be expected There was a good variety of trails. The colors were fantastic mid-Oct.
Reviewed by: Judy on 10/29/2010 7:24:18 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/20/2010 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

You won't find nicer and more accomodating folks than these. Their hospitality is unmatched.
Reviewed by: Karen on 6/30/2010 5:51:26 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/15/2010 Hometown: Louisville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent 5 days at Red Hill. VERY nice camp. Most sites are wooded-- level and big enough for big rigs. Nice stalls and shavings furnished. Sleeping Cabin being worked on now - Loved the trails-- rocky and hilly in spots. Gene treated us wonderfully and we will be back soon- along with our friends
Reviewed by: Claudia Q on 6/14/2010 12:19:02 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/8/2010 Hometown: Henryville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Red Hill Horse Camp is wonderful. Gene and his family make you feel right at home. The trails are awesome. We hope to come back soon. Can not say enough nice things about this camp.
Reviewed by: Donna on 5/17/2010 5:08:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/14/2010 Hometown: Sunbury, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

THE BEST !!!!!!! EVERYTHING, EVERYBODY. GENE KNOWS WHAT HE IS DOING AND HE IS DOING IT RIGHT. GOING BACK VERY SOON
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/20/2009 3:28:32 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2009 Hometown: , OH

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List