HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Cook Forest Area Scenic Trail Ride
(click on name for more information)
Clarion, PA

Overall TRAIL RATING with 80 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 78 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The camp is easy to find and there is plenty of room for turning your rig. The bath house is clean and nice. We used the tie stalls and found them to be just fine for us. We had little contact with Terri or Ray however; we had plenty of contact with them while planning our trip and they were helpful and what they told us was accurate. We took our own horses but we were able to see some of the horses they use for guided rides and they appeared to be great trial horses. Some of the trails were really rocky so I would recommend having shoes all the way around. Trail maps are pretty good but not exact so pay attention on the trial. If they offer to trailer you to the river crossing, take them up on the offer, its a solid 1.5 to 2 hours from camp to the crossing. The trails are well marked and you have a lot of riding right from the camp. We stayed in a bunk house more like a sleeping room and it was clean and worked for us. There is a lot of hills and some of the trails are a good climb, the river crossings are awesome and the scenery is grand. I have seen a lot of beautiful places but cannot say that any of them are much prettier than the sights we had seen there. I would suggest your horse be a good trail horse and be in good condition. We rode 9 1/2 hours the second day and if we were to take a wrong turn it could easily been 12 hours. Cell service is limited to none so, don't rely on gps or a cell phone. take a map and a compass. Cant wait to go back. One more thing, we did a more do it yourself type of ride and our expectations of involvement with the staff was low and they did a fine job just leaving us be but, when we had a question they were quick to help out, thanks staff.
Reviewed by: Doug Wade on 5/14/2015 6:47:07 AM
More reviews by Doug Wade
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/12/2015 Hometown: Newell, wv

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The purpose of the this site is to provide factual reviews of facilities. They are not all going to be favorable on every aspect or they likely would not be true. Please don't criticize people for giving opinions. I loved being at PA trail ride, I am making a little video for them of the trails I taped so they can use it for publicity. I have spent a lot of time editing etc and was going to make it a Christmas surprise. Just because I don't write every word a favorable word does not mean I did not like it there. Your sarcastic comments Jay are just that, your opinion and a sarcastic one at that.
Reviewed by: RachelV on 9/24/2013 5:18:55 PM
More reviews by RachelV
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/21/2013 Hometown: ,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The riding is incredible, the hospitality unmatched. No one can work harder than Ray and Terri Smith, owners of Cook Forest Scenic Trail Ride, to make your stay a memorable one. I guess it is just human nature that hundreds, no, thousands of people over the last 25 years have really enjoyed themselves at Cook Forest Scenic Ride but have not taken the time or did not know about this website to express their appreciation for the experience they had. While conversely, those few people who have something to complain about are very active in making their complaints known. Is it as interesting to you as it is to me that most often they do not sign their names? And what do they complain about? That the trails are rocky, that there are tree roots on the trails and there is mud. Duh? It's nature, it's the mountains. I don't think they would ever get permission, but would they be happier riding on a golf course? How long would it take how many horses to turn the golf course into a mud pit? Then there are the people who complain about the maps which are provided for their convenience. Since the number of complainers seems to be quite small, I have to wonder if it is a problem with the map readers and not the map itself. And how about the complaints regarding the cleanliness of the bathrooms? Maybe the complaints should be directed at the people who leave the bathrooms in a condition that causes people to complain about them. Dogs barking? Yes, that can be a problem. And what is ironic is that the owners of the barking dogs do not know it is happening, unless they are told, because most of the barking occurs while they are out on the trails riding, and the dogs are, most often, locked in the horse trailers. Hey, I know! How about if Ray and Terri hire a canine specialist to provide doggie daycare while their owners are away? But, I guess the owners would not be interested in the additional expense. How about some of the other absurd comments. There is the person who was ticked off because Tommie Turvey did not show up. Is that Ray's fault? I don't think so. Take it up with Tommy on his website or Facebook. Someone complained that cow sorting took too long and was too crowded. "It took 90 minutes between rounds." What can I say? Someone complained about too many flies. Really? It is a horse campground. I guess that person was there the week before Ray and Terrie paid the Pennsylvania Air National Guard to fly over the campground with fly spray. Someone else complained that "they won't allow picketing even with tree protectors". I don't know the definition of picketing but it's my understanding that you can put your horse just about anywhere as long as they don't damage the trees. I really like the one about the person who rented a tie stall but could not get his horse to go into it. Perhaps if they had been there during a different phase of the moon, it would have been easier. And someone was unhappy that the "stalls were too far away from the cabins." My guess is that it would take about a minute and a half to cover the distance, maybe a little bit longer if you are using a walker or if you were on crutches. So, people who are website savvy know there is no way to guarantee the veracity of the comments made, or the integrity of the people making them. No matter what one does, no matter how hard anyone tries, it's just reality that you can't please all the people all the time. So, if you are looking for an incredible horse riding experience, this is the place you want to be. Believe all of the good things you read. There is one more organized ride at the end of September. If you can not make a ride or weekend this year, plan on signing up next spring and helping Ray and Terrie begin their second quarter of a century of fabulous equine adventures!
Reviewed by: Jay on 9/24/2013 8:28:37 AM
More reviews by Jay
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/2/2013 Hometown: Clinton, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Jay on 9/24/2013 7:48:22 AM
More reviews by Jay
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/2/2013 Hometown: Clinton, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time food was good ,campground was nice guided ride was long but fun , I did get a stall and was very happy I slept better knowing my horses where in a stall more like home since I don't take them overnight often .(but the tire stall area looks nice too) .campground map shows you the sights that have electric and water would love to come again as soon as time allows
Reviewed by: Karen Knight Houston on 9/3/2013 6:54:34 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/15/2013 Hometown: Conestoga, Pennsylvania, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Ray and Terrie Smith couldn't work harder to insure that their guests' every wish is accommodated. They kept me happy and busy from dawn to dusk for the week. WONDERFUL activities and company. I'll be going back ASAP
Reviewed by: Cathleen Springer on 9/3/2013 6:16:58 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/10/2013 Hometown: Aquebogue, NY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just came back from Cook's Forrest, Pa. Loved it. Ray and Terrie are very helpful. Loved having them drop us off at the Country Store and riding out from there. When we got back we called and they came,picked us up and took us back to camp. These are not city park trails. There are some rocks and mud, probably 80% of the trails are old logging roads and very easy to ride, you are in the mountains and it is beautiful. We like to be able to climb rocks and drop down into creeks and we always ride with a GPS, this helps if you don't quite understand or miss a trail marking. We ride gaited horses and there is plenty of places to gait. The food was great, all their employees were friendly. They do not have marked camp sites. You pull in the trees and camp so you may have to level just a little and you have to put up your own picket line. This is their 25th year doing this and it was our 20th year of vacationing there. We will be back.
Reviewed by: Jill Eckroad on 9/3/2013 10:09:01 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/1/2013 Hometown: Massillon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent 4 days and 3 nights at Cook Forest PA Trail Ride in August 2013. Campground was quiet, only a few other campers. As our experience here, the place was quite tidy. The restrooms were clean nd well stocked. There were a lot of flies at the sites. The trails are excellent, especially across the river. Ray has done a lot of work on the Picture Rock trail, clearing stones and widening the trail in the hillside, so much so that it is a MUCH better ride now. We rode across at both the Picture Rock Crossing and the Highland Road crossing, it has another name, but I cannot recall it now.... We rode the Boiler trail, ran into bees on the Keyhole segment above the river, but it was a gorgeous ride. The second day we rode the Rim Trail and some of the loops down to where Highland Road ends and leads to the river. We rode the Alberts trail, got lost and ended up going further out, found a LOVELY bend in the river with a nice area to let the horses graze and for us to eat lunch. Got a bit lost finding our way back but made just the same. We were out nearly 7 hours. The ride over to the river crossings is the only down side - 1-2 hours to get there and back limits the time to ride those trails. The camp will ferry you in a nice stock trailer one way but due to other demands they cannot take you both ways. Owners and staff are hospitable and friendly, called and got a farrier to replace a shoe for me. This camp will be a frequent stop for this trail rider!
Reviewed by: Rachel V on 9/2/2013 5:00:41 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/21/2013 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Over the past 3 years I have been all over the Northeast camping with my horses and this is my first bad review of a place. We had box stalls reserved, when we got there other horses were in our stalls, had to wait while they moved them. Then come to find out later on that the horses they moved were sick. Saw them the day before we left with globs of green snot and runny eyes. Shipping fever, which of course our horses caught. They were the owners horses or his sons. Never asked to see our health papers. People there were not very friendly, they just point in the general direction of camp and up to you to find a spot. Not that many 30 amp electric hookups or water hookups as we were led to believe and very difficult to get a big rig into a spot. Owners never came by to see if we needed anything. Trails were very confusing and not well marked or maintained. Lots of exposed roots and most trails were very rocky. Most horse people travel with their dogs, as I do, not a very dog friendly place. Also overcharged us and didn't want to do a refund. Took t-shirts in place of refund, but will not wear them at other horsecamps as I would not recommend this place to anyone. Good points, nice showerhouse, lots of horse manure dump stations around camp, lots of shade.
Reviewed by: rose on 8/21/2013 8:23:05 PM
More reviews by rose
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/10/2013 Hometown: New Martinsville, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

what a ripoff payed over $600. dollars and tommie Turvey donot show John a Josh Lyons yippe yippee same old shit.Always use thiers after 20 yrs. of samething. Also watch for all of the hidden fees.I think I know as much as the 2 experts.
Reviewed by: From Ohio on 7/16/2013 1:40:13 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/23/2013 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Attended the food ride last week. Ray and his staff are great. Food was very good. Trails are very Rocky, should have four shoes for sure. We were very disappointed that Tommy did not show up. However,Josh did a nice job. A long trip for us most likely will not be back.
Reviewed by: Buck on 6/25/2013 10:24:20 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/17/2013 Hometown: Delta, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Old trail to the river crossing is NOT open yet, but not the campground owners' fault. Hopefully soon the old crossing will be open again. What is new are trails are better marked, more trails across the river, and a free shuttle service to a drop off area about 20 minutes from the river crossing. Once across the river you can ride 1 hr to 7 hours in various size loops. Old forest to open fields, deep ravines, fresh streams, and breath taking views. Once you get back to the pick up area and quick call gets you picked up in under 15 minutes!!!! Otherwise it is about an hour and a half ride to the river crossing. The trails can be very rocky in places. The campground is tidy, bathrooms kept fairly clean. Meals are offered on organized rides. They ran out of wood on the first night and we had to go buy some. Maps are available but not very accurate, just approximations of the trail location. Being better marked helped this year but we lost the trail several times when riding the blue trail across the river and got turned around. I highly recommend taking GPS. We are making our own maps for future use. Their guides and staff are very kind and helpful! We will be making regular trips to this destination.
Reviewed by: RachekV on 5/27/2013 6:56:50 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/24/2013 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

No complaints here. We had a blast! Bathrooms were clean, stocked and had privacy which I appreciated. Enjoy riding their trails especially on the other side of the river. Campground offered many activities; something for everyone. The mechanical bucking bull was a favorite of everyone. Nice family atmosphere. We will be back next year.
Reviewed by: Alyssa, Heath & Sean on 1/24/2013 7:49:36 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/18/2012 Hometown: , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My favorite place to vacation! Trails are not as rocky as out west. Trails are very nice to ride on. Many scenic & safe overviews. Very clean restrooms. Loved the Halloween party, Magician and Disc Jockey...so much fun. Ranch Sorting was also such a blast. Met alot of nice people and plan to return as often as I can. I'd recommend this horse camp to everyone who enjoys riding trail horses.
Reviewed by: Pam & Emily Harrison on 1/15/2013 4:55:48 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/7/2012 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground too noisy!! Dogs, dogs, and more dogs all barking at once!! Trails very muddy and rocky, some of the horses in our group went lame from the conditions. Public restrooms clean, but no amenities most of the time. ( toilet paper and hand towels) Food was good and plentiful. Would not return, trails not enjoyable.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/24/2012 5:06:40 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/8/2012 Hometown: , OT

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Where do I want to start???? I made res, she said I had to prepay for the stalls, so I just went ahead and paid in full for our 3 days and 2 stalls. We get there, I go check in and she gave me the receipt---$300.00. I about sh#T. We have you down for food. I told her, we only wanted just a spot with w/e and 2 box stalls. She gave me total attitude. Then refunded me $90.00. I asked, where our spot was/stalls were and she pointed, down that way, the stalls have your name on them, just camp anywhere. We have never been there before. After about 10 mins I found our stalls. They do not have pads nor is there electic/water at every site. No pinic tables. It's pretty much find a spot and hope you have a long enough extension cord and water hose to share with others. Most trails are also shared with ATV's, which we ran into about 25 in 3 days. After asking our neighbors twice to keep their 4 dogs on a leash, my husband went to talk with the owner (who knew them) and told them that their dogs need to be leashed. Well, as soon as the owner left, guess what--they unleashed their muts. The trails we were on, were very rocky and muddy. We left a day early. Also, we looked thro the campgrounds to find a dumpster, they don't even have one. We will not be back EVER.....Also, they kept popping a brecker. WHAT A DUMP. SAVE YOUR MONEY. $24 per trailer, $8 per horse, $10 per stall, 6% sales tax, 3% trail tax. THIS IS NOT WORTH IT......
Reviewed by: Teresa on 5/28/2012 5:18:31 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/28/2012 Hometown: Freedom, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Where to begin. The campground is situated in a wooded area. Electric and water are spread throughout the campground but do not have specific parking pads or fire rings or picnic tables. Horses can be on a picket line, portable corral, tie stall or they just built 10x10 box stalls that have horse mats in them. Trails are “marked” and laid out on maps but can be confusing if you don’t read the directions carefully. They offer organized trail rides where you can purchase a food package and ride with their guides (I would suggest this). Food is really good and plentiful. And the organized trail ride guides are nice to go with so you don’t have to worry about anything. Some of the trails are muddy especially the Toby Creek trail (if this is the only trail you see you would think all riding is horrible here) And I would 100% agree with you. But other trails are very nice and scenic. Across the river is the best riding but due to some trail issues it takes longer to get to the river or the owner will trailer you to a location to save you time. The shower house and restrooms are nice but sometimes have not been cleaned for awhile (not horrible but not spotless). Watch the fees. Like one person posted there is 6% sales tax, 3% trail user fee, $8 per horse per day. Just watch what they charge. Campground could use some updating but show signs of the down slide on the economy. Go atleast once and make your own decision. Make sure you don’t just ride trails within an hour or two of camp. Get out and see the other trails!!! Over all I would say try it once, most of us come back several times a year.
Reviewed by: Honest review on 10/12/2011 9:29:26 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2011 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We've been to cook forest five times now and have had great experience each time. Great trails, well marked. The campsites are clean and there are plenty of trees... Lots of shade.
Reviewed by: Derek & Rachel on 8/21/2011 6:21:53 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/20/2011 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

it was the worse week ever! the trails unmarked and terrible!!! Stalls too far away from cabins. I'm sure if we would have paid for a guide we would have MAYBE had a better ride. Paid for a week but left after 4 days. For a june week there was no one there. I can't believe people come from all over and rave about it
Reviewed by: Carol Roberts on 8/7/2011 7:48:28 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/20/2010 Hometown: COAL CENTER, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our 4th trip to PA Trail Ride and we continue to enjoy the trails and facilities immensely! The campground is neat and tidy, the showers are clean, and the trails are fairly well marked. Love the shady campground, the wash rack, and the obstacle course out back!!
Reviewed by: Rachel V. on 7/19/2011 8:41:07 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/15/2011 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved the newly built box stalls! We stayed for a week and got 2 days free, plus free firewood, water/electric hookup with no extra charge too. Clean shower house and campgrounds. Nice color coded maps which were easy to follow. Great place to vacation.
Reviewed by: Stacy McClure on 7/17/2011 7:53:23 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/15/2011 Hometown: Bridgeton, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Ray and Terri are great hosts they made us feel very welcome and at home.The camping facility's good with elec,water and showers. The trails were good from easy to hard depending on what you like.Free guide service which we loved.Had a great weekend highly recommend going there .
Reviewed by: Kathy on 7/16/2011 8:14:14 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2011 Hometown: Mcclure, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Its nice place to ride. Campground is great
Reviewed by: Leighann Patterson on 6/28/2011 5:53:22 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/28/2011 Hometown: Marietta, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

7 New Trails opened this year (2011) with more to come soon! They are also working on getting a quicker access to get to the river. (30 minutes instead of 90 minutes) They had to renegotiate due to death of landowner so plan on getting quicker access by Spring 2012. You can still enjoy the scenic Clarion River it just takes a little bit to reach it. If you want, the owner will trailer you to a drop off point for those who want a shorter ride. Food is awesome! Loved the cowboy polo, ranch sorting, auction, colt challenge and seeing the Josh Lyons and Tommie Turvey at their June organized food ride. Try it you won't be disappointed. Free firewood also available. Loved the campfire sing a longs with the yoddling etc...
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/28/2011 2:29:13 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/20/2011 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Due to no acess to the river and no new trails this year my group has no option but to ride somewhere new this year.
Reviewed by: Ohio riders on 4/20/2011 4:45:25 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/11/2011 Hometown: Salem, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Sadly, I must agree that there are a lot of "suspicious" ratings on this website. However, if you read between the lines and pick up the obvious clues (anonymous reviewers is the most obvious but also pitching a nearby campground) I hope you find it helpful. Then there's always the non-horsepeople who decide to visit a horseman's camp and are alarmed by the sight of manure on the ground. Are you kidding me?! Back on a rational level and in recognition of the fact that there are many different expectations and needs of people who are looking for a horseback trip. This particular place is geared for people who need to rent horses and pay someone to guide their ride. Wish someone would have given us the heads up before we traveled 6 hours with much excitement about all of the great things we'd heard about it. Much to our dismay, this campground was extremely disappointing for what we are accustomed to and were eagerly anticipating. It is not well-maintained, the trails are definitely NOT marked, there are many switch-back trails which decrease your ability to navigate on your own so you either wander around aimlessly or pay their "wranglers" to take you on a ride with novice riders on ranch horses riding nose to tail. They won't allow picketing even with tree protectors so you're forced to use their "stalls" which they neglect to specify as being tie stalls. The creek is beautiful but extremely swift and quite wide. Definitely not on my list of places to return.
Reviewed by: Kim Blake on 4/18/2011 10:13:40 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/23/2010 Hometown: Carrollton, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful easy to follow trails. Great maps and color coded system in following trails. Clean and shaded campground. Many things to do in the area also. Cowboy Polo, Cattle Drive, Ranch Sorting, Colt Breaking Challenge, Roping Events are some of the fun horse games they have at their campground. Can't wait to go again real soon!!!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 1/16/2011 6:33:31 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/9/2010 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great trails to ride on your own with ease. Wonderful vacation I will return.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/25/2010 5:43:12 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/6/2010 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great easy to follow trails. Everything is mapped out and color coded for ease in following. Campground was very clean. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Many restaurants within 10 miles of camp if you don't want to cook during horse camping dates when there's not a food ride going on. I've also come during the organized food rides before and couldn't believe the quality and quantity of food provided for us. Yummy! Looking forward in going again in 2011. I would definately recommend this place for a fun family vacation.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/9/2010 11:27:55 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/9/2010 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are hard to follow and not marked well, they want you to use them as a guide to make more money.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/14/2010 2:51:32 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/14/2010 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved the scenery and the trails were the absolute best. Nice amenities at camp for a great vacation. People camping and hosts were friendly to us also.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/31/2010 5:15:22 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/30/2010 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I was present at the campground when the previous couple who wrote a negative review below arrived and asked for a tent site. It was late at night and during a tack sale. The place was very busy because of the auction going on. The owner was busy checking out people etc... This campground is a Horse Campground, when they have events it is usually reserved for only horse people; sometimes an exception is made for regular campers if all the spots are not taken. Terrie always tells customers that this is a campground for horses and riders so it is not a manicured camp. Each camper cleans his own campsite of manure in conveniently located manure bins and Ray has workers who daily empty them. It is kept very clean. I talked to Terrie & she felt sorry for this couple. The man came in and said they were tired and needed a place to camp for 2 nites; it was her birthday and since this camp only charges $23.00 per night for a tent site it was also the cheapest place to go. Terrie told them they could go set up wherever they desired they returned and he said she wanted a spot so they could see the stars with not so many trees (which most people love). He said they were unprepared and didn't bring matches and hadn't camped in 10 years. He said they really weren't "the camping type". She was nervous cause in Yellowstone a grizzly bear killed someone. No matter where they chose to camp they wouldn't be happy. Terrie gave them a new box of 100 matches, cardboard for kindling and free firewood; walked all over camp at 9:30 pm trying to help them out. She went out of her way to try and make their stay an enjoyable one. Many people tent camp where they did each week with no problems. It is not a place where bear cross either. There are some bear in the woods and deer and porcupines....it's the woods....lol The road she speaks of is a dirt road in the woods; very little traffic especially at that time of night. Maybe someone coming to camp that gets in late is all. It is a shame people get on here and lie like that and mislead others. I return as often as I can to the "horse lovers paradise" You can come here when there is not a regular scheduled food ride and ride for the day for only $10.00. You can't do it during food rides then the camp space is reserved for those wanting the all inclusive package of meals, entertainment, guide service and camping. There isn't enough space to do both at the same time. There'd be not room for those to camp for inclusive package if it was filled with all day riders. Our group will return for sure and recommend this place one of the best to attend.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/24/2010 6:03:08 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/6/2010 Hometown: White House, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I went up there this weekend to camp and horse back riding and the first thing noticed is that this place was a dump and nothing like what their website said or their brochure. There was no swimming pool and found out that it was broken for a couple of years and Jacuzzi (FALSE ADVERTISMENT). Was not happy with this at all and we could not find a good place to set up the tent because everywhere it was mud or horse SHIT everywhere, asked for the money back but instead of working with us she came out and found a place for our tent right in front of the horse stable, and near the road. So all we heard was the cars coming and going and the horses in the stable (NOT VERY RELAXING AT ALL). Moved the tent a little ways from the stables because when it got dark the lights on the stable where turned on and shined right in our tent. During the night we still heard the horse and the cars and it started to rain (I know you cannot control the weather), to make matters worse and we where unable to sleep so we ended up going into town to find us a hotel that took us a while to do anyways. On top of all that, the next morning we got back to the Ranch and went on our 5 hour ride and that was so beautiful and a great experience but during the ride, but we found out that the camp ground gets BLACK BEAR everyday and where we where told to put up our tent that is where the BLACK BEARS enter the camp every night. So now I am pissed off right now when I found that out, because I know when going camping you have no control over the wild life but if you know that you have BLACK BEAR coming into you’re the camp ground you do not put your customer in the direct path of the BEAR. Also found out that there have not had campers with tens in the area for over 3 years because of the BLACK BEARS. After telling them this plus with the FALSE ADVERTISMENT that there website and brochures saying that there is swimming available they still would not refund our money back for Saturday night and there was NO WAY we would stay there that night or any night after that. WILL NOT BE RECOMMENDING THIS PLACE TO ANYONE.
Reviewed by: Steve on 8/10/2010 6:33:16 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 8/7/2010 Hometown: Cleveland, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Ray offers daily rates during non organized ride weeks to park and ride on your own - beware - if you want to park and ride during an organized ride with no camping/no meal you still have to pay $55 per person!! Beware. We wanted to join others we knew that were camping for a short ride ON OUR own, no guides and were asked for $110 for 2 of us. Pass, thank you.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/7/2010 7:47:27 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/14/2010 Hometown: Western, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved riding across the Clarion River the most scenic overviews..a must see. worth the trip for sure!
Reviewed by: David on 2/9/2010 9:16:43 PM
More reviews by David
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/13/2009 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our second trip to Cook Forest. The food is excellent, home cooked, comfort food and the trial riding is challenging and very clearly marked. Two organized rides go out daily, but we preferred to meander at our own pace. Sites are wooded, but not terribly private. I am not a big fan of the narrow tie in stalls, but managed to work around it by backing my horse in. Remember to bring shavings as they are not provided. There is a nearby Tractor Supply Store should you forget any horse supplies. The town of Clarion is a short 10 minute drive and is has a Walmart as well as a number of fast food/diner type restaurants should you miss dinner. We like this place so much that we plan on making it an annual trip!
Reviewed by: Susan on 9/16/2009 4:42:45 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/5/2009 Hometown: Dallas, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The riding was ok. The river was TOO LONG due to the fact that there is only one way t0 go there now It is a 6 hrs. to many fields and road now.Ray is going to have to find a way to have better rides or people will ride somewhere else.
Reviewed by: false advertising on 9/10/2009 12:35:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/24/2009 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My wife and I spent an amazing week at Cook Forest Area Scenic Trail Ride in early July 2009. The trails were great, the campground is beautiful, and best of all Terrie, Ray and the workers were all very helpful. They couldn't do enough for us and it was nice to stay somewhere with people who seemed glad to have us. One day we had a loose shoe and they had their son who is a farrier reset it. They came around the camp frequently to talk with us and see if everything was satisfactory. Restrooms and showers were very clean. Trails were a little muddy from a week of rain before we got there but were well marked and fun to ride. Very scenic trails and we had a lot of fun playing in both Toby Creek and the Clarion River. Rode to the Dew Drop Inn for lunch one day. Just tied the horses outside and had a good meal at a fair price. We look forward to going back for another stay. Town of Clarion is a few miles away and it has grocery stores, WalMart, and a TSC for about anything you need. Found the people of Clarion to be very friendly.
Reviewed by: Jon Mosier on 7/27/2009 6:56:18 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/3/2009 Hometown: Newcomerstown, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/28/2009 6:11:00 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my 3rd time camping at this place. I will be returning this year also. But, the trails are WELL used. Roots from the trees show all throughout the ride. When I asked what is being done about this they said the winter months takes care of this. There is no way they could recuperate over the winter. Never go when there was a recent rain. The mud will be 12 inches deep. The water had a very bad sulfer smell. Other then that the place was full of great horse people and a place I want to go back to when the trails are dry.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/28/2009 5:00:57 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/21/2008 Hometown: Shickshinny, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just simply a wonderful campground and place to vacation. The trails and facilities are very nice. Hope to enjoy more good times there.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 4/28/2009 4:09:33 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/14/2009 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I liked staying here and I think you would too. Very nice trails & good people run it. I gained weight from eating all that home made food. I am looking forward to many more good times here in 2009.
Reviewed by: Mrs. Joan Fulley on 4/15/2009 9:22:41 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2008 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

OUR GROUP WAS VERY IMPRESSED WITH THIS HORSE CAMPGROUND. THEY HAVE ALL THE AMENITIES AND GREAT FOOD AND WARM HOSPITALITY. THE TRAILS WERE TRULY OUTSTANDING. NORTHWESTERN PA IS SUCH A PRETTY SCENIC AREA TO VISIT. WE ARE RETURNING NEXT YEAR FOR SURE. WE RECOMMEND THIS CAMP.
Reviewed by: KY GANG on 4/11/2009 7:47:12 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2008 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place is awesome! I will return for sure at every opportunity I get. They treat you here with respect.
Reviewed by: Kim Kiefman on 4/7/2009 11:19:11 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/15/2008 Hometown: Saxton, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I don't make it a practice to bash campgrounds or propiters and I wont't start now. And I won't rate myself an expert, because that implies I know it all. and if I cant learn something at the end of the day, I wasn't paying attention. I went with a groop of michigan and indiana residents. And the first thing that went bad was ,we had to pay up first, and because we got there on saturday and had to pay for the scheuled ride, even tho we were there to ride by ourselves. well I dug deep into my wallet, and I came up short about $200.00 and they wouldn't take a check. I borrowed some from someone in our party till we could find an atm machine. The water system consisted of a plug in pump that filled a tank that was about 7' off the ground. it was not a break thru in plumbing tecknoligy, but did work ok. We did see a lot of scenic strip mines, and made a lot of loops and circles on trails that were not well marked. We tied up in the standing stalls and most of us found a place to hang a hay bag. My hole point is we coped with our situation, but didn't get the most of what thay said we would get. We wont go back, not when there are other places in other states ,that live up to there claims and deliver what they offer. I don't regret going because of what I learned about doing more research and copeing with any situation. sincerly Ron Kieszkowski
Reviewed by: Ron Kieszkowski on 4/7/2009 8:41:42 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/5/2003 Hometown: michigan city, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I really liked going here. I will highly recommend this vacation spot to all my horse friends. Hoping to make it for the spring May ride in 2009.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 3/23/2009 7:23:38 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/5/2008 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

If I could rate it lower I would!!! Horrible!!! Would never ever go back!!!!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 3/4/2009 8:36:23 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I was talking to the owner, Ray and am excited about the upcoming events for 2009; including ranch sorting, extreme cowboy race, sumo wrestling with Josh Lyons and Tommie Turvey, colt breaking challenge. I have been coming back every year with my family. It has become our "tradition" We always have such a great time there.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 3/2/2009 8:19:45 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2008 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great horse vacation spot with my family. I will recommend to anyone!
Reviewed by: Diane on 2/22/2009 10:10:19 PM
More reviews by Diane
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2008 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The best horse camping in the state of Pa.ray and Terrie are the best hosts. Coming since 1997 and they improving ever year. We horse camp and you cannot beat the price and stay for a week you get two days FREE. Will be at al the rides in 2009.
Reviewed by: Vince on 11/16/2008 2:17:44 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Bethel Park, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

One of the best horse camps we have ever camp at. Mike,Helen,Dan and Jan. are the best guides in the world. Will come back as often as we can.
Reviewed by: old friend on 10/26/2008 11:56:05 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Ray and Terri Smith could not be any nicer to have as hosts. I have visited the camp grounds on many occasions and was always greeted with the nicest hospitality. This was our first time to camp and ride and it WON'T be our last. The food was absolutly wonderful and the riding was just as nice. The camp grounds was very clean and if you needed any thing, you were told not to hesitate to ask. Activities were available to you or you could just sit and watch the fun. Very relaxing, from movie night to the horse games, to horse shoes and even a nice tack auction. They are there to make sure your vacation is just what you need. I hope that you don't hestate to check out the trail ride. You won't be disappointed. I can't wait till we get another opportunity to go again. Thank you Ray and Terri. keep up the good work.
Reviewed by: DON AND JODY BLAKE on 7/5/2008 5:20:57 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/14/2008 Hometown: SALEM, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful place to vacation with your horses. Nice clean facility. Friendly Folk. I'll come back here as much as possible. Loved the scenery and wildlife.
Reviewed by: Diane & Steve on 2/29/2008 7:08:24 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2007 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I liked it, I loved it and want some more of it. Good place and nice folk. Trails were laid out well and beautiful scenery.
Reviewed by: John Douglas on 2/12/2008 6:40:24 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/1/2007 Hometown: , MD

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a very nice vacation here. The staff is helpful and informative. The campground is very well kept. The trails were terrific. We will return!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/7/2008 7:55:30 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/14/2007 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to vacation...we will return for sure!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 1/24/2008 9:16:49 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/18/2007 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

READERS BEWARE--There's the appearance of some 'funny business' going on with the reviews of camps in PA. On specific dates within minutes of each other are posted (under different alias's) poor reviews on Flying W, Summers Alleghany, and Hickory Creek camps. On those same dates are posted good reviews of Cook Scenic camp. For example, check 11/12/06, 2/26/07, and 12/5/07. And there are two listings for Cooks camp, comparison of the two listings will show that on the same day within minutes of each other are different good reviews under different alias's, for example check 12/11/07, 2/26/07, and 12/7/06. I've never been to any of these camps, in fact never been to PA. Be aware that ANYONE can post reviews anonymously on this board. Negative reviews can be from competing campground owners, crazy neighbors, or ex-girlfriends. Positive reviews can be from the campground owner, family, or friends. Don't believe everything you read.
Reviewed by: reader beware on 12/12/2007 8:27:03 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 12/12/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Marvelous Experience! Our group will definately return...this is horse lovers paradise vacation retreat!!! You won't be disappointed here...they deliver it all. Fun!!!
Reviewed by: Smiley on 12/11/2007 7:12:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/11/2007 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

we drove 13 hours from SC to have a great horseback vacation. The food is outstanding as is the daily rides, fellowship, tack sale, general store ride, ride to eat chicken wings and be able to tie your horses outside. Dan & Mike are awesome trail guides as is Ray and Jan, although we didn't get to go on their rides. The pool and jacuzzi is great after a long day in the saddle, although Mike & Dan may beg to differ when they see our truck pulling out of the campground to go sightseeing. We would highly recommend this place for anyone that likes to spend a week with your horses camping and meeting new people and not having to worry about cooking. We will definitely be back in 2008!!! Keep up the good work Teri, Ray, and the kids!!
Reviewed by: Paula & Joy on 9/25/2007 6:23:09 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/25/2007 Hometown: York, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were only there one night/day. We had a great time. The campground was great. The owners were wonderful and very friendly. The trail was awesome. We rode from the map they hand out on our own and the directions were perfect. We will be back again and again
Reviewed by: Laurie on 7/28/2007 10:44:46 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/14/2007 Hometown: Kittanning, Pa, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rode on Father's Day weekend this year, it was gathering days for the next weeks organized ride. We met some very nice people there. We rode one trail on Sunday that took us across the Clarion River and up the hills through some very rocky and steep terrain. The overlooks were gorgeous. You need to have shoes or boots for the trail we rode. The people were helpful and the campground was clean and tidy. There was plenty of wood (free). There were very few bugs at the campground or even in the woods. We will return soon!
Reviewed by: Rachel Vanek on 7/18/2007 6:30:58 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/16/2007 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rode on the May ride. The people at the camp will help any one who needs help. Will be there for the Labor day ride for a week. Hi guys wish could be there few more timesthis year .
Reviewed by: Vince on 7/1/2007 7:36:17 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/1/2007 Hometown: Bethel Park, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

All of the marked trails were remarked with a painted dot color coded system to replace the ribbons which previously were used. This improved the marked trails being so easy to follow now. Thanks so much!!! This is the place to go if you want to see wildlife roaming the hillsides, clean restrooms, wonderful facility, water & electric hookups, tie stalls, pool, jacuzzi, beautiful scenery, and great hosts!!! I will be back for sure. Hope to see you there too. Happy Trails! This place beats Flying W and Summers' by a long shot....there's no comparison...this place is the best in Pennsylvania or really the best in the United States.
Reviewed by: Rodger on 6/7/2007 5:11:12 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/7/2007 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my absolute best vacation I have ever had! It was a dream come true and more. I never could've imagined how much fun I would have. The weather, staff, trail guides, food, ammenities, entertainment, hospitality, and jacuzzi was all perfect! I have found "PARADISE" on earth. I will definately be back every chance I can. If you love horse back riding through the most scenic areas on earth...than this is the place for you!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 4/17/2007 11:38:01 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/17/2006 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I've been coming to Cook Forest Scenic Trail Ride since 1988. Ray and Terrie have continually made improvements to the trails and campground ever since. They also work just as hard to make sure every customer has a great experience. The food is second to none, campground is clean and the trails are challenging and very "scenic". As long as I have a horse I will continue to come to western Pennsyvania and have agreat time at Cook Forest Scenic Trail Ride.
Reviewed by: Mike on 4/10/2007 8:31:41 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/10/2006 Hometown: Rising Sun, MD

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I totally disagree with the comment posted about nowhere to tie your horse...that is the biggest laugh...you can tie right beside your camper..the campground is shaded with trees everywhere and as long as you protect the bark on the trees by wrapping or using tree savers...you can tie anywhere. You do need to bring your own picket line, or you can use a portable corral as long as you don't take up too much room or you can use a tie stall for free when there isn't a organized food ride going on. I am looking forward to coming back this year. I received a brochure and see that they are having a lot of saving specials....like if you come for a week you get an additional 2 days free and during organized food rides if you stay a week you get stalls for $4.00 a day that's half off the regular $8.00 per night price. Also if you stall for 10 days it is totally free for stalls. Also the week long rides were $269.00 last year which was economical for everything you got but this year they lowered the price by $40.00 wow so it is only $229.00 and that includes your camping in your camper trailer, 3 meals a day, 8 nights camping, use of facilities and entertainment. The trails there are so nicely laid out and not rocky. Once you get away from camp all the trails are "grassy" type. Hey folks it just doesn't get any better than this.
Reviewed by: Michael & Penny on 2/26/2007 8:22:07 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/26/2006 Hometown: , DE

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Not a better place on earth for the true horseperson.
Reviewed by: jan on 1/15/2007 1:09:34 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2006 Hometown: benezette, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Horse Heaven. No complaints. Home for the Horse Crazy. Been back every opportunity.
Reviewed by: Raetta on 1/15/2007 1:07:41 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2006 Hometown: Buffalo, NY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Horse Heaven. No complaints. Home for the Horse Crazy. Been back every opportunity.
Reviewed by: Raetta on 1/15/2007 1:06:46 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/15/2007 Hometown: Buffalo, NY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Attended the October nor frills ride, Great campground and have been their before. Again the staff and owners are very helpful and will go out of their way to help you. The ride is great to attend, before you put that trailer away come one last time to see the beautiful colorfull leaves. There is a mistake there is more than 300 miles of trails not 30 as listed in the info.
Reviewed by: Jason on 12/15/2006 10:35:52 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/4/2006 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Come here guys...this place is the absolute best place to vacation with your horses. Great facility, great hosts, great riding...we'll be back here for sure!!! Terri is the sweetest person...thanks for the hospitality.
Reviewed by: Stephanie on 12/7/2006 2:03:58 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/7/2006 Hometown: , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved it!!! Will see you again soon.
Reviewed by: Theresa on 12/4/2006 8:58:30 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 6/4/2006 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Thanks Ray and Terri , it is my favorite place for hospitality and riding. Thanks to the kitchen and camp staff, for putting their best foot forward. Scenic Ride makes a summer , one to look forward to. See you in the spring.......love....Betty
Reviewed by: Betty on 11/23/2006 5:25:21 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/23/2006 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first time. They don't assign you a spot you get to choose where you want to go which was nice. We prefer being out and away from the crowds so we liked this method. One section is all water and electric hookups which are free, they also have free stalls. They are free when they don't have an organized food ride going on. We enjoyed following the maps on our own. We went to the Ginger's Ice Cream shop...they have a rail to tie your horses to and everything. We had a blast. I would suggest to others this nice place. The folks are friendly who run it and they keep everything clean. The facility is modern with hot showers, flush toilets, dumping station, and I liked relaxing in the pool and jacuzzi was a luxury for us.
Reviewed by: Cheryl on 11/11/2006 10:01:48 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/11/2006 Hometown: , RI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I went on their web site at www.patrailride.com and saw the pictures of the trails so I would know what type of riding they have and I was hooked. I went and saw and am a believer this is the best "horse lovers paradise" to be found. I have ridden all over the United States and I like t his place the best. They have it all at one low price; food was outstanding, hospitality, ammenities, trails, free guide service, maps to go by yourself...awesome experience. Yes, I am coming back there for sure.
Reviewed by: Jonathon & Sara on 11/10/2006 9:08:45 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/18/2006 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I am not a real experienced rider...I get nervous easily. I really enjoyed going to the clinics and learning more about how to get the performance from my horse I want. I guess training of the rider is as important as training of the horse. ha ha I had a positive experience at this place. I came to an organized food ride a couple times first so I got acclamated to the area then came to just horse camp and ride on my own after that and followed the nice maps and marked trails. I went to the restaurant on horseback...that was cool. Had some great wings and then went back to camp and relaxed. Our club is going to do a private booking in the near future. I can't wait to return.
Reviewed by: Julie on 11/10/2006 8:53:34 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 8/5/2006 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I am amazed at the scenery here in Northwestern Pennsylvania. The greenery is awesome. I love the woodland trails. It's not all manicured...which is good....it is naturally layed out like nature intended it to be. Very, very scenic area. Everyone who rides horseback should really come here to ride and experience it for yourself. Indescribable. At one point I went over this knoll of a hill and could see for miles at this scenic overlook. It actually took my breath away. I followed the trail maps and did just fine following them so this trip is definately one I will repeat again soon. I met such nice people. The owners took time they didn't have to to visit with us and make us feel like "family". the campground is excellent. One of the best I have seen. They certainly offer more than any other one I have been to, with their jacuzzi and pool...it's great. I also loved working my horse in the arena.
Reviewed by: Joshua on 11/10/2006 8:47:03 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/19/2006 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I came when there wasn't an officially scheduled food ride pkg going on. My group went out on our own with the trail maps and followed the marked ribbons. We had an absolute blast....the trails are awesome....we did not have any trouble following the ribbons. We saw porcupines, squirrels, & deer regularly. The campground amenities are first class all the way. Clean restrooms with antibacterial soap provided free, water & electric hookups and stalls are free. We loved seeing the fall foliage. The most scenic riding I have ever seen. Crossing the creeks and river were very exciting. We got so many great pictures. Wonderful memories for sure...we will definately be back and would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys riding horses and seeing nature at her best. I loved getting in the jacuzzi each night...relaxes all those muscles. My best memory after a days ride was while in the jacuzzi I looked up into the night sky and saw the stars twinkling and thought.."It just doesn't get any better". Thanks to this esta blishment for providing such a nice place to horsecamp at such an inexpensive rate. I don't know how you can offer all the ammenities at this low price. I will return.
Reviewed by: Elizabeth on 11/10/2006 8:38:06 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/10/2006 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Their food was wonderful. I think I gained 4 lbs when I was there for a week. I felt welcomed by their friendly hospitality. I will definately go back. Our group saw a lot of wild life including bear, turkey and deer. Our guide saw a bald eagle the week before she said. Trails were nicely marked and very scenic. I loved the "Montana" and "Bessie Dewey" trails. Facilities were modern; hot showers, flush toilets & even a private dressing area, arena, wash bay, dumping station, water and electric hookups, tie stalls, jacuzzi and swimming pool, rec hall with pool table and ping pong. They really offered a lot for very little cost.
Reviewed by: Diane on 11/10/2006 7:50:42 PM
More reviews by Diane
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/11/2006 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

the problem that the people who give a bad rating is that they think that they can ride but they can You can not come to Rays with a horse NOT in shape. If you cannot ride up here that ride in Ohio . that is where the experts ride and then they find out what REAL RIDING IS UP HERE. I HAVE came to Ray,s for years and found that it is a excellent camp to ride at. I have many friends up here and would alawys come here first. SO the expert riders as they call themselves can ride in their Ohio flatlands and leave the real riding to the trail riders. I have riding for 10 years and I STILL RATE myself as a fair rider.
Reviewed by: fair rider on 8/22/2006 4:12:25 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 8/22/2006 Hometown: , PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I would not recomend this campground. The trails are very poorly marked, and the staff including the owner were not helpful. I was told by the owner that he had the trails marked with ribbons in the spring, and if people pulled them down there is nothing he could do about that. The trails are not maintained. Many places were what I would consider dangerous for a horse.(Mud above hocks, drop offs on the trail of 2 feet or more with no way to get around, trails through recently logged areas, to name a few). The camp info on the campgrounds says that there is water and electric, and that is true, but most sites have either one or the other not both. Many sites have neither. They require payment up front, but will not refund if you decide to leave early. I have camped at many horse campgrounds, and thought that this by far was the worse one I have ever been at. Most of our trail riding consisted of going in circles, and being lost.
Reviewed by: Linda on 7/25/2006 10:58:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/19/2006 Hometown: Waynesburg, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

we had 4 rides up at rays and lead by MIKE AND HELEN all the trails are marked and rides are easy and rough . ray and terri are great hosts and we like the campgrounds. we come on none offical rides weekends.
Reviewed by: vince on 10/22/2005 1:10:15 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/7/2005 Hometown: bethel park, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hospitality could not be any better and the campground is beautiful. Very clean facilities and the best food around! Ray and Terry do their best to make your stay comfortable. Trails can be easy or more difficult.
Reviewed by: Steve Hamrick and Tam Kelm on 9/6/2004 7:30:33 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: Princeton, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first "horse camping" experience, and it made believers out of us!!! The entire experience was fantastic, from the trails (tough enough to be truly exciting) to the accomodations (CLEAN restrooms, CLEAN everything), to the food (plentiful and DELICIOUS), to the hospitality (Terri and Ray could not have been nicer, warmer, or more helpful; other campers were friendly and helpful too). In short, we can't wait to go back-- we would be there every weekend if it weren't so far away... TRULY WONDERFUL PLACE!!!
Reviewed by: Donna on 5/26/2004 12:30:02 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/11/2003 Hometown: Freehold, NJ