HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Coleman Lake
(click on name for more information)
Heflin, AL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 24 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 22 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

These trails are some of the most boring I have riden but are save. You don't need shoes on your horse because of the Sandy terrain. A lot of people complain about no electric or water. That is why I camp. I'm not interested in expensive campground fees. There are plenty of places to go if you want that. This is primitive camping. The only kind of camping I do. I have solar and don't need a generator. Much cheaper than a generator. If you have to have a generator and electric go stay in a campground that gas that
Reviewed by: Barbaraguzzo on 3/27/2019 10:17:01 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/12/2018 Hometown: Taylorsville, Ga

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a good time camping again this past weekend however; rode about half of the blue trail and was totally disappointed. Haven't ridden it since it was rerouted years ago but the trail has really been ruined. It is simply a real "road trip". Yellow trail, white and red are still good.
Reviewed by: Rodeogoat on 9/3/2013 8:54:50 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/1/2013 Hometown: Oxford, Al

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time with my mule buddies. Love to camp here and ride these trails.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/7/2012 4:59:27 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/21/2012 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another wonderful weekend at Coleman Lake riding the trails. Really wish they would put some hook-ups in this place. That would be my only peeve. Some people don't like it if you run your generator at night but if it's hot, get over it cause I'm gonna have to run it lol. Had a GREAT time.
Reviewed by: Terry on 6/4/2012 10:51:58 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/2/2012 Hometown: Oxford, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Super easy trails. Primitive camping.
Reviewed by: Michelle on 3/22/2012 11:42:40 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/20/2011 Hometown: Rainbow City, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another wonderful ride. Trails are always nice. Plenty of water. Camp sites well maintained. Wish they had some hook-ups & a bath house but that would be the only thing I could fault them for.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/11/2011 7:19:41 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/5/2011 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another great time at Coleman Lake. Wish they had hook ups but other than that always a nice place to go.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/19/2011 8:04:15 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/5/2011 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love Coleman Lake and you will see folks from everywhere. Very nice place both trails and camp.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/5/2011 5:41:29 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/23/2011 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Always have a great time at Coleman Lake. Trails are very nice & so is the camp.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/17/2011 7:03:12 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/16/2011 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful place to ride and camp. Our group went for a couple of night during the holiday weekend and they all had a great time.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/9/2011 11:23:20 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/29/2011 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

MAKE SURE YOU BRING YOUR GENERATOR. Might madden those "that don't have one for themselves" but you need it. Wonderful place to ride and camp. We try to go often.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/11/2010 7:14:49 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/16/2010 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

good trails camping is also good if people would leave the generators at home.
Reviewed by: Brooke&Chris on 4/8/2010 12:58:28 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/15/2010 Hometown: Douglas, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Various trail conditions depending wheather you stay on the main trails or make the steep climbs or descends of national forrest hills. There are many breath taking veiws between the creeks and mountains with as many miles of trails as you can stand to ride.We had an outstanding trip. The only thing lacking is (electricity) in the camp ground bring a generator. You can take a shower at the next campground about a mile from horsecamp Coleman lake.
Reviewed by: Shannon Walker (AKA Flip Fop) on 8/25/2009 12:25:33 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/1/2009 Hometown: Hiram, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

As good of place as I have ever been. Very clean and well upkeep on trails. Plenty of trails for a three day ride. We will be back.
Reviewed by: Bradley Jhonston on 8/24/2009 7:16:01 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/1/2009 Hometown: Birmingham, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Best keep secret in alabama,evadently these riders don't post coments on the web,me my wife and 7,8yr old daughters rode there over the weekend and had a wonderful time. I geuss they have marked the trails better we didn't have any problem following the signs. Everyone we ran into on the trails were very friendly and at the campsite.(thanks pam for the ketchup) Beautiful mountains and creeks in the hollows. I don't know why they say they only have 20 miles of trails. Blue trail alone is 21 miles, red and yellow are both half a day ride and white is a couple of hours. First time there but absolutly going back.
Reviewed by: jerry miles on 8/17/2009 12:30:05 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/17/2009 Hometown: titus, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very well kepted trails, can ride all weekend and not ride the same trail. Beautiful mountains and gorgeous creeks for 6$ a day camping fee why would you want to go any where else? Definetly be back!! (ALABAMA is the beautiful)
Reviewed by: burlon rice on 8/11/2009 12:28:34 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: canton, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

as good as it gets!!
Reviewed by: seth on 8/6/2009 12:23:38 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/22/2009 Hometown: delta, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great peaceful place to camp. Trails could be marked better. We got on the blue trail with our two year old and did not realize how long it was and got very afraid of losing daylight. Also it began to thunder and threaten rain. We rode for 8 hours!!! No food or water, because we thought we'd be gone for maybe 2-3 hours max. SOOOO GLAD TO SEE THE TRAILER!! It was frightening!! I never want to do that again. Trails should be more clear and show distances.
Reviewed by: Ken on 4/7/2009 10:32:16 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2007 Hometown: Dothan, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

As good of trails as you could ask for rode all weekend and never rode the same trail. Beautiful views and nice creeks. Camp ground is primitive but marked well for trailers camp ground for coleman lake is only 1 mile and has showers.
Reviewed by: Chad Forsythe on 2/5/2009 11:01:38 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/1/2008 Hometown: Franklin, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We live near by so we have ridden here many times. Yellow trail is the best for all levels. Blue trail hasn't been the same since the storm many years ago and it was re-routed. Camp is nice but primitive so lack of a shower makes a long stay a stinky one. There is some beer drinking but it has never been a problem and i might have one myself. We will continue to ride here hopefully for a long time.
Reviewed by: Terry on 11/30/2008 8:49:17 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Oxford, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Blue trail is notorious for getting riders lost. Yellow trail is wonderful and well marked. Red trail is perfect for a good quick ride. And the white trail is good for beginners. My 2 & 4 year old have tackled the white and yellow trail. There are several places to move off trail for lunch or to relax. Good chance of seeing deer. Park does a good job at maintaing trails and keeping cleared, only when they do a controlled burn would I avoid the area. Campground is nice although there are no showers for us stinky horse riders in the campground. Swimming and fishing very near. Water is available in campground also.
Reviewed by: Michelle on 11/14/2008 8:56:31 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Heflin, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

excelent trails in beautiful mature forest. campround is also nice.
Reviewed by: danny walker on 11/9/2008 3:57:53 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: barfeild, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 1/8/2008 4:23:58 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 1/1/2000 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

White trail is good for beginners, easy hills and slopes, Red trail is easy in begining, towards the end gets steep up and down hills, Yellow trail was nice, hoping to go on Blue next visit.
Reviewed by: Alice on 12/27/2007 6:45:30 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/1/2007 Hometown: Bremen, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Yellow trail has the latest improvements with easy slopes and wooden bridges over creeks. You are not allowed off trails due to endangered muscles in creeks. The campground is primitive and during high useage times very little to no enforcement of rules. Weekends should be avoided for families due to excessive loud music and alchol. Most people are considerate but a few can ruin a weekend.
Reviewed by: Al Wallace on 9/21/2006 3:05:59 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/21/2006 Hometown: Whitesburg, GA