HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Moses Cone Park - Blowing Rock Equestrian Preserv
(click on name for more information)
Blowing Rock , NC

Overall TRAIL RATING with 20 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 17 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful trails and vistas, as cited by all in their reviews. Interior of mansion a real disappointment, as none of it was kept "in the period" and is now full of trinket sales. We stayed in our LQ and were in the upper campsite, which seemed to be the better option vs the lower one. Each site in our area had full hook up and individual sewer dump. City water (translation:chlorine), which our horses are not used to but proved not to be an issue. We did not use the bath or shower facilities but walked through and they were "blah". Stalls likewise nothing special whatsoever and price did not include any initial bedding. Horses were a long way from us. The upper camp is right on the trailhead and the trails, as noted, are wide and with gradual slopes. However, hard packed and that gets old after while. Also old is the number of walkers (not blaming them for enjoying the walk and views) but makes it hard to get into a running walk and stay there! Close to Blowing Rock, which was nice. Highest point on our ride was 4,650; meaning, nice and cool while hot in western NC!
Reviewed by: NCwalkers on 7/7/2018 4:37:18 PM
More reviews by NCwalkers
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/3/2018 Hometown: COLUMBUS, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We camped at Blowing Rock Preserve during Memorial day weekend and had a great time. The trails are very good that even a beginner with no experience could ride on them. They are gravel(crush and run)so shoes are best for your horse. All the trails are wide enough to drive a small car on them. They are gradual and are never steep because they were build as carrige trails for Mrs. Cone. There are 25-27 miles of trails. You are close to Blowing Rock, NC to find supplies and Boone has many good places to eat. The camping is very close for trailers and a 28ft. box length would be about max. They probably have about 15 good sites. Half of the camping sites are down a short steep hill and care is needed when entering and exiting but I did it with my 26ft box length trailer. They have good stalls and one or two of the barns are new. The Cone Mansion is beautiful as well as the lake and mountain top views. The people were friendly and very accomodating. I would highly recommend this campground.
Reviewed by: Lewis M on 7/28/2010 11:43:38 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/29/2010 Hometown: Lexington, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I have ridden the trails at Moses Cone (BREP) for going on 8 years. We have never been disappointed with the trails, the maintenance of such, the scenery, or the easy terrain. Even a perfect place to go riding when torrential rains have made everywhere else like a slip-n-slide. Best to have shoes on your horses, as some gravel areas can be hard on the tender-footed (unless you have a hardy Mustang, Appaloosa, etc. that is used to being barefoot). We only live about 45 minutes away, so it's an easy day trip for us, but we can make a very full day of riding these old cart paths. The trails are wide enough that even hikers, runners, families, dogs, buggies, etc. are rarely an inconvenience. It's perfect for anyone who wants a calm, settled, relaxing ride and picnic, or there are plenty of areas (esp the big pasture near the Cone gravesite) where you can run like the wind. We've never camped, and have not been impressed with what we have seen of the facilities, but there are multiple lovely bed-n-breakfasts or quaint overnight facilities in which to stay. Not to mention the fantastic restaurants! Definately one of our favorite places to ride, esp when the more challenging sites are waterlogged.
Reviewed by: Laurel Ashley on 2/10/2010 9:57:24 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2009 Hometown: Millers Creek, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

BEWARE!!!!!We went to BREP for Memorial Day Weekend 09, and it was a nightmare! Our rig along with four of our friends were down "in the hole" and everyone's trailer received electrical and smoke damage. An electrician was called and the problem was supposedly only in one area and was corrected. We joked about wishing we had parked in another area only to fine that trailers in another area were damaged the next night. We decided to just leave and come home early, and they assured us that we would be reimbursed for our shortened stay and damages...converter boxes, microwaves, televisions, refrigerators. Once we got home we were told there was an electrical storm that caused the damage, so they were not liable. They very graciously sent each couple a fifty dollar check. I PROMISE you there was no electrical storm! It was no power surge either, the wires were not grounded properly! We all sent the $50 back and now have hired an attorney. There is no doubt in my mind that they know they are responsible, otherwise they would not lie about an electrical storm. I don't care how great the trails are I will never go back to BREP. When you pay good money you have the right to receive the service that you pay for. LESSON LEARNED! From what I have read about Mr.Cone he was a very respectable man. It's ashame that this park is allowed to tarnish the dead man's name!
Reviewed by: Kaye Owens on 9/24/2009 6:40:17 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/23/2009 Hometown: Bonneau, SC, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

AWESOME trails!!!! Beautiful scenery. Trails are very wide and anyone can ride. Our 8 year old son (very timid rider) rode these trails and LOVED it! Now, for the campground/stalls. They leave A LOT TO BE DESIRED. The barn was old and a bit run down, but there were nails sticking out everywhere. There prices for stalls are crazy! The campground is a parking lot with hook ups and very tight. The people that ran the campground and stalls were very nice to us, but we were not allowed to use the arena or anything. We decided to drop the trailer and went to a little motel in Blowing Rock. Again, the trails are AWESOME!!!
Reviewed by: Lance on 7/29/2009 1:38:20 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Piedmont, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rating: WONDERFUL Camp Rating: GLAD THEY ARE THERE GREAT THANK YOU BLOWING ROCK EQUESTRIAN PRESERVE! THANK YOU FOR BEING THERE BREP: MOSES CONE TRAILS ARE GORGEOUS, WONDERFUL..THE BEST CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THE BEAUTIFUL TRAILS, ESPECIALLY FOR SADDLE HORSE YOU WANT TO SAFELY SET-UP. HEY, GIVE BLOWING ROCK EQUESTRIAN PRESERVE A BREAK.. SURE THE OLD BARN/CAMPSITES ARE "CRAPPY" AS SOME OF YOU STATED..BUT MAYBE THEY WILL LOOK AROUND AND FIX THOSE UP AND WORK ON THE ROADS TO UPPER LEVELS..WHOSE TO SAY!! BUT WE CAME TO RIDE.. NOT TO BE PAMPERED.. WE ASSUMED THE RESPONSIBILITY OF OUR HORSES SAFETY AND COMFORT. WE CAME TO R I D E. AND RIDE WE DO HERE OVER AND OVER..."LIFE IS A JOURNEY SO ENJOY THE RIDE" AS QUOTED. WE RIDE MORNING, AND EVEN AFTER 900PM IN MIDSUMMER. WE LOVE IT...SO WE AE A LITTLE TRAILER CRAMPED, THERE A FEW ROOFS LOOSE, MAYBE IT WAS US SOMEONE HEARD SNORIING......BUT IN THE MORNING... WE RIDE RIDE RIDE RIDE...AND WE ARE THANKFUL TO BREP FOR BEING THERE FOR US TOOOOOO....... RIDE !!!! IT IS THE BEST FACITITY...FOR US. I TRAILER MY HORSES LOTS OF TIMES SEVERAL DAYS B4 MY HUSBAND COMES AND AM VERY COMFORTABE WITH THE ATMOSPHERE AND FACILITIES AND CONVIENIENCES AND YEA, LOVE TO RIDE...THE PEOPLE ARE ALWAYS HELPFUL, FRIENDLY AND ACCOMADATING.. THANKS TO COLLETTE AND RON ESPECIALLY! WE ARE 2 1/2 HOURS AWAY AND COME OFTEN. I HOPE NOTHING EVER HAPPENS TO BREP BECAUSE I WOULD LIKE FOR EVEN MY GRANDCHILDREN TO ENJOY THIS PLACE WHEN THEY GROW UP IT IS A WONDERFUL FAMILY, COUPLE, GIRLS-GO-RIDE, GO WITH LOTS OF PEOPLE, GO ALONE KIND OF PLACE WITH LOTS OF CONVIENENCES CLOSE AT HAND.... WALKING DISTANCE IF UR ARE NOT TOO PAMPERED TO WALK... I SOUND LIKE AN ADV. FOR BREP BUT IT HAS BEEN GOOD TO ME, FAMILIY AND FRIENDS FOR MANY YEARS!! LOVE MOSES CONE... LOVE BREP.... AND YES, LOVE TO RIDE! JOY C
Reviewed by: JOY C - SEEHORSEYRUN FARM on 7/15/2009 5:25:02 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/2/2009 Hometown: BLOUNTVILLE, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

THANK YOU FOR BEING THERE BREP: MOSES CONE TRAILS ARE GORGEOUS, WONDERFUL..THE BEST CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THE BEAUTIFUL TRAILS, ESPECIALLY FOR SADDLE HORSE YOU WANT TO SAFELY SET-UP. HEY, GIVE BLOWING ROCK EQUESTRIAN PRESERVE A BREAK.. SURE THE OLD BARN/CAMPSITES ARE "CRAPPY" AS SOME OF YOU STATED..BUT MAYBE THEY WILL LOOK AROUND AND FIX THOSE UP..WHOSE TO SAY!! BUT WE CAME TO RIDE.. NOT TO BE PAMPERED.. WE ASSUMED THE RESPONSIBILITY OF OUR HORSES SAFETY AND COMFORT. WE CAME TO R I D E. AND RIDE WE DO HERE OVER AND OVER..."LIFE IS A JOURNEY SO ENJOY THE RIDE" AS QUOTED. WE RIDE MORNING, AND EVEN AFTER 900PM IN MIDSUMMER. WE LOVE IT...SO WE AE A LITTLE TRAILER CRAMPED, THERE A FEW ROOFS LOOSE, MAYBE IT WAS US SOMEONE HEARD SNORIING......BUT IN THE MORNING... WE RIDE RIDE RIDE RIDE...AND WE ARE THANKFUL TO BREP FOR BEING THERE FOR US TOOOOOO....... RIDE !!!! IT IS THE BEST FACITITY...FOR US. I TRAILER MY HORSES LOTS OF TIMES SEVERAL DAYS B4 MY HUSBAND COMES AND AM VERY COMFORTABE WITH THE ATMOSPHERE AND FACILITIES AND CONVIENIENCES AND YEA, LOVE TO RIDE...THE PEOPLE ARE ALWAYS HELPFUL, FRIENDLY AND ACCOMADATING.. THANKS TO COLLETTE AND RON ESPECIALLY! WE ARE 2 1/2 HOURS AWAY AND COME OFTEN. I HOPE NOTHING EVER HAPPENS TO BREP BECAUSE I WOULD LIKE FOR EVEN MY GRANDCHILDREN TO ENJOY THIS PLACE WHEN THEY GROW UP IT IS A WONDERFUL FAMILY, COUPLE, GIRLS-GO-RIDE, GO WITH LOTS OF PEOPLE, GO ALONE KIND OF PLACE WITH LOTS OF CONVIENENCES CLOSE AT HAND.... WALKING DISTANCE IF UR ARE NOT TOO PAMPERED TO WALK... I SOUND LIKE AN ADV. FOR BREP BUT IT HAS BEEN GOOD TO ME, FAMILIY AND FRIENDS FOR MANY YEARS!! LOVE MOSES CONE... LOVE BREP.... AND YES, LOVE TO RIDE! JOY C
Reviewed by: JOY C @ SEEHORSEYRUN FARM on 7/15/2009 4:44:08 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: BLOUNTVILLE, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

just a bunch of "us girls" wnated a nice holiday weekend ride.....TRAILS ARE GREAT.....!!!!! CAMPSITE YUCK!!! BARNS EVEN WORSE... ONE NEW BARN...IF YOU DO NOT GET ONE OF THE CAMPSITES (WEDGED TOGETHER-CAN HEAR THE NEXT CAMPER IN TRAILER SNORE)NEAR THE NEW BARN.. U WALK LONG WAY UP DONW HILL TO NEW BARN..OR YOU STAY IN A REALLY LETS ME STRESS REALLY CRAPPY RUN DOWN BRING YOUR OWN WOOD ROOF AND TOOLS TO REDO STALL.. GOT THE PICTURE.. WENT UP TO 25.00 PER STALL PER CAMPSITE AND WENT --DOWN-- DOWN-- ON UPKEEP! WHY NOT HELP THOSE POOR OLD TERRIBLE BARNS INSTEAD OF BUILD A NEW ONE AND TAKE AWAY CAMPSITES???? KNOWING YOU ARE A SHOW FACILITY... RESPECT YOUR CAMPERS.WE BRING IN REVENUE TOO .. MAYBE THE SHOWS WILL DIMINISH... BUT THE CAMPERS WILL NOT..IF TREATED RIGHT! FIX UP THOSE OLD BARNS.. THE ROOF LEAKED, BANGED ALL NIGHT WHEN THE WIND BLEW..THINKING IT WOULD BLOW OFF ON ONE OF OUR TRAILERS, TRUCKS OR PERSON!!!!!!AND WHAT UP WITH THE "ARENA THING". IS THAT HALLOWED GROUND? HAVE A HORSE THAT NEEDS SOME EXERCISE AFTER A LONG HAUL OR A WARM UP OR COOL DOWN ..BEWARE OF GOING INTO THE ""ARENA"" IT IS A NO NO!USED TO HAVE GOOD SHOWER PRESSURE.. WHAT HAPPENED THERE! OH WELL LEFT 2DAYS EARLY AND WENT TO LEATHERWOOD. LIDE MOSES CONE TRAILS BETTER THOUGH!!!! MAY I RESTATE THE TRAILS ARE GREAT GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Reviewed by: USN'S GIRLS WHO LIKE TO RIDE on 7/15/2009 1:42:03 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2009 Hometown: USA, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

the old stalls need to be worked on.the camping is bad for the price and the stalls are extremely high.we have camped in larges camping grounds and have not been charges this high of a price. they have raised the price for campsite and stall to $25.00 and have done nothing to the older barns or campsites to compensate the rate hike. Realizing they are only interested in shows....I think they need to realize the stalls/campsites make them a nice $ when no shows are bringing in revenue. also noticed shows are getting smaller and smaller and drawing less crowds......... they may need that camper/stall fee in the future.... now is the time to build that repoir instead of breakin it down....LOVE MOSES CONE TRAILS THE BEST WONDERFULLLLLLLLL!!
Reviewed by: JAY on 7/12/2009 4:44:10 PM
More reviews by JAY
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/9/2009 Hometown: KINGSPORT, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

the trails are wonderful. it is the best palce to ride in this area. the camping and stalls do lack a lot. the bathhouse needs to be redone from the ground up. the old stalls need to be worked on.the camping is bad for the price and the stalls are extremely high.we have camped in larges camping grounds and have not been charges this phigh of a price. the money recieved at the stables has to come from the shows where people will come for the shows and the money is made then. we live winth 1 1/2 hours of blowing rock. unsually ride with a group of 6. it would be grate to be able to stay locally and put money into local business but Blowing Rock Stables has priced themselves out of the camping business. we would spend many weekends up there in a years time if the prices were not so high so we only go for a one day ride and go back home instead of spening long weekends there and visiting the area.hopefully if enough people complain about the facility things may get better who knowns. again trails are wonderful and one of my favorite palces to ride.
Reviewed by: Teresa on 4/3/2009 7:27:59 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Marion, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love the trails, very easy, you will need shoes,any one can ride these mountain trails, a nice cool ride on a hot summer day. Campground is crappy, this is a show facility and they do not care about the campers, you camp in the parking lots, can be hard to manuver large rigs and they have built 3 new barns, so there went alot more camping space to the show, but the new stalls are great, if you use one of the older barns we always take a hammer and really check out the stalls and fix any nails sticking out, there are appox 18 barns with about 40 stall each, so you don't have to worry about a place for your horse. So if you are more about the quality of the trails and nice summer spot to ride its a great place to go, we go a couple times a summer.
Reviewed by: lit up sabino on 8/17/2008 7:17:54 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/18/2008 Hometown: china grove, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are great, the views are great. But the camping and the stalls are awful. This place really needs some major up dates. The stalls aren't safe for the horses, they have nails sticking out every where. You have to pay for elictrical hookup and half of the outlets don't even work. That is a big rip off. I agree with others. It's a same that there isn't some where else to camp.. Or the owners would only make improvements.....
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 3/25/2008 11:49:36 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/15/2006 Hometown: Germanton, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

BLOWING ROCK IS NOT THE PLACE TO BE TREATED LIKE ROYALITY. YOU CAMP IN A PARKING LOT, FIND OUT ON YOUR OWN WHATS THERE.( A FRIEND DIDN'T KNOW THERE WAS A BATHHOUSE NO ONE TOLD HER). GET RUN OUT OF THE ARENA, WHATS AN ARENA FOR IF NOT TO WORK THE KINKS OUT OF A YOUNG HORSE OR OLD ONE FOR THAT MATTER. IT WAS NOT SHOW SEASON. MY HORSE GOT A BAD CUT IN THE STALL ON SOMETHING SHARP. OUR COGGINS WAS NOT CHECKED. WE WERE NOT OFFERED A MAP OF THE TRAILS. IN MY OPINION BLOWING ROCK EQUESTRIAN PERSERVE HAS SLIPPED MORE THAN A NOTCH OR TWO. BUT THE TRAILS ARE FABULOUS AND BEAUTIFUL.
Reviewed by: L RHINHART on 8/28/2007 12:57:22 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/28/2007 Hometown: CLOVER, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are beautiful. It's to bad there is not somewhere else to camp other than Blowing Rock Equestrian Preserve. The sites are located in a parking lot, no shade, not worth the $20.00 fee.The barn is OK. One of our horses got a pretty bad cut on his back from inside the stall on "something" another $20.00. For the price of the stay we were not allowed to enter the arena to warm up or get the kinks out after a long haul up.The arena was not being used nor was it used at all during our stay. The charge for the facilites are not worth what they offer. The trails are what make up for it all! beautiful !
Reviewed by: Julia on 8/20/2007 4:56:16 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/17/2007 Hometown: Clover, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Blowing Rock is all about the views and trails....not the camping. I have always loved going there, but this past weekend was the worst experience I've had in the Seventeen years I've been going. The sites were marked off with red paint and there wasn't room to put a trailer and open the awning without touching the next trailer! MUCH TOO CLOSE...Everyone was upset about that. $20 is way to much for the site or the stall. And it's the first time I've ever been there when the grass wasn't trimmed.
Reviewed by: Linda F on 5/31/2007 7:34:52 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/31/2007 Hometown: Waxhaw, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are beautiful, wide carriage trails with spectacular view of the Moses Cone Estate. The campground is very basic, actually a horse show grounds, so you are camping in a parking lot. There are electric and water hookups, and a few sights with sewer, but the way it is laid out, it can be very difficult to maneuver a large rig. Stalls are small, often not cleaned out, and the barns are old but fairly well kept. But they are way overpriced at 20 dollars a stall per night. I would go here more often if not for that.
Reviewed by: Julie S on 4/5/2007 12:47:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/4/2006 Hometown: Athens, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camped and rode there during peak leaf season. Beautiful ride. Trails are very wide and mostly gravel. Tons of trails. Had a lot of hikers. Camping was ok. Very basic. Bath house was nice. Will return!
Reviewed by: Jennifer on 11/30/2006 10:14:31 PM
More reviews by Jennifer
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/30/2006 Hometown: Clover, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are wonderful for gaited horses, they are old carriage trails to the cone manor, so you could literally drive a car on all the trails, beautiful winding trails through the mountains, very very easy, anyone can ride, they are steep off the side if you have a jumpy horse I would ride to the inside. Camping is ok, they are not there for the campers, they are there for the big 2 week horse show, and other shows. but they have tons of stalls, 3 camping levels, which are basically just parking lots with power and water, and a bath house, but the trails are well worth the trip!!
Reviewed by: LVMYWLKR on 11/27/2006 2:38:14 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 9/30/2006 Hometown: rockwell, NC