HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Love Valley
(click on name for more information)
Statesville, NC

Overall TRAIL RATING with 10 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 7 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love Valley is so much fun! We spent our second Memorial day weekend there. People were very friendly and helpful and easy to meet! One group that ride up there quite a bit invited us to tag along with them. They knew all the out of the way trails. Such a great ride!! The Lazy A Campground cabin was a clean, low key, basic amenities bed, bathroom, shower, and stalls for horses. Just enough away from the town, but still good for people watching.TJ the caretaker is very helpful!! Riding through town after a ride, and tying your horse to a hitching post while you stop and have a beer, brings you back in time. Doesn't get any better unless you are out west in Tombstone, Arizona:)
Reviewed by: MOE on 6/12/2013 3:53:57 PM
More reviews by MOE
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/24/2013 Hometown: Waynesville, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

To Doc... It depends. It seems like holidays can be pretty bad. I don't take my wife or kids in town after beer thirty. Very few problems on weekdays or weekends that aren't holidays though. I like going, but it's good to know what to avoid.
Reviewed by: Reb on 8/20/2012 10:05:58 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/14/2012 Hometown: , NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

How can this place have such a wide range of reviews?!!- each so different? We have heard baaaaadddd things, so we have never been, but would like to know the truth to have another place as a choice to go ride! Is this place being 'cleaned up' ???!
Reviewed by: Doc on 7/4/2012 7:38:57 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/3/2012 Hometown: Angier, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went to LV for our honeymoon and loved it ! everyone we meet was so nice ! the trails were clean and relaxing , a nice down home feel it was like we were staying with family at caruisos campground! they went above and beond what we expected! if you are looking for an old cowboy feel you will get it when you hitch up outside the siver spur saloon ! highly recomend it !
Reviewed by: Scott and Deb on 3/24/2011 6:33:40 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/23/2010 Hometown: Fostoria, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Have been to Love Valley in 2010. We rode many different trails. The people are very nice I didn't find ill mannered people on the trail or in the town. I do plan to return in 2011. We did find a trail that maybe was closed but we just turned around, spent most of that day on the trail in the creek bed. Need to purchase a trail guide the next time. Our horses hadn't been off the property for many years some where green, we had no problems at all with other riders. I'll be back soon... Will maybe put shoes on the horses or ride in boots, but they did okay bare foot on the trails we rode on.
Reviewed by: Mary Adams on 1/25/2011 11:39:03 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/15/2010 Hometown: Mooresville, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Some trails ok. Not but 2-3 to choose from. Trashy, heavy drinking, illegal drugs used openly, loud swearing, obnoxious mean and even worse very obnoxious cheap LOUD women who don't respect themselves much less anyone around them including children. God forbid any of them raised children OR maybe their mama's came from there too! Nasty
Reviewed by: Respected Rider on 11/11/2009 12:06:19 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/10/2009 Hometown: asheville, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Not a family trip. Lots of drinking, swearing, poor horsemanship. Trail ok, but not clean or very well maintained. As good as they can be for the type rider that goes there. Hide of a "look over your shoulder" kinda place.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/22/2009 9:32:08 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love Valley is the place to go,Camping at Lazy A Camp ground was an excellent place to stay and the Trails are wonderful, We rented horses from Love Valley Riding Stables And enjoyed our relaxing ride they have wonderful horses and the folks there are very nice and friendly. We have the best time and are looking forward to planing another trip real soon.
Reviewed by: cow girl on 5/3/2009 7:07:52 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/10/2009 Hometown: nc, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love Valley is a great place to ride. When you are riding into the Old Cowboy Town you feel just as if you have gone back in time! The trails are well kept and there are plenty of places to stall your horses for a week-end of it. The Silver Spur Saloon on Saturday night is also a blast for dancing and socializing!
Reviewed by: susan on 11/6/2008 2:41:11 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/15/2007 Hometown: Oakboro, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love Valley Campground is a wonderful place to stay. The owners, Wendy and Tony, are so nice and it is a Christian campground, so it is quiet and peaceful. Nice hookups, water and electric, nice stalls for horses. Very close to town, so you can walk or ride into LV. I would totally recommend it. (Beautiful grassy spots for trailers. BUT-cannot tack up at trailer. Not a problem since stalls are right in front of trailer hookups and they have hitching racks.) Wonderful place.
Reviewed by: Debra W. on 10/27/2008 3:46:52 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/4/2008 Hometown: Hartsville , SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

was just wanting to say that if u was going to love valley to rent ur horse u better bring loads of cash..way over priced..
Reviewed by: dd on 4/28/2008 5:18:29 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: everywhere, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

NEW HOPE STABLES IS A WONDERFUL PLACE TO CAMP. MIKE AND SAMONE ARE TWO OF THE NICEST AND HELPFUL PEOPLE I HAVE EVER MET.I HAVE NEVER HORSE CAMPED WHERE THE OWNERS HELPED US OUT AND HAD COWBOY CHURCH WITH US. EVEN TRAILED BOSSED US.THEY ARE LOCATED ABOUT 20 MINUTES FROM LOVE VALLEY TRAILS. I HAD A WONDERFUL TIME WITH MY TWO NEW FRIENDS. I FELT AS THO I STAYED WITH FAMILY.
Reviewed by: LINDA JO on 7/31/2007 6:02:37 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/22/2007 Hometown: CLOVER, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/14/2007 9:39:04 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/14/2007 Hometown: Lexington, NC