HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Great Smoky Mountains National Park - Orchard Cove Stables
(click on name for more information)
Townsend, Tn

Overall TRAIL RATING with 45 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 46 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hands down the best in the Smokies no matter how you rate it!!
Reviewed by: lea valentine on 12/31/2015 7:19:53 PM
More reviews by lea valentine
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/25/2015 Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to stay......can't beat it for location, GREAT stables, friendly owners. Gotta love riding in the Smokies!! Thank you, Fredda, Ed, and Heather....you are the best!
Reviewed by: Brenda Goett on 10/11/2015 11:38:00 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/8/2015 Hometown: Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

AWESOME campground! I wish all campgrounds had stables/stalls like this. Unbelievable. Water at EVERY STALL.. no more hauling water buckets. Stalls are solid-floored and rubber matted. Everything is as clean as if it were new. Top notch facility at a price comparable to all the others. The bathrooms are not the usual spidery, damp bathhouses but like-home bathrooms, with private shower, sink and toilet all the same little private rooms. Very nice. Has a HUGE covered arena free for use by campers. Horses are allowed at campsites to tack up. Cleaning stalls is a breeze because of the solid floor and rubber mats AND the fact that they provide a zillion muck buckets that all you have to do is fill up and they haul away somewhere far off and empty ones reappear. Only thing I didn't like was that there was no mounting block except in the arena, no tierails to put your horse to while your cleaning stalls and the sites only had RV type electric plug outlets whereas I needed just a plain ol' 110 plug to plug in my extension cord. Other than that, this place has it all and is TOP NOTCH! Absolutely gorgeous facility, landscaping and scenery around it.
Reviewed by: alogan22 on 9/15/2014 8:39:31 AM
More reviews by alogan22
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/14/2014 Hometown: Clinton, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Oh, my!! Another epic weekend at Orchard Cove. Enjoyed the splendor of Gregory Bald in spite of showers. Orchard Cove was as wonderful as ever...cleanest and quietest and prettiest place for horsecamping in the Smokies. I love the Webbs like family and cannot explain what their lovely place and their hospitality means to me.
Reviewed by: Lea Valentine on 6/15/2014 4:28:45 PM
More reviews by Lea Valentine
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/13/2014 Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Orchard Cove stables is fantastic! The campground is immaculate and very well laid out with many large trees for shade and beauty. The bath house is clean and inviting. The stalls are 12x12, concrete sides, and nice wood / steel bar fronts and backs. If your horses like to see each other, then request stalls that are front-to-back. This is our home base for all riding in the TN side of the Smokies. You can ride out of camp, and they also have stock trailers to rent so you can go to different trail heads. The trails in the GSNMP are very well maintained. They can be challenging, especially if you are afraid of heights. And your horse must be in excellent condition to make the climbs. But the rides are epic!
Reviewed by: John Bates on 5/22/2014 1:21:01 PM
More reviews by John Bates
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/15/2014 Hometown: Harrodsburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Orchard Cove is the nicest and most well run of any facility near the Smokies. It is my personal retreat where I go for a weekend of good friends, incredible riding, and peaceful camping. I love nothing better than to introduce other friends to my good friends the Webbs and their beautiful slice of heaven in the Smoky Mtns at Orchard Cove!
Reviewed by: Lea Valentine on 12/24/2013 5:29:29 PM
More reviews by Lea Valentine
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/15/2013 Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our first time to Orchard Cove Stables, and it is a wonderful small campground run by very nice people. The barn is amazing with large stalls where horses cannot reach each other but can see each other. They provide muck buckets and picks, you just set them to the edge of the walkway when filled and they take care of it. No need to carry water buckets, all water hoses right there at the stall. We drive an F650 with a 40 ft trailer and had no trouble getting in and parking. We called ahead though to make sure no trailers were coming out as we headed in on school gap road as it is very narrow. The only thing they didn't have was ice, so bring your own or stop at the convenience store on the way in. Showers are immaculate. Trails can be narrow and on the ledges sometimes, but usually there are small trees and shrubs on the "down" side giving the illusion of a wall, at least on the trails we were on. We gave the trails 4 stars because they could be marked better, we use a GPS so we can always get back. Trails are long steady climbs or descents so recommend your horses be in shape. We did see a bear once 4800 ft up, and it ran away from us on up the mountain whew! Our horses see bear at home, so this wasn't new to them! Again, Heather and her parents are fabulous camp hosts, we'll be back for sure!
Reviewed by: shazz szekely on 7/21/2013 1:53:42 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/13/2013 Hometown: jamestown, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I can't say enough nice things about Mrs. Freda, Mr. Ed and Heather at Orchard Cove. They really go out of their way to make you feel at home. Their facility is top notch, clean and very safe for horses and your children. We will definately be making a return visit. As far as the riding went, WOWWWW !!!! We rode Anthony Creek, Spence Field, Russell Field loop one day and the (Tremont) Middle prong, Panther Creek loop another day and it was awesome. On our first ride, we left the stables with the temp being around 65 degrees and when we hit Spence Field we were riding in the snow. The trails were a little tricky at times due to the rain and some logs but our horses did an awesome job and we managed to make the entire loops both days. I would feel safe in saying that although these loops are great to ride, they would not be for every rider/horse due to the physical demand on the horses and some of the terrain that may make some riders feel uncomfortable.. I would definately suggest shoes and a few borium headed nails in each shoe. The nails really helped when crossing some of the large flat rocks by reducing slipping. Make sure you and your horses are up to a good hard ride lasting approximately 6-7 hours if you plan on making these loops. Again, we had a terrific time and we are already making plans to return and ride some of the other trails.
Reviewed by: Greg McFay on 4/8/2013 7:51:14 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/1/2013 Hometown: Colquitt, Ga

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place is my favorite place of all the places we camp at. Freda, Ed, and Heather make you feel at home. They have the best & cleanest barn I have ever seen and the campground is set up great for small or large rigs. The riding is 2nd to none !! If you are planning a trip to ride in the Smokey Mtns, Orchard Cove is the only place to go. You can ride out of camp, or rent one of three trailers they offer for a very small fee and hit other trailheads. Make sure you go to the Institute, this is the most beautiful trail I have ever ridden. If you ride out of camp, make sure you take Turkeypin trail. This is very beautiful and challenging, with narrow trails along the side of the mountain. Dont be alarmed, it's not as bad as it sounds. We have been to Orchard Cove 2 times and are talking about going back in 2013. Can't waite to get back to the Smoky's !
Reviewed by: Mike Rogers on 11/2/2012 7:32:22 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/18/2012 Hometown: London, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Absolutely the best campground we have visited. The facilities are incredible, and the hosts are wonderful and helpful folks. The trails in the GSMNP are fantastic. You will meet a lot of hikers. The hikers we met were very friendly and accommodating to move off the trail while we passed.
Reviewed by: John on 10/30/2012 5:22:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/21/2012 Hometown: Harrodsburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I had one of the most spectacular weekends ever at the height of the fall riding (leaf) season at Orchard Cove. I can't even tell you how many times I have camped there, but each time is a fantastic experience in a quiet and beautifully kept campground with wonderful the best owners ever! I just keep coming back. It's one of my special treats to spend time with the Webbs even though it is just an hour from home. You're lucky if you get the chance to enjoy Orchard Cove!!
Reviewed by: Lea on 10/25/2012 8:59:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/18/2012 Hometown: Knoxville/Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent campground. Freda, Ed and Heather are wonderful hosts and have a beautiful campground. They go over and above to make sure you are taken care of. Beautiful scenery.
Reviewed by: Andrea on 6/30/2012 4:14:18 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/16/2012 Hometown: Custer, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Orchard Cove is absolutely the best campground we have ever visited both for horse and rider. The stalls are as wonderful as described in previous reviews, Freda, Eddie and Heather are fantastic hosts, and the bath house is more than adequate. The trails are some of the most beautiful we have ever been on. The ride up Tremont Institute along 4 miles of waterfalls is amazing. You can ride right out of camp or rent a trailer and go to other trailheads. The facilities are so nice and the owners so caring that you can feel comfortable leaving your mounts in their stalls and going a short drive into Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg for a day. Lots to do in the Townsend area also, antique stores, tubing on the river, and hiking to name a few. Grocery store, restuarants, gas stations, etc all close by. We have been there twice and are already talking about our next trip.
Reviewed by: Ann on 6/3/2012 8:39:26 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/18/2012 Hometown: London, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

As always Orchard Cove was wonderful. You will not find better facilities anywhere. The bath house is always clean. The trails are fantastic and the views are amazing. Freda, Heather and Ed are kind and caring people. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!
Reviewed by: Debby on 4/25/2012 6:34:20 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/20/2012 Hometown: Newport, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A most gorgeous setting! The camp is just right size, the owners are great! They are friendly and the campground area is clean and well maintained. Trails vary in easy to difficult, once up into the GSMNP the trail markings are not marked the best so a map of the GSMNP would be a wise purchase. At Orchard Cove They have trailers for use if you want to go out to other trail heads. When in the Park itself if you come to a road you have to dismount and walk your horse across the road, which is good because in October there is a LOT of traffic. But it is BEAUTIFUL!
Reviewed by: Lynn Schuster on 12/14/2011 4:12:54 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/12/2011 Hometown: Carthage, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to camp, stables are the best that I have stayed, I have stayed from TN to SD,. Great host & fantastic riding in the Smokies.
Reviewed by: Tammy Hurst on 11/27/2011 11:26:47 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/25/2011 Hometown: Athens, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were there early Oct 2011 and loved it. The campground is fantastic. Clean and very well kept. The barn is the best we have ever put our horses in. Cleared thourghly after you take them out to go home. Bath house excelant. Very clean. Freda, Ed and Heather are great. Welling to help in any way they can. Can ride out from camp or rent a tralier to ride in the beautiful Smokey Mts. Were were there when the leaves were changing up high it was the most beautiful views I have ever seen. We have been many places but this ranks very high for us. Hope to return in early spring. Wanted to go back this year but they are full until Thanksgiving. We ride walkings horses and there is not a lot of places to rack but we will go back many times.Also there are good resturants to eat at in Townsend so you do not have to fight the traffic into Gatlinburg.
Reviewed by: Teresa McKinney on 10/26/2011 4:42:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/6/2011 Hometown: Marion, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Orchard Cove had the CLEANEST facility I have ever camped in. The bath house is the cleanest ever! Freda & Heather are very friendly and accommodating host.I love taking advantage of the covered riding arena. The trails lead to such beauty for the eye to behold.. They let us use 2 of their stock trailer we hauled to Cades Cove for a day of the most beautiful riding I have seen this side of The Rocky Mt's. As stated in description, you will run into yellow jackets in July. I had a wonderful time , we plan on returning next year. God Bless you Freda & Heather.
Reviewed by: Jan Livingston on 7/18/2011 1:18:41 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/13/2011 Hometown: Greenville , SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Orchard Cove Stables and Smoky Mountains are trail riding heaven!
Reviewed by: John on 6/27/2011 6:18:28 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/23/2011 Hometown: Harrodsburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

very nice and accomadating host. super nice trails and scenery.traveled 700 plus miles to get there and was worth every mile and hour spent there. would recomend this campground highly. barn and bath are second to none others. thanks for a great stay
Reviewed by: barry charlet on 6/16/2011 3:51:23 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/29/2011 Hometown: white castle, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Enjoyed so much and didn't get to do all the riding we wanted, so have booked June 2011 to return. Best stalls I have ever seen. Absolutely beautiful country. Very helpful--my muffler on truck caught fire (transmission fluid overflowed) and the shop they suggested me to use was very good and charge was very reasonable. Only negative I could find was only one trail out of camp to the public riding trails, but small price to pay for the beauty.
Reviewed by: Nancy Mc on 3/17/2011 5:16:17 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/12/2010 Hometown: Pleasant Hill, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went to Orchard Cove for the first time in October. Stalls were immaculate, owners were very accomodating, Harvey the trail guide was interesting and capable, and the campground was clean with good water and electric service. Our total experience was great and we have absolutely no reservations about returning to Orchard Cove. We have ridden at numerous places all around the country and Orchard Cove is probably the cleanest place we have been. If you want to ride in the Smoky Mountains, we would recommend Orchard Cove.
Reviewed by: Dale on 2/11/2011 10:08:52 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/12/2010 Hometown: Concordia, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The best place we have ever stay. The horses was at a luxury motel. The owners was just as good as you could ask for. Looking forward to going back soon.
Reviewed by: Deborah West on 2/10/2011 10:15:26 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/14/2010 Hometown: Valhermoso Springs, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I went to OC for a week in October. The campground was very nice, very clean and THE NICEST stalls I have ever seen. The owners, the Webb's were so friendly and accommodating to anything you could ask for. Unfortunately right before I left for the trip my horse got hurt rather seriously. I was so concerned about her while I was gone and I needed to have regular contact with back home with the vets and my husband about her. My cell phone didn't have service but they offered me the use of their phone. They also brought in their own personal laptop computer so that I could get and receive emails a couple of times a day regarding the status of my horse. That is the type of people the Webb's are! The trails were the best trails I have ever ridden on! We did hire Harvey to take us out riding most of the days we were there, and he was worth every penny and then some for his expertise of the trails and taking us to places that otherwise we never would have found. And he was so much fun to ride with as well - just a great guy. I would HIGHLY recommend Orchard Cove to anyone that wants a great camping and trail riding experience!
Reviewed by: Toni on 2/10/2011 7:08:25 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/15/2010 Hometown: Cedar Rapids, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is one of the best Campgrounds I have been at and I have rode many many states. The stalls are the best I have put my horse in. The Campground is small and does not need a large bathroom. It has hot water and is clean. What else could you ask for? I know I will return and will be looking up Harvey Bowling to be the guide. I know I will have a great time on the trail and at Camp. I was there last October and had a good time.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/10/2011 4:32:16 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/12/2010 Hometown: Hannibal, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We feel that Orchard Cove was one of the better places to ride. We have camped at many campgrounds all over the US and Orchard Cove has to have one of the best I have seen. Very, Very Clean. The stalls are the cleanest I've ever seen. Other rides should take note of how well they are built and how very clean they are kept. The trails are very nice. One of the prettiest places that we have road. The trail boss and owners are very nice and will help in anyway that they can. Would recommend this ride to everyone.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/10/2011 4:08:32 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/9/2010 Hometown: Unionville, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I could not let the previous comments go unchallenged. I live 2 hours from OC and ride there as often as I can, including the same week as the previous reviewer. To say the bathrooms were not cleaned is just not the truth. Anyone who has been there knows OC has the reputation of having the cleanest bathrooms of any of them. Compare the number of bathrooms and capacity at other camps. OC can take up to 32 horses, and this happens only during holidays and October. Some people even stay offsite at nearby rental cabins. There is no picketing and the majority of riders have LQ trailers. As for the Webbs, you won't find better people anywhere. I have even overheard them calling to tell guests the forecast was for rain the entire time of their reservation and not to feel obligated to come. One weekend a camper's truck broke down about 1 hour away and cost him a bundle. He came on and rode and said the Webbs wouldn't take any money. This is not the only time I know they have helped people out. If you see the facility and consider the payback, you will know they are not in it for the money. October is the busiest time in the Park with tourists, but this is no problem for people with even the slightest amount of patience. No guides are needed and there are trails to fit everyone, and the Webbs are always glad to point them out. They even have a trails binder giving great information. The Webbs are onsite, working and visiting in the campground. We have NEVER felt we needed to lock anything. OC is a family oriented camp and does not have the partying or clientele we have seen in other camps. OC is a great place with awesome trails and hosts. I think some people just get a burr under their saddle when they don't get their way or the attention they think they deserve. Any facility would be better off not having them return.
Reviewed by: Terry and Janice on 1/27/2011 9:25:32 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2010 Hometown: Crossville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

had a great week @ Orchard cove camp sites are clean and well kept barn great and clean would like 2 go again
Reviewed by: charles caldwell on 12/30/2010 6:16:29 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/17/2010 Hometown: Hodges, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Yes the stalls are first class, very roomy for your horses, I was not impressed though. Only 2 bathrooms for the whole campground, yes they are nice, private with toilet, shower and sink but 1 person at a time. Also they were not cleaned while we were there. Also we asked if we could turn out our horses in the covered arena upon arrival were told that was fine, but when the "wrangler" returned he fussed at us about cleaning up after our horses, we picked up the piles in the arena but they were at least several days old and very dry. We also were told we had to drop our trailer on the other side of the arena as we had a motor home and trailer, even though there was plenty of room for both at the site, this was the only place I have been that I felt like I needed to lock my trailer. Not very friendly folks. When we asked the owner about the trails she told us there wasn't any good riding close by and that we really needed to hook up with their "wrangler" for the best riding at a cost of $20-$25 per person. We rode from the camp ground and the trails were great, typical Smoky Mt trails, steep and narrow along side the mountains, views were great. Draw backs with the trails, you have to cross the main road going into Cades Cove, the traffic was terrible and the crossing was very dangerous.(speed bumps would help) There was another way via tunnel which was much safer. When we were leaving the owners didn't even say thank you or good bye, just wanted to be paid. Don't believe we will be going back.
Reviewed by: Wayne and Cindy on 11/10/2010 5:53:38 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2010 Hometown: Monroe, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This facility sets the bar for all others. Clean, safe, friendly, great location, excellent trails. Rubber mats are in the stalls (no uneven floors-easy pickup) and stalls are pressure washed each time a new horse comes in. Very helpful family...I felt more like I was staying with friends. We were very comfortable there and will definately be back.
Reviewed by: Carol on 10/29/2010 9:47:55 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/12/2010 Hometown: Steele, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We visited this campground for the first time and it was great. Nice to have a hard day of riding and still be in close proximity to visit and dine at local restaurants and attractions. Some trailheads you have to trail to, but we were provided a trailer free of charge to travel to these destinations. Camp hosts were outstanding and the facility is top notch, doesn't get any better than this! Lovely stalls and a 200 x 100 covered arena. Definitely will return again this fall before the campground closes down for the winter (which I think is after October). Thanks Freda, Ed & Heather for a wonderful weekend!
Reviewed by: Deb on 9/17/2010 5:52:04 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/9/2010 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

There just isn't a nicer more accommodating place to stay than Orchard Cove. The whole Webb family go out of their way to make each stay the best(again), and I keep going back and back for more great rides and stays. The trails are outstanding, and day rides are right out your door. Trailering to the various beautiful Smokies rides cannot be topped.I'll be back as long as I can ride and drive!!
Reviewed by: Lea on 8/25/2010 9:12:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/15/2010 Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I visited Orchard Cove in May, 2010. A more well maintained horse camp cannot be found anywhere. Freda and Heather do a good job with this place. I used Harvey Bowling as a guide and he was very knowledgable about the trails, history and which trails suited the ability of our group. If you want to go to the mountains, Orchard Cove is the place to stay, and if you need someone to show you the sites, Harvey is the man!
Reviewed by: Charles on 7/9/2010 7:02:14 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/20/2010 Hometown: Somerville, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I am lucky to live about an hour's drive from Orchard Cove, and it is one fantastic place to ride from. The camiping is wonderful, too, with the nicest stalls of any, a huge covered arena, and wonderful scenic yet challenging trails right from the campground. You can also rent one of their trailers to access other trailheads in the Smokies. When it comes to hospitality Freda, Ed, and Heather are the best. They keep the barns immaculate and wander through the campground throughout the day and evening to make sure everyone if well taken care of. It is my favorite place to horse camp!
Reviewed by: Lea Valentine on 1/10/2010 8:21:52 PM
More reviews by Lea Valentine
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/24/2009 Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I really liked this campground! The owners,especially Freda were there and so nice and helpful with everything. The barn is outstanding and she keeps her facility clean and I can see that she is constantly upgrading as if it needs it! The trails are accessed immediately from the barn and you can ride for hours up high. The trails are well marked. You don't need to leave but if you choose to explore Freda will rent her stock trailers so you can access more trails to different portals of thepark that are only a few minute tailer ride. Shge also informs you of what she thinks weather will be like which is helpful as the mountains make their own weather.and by golly she was right, we rode for hours and returned each day right before a cool off storm. I can't say enough and know it is well worth the drive. I plan to go back soon.
Reviewed by: Patti Maechler on 7/17/2009 9:23:17 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/15/2009 Hometown: Waxhaw, NC, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground. I have rental horses available for this trail riding location. All of my horses are well mannered and bomb proof. Please call or email for information. 931-565-3321
Reviewed by: Earl Webb on 6/3/2009 2:17:17 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/5/2009 Hometown: Minor Hill, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A better place to camp with your horses is not to be found. The stalls are all new and the best. A great shower house if needed. You can ride out behind the old homestead and directly into Great Smoky Mtn. National Park. Trailers may also be rented to go to more distant trail heads. The riding is spectacular. We rode through "tunnels" of Rhododendron and laurel, by and accross mountain streams and waterfalls and the high ridges of the Appalachian Trail. It doesn't get better than this.
Reviewed by: Tim Williams on 5/20/2009 8:15:24 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Noblesville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been camping and trail riding for almost 20 years in many different states and Orchard Cove and the Smoky Mountains have to be the best place so far. The owners are friendly and helpful. The facilities are top notch. The riding is beautiful and challenging. Make sure your horse is in good condition. Our group rented the trailers available at Orchard Cove in order to ride other trail heads. A must for the Smoky's. There are also some nice loop rides from camp. Hated to come home. Thanks to Orchard Cove for a great vacation!!!!
Reviewed by: Tracy on 5/11/2009 12:22:44 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/10/2009 Hometown: Ryland Heights, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

i came to Orchard Cove in March 2009. My son and I rode with Harvey Bowling for 3 days. He trailered us to trail heads and selected trails suitable for our abilities. He is very knowledgable of the trails and the area. If you are going to be here for a short time, Harvey is well worth using as a guide. It saves having to get oriented to the area and he can show you all the sights. Freda, Heather and Ed are great hosts and have a wonderful cmapground with all the amenities you can ask for. So if you are going to Orchard Cove, tell Freda to have Harvey there, you won't regret it!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/4/2009 8:02:26 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

this is by far one of the nicest campground i have been to ...your horse will have to work ...stalls huge and clean.....the webbs are very kind and accomodating...the arena is great place for games ......the bomb ...i will go back
Reviewed by: giddyupgal on 1/11/2009 3:06:12 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/14/2008 Hometown: rutherfordton, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I came to Orchard with Harvey Bowling and went on a 3 day pack trip. This was the best trip of my life. The first morning we woke up to 12 deer in the middle of our camp on Gregory Bald. Harvey has good equipment and great knowledge of the trails, regulations and history of the park. After 3 days, a good hot shower at Orchard Cove was also very good. Orchard Cove has wonderful facilities and Harvey is a great person to ride/pack out into the park with. I will be back soon!!!
Reviewed by: Robert on 10/30/2008 9:32:37 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just wanted to say "Thanks" to the folks at Orchard Cove. We had a problem where we were supposed to stay and they accomodated us with 12 stalls at the last minute. We did not ride out from there as we already had plans to ride other trails, but have ridden the trail that leaves from there and love it. We come to Townsend every year, but plan to come back to Orchard Cove to camp and ride next time. Thanks again folks, you all were the best. Everyone needs to come and see what a great facility these guys have. Really, really, really nice, and we stay at a lot of places. Thanks again and see you guys soon ! (12 Alabama riders !) (War Eagle Freda !!)
Reviewed by: Jamie Daniels on 10/28/2008 10:44:09 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Clanton, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WOW WOW WOW. I love the Smokys and have been on the trails there several times before. The trails there are worth a long drive if you have to make one. Orchard Cove Stables has the Hospitality of the Ritz Carlton Hotels. Not only do they answer the phone for help with directions and getting messages to your friends, they helped with truck problems, gave directions to the trails and watched the weather to make sure we went on the best days to the Gregory Bald to see forever. They have stock trailers to loan. The electricity was great too. Some places you have to microwave twice as long as at home and turn off the A/C. Not here. I ran the A/C and a hairdryer and the microwave!!! Heather, Freda, Eddie and Alex are GREAT VERY FRIENDLY FOLKS. The place is state of the art. The are fully closed from the next horse but airy and light. There are stall mats and water that is within 12 feet of each stall, 12 foot of concrete dry storage area in front of each stall, the dirty shavings are picked up in front of your stall so you don't have to drag them down the barn, there is even a feed door in each stall. If that is not enough, the whole barn has an insulated roof. The covered area is gorgeous and the bath house is clean with a nice large shower. I used it instead of the one in my trailer 1/2 the time. I would rate this place above Bandy Creek camping wise and of course trail wise. In my book Bandy Creek has always been tops. Wow, Wow, Wow Our group reservered the whole campground for two weeks next year. WOW WOW WOW!!!
Reviewed by: Terri Smith on 9/20/2008 1:15:58 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/15/2008 Hometown: Stem, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned home from a wonderful week at Orchard Cove. Freda, Heather and Ed could not have been nicer. The camp is welcoming and cozy in every respect. The stalls are perfect, plenty of room for horses to lie down after climbing the beautiful Smokies all day. There are endless numbers of trails and I don't believe one could ride them all in a month. My favorite was the Tremont loop, it offered everything from wide trails to challenging climbs. My trip and accomodations are what trail riders dream of.
Reviewed by: Pam Hicks on 9/19/2008 7:10:56 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/15/2008 Hometown: Winchester, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned from vacat. at the Webb's. Freda was there when we pulled in after a 12 hr drive from S.C.Pa., and had the stalls bedded and ready for our 3 horses. All of the camp sites are nice, we picked one in the shade feel it's about the best site there. You can look up and see the horses poking their heads out over the stall doors. Stable and wash house just a short walk from the trailer. Love the black bear motiff!! in the wash house. Heather knows the trails very well, and is able to advise which trail to go to for the best view, ride for the time you want to take. Freda and Ed were available if we needed anything or had questions. The views from the trails are truly gorgeous! The trail at Tremont with the waterfalls was our favorite and the Anthony Creek to Bote Mtn/ Spence field was a nice trail, the climbs short with o/w decent trails. Bring a camera to take lots of pics!! We learned something this weekend and that it's not how long the trail is you want to ride, it's how long it takes to ride the trail. At home we ride miles and tho we are in the mtns. of Pa, and the Shenandoah Valley, these mtns. are definately different! HIGHLY recommend Orchard Cove and if you read this and choose to visit the Webb's, tell them Maria, Crystal and Katie say HI!!
Reviewed by: Maria on 8/27/2008 2:17:46 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Biglerville, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My family and I just returned from a visit to Orchard Cove Stables. The facilities were first class. The owners were very friendly and accomodating. The scenery was beautiful, and the trails were well marked and maintained. We saw 8 black bears while riding the trails near Orchard Cove Stables and Caves Cove. I would highly recommend this campground to anyone who loves to camp and view nature from the back of a horse. Keep up the good work Freda, Heather, and Ed. Happy Trails!!
Reviewed by: D. Bottom on 7/8/2008 9:05:51 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/25/2008 Hometown: Jeffersonville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

One of the nicest campgrounds we have visited. All sites have water and electric. The stall barn is new with water convenient to every stall. I used the arena to exercise my horses after arriving. The trails in the park are great, although be prepared for very rocky footing on many of them. There is about 3 to 4 days of riding from the campground and it is well worth it to visit other trail heads. I understand that you can borrow/rent one of their trailers if you want to go to another trail head. We used the Tremont trail head one day and rode past a bear that was about 90 feet off the trail. He was just sitting there watching us ride by.
Reviewed by: jtrider on 6/15/2008 12:00:49 PM
More reviews by jtrider
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/12/2008 Hometown: Columbus, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This made our second visit to Orchard Cove and it just confirmed how much we like the campground and the trails. The trails are truly beautiful and they are easily accessed from the campground. You can even sign out a trailor if you want to access other nearby trailheads. You are riding in the Smokey Mountains so the trails can be challenging, but they are well maintained and well marked. The campground is just continuing to improve with great bathhouses, stalls, and a covered riding arena. The owners are just great and we already have reservations for another trip.
Reviewed by: Lynnett Renner on 3/4/2008 10:10:15 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/26/2007 Hometown: Mt. Vernon, KY, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Orchard Cove is excellent. Camp ground facilities are great .. stae of the art barn and covered arena .. bath house facilities are excellent .. electric and water at every site .. ride out the back door and on to the trails .. trails were wonderful .. we rode 6 - 7 hours a day for 3 days.
Reviewed by: Tom Collins on 10/31/2007 11:50:02 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/31/2007 Hometown: Winston-Salem, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: warren on 10/28/2007 7:59:31 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/30/2007 Hometown: richmond hill ont., TN