HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Belinda's Reviews

KC RANCH HORSE CAMP, near DOUBLE SPRINGS, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I would like to thank Ken and Carol for making my trip this weekend fun instead of a disaster. I was 6 miles from camp and my truck blew a fuel pump. Ken came and hooked up to my trailer and got me on to camp and has made arrangements to get my truck towed and fixed up. His words were " Just go ride and have a good time we'll get you fixed up" and I did have a good time. There was a BBQ dinner that night that Carol served up. All the food was great. 2 Thumbs up for KC Ranch.
Reviewed by Belinda on 5/21/2006 3:19:06 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/20/2006 Hometown: Taft, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I would like to thank Ken and Carol for making my trip this weekend fun instead of a disaster. I was 6 miles from camp and my truck blew a fuel pump. Ken came and hooked up to my trailer and got me on to camp and has made arrangements to get my truck towed and fixed up. His words were " Just go ride and have a good time we'll get you fixed up" and I did have a good time. There was a BBQ dinner that night that Carol served up. All the food was great. 2 Thumbs up for KC Ranch.
Reviewed by Belinda on 5/21/2006 3:11:05 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/20/2006 Hometown: Taft, TN
Big River Ranch, near Lexington, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were at Big River Ranch for the Memorial weekend. I should have written this review earlier because we had a great time there. They provide trail maps that are pretty easy to follow. We mostly rode the river trail which was lots of fun. They have "carved" trails that go in and out of the woods and they are a blast to ride. I know there are more trails but we didn't go on them because we liked the river ride so much! We had our horses stalled in the barn instead of putting them in the pens. Loved it. The stalls were clean and large. The showerhouse and restrooms are clean and functional. There is also a large meeting room, but we didn't take advantage of it. The night we were there they put on a "wild west show" complete with the side-saddle riding damsel and bad guys. It was all fun and entertaining. They also had an obstacle course for anyone who wanted to try. That was fun to watch~~I didn't have the nerve to enter the contest, but most of the obstacles were up the next morning so I tried them then. One more nice thing about Big River Ranch: they post a phone number guests can call if they have any difficulty on the trail. We didn't use the phone number, but it was so nice to have it in case we had an emergency. Robbie and his staff have obviously worked very hard to make their guests experience fun and safe. I would definitely go back.
Reviewed by Belinda on 6/15/2014 7:28:37 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/26/2014 Hometown: Lawrence, KS
Slabtown Trail Rides, near Roby, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned from a delightful weekend at Slabtown. Greg is a wonderful, charming host. He is generous with his knowledge of the trails and the forest. Thanks to his instructions, we saw scenic overviews, gorgeous streams, the full moon rising from the horizon, and much more. The trails are like riding in Colorado, but without the elevation, lol. I would recommend shoes for your horse. Regarding the camping sites; I have never seen better. The restrooms and shower house were very clean, and stayed clean throughout the whole four days we were there. Greg has also built a meeting room where you can play pool, cards, watch the weather channel, sit with friends, or on Saturday nights, attend his famous Fish Fry and Hushpuppy dinner. I hear the fish fry is delicious! There are two other people at Slabtown who help make your stay perfect, and those two are Joe and Susan. They are both very hard workers and always have a smile. Joe was wonderful at keeping my stall clean and ready for my horse when we returned from a ride~~well worth the tip, especially when I was exhausted. An added benefit was that my horse didn't have to wait for me to get around to cleaning her stall! Susan was great at helping me with anything I needed. I really enjoyed talking with them, too. I could go on and on about how much we enjoyed the staff and trails, but the bottom line is we thoroughly loved our stay at Greg's Slabtown Trails. We can't wait to go back in the fall. That reminds me; I'd better call and make my reservations!
Reviewed by Belinda on 6/15/2014 7:07:03 PM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/14/2014 Hometown: Lawrence, KS